GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulan Lote 59-2 ETAPA, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
892 reviews
Excellent Vacations

Excellent service and staff. We had a lot of fun in the restaurat area and the lobby. The staff was... See full review

  • E y E
  • Dec 8, 2014
Unbelievable resort

I usually stay at places like Ritz Carlton or Westin on vacations, so I was worried about the... See full review

  • rdfun
  • Nov 25, 2014
Luxury for less at this All inclusive ocean and beach front resort for family and couples.

A selected variety of specialties dining options including premium selected beverages where you will be able to enjoy 10 different types of cuisine per week, late snack bar, 24 hours room service, rooms with balcony or terrace, unlimited alcoholic and non alcoholic selected beverages, spa, fully equipped gym, day and night activities program for all ages and above all the friendly Solaris staff.
300 deluxe rooms with king or two double beds, balcony, nice views, private bath with shower and hairdryer, air conditioning, cd alarm clock, satellite color TV, direct-dial telephone with voicemail, stocked mini-bar, coffeemaker, safe deposit box, iron and board plus.

Hotel Amenities:
- Deluxe rooms with balcony and beautiful views.
- 5 restaurants, 10 different dinner cuisine styles a week.
- 3 Bars to pamper yourself with special treats,
- 24 hour room service included
-
- Kid center,
- Spa, full equipped gym.
- 7 theme parties, full program of activities for all ages: Aquaerobics, beach volleyball, Olympic day, snorkeling lesson, water polo and more.
- Theater with live shows
- Non motorized water sports in our private marina
- 4 swimming pools (including adults only and relaxing pool), tennis court, whirlpool facing the ocean.
- The resort offers a non smoking room floor with 53 rooms, either lagoon or ocean view room. These rooms are based upon availability and request.

GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room w/balcony
- One king bed or two double beds
- Balcony or terrace furnished with two chairs and small table
- View of resort grounds, garden view (based on availability). 32 square meters (344 square feet).
- Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set.
- 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
Ocean View Room w/balcony
- One king bed or two double beds.
- Balcony or terrace furnished with two chairs and small table.
- Spectacular partial Ocean view, 32 square meters (344 square feet).
- Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set. 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
Honeymoon Ocean view with Jacuzzi and balcony:
- One king size bed
- Terrace with private jetted tub facing the ocean.
- Spectacular Ocean view, 32 square meters (344 square feet).
- Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set. 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
Romance Ocean view room w/balcony
- Deluxe Ocean view room
- Bathrobes and slippers
-A bottle of sparkling wine
-A deluxe candlelight dinner for two, either in restaurant, pool area, ocean-view gazebo, or private room terrace.
Panoramic Double Ocean View Room
One king size bed with ocean front view and ocean view room , Balcony facing the ocean, furnished with two chairs and small table, TV satellite, soft green and beige colored furnishings including two-chair dining set. 27-inch satellite TV. Bathrobes and slippers , clock radio/alarm clock with CD player. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water. Coffee/tea maker. Bathroom with shower, scale, vanity mirror, and hair dryer. In-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning
Deluxe Lagoon view - jetted tub
1 king bed. Terrace or balcony facing the lagoon with jetted tub , 2 chairs and one round table. Desk. In-room safe. Cable/satellite television channels. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Shower only. Makeup/shaving mirror. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Climate control.
Super Saver Ocean View Room
Limited Time offer! Deluxe room with splendid ocean view in one king size or two double beds and terrace or balcony,
Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set.
- 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
b) Categora: Deluxe Ocean Front
One king or 2 double beds. This room opens to a balcony. Wireless Internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected. A minibar and a coffee/tea maker are supplied. You will have a shower, as well as complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a safe, and a desk are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

21.0551 -86.7814
Area served
The GR Solaris is located on Cancuns most pristine strip of white sand beach and the crystal clear tourquoise water of the caribbean sea. We are conveniently located only 10 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from the downtown.
Nearby airports
CUN-CANCUN International Airport 10 minutes.
Area description
Beach front hotel located in the hotel zone, only 15 minutes away from the convention center and Cancun's nightlife and restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Delfines: 0.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2.4 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 6.5 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 6.7 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 6.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 7.9 mi

Dining

Deli
- Casual fare - enjoy casual snacks including baguettes, bagels, sandwiches, paninis and croissants with a wide variety of meats and vegetables.
- Locates: In the main pool area
- Air Conditioned
- Open from 4 pm to 6:30 am.
- Dress code not required
Marco Polo
- International cuisine - enjoy splendid cuisine from all over the world.
- Seven different cuisine types weekly including: Italian, Mexican, Mediterranean, Asian, and French.
- Dinner only
- Air Conditioned
- Reservation required.
- Casual attire: long pants, no beach sandals.
Rosmarinus
- International specialties - enjoy buffet lunch in this spectacular palapa with ocean view.
- Menu includes: Mexican specialities, vegetarian and low carb or italian, accompanied with wide menu of fruits daiquiris. Also fell the marine breeze and enjoy our theme a la carta dinners

