$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan Lote 64 Bis Seccion A 2a., Etapa Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kevin corona
Couples
new jersey
Apr 22, 2013

good relaxing vacation

If your looking for corona dont stay here. Staff is excellent and ready to serve you. Most of the food is below average. Dont expect good desserts. Bonaventi restraunt is the best restaraunt. Room service is fantastic but dont order the burger. Tasted horrible and was the size of a piece of taylor ham. Did not have any hotel activities. Was supposed to have bingo everyday but only had it on the day we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
atlantajona
Family
atlanta
May 29, 2013

cancun 2013

It was a great trip over all. Great beach and awesome weather. Friendly staff. Food can be better. Hotel looks beautiful however rooms can definitely use more upgrades. Floor was always wet due to humidity and bathroom had issues (toilet clogging, unpleasant odor) although our family had a great time, we will not be returning to this hotel. Most annoying thing about yhe hotel was constant calls we received in the room from people trying to sell excursions...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Waznme
Family
Chicago, IL
Dec 28, 2013

Disappointed in the food

Great amenities, especially the pools. Food was terrible. Service could be a lot better. Bathroom drain made the whole bathroom smell like an outhouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Shows are ok and it is free.

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jtsport
Family
Pell City, Alabama
Jan 6, 2014

Interesting

Location was great!! Beds were like sleeping on a brick. My husband got food poisoning the second day so he didn't leave room much at all. The staff was great! Overall would go back again But I would just have to pack a mattress pad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus runs every 5 minutes.

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcelroysintx
Couples
Austin, TX
Jan 31, 2014

Entertaining Week in Cancun

We usually don’t write reviews, but this trip deserves a little comment. The hotel is a good value for money, but not 4-star in our view. The staff is friendly, the food is good and our room was kept very clean. However, the trip was memorable because of the booking company that managed our excursions (probably no surprise), not the hotel. The hotel didn’t provide any type of transportation – but the bus system in Cancun is excellent and inexpensive. If you choose this hotel - a few things to consider about your visit: 1) Not so “all inclusive” – for example, internet access is available for $16 a day for each instrument. So, two iPhones and one iPad will cost you $48 a day – and you best make sure you understand the phone carrier charges as well. 2) No self-serve laundry facilities – so wet bathing suits, etc were the order of the day – with the humidity nothing dries out overnight including what you’re packing to bring home. Of course, for a price you can get anything laundered. 3) There are computers available in the “Business Center”, but there are for “Associate Members only” – timeshare holders we assume. One good thing, we were not harassed to buy a timeshare. 4) Until 11 or later at night, expect a lot of noise for rooms that have doors facing the pool or facing the sister hotel on the north side. So while your ocean view may suffer a little, stay away from these rooms if you have small children or want to get to sleep before midnight. 5) If you speak a little Spanish or simply stick to the menu (mostly buffets or 5 or 6 entrees for more formal dinning), things are great. For us, most special requests fell short because of my poor language skills. 6) The hotel has no money exchange or cash available – not even an ATM. The front desk suggested we walk to the 7-11 down the street. We’ve had our cards eaten by Mexican ATM’s – so that wasn’t an option for us. If you run short on cast, you’ll need to go to the bank and don’t forget your passport if you do! 7) The hotel tipping policy is a little fuzzy to say the least – but obviously expected. Take a lot of one dollar bills. 8) Our trip was in late Jan and we were very surprised at the large number of small children – even if you are loving grandparents, consider kiddo’s running everywhere and NOT using their “inside voices” if this is your choice in hotels. We may be a little too old for this hotel and all these observations common events for Cancun, but they are not common in many other places we have visited in Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Excursions were the attraction for us - Chichen Itza, Xel-Ha Public, Tulum and Isla Mujeres. Each is all day and pick your excursion company carefully. If you can, leave a day in between each trip to explore Cancun. We won’t return to Cancun – we’ll head back to Cozumel!

