$250 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulan Lote 59-2 ETAPA, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
854 out of 854
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duluth, MN
Apr 22, 2009

Fun Time In Cancun

It was a great time at GR Solaris overall. The staff was friendly, food was excellent, drinks were great, the hotel was beautiful. I would have to say that was the best trip I have ever taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't do the bar hopping thing offered at the guest services, it is a complete waste of money. My friends and I felt we got scammed by choosing to do it. What they say is offered through it is completely false and innacurate.

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barrie Canada
May 9, 2011

Great hotel for the price

The staff was friendly the drinks were terrific and I loved the food. The hotel was very clean as were the rooms. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were great. I would go there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
De Pere, WI
Nov 29, 2009

Even Better than the Last Time

We enjoyed our stay at the GR Solaris because of the excellent service in the restaurants and poolside, the delicious food, and the relaxing atmosphere. We stayed here in 2007 and the food was better this time; terrific shrimp at Marco Polo and the best apple pie I've ever had. The lobby bar has gone smoke free which made it much more enjoyable to hang out in at night. If you are into nightclubs, the hotel goes to a different one each night. The rooms were very clean. The only complaint is the hard mattress, but that was expected. Overall, it was an excellent vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus down the strip for shopping, especially if you need sunscreen. It is much cheaper in town than at the resort.

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevthemexico
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Aug 29, 2011

Nice hotel

Hotel was great. Staff were amazing and oveall good value. You just need to bring a lot of tip money, but thats the same anywhere in mexico. Food was good, the Marco Polo, reservation only resturant was awesome. A24 hour room service - food all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try Marco Polo. They have something awesome and themed every day.

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Dec 28, 2010

OK Time

** I booked over 3 months before the trip and requested 2 rooms- one with 2 queen beds since my brother and I are very tall people and didn't want to stay in the same bed.. There was a long delay at check in and could only offer us one bed. They said they overbooked. I also followed up the next day and there was nothing available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville,ca
Dec 26, 2010

worth the money

hotel itselft appeared very average. staff was friendly and helpful. dinning choices very resonable. they were able to make vegeterian food for US on most of the days. plenty of food to eat all the time.very good entertaintment shows at night especially for kids. they had circus, magic show.i wish they had more kids friendly pools with more fun activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deus32
Business
Vernon, BC Canada
Dec 25, 2010

Overall Pretty Good Except for .........

We enjoyed staying at the GR Solaris. The food was good and we didn't attend the Marco Polo restaurant as there was a dress code. We were happy with the casual restaurants as the food was good anyways. The resort is clean and the staff are very friendly. There are lots of lounge chairs near the pool and the beach is nice and close by. The main issue we had with the resort is the rooms have paper thin walls. We heard the guy next to us snoring all night and this was a definite downer on our trip. The next guests had a toddler who would scream and make noise....you could hear everything. Bring earplugs. The hallways were really loud too and echoed. Other than that I would recommend the hotel but not sure if I would stay there again due to the loud rooms which is a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The buses run by the hotel every 10 minutes and you can be at the La Isla mall in about 10 minutes and the bus is cheap. I would recommend the La Americana mall in downtown Cancun which is the best mall by far I thought. This is about a 20 minute bus ride.

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cancun's perfect couple
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jan 3, 2011

the way to go to cancun!

We had a great time! Staff is very friendly, resort is well maintained, pool area is to die for ( very warm water and bar right on there), activities available for adults and kids all day long, nice shows at night ( make sure to watch the magic show), etc... We would definitely recommend this resort to families, and even though we had a blast, as a couple we had some issues at night: A lot of noise, kids, teenagers, etc... They did not rob the experience from us, but there were times when we thought if an only adults resort would have been a better choice. We dont know if all rooms are conjugated or not, but if you want peace and quiet, make sure to ask for no kids/teenagers next door. We'd recommend for anyone to give out tips for the staff, it will definitely improve your overall experience ( not to mention that they dont make that much). oh, also like everybody else mentioned in their reviews, food does suck. Breakfast is all right, but if you are looking for heavenly food, this wont cut it. Bottom line, excellent cost benefit and one incredible vacation that we'll never forget!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

While there, make sure to check out some of the tours offered by Aquaworld. We took the isla mujeres tour with snorkeling (best tour of our life!) and the skyrider. The staff is very friendly and funny, and while on boat, there is entertainment and open bar.By bus, aquaworld is 5min from the hotel.

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple of 25 years!
Business
Illinois, USA
Mar 30, 2009

Great Entertainment but buyer Beware!

Beware of checking in! We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and didn't realize how pressured we were going to be about time sharing! After turning them down from the minute we stepped into the door, the lobby staff were very unfriendly and rude. It was like they were very mad at us. And all we did was say not interested in their time share. They wouldn't offer any extra information about the resort or help us in any way without us searching out the help. The entertainment staff/bartenders/waiters/housekeeping/bellboys were great and did a super job! Only the higher level of staff were jerks. We were made to feel like outsiders like we didn't belong there when in fact we paid as much as others to enjoy this resort. Our first morning, we tried to leave the resort to go shopping and a tall lady with big hips was waiting on us and met us at the lobby and tried to physically keep us from leaving! She kept placing her body in front of us and was getting real mad and intimitading as she drilled us with questions as to what we were up to and where we were going! Our answers never satisfied her. Is this "Hotel California"? Apparently she was afraid we were going to go see other resorts during our visit. Why are they so scared of that if they are offering the best amenities around? Then the grey line rep., Carlos tried to scare us into buying tours from him by saying if we didn't meet with him exactly when he said (as soon as we arrived) then we would not get a ride back to airport although it was already paid for. It was a bluff as we didn't meet with him until later in the week and had no problem getting our ride scheduled. Others around us were treated like royality so they must have agreed to doing exactly what the staff wanted of them or made the staff feel that they were going to buy into the resort. The food had a lot to be desired. Seemed to us the best dining was the ballroom buffet. Room service was very good. Generally food was cold and not tasty. Wasn't impressed with Marco Polo either. But didn't have to worry about putting on those "cruise" pounds this way! Entertainment was fabulous! Comparable to Vegas shows! Pool side entertainment was fun even just to watch! Ocean view room was very much worth the money! We have never had such a wonderful view! Housekeeping was great! Spotless resort all together! The special touches of housekeeping were refreshing. Nice location - just far enough from the clubs to be relaxing yet easy to get to by bus. Overall, we might return here but would do some research first on other resorts in the area. Only due to the staff pressure in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Know going in what they are wanting from you and have your "neutral" answers ready so not to make them mad so they won't act hateful towards you during your stay. Not quite sure how to do it but think about it before you get there!

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thompson Clan
Business
Texas
Jul 1, 2011

Great Family Experience!!!

The hotel was amazing!!! We travel to Mexico every year and this was the best family experience so far!!! The kids club was the best we have ever seen. The girls were so great with the children and gave our 5 year old the time of his life. It was great for our teen as well with many activities constantly. If we would have taken an adult vacation they have plenty of adult areas and seperation that I think even without family it would have been great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Xel Ha has always been our favorite excursion to go on. It is not, in our opinion, for little children but, for teens and adults a great outside place that we have chosen over and over and we have done many excursions.

Back to menu Return to top