$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulan Lote 59-2 ETAPA, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
1038 out of 1038
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Statesboro, Georgia
Jan 16, 2011

Great place for fun!

Too many children in our part of this hotel. Food was great! Views were wonderful, excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to see if you have a ride back to the hotel with tours [...], since the van that was arranged to take us to one of the tours (we paid extra!) did not include a ride back. We took the city bus back, since it was too far too walk. We were not told that the catamarand trip to Isla de las Mujeres, did not include in the price round-trip transportation. We had to wander around and figure out we must take a taxi or public transportation back to the hotel. [...]

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Bend
Aug 12, 2008

Too Far

Get the double ocean view on the 6th or 7th floor, great views north and south. This is a great place if you don't want to go shopping or clubbing, it is entirely too far. The food was just OK. Be sure to tip, or your service will be slow to nonexistent. The beech has seen better days, but it is fun. 3 pools, but the only one you can relax at is the adult pool. The other two pools are kid crazy with entirely too many activities. Bring your Ipod, no music at the adult pool. The reasons I would not recommend are: Night life consists of a hotel lobby bar, food was sub par, 30 minute bus ride to shopping or 45 minutes to bars. Spend a few extra bucks and stay further North.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

La isla is a 25 minute bus ride

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Aug 22, 2008

Go to the Royal Solaris instead

While the G. R. Solaris has some great amenities such as a pool, gym, spa and free wifi, the Royal Solaris down the block seems like a much better value. The pool area for the Royal Solaris is much larger and has more features, and the restaurants seem to be open later. They are both part of the same chain owned by the Solaris Group, and down the block from each other. If you have a room at the Royal Solaris you can still go to the shows at the G.R. and vice versa. In fact some of the performers at the bar area just rotate around the hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 4, 2008

Average Hotel

The view is beautiful and the place is pretty clean. The staff are very nice and work hard. The rooms were fairly clean, but not very comfortable. The beds are hard and the noise from the hall and rooms was very loud. We thought the food was just average. There wasn't any food there that we liked very much. Also, the pool and the outdoor restrooms didn't seem as clean as we would have preferred. We had a good time, but would not go back to this hotel the next time we visit Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's great shopping and dining with just a short bus ride.

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Oct 27, 2009

GR Solaris Cancun All Inclusive

The staff and hotel were great. The food was at best, "so-so."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple getaways
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 10, 2009

Good location and experience

It was a great vacation. Many couples there seemed to have a great time, including people on their honeymoon. Food was decent, but not incredible. Highly recommend going out to eat a few nights. The best way to get around Cancun is the public bus system, which is less than $1 per person for each ride. The staff is always very friendly and very helpful. Great activities all day and night. While kid friendly, hotel did an AMAZING job keeping the kid and adult activities separate. So if you are a couple looking to keep away from the kids, you need not worry. If you are a family looking for a family environment and activities for your kids, this is also a perfect place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harry's steakhouse. Rivals some of the nicest steakhouses I've been to in the US and carries the same quality of beef and seafood. Expensive but definitely worth going to for the view, food and experience. Make a reservation and ask for a table on the terrace: gorgeous view!

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmbopp
Business
Enderlin, ND
Feb 9, 2011

The Low Down on GR Solaris Cancun

Check-In - Went very smooth, you get a Hotel map, Dining and Show schedule, first time that every happened it was a great reference and made it easier to get around and know what to do and when. Activites are listed down by the pool everyday. There is always something going on. You do get a time-share invite. Just say no thank you and that was it. No pressure.Rooms were very nice. Bathroom could be a bit wider but still worked just fine. We had ocean front with a king bed. Never heard much noise an occasional bang but nothing like what I read maybe we were just lucky.Pool was great except for the aggregated rock bottom - hard on your feet if you are participating in the water activities. Bring watershoes! Get up very early to get a good spot.Food - Are you kidding me for all the bad I read about the food, for all of the choices there are. If you cannot find something within the 60 to 70 plus choices they offer in the buffets, Marco Polo or the deli and snack shop there is defenitly something wrong. If you don't like it don't eat it. Everyones palate is different remember this is Mexico not USA. You should be able to make something from the choices you like, mix and match it to your taste. There is no reason why anybody should be or go hungry.Beach - water was amazing, waves were fantastic. Beach was a little challenging being its still on a slight slope from being rebuilt. A great calf muscle workout!Shows - yes not broadway but your not paying for a broadway show. We still thought they were fun and entertaining and FREE.Staff - WOW!!!! The staff makes this hotel expecially the pool staff. They have a wonderful group of people and they are so fun and they work so hard. [...] you guys are GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the shops in the back of the front street they are cheaper and easier to deal with.

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MonicaM5
Business
New York
Feb 18, 2010

Nice hotel

The staff was great the room was very clean , they only have 2 restaurants with reservations but almost imposible to get in the line was very long from 7:30 am , drinks had more ice then anything else but you can get as many as you want the food wasn't great at all and no lobster not once , entertaiment was very good they had shows every night , a big problem was trying to get a chair by the pool one time I woke up at 8am and I still couldn't get one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Mar 14, 2011

excellent service and value for the mone

Excellent service! Good pool with bar and activities. Good location on beach. Food could have been better. Good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 18, 2011

Great Amenities...Good Value Resort

We traveled in a group of 4 (2 couples). We were looking for a fun hotel that wasn't too crazy with spring breakers but provided enough entertainment and amenities. GR Solaris was clean, easy to get around, had friendly staff, a nice big pool, a clean beach with beautiful water, and an average selection of food at different property locations throughout the day. GR Solaris is better for the pool lover versus the beach lover. There wasn't a beach bar which I've found at other Cancun All Inclusive resorts and was a little disappointed about that. The food was average for an AI resort...seemed repetitive after a few days but it was fine. Due to the time we went (March 11-17) we had difficulty finding chairs by the pool or the beach after about 9am. I wouldn't discourage anyone from going there, but I'd probably recommend other properties to friends over this one. Overall I think GR Solaris was a good value for what we paid and we had a wonderful trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The bus is a cheap and easy way to get to some nightlift and shopping spots in Cancun. GR Solaris is located right by a bus stop so it's easy to get around even though the resort is located several miles south of a lot of the entertainment Cancun has to offer.

Back to menu Return to top