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seasoned Traveler Dad
Family
Seattle
Feb 28, 2014

NIce but Noisy

We spent a week in this hotel. The staff and food were mostly very good. The concierge was only interested in getting us to go to the time share presentation and was otherwise unhelpful. The room was smaller than expected and it was very noisy. Most every night we were disturbed by other loud guests and had to call the front desk to quiet them which was only effective part of the time. We would not return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smarttraveler
Couples
michigan
Mar 2, 2014

it was average

overall it was average. not 4 star, but 3 star. the room had moldy smell which was very bothersome. food was average. for the price, it was not a deal. I think I could have paid little more and went to better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gironland
Couples
colorado
Apr 5, 2014

Good room but...

We stayed five nights in the hotel. The best of the hotel was the room and the cleanliness, better than we expected. The service staff, especially the waiters were so kind and attentive. The hotel is quiet, there are a few activities for tourists. The worst things: In this hotel they have a kind of business that includes to try to sell MEMBERSHIP to "save money" and became a VIP host. In my opinion is a non-ethic way to finance their business with doubtful profit to the "member". The catchment starts when you check in the hotel... 1- An employee talk with you and offers you trinkets like t-shirts...for an hour of explanation of their "MEMBRESÍA". We negotiate that we wanted free internet, because the hotel don’t have free access. 2- When you have an appointment, you talk with a very polite person who smile all the time, tries to empathize with you offering drinks and doing a profile of you to see what your interests are and for sure to know your weak points, “platicando” (talking) a lot of time about nothing. Her target, for sure, was to create confident environment before the next step. All about membership is presented as wonderful, she didn’t talk about money anytime. And at last she showed us a beautiful suite of the hotel with sea views and said: “For the same price you paid you can stay in this suite!” ja-ja-ja!!! 3- When we said no, this polite person took us to a room with 10 or 15 tables, all full of dealers and people who, like as, accepted to know what “MEMBRESIA” means. Then the party starts… two persuasive dealers, and the polite person were insisting to sell their membership…a lot of time, a lot of different offers, at last we disconnected hearing this guys, saying NO all the time. They were like business wolves! They tried to sell us a membership of 30 years!! For $12.900!!We felt really uncomfortable in this room. When the dealers were talking I was watching what was happening there… it was embarrassing!! There was a score showing the number of memberships sold… the board showed how many membresias left (95 of 100)… good fake strategy to hurry the possible buyers! We don’t like the food of the hotel in general… I mean… the food was not bad but the explanation of the plates in the fancy restaurants were pure poetry but then the meals were regular. They took the image of the “haute cuisine” restaurants with poetry in the menu, nice presentation and with a very little portions of food but don’t expect an explosion of flavors in your mouth. Only image. You can see that especially on desserts, they are very attractive visually, but all taste muffled or have the same taste of butter. Also, if you want to taste a really bad wine order the house wine, especially the red one. It is embarrassing because they said all the time that was a Spanish wine… well we are from Spain, and this wine brand, DON SIMON, is the cheapest you can buy in the supermarket, about $2 per liter. To be honest, that is not a joke, only drunkards and young guys buy it. And most times they mix it with soda. I was watching some people checking the wine and their faces showed me the same feeling. I don’t like the hidden purpose of selling a bad quality wine using the Spain trademark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkling

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hilder
Family
New York
May 4, 2014

Good family getaway

Hotel lobby, pool, and amenities are good. Hotel bathroom tub needs improvement. Rooms with a tub are steep to get into...you have to climb small steps to get into tub. Food was very good at Bogavante. Theater show is good. But hotel should cater for older people who can not climb the steep steps. There should be elevators to get to the theater. This hotel requires a lot of steps so be careful if going with parents

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take bus to Flamingo mall...good shopping

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
condan
Couples
boston Mass
Feb 24, 2012

husbands 60th birthday

The hotel was very nice an older hotel the staff was very friendly no problems with people trying to sell time share The food was ok the beach was beautiful the problem only was that there was a drop in the water as you entered which could catch someone off guard other than the fact that Jet Blue forgot to send our luggage from boston until late the following day we had a great time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top