- No reservation required.
- Informal attire: No swimming suit
CafeSolaris
- International cuisine - enjoy a delicious breakfast buffet at Caf Solaris with spectacular ocean view.
- Dinner buffets several nights per week highlight international cuisine
- Air Conditioned
- Reservation not required.
- Dress code no required
The Snack
- Serves burgers, nachos, pizza, French fries.
- Lunch
- Dress code not required
Pool Bar
Swim-up bar serving alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages; no food. Open from mid-morning to late afternoon
Lobby Bar
Cushioned sofas and small tables for enjoying a variety of domestic and some imported drinks and live music nightly

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
GR Solaris Cancun all inclusive offers conference and convention facilities to accommodate up to 500 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (892)

Ratings and reviews for GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
892 out of 892
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guy123456
Business
wixom michigan
Feb 27, 2014

great family vacation

i had great time at this hotel, everything was great. I would like to mention one thing that has nothing to do with the hotel, but with the transportation to the hotel and from hotel to airport. First when we arrived at the Cancun airport we had to wait over 30 min for our ride to show up for as, i think when people are tired of the flight should not wait for the ride to the hotel that much.Grey line was the name of the company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Palacio was great club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MINOOKA FISH
Business
Chicago
Feb 26, 2014

Great place

This is a great resort. The rooms are spacious/clean and the food is good The staff is extremely helpful It really met all my expectations!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benjamin942
Business
New York
Feb 26, 2014

GR Caribe

Great time. We got moved to their other hotel. Not sure why. Had a great time. Would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gurnee shopper 13
Business
Chicago, Il
Feb 26, 2014

GR Solaris is PARADISE

From our shuttle to the resort and back to the airport 5 days later, I could have not asked for a better vacation. The GR Solaris is an amazing place! Every employee there treated us like royalty and went above and beyond my expectations. They are so helpful and extremely friendly and such hard workers. The breakfast buffet was so yummy, had different things each day we were there. The snack shack always had delicious options, and if there isn't something that doesn't suit your needs, just ask the cook - he'll cook something up for you. The pizza hut was always good and fresh! Had different pizzas every day. The Rosmarius had excellent food & staff, including Edwardo who recognized us from day one and treated us like royalty every day. We ate dinner every night at the Marco Polo and was blown away. Their entrees were to die for...the service from Salaya was so amazing that we made sure that he was our server all the other days. He was ready for our drinks before we were even seated! He gave us great recommendations! The flaming coffee was a special treat after dinner! The rooms at the GR were SO clean and housekeeping, especially Flor, was there every day to tidy up and restock! The pool and & beaches were so clean and relaxing. Diana was so nice and eager to bring us fresh drinks! The front desk was exceptional! IT was an easy check in/out process, thank you Alex & Arnoldo for your help! The shows that we saw were very entertaining! We cannot wait to return and bring the rest of our family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

GR's policy is that you need to make reservations for the Marco Polo at 5pm each day for the following night...I would highly recommend experiencing this restaurant at least one night on your trip - you will not be disappointed! Be sure to be in line 10 minutes prior as seating fills up fast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USA 56
Business
Salt Lake CIty, UT
Feb 23, 2014

Not what I expected.

I had been to an all inclusive resort before in Cabo and loved it. This was very poor in comparison in service and food quality. First thing the concierge succored us into a time share presentation when we just wanted a map and hotel information. The food was very poor quality. There was alot of fish with different sauces. It seemed that it was the same food every night although they said it was Italian night or Mexican night. They didn't even have a decent "American" salad bar where you could make your own salad. I do admit there was a lot of food, but most of it was not great. The deli consisted of menu of 5 plain sandwiches - no free choice. A big negative was that there were no waiters to take food orders when we were at the pool or beach. You had to time it correctly to get food at the 10 foot food bar which consisted of hamburgers, hot dogs, nachos, pizza, and tacos. The fountain machine never had ice or soda. Also, half the time when we ordered a mixed drink with no alcohol, it came with alcohol. So if you have a high priority of good food, do go here. The beds were very hard and the television had only 2-3 channels in english and remote didn't work. On the positive side, the staff was friendly. The hotel common areas and rooms were kept very clean.The grounds were pretty. And room service did have the best hamburger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not get stopped by someone inside the airport when they say they will get you to your transportation. They are just trying to get you to go to a timeshare presentation and take an hour of your time talking to you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hvcdms
Business
Ithaca, NY
Feb 22, 2014

