$280 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan Lote 64 Bis Seccion A 2a., Etapa Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
just married dave
Couples
nola
Mar 14, 2013

private or party you pick

I will def be back here. Offers just about everything. Only thing was having to pay for wifi but that is everywhere you go in cancun, can't really blame them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont use taxis. The bus routes are cheap (only a $1) and run 24/7.

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bianca p
Couples
utah,usa
Jan 30, 2014

great week get away

was very pleased. we have been to 5 star resorts, this one is not, but the room's were clean. missed having a balcony, but the room's were sufficient. the resort was nice, it reminded us of being in old town mexico. it really made you feel like you were in mexico. the beach was nice, the entertainment was great every night. the guy playing the trumpet at night i the lobby was great and so was the spiked coffee guy every night in the lobby. the best thing of all was the food. dinners were like eating 5 course fine dining every night. we never did the buffet for dinner, so i can't comment on that. food was amazing for dinner. wonderfull chefs. if you were to pay for your dinners it would be a $150.00- $200.00 dinner. definitely would recommend. staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chadhumm
Couples
Tampico, Il
Jan 18, 2014

Good not great

Overall all service was fantastic. A few individuals stand out, Gaby was an angel, and the lobby bar in general was great. Food and drink was fantastic. Marco Polo service was amazing. Cons: A room wasn't available when we arrived, which is ok we were a little early. We reserved a king bed room and instead got 2 dbls that were small and uncomfortable. Weather wasnt great while there so resorted to a little TV watching. Small tv and very few channels in english. Walls and doors werent heavy/thick so there was a lot of noise from outside the room and a door between our room and the next room . so much noise it was as if there was no door there at all. Luckily there wasnt too much noise during sleeping hours. It was chilly half of our stay at night and even 2 days of the 4 days(upper 60's) we didnt prepare for that but there wasn't anything we could do to warm the room except stay under blankets. Hot showers would have been nice but more often than not the water was barely warm. Apparently more water heating capacity is needed. 33% of the time it was warm enough, 33% barely warm, 30% of the time not warm enough. It didn't seem to matter what time of the day or night either. The last complaint I have is their internet wifi policy. When I originally booked I had read that wifi was included. When we arrived we were told it was almost $10 per day. We didn;t want to spend an additional 40-50 for wifi so we agreed to do the timeshare presentation to get that for free. We have done it before this time they were extremely pushy. We got our wifi and again put off when told it was only good for one device. We had my wifes phone , my phone and our laptop that we would have liked to use in addition to a kindle device for reading at the pool area. It would have cost an extra 30 to 40 dollars a day to do this. so we got it for just 1 device - the laptop so we could use skype to call home Went without our kindle books which we had planned to sit and read by the pool or ocean out in the sun. Unfortunately not much sun and no wifi. Would we go back? Because of the food and service, Yes, If the price was right. We would be more prepared for chilly nights and no wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

It can be chilly at night bring something to cover up with for those occasions. Nothing in the room to help with that. Also be prepared to spend a lot for internet access or pre-download everything you need before getting there. Apps, books, etc.

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yy liu
Friends
seattle
Jan 8, 2014

This is a valuable trip!

My friend and I live in GR about five days. It is a fantastic trip. Stuff is very nice and polite. we always had many troubles when we live in there. And the stuff were greatly help us. Especially, food is very good! there are a lot of resturant. U can find food everytime. it is enjoyable! anyway, GR is a nice choice for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jtsport
Family
Pell City, Alabama
Jan 6, 2014

Interesting

Location was great!! Beds were like sleeping on a brick. My husband got food poisoning the second day so he didn't leave room much at all. The staff was great! Overall would go back again But I would just have to pack a mattress pad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus runs every 5 minutes.

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cappy208
Family
Cape Cod Ma
Jan 4, 2014

How do I start?

We decided to try our first all inclusive (besides cruises.) The GR Caribe was phenomenal. The food was spectacular. The drinks were never ending. The Waitstaff was extremely patient, competent and generous. The ability to roam from the Caribe to the sister resort the 'Royal Solaris' made the week more varied. The beach is great. The surf at times could be a challenge. Not every day is the surf tough to swim in (the height of the tide makes it different too.) But, usually there are spots along the beach that have swim-able sections. From my 'limited' observation the Solaris group is the only organization that has a lifeguard on duty (from 9 to 4) to make the calls to stay out of the dangerous areas. Most hotels have a lifeguard stand unoccupied all the time. Not the Solaris! All in all it was an excellent hotel, with excellent food, and excellent staff. We went on a Chichen-Itza Tour for a whole day (0700 to 1900). The Tour was great. We opted for a Ruins, Cenote swim, and lunch tour. The Cenote swim was novel, but probably unnecessary. The lunch was terrific. The shopping was so-so. The Ruins are a state park. They were open to the local population setting up shop, plying their goods, and bugging you for sales (as with any other fleamarket, bazaar, or kiosk everywhere) If you can ignore the stuff for sale (or just be conservative) you will probably be impressed with the ruins and the preservation that has been done. We went to Pericos, for dinner one night. That's another noted tourist stop. Okay, as far as a tourist trap goes. Food is OK, prices are high. Show is OK. Probably for teens and up. Overall, I would go back, and just stay right on property, with just a tour or two. Eating out, and getting the tourist trap meal is probably not worth the trip off the 'reservation?' I met a guy staying at the Westin. (Not AI) He was on the bus coming back from Walmart. He had three bags full of snacks, eggos, and cereal for his kids. He said the hotel prices were making feeding 3 kids, and 2 teens out of the world expensive. I was glad to be at an AI after I heard this. From what I can tell, an AI 'costs' about 100 bucks a day per person to allow for the food and drink. Honestly, I KNOW we all ate WAY more than that, including the liquor. I know we could have stayed at a cheaper hotel or condo. But, from our one night out at dinner, and another afternoon out at Carlos and Charlies The prices that are being charged make AI VERY affordable.. Although I missed the day (IIRC it was Thursday) you are allowed to sign up for a trip to Senor Frogs for dinner (on the AI plan). I wish I knew this prior to the day going by, but..... we had to make do with AI, flowing cocktails and unlimited food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car. The bus is $9.50 Pesos PP, one way. all the way down the strip.This is about .75 cents US. It isnt worth the hassle of getting lost, harrassed, followed by cops, or getting a parking ticket over. Just take the bus. It's cheap, runs every 10 minutes or so.

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny Weather
Family
Vancouver, BC
Dec 31, 2013

Lovely time in GR Caribe

Beautiful facilities. Nice pools and beach. Awesome staff provide wonderful service. Really enjoyed our first beach vacation in Cancun. Great for the whole family. We enjoyed the restaurants, although the food could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Waznme
Family
Chicago, IL
Dec 28, 2013

Disappointed in the food

Great amenities, especially the pools. Food was terrible. Service could be a lot better. Bathroom drain made the whole bathroom smell like an outhouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Shows are ok and it is free.

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucy in co
Friends
Greeley , Co
Dec 27, 2013

Excellent Christmas vacation

Excellent vacation ! The staff was excellent , the food was outstanding and the view was awesome. We will definatly be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation tim
Friends
Nashville TN
Dec 25, 2013

Great trip overall

Staff was great food was excellent !! Very peaceful and relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zhenya1
Family
Wisconsin
Dec 21, 2013

December family getaway

Beautiful hotel, amazing staff, clean facilities. Food is above average, not amazing but much better than expected. Resort is quiet with access to larger resort next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top