$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulan Lote 59-2 ETAPA, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
948 out of 948
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sheboygan,WI
Apr 3, 2011

Great week in the sun

The resort is small but great. Mini fridge stocked daily, loved the shorty bottles of Sol beer ............. great for breakfast! The rooms are very clean and yes the hallways can be noisy. The building is made of concrete and tile, any little bit of noise will be enhanced and echo. The food was "ok" nothing special but plentiful. Try everything and if you don't like it, don't eat it. The Marco Polo restaurant was a hit and miss. Ate there three times, twice good, once bad.The pool bottom was very rough. It is similar to very small gravel. And yes, the water is a little cloudy. Pool bar is great! The ocean water and beach were beautiful but the surf is very rough, the red flags are posted for a reason (no swimming). I was told by the staff that February and March are very rough surf.The entertainment people around the pool are fantastic. Especially [...](from Wisconsin), [...]. I'm 50+ and was consistently involved with activities though out the day. You can be as active as you want, there is also an quite pool if you prefer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you take the time for a cup of special coffee prepared in the lobby between 4pm and 6pm every afternoon. This is some of the best coffee I have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
Apr 2, 2011

Great if you enjoy being hustled

Because of airplane troubles, we did not make our connection in Houston to Cancun. The hotel - GR Solaris - was unsympathetic. We arranged for a friend to contact Continental for us, and they agreed to change our flights to the next day's return with no charge. However, Solaris would not give us the fourth nights' stay for free despite our having paid for four nights and only stayed there three. So we had to pay Solaris for the extra night at a rate higher than we paid [...]because we couldn't reach the [...]repr to arrange the "extra" night through [...]. The beach, however, was great. Room would have been better if the electricity had always worked in the bathroom. Showers in the dark are a drag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be alert for business-like hustlers in the airport, hotel, and otherwise. Things are seldom quite what they seem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carroll. Iowa
Apr 1, 2011

Awesome

The staff was great and very helpful. Our room was the best and the bed great. We took a couple tours with Greyline. Was alittle disappointed with the one, but we had fun anyway. The IslandIsla Mujeres is a must. Do the day trip on the sailboat or better yet go on your own. Our time was limited so didn't get to see as much. I would definitely recommend staying here. Thanks you did agreat job. Carroll, Iowa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ely Rae ruins was nice and close or just walk the beach Super

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
escaping winter
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 1, 2011

Nice time

Enjoyed our hotel and pool. The view was great and so was the beach. The food and drinks were plentiful. My husband loved the food but I thought it was pretty average - but I didn't starve so its OK - we enjoyed not having to cook or worry about what to eat. You have to get reservations at the nice dining room at 8am so we never were able to use it as we were always gone around 7am on our tours to other places - so no lobster for me! My husband loved the swim up bar. The location is not near any shops but a quick bus ride away. The Marina requires going to another hotel and then a bus ride so its not convenient at all. The hotel staff weren't helpful giving directions or information - there is no concierge-but there are plenty of people ready to sell you a tour on site at the hospitality desk. The staff was otherwise nice. Wish I would've had time to use the spa although its more expensive than at home. We went to one night time show and it was fun - great for families. Very relaxed atmosphere with lots of families and kids. They have a nightly shuttle into the clubs if you want to go. We thought it was a great value for our money - just what we wanted to spend and what we wanted. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to take a bus or taxi to everything. Except El Rey ruins are across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DHB
Business
New York, NY
Mar 30, 2011

You get what you pay for...

We didn't find the hotel staff terribly friendly or helpful and few were willing to go out of their way to accommodate special needs or requests. The facilities were nice, but worn and there seemed to be little invested in the ongoing upkeep of the facilities. The food was largely heavy, fatty food. There was little in the way of salad, vegetarian, or healthy options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The marina, with non-motorized boats included in the hotel fees, is only a few blocks away. Enjoy the kayaks, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
overland park ks
Mar 28, 2011

very good hotel

Overall good hotel. Food and service was great. Only downside is the walls are paper thin, so if you have loud neighbours you might not get much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Entertainment was great except for disco night id avoid that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saukville, WI
Mar 23, 2011

No complaints!

My husband and I went for 5 nights. We had a wonderful experience and would recommend the resort to anyone. We had been last year to Riviera Maya and stayed at a much larger resort. This was simple to get around, not tons of walking to get to restaurants within the resort or beach. And the beach area was awesome. Lots of huts to sit under and chairs for full sun. We never left the resort except to walk in the mornings. Lots of great food. We never went to the really nice restaurant within the resort becuase we stuck to eating outside each night and every night was a different theme of food. Lunch was also outside right by the pool and breakfast buffet inside was great. Service just so good. Entertainment by the pool was fun. Really get the crowd going and a great group. Like my title says...no complaints by either one of us. We would go back in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lobby entertainment and nightly shows start a little later.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fellow Traveler
Business
N.Manchester IN
Mar 22, 2011

The Good the Bad & the Really Ugly

I went to the GR Solarius during peak Spring Break & I also read all the negative comments which made me a little nervous. I can't give enough compliments about this hotel. The bed was very comfortable. The food had something for everyone. I highly encourage you to get reservations to the Marco Polo. There is a dress code, (Semi-casual to not so formal). The attension to details impressed me. Every day the maid cleaned our room & made the bed a little different each time. I never had to hurry to the pool/beach to save a lounge chair. There were plenty everyday. Everything exceeded my expectations. Now for the bad...I would have liked to have Wi-Fi in my room instead of having to go to the bar to check my e-mail. The pressure to attend a timeshare presentation was way over the top. They just don't leave you alone about it until you go. If you tell them you don't have any credit cards they aren't really interested in bothering you with a timeshare pitch. I went on the Tulum/Xel-Ha tour. Both were very good places to visit, but not on the same tour. Not enough time in either place & I felt rushed to see it all. I booked my entire trip through Cheap Tickets, flight, hotel, excursions & airport transfer. This was the way to go. There is a rep (GrayLine) at the hotel to make any changes to your itinerary. The prices were the same if you would purchase from Cancun if not cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the R1 bus to go to the market 28 or all kinds of shopping. Then take it back. It just makes a circle. Ask the hotel what the fare is & have the exact change.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 18, 2011

Great Amenities...Good Value Resort

We traveled in a group of 4 (2 couples). We were looking for a fun hotel that wasn't too crazy with spring breakers but provided enough entertainment and amenities. GR Solaris was clean, easy to get around, had friendly staff, a nice big pool, a clean beach with beautiful water, and an average selection of food at different property locations throughout the day. GR Solaris is better for the pool lover versus the beach lover. There wasn't a beach bar which I've found at other Cancun All Inclusive resorts and was a little disappointed about that. The food was average for an AI resort...seemed repetitive after a few days but it was fine. Due to the time we went (March 11-17) we had difficulty finding chairs by the pool or the beach after about 9am. I wouldn't discourage anyone from going there, but I'd probably recommend other properties to friends over this one. Overall I think GR Solaris was a good value for what we paid and we had a wonderful trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The bus is a cheap and easy way to get to some nightlift and shopping spots in Cancun. GR Solaris is located right by a bus stop so it's easy to get around even though the resort is located several miles south of a lot of the entertainment Cancun has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jefferson, Maine
Mar 16, 2011

AWESOME PLACE FOR A VACATION!

This hotel was great. The food was great and the staff was very attentive to all your needs. The entertainment was nice as well. I will diffantly be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the hotel staff([...]) was very helpfully when it came to day trips outside of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top