Fantastic Budget-Friendly Resort

Out of 5 - Room Decor & Comfort - 2.5 (but didn't spend much time in the room!) Food - 4 (3 restaurants, tons of selection) Drinks - 4.5 (name brand liquors, pours were liberal) Staff Friendliness - 4.5 (went out of their way to make our stay awesome, LGBT friendly) Resort Decor, Pools, Layout - 4.5 (3 pools, including 1 adult pool with a hottub) Beach, Beach Chairs, Umbrellas - 5 (incredible white sand beach, the bluest water I've ever seen) Will absolutely be doing back! This place doesn't get any better if you're on a budget!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring tons of SPF because it's really marked up at the hotel. We didn't check our luggage and only brought 6 ounces of SPF. It lasted 1 day, so we had to purchase two bottles of SPF 50 and a thing of aloe. For the amount we spent we could've checked 4 pieces of luggage!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flyer Girl
Business
Roseville Michigan
Feb 18, 2014

just ok

Front desk staff are rude and very un-helpful. Rooms are ok if u don't mind a screaming baby next door. No activities at the adult only pool or even music yet the swim up bar is in the family pool. Location on the strip in Cancun is great..easy access by bus to anything you want to do. Food is good and restaurant service is great. Use the concierge...They are very helpful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Utilize all restaurants to avoid getting tired of eating the same food day after day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carl the traveler
Business
Concord California
Feb 18, 2014

Good Deal

Everything was great but we had a room without a view. We had a view of the hotel next door. This was our third time at this resort and this is the first time we were unhappy with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kyleisnotHappy
Business
seattle
Feb 18, 2014

Be careful if you stay here

This was my 4th time staying at the GR Solaris Cancun I have had nothing but amazing things to say about the GR solaris until this trip. I was told this trip that the Gr is under new ownership, I'm not sure if that is true or not but by the end of the week it was obvious that the GR is headed in a new direction that is opposite the direction that has made me a loyal guest to the resort for many years. 1. During checkout, I was unjustly charged for 11 hours of internet use in my room that was never used. I was told that to use the internet I had to enter my room number and last name and accept the GR internet policy. that never happened and was told I was lying and would not be allowed to check out with out with out paying the false charges. They then told me they would only accept my credit card as payment and that they would not accept cash or pesos. they also said that they needed to take a photo copy of the front and back of my credit card to verify the funds, To which I said no! I was then told that I would not be able to checkout with out paying for this false charge. After waiting 20 minutes for the manager who was in a meeting and decided not to show up??? big surprise, and not letting them have and copy my credit card I realized that If they were not going to let me sign out I could potentially miss my flight. I told them that I would pay the false charge in cash or pesos if they would allow me to checkout and make my flight they then wanted to photo copy my passport and drivers license because the bank required those to deposit cash or pesos! to which I said no! and finally after way too long I was allowed to pay cash and check out! I'm not sure what the goal of all this was but don't let this happen to you. I wasn't the first or the only person to feel this way. As we were checking in the family in front of us was checking out and having the same problem and as I was checking out the couple next to me had a Issue as well. If you stay here remember they do not need to copy your credit card front and back and they do not need to copy your passport or drivers license for any reason! 2. they now give "members" different colored towels, wristbands and had at least 4 special members only meals during our week there. It seems like the GR is aiming to serve the members first and the regular guests second. Not how it used to be and not a good way to get return visitors. 3. After the front desk false fee fiasco and in a mad rush to get everything out of our room we forgot one of our wallets in the safe and didn't realize it until we were at the airport. I called the GR today and was told that they had the wallet but they would not do anything with it or help in any way to have it shipped back. I asked if I arranged a UPS pick up for it would they be wiling to put the wallet in and envelope for the UPS driver to which they replied no. It is very unfortunate that this is happening at a place that has been so very great in the past! the program staff, bartenders, and servers are still top notch and made our week great but the front desk staff's customer service and sketchy fees and credit card policies were enough to convince me to write this small novel about my most recent experience at the GR Solaris Very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adrienne in Michigan
Business
Michigan
Feb 15, 2014

Great getaway

We had a great time, the pools and the ocean front were beautiful. There was a wide range of food choices, however it did seem that some of the food that had been out for dinner was on the breakfast Buffett the next morning. The drinks were great as well. The only complaint is that they push you into going to breakfast at another Solaris location, explaining that they want to give you the chance to see other locations, and then they try and sell you a timeshare. We wasted 2 hours of our day on this and felt like we had been misled about what we were doing. We did a snorkeling excursion while we were there and it was great! We went with Snorkeling Adventure. They provided transportation, lunch and drinks, as well as 3 different snorkeling locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at Marco Polo as early as possible, they have the best food on the resort but they fill quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top