$302 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan Lote 64 Bis Seccion A 2a., Etapa Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
texas newlywed
Business
small town texas
Feb 16, 2014

Lovely Beach Wedding

Everything was amazing. The staff was very accommodating! Our only complaint is that the bed was extremely firm. The room was very clean. We will definitely stay here again if they have softer beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I suggest you take rhe bus to town because its only a dollar per person and they charge you per person in a taxi too so it can get really expensive. Also make sure you know your peso/dollar amount because we got ripped off Bjornleft and right in town.

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joel B.
Business
Ohio
Feb 11, 2014

Great Vacation

Food was very good. Veneto was favorite for dinner with beautiful presentation and delicious. Marco Polo next door was second favorite for dinner. Lunch favorite was Bogovante with beautiful ocean view and great food. Breakfast buffets were good and We especially liked omelet and waffle station. Snack bar food at pool was good ... Loved the nachos with salsa and guacamole. Rooms were big, clean, nice bath, flat panel tv, sitting area and decent bed. Drinks - plenty and good. Staff was top notch, very friendly, and always willing to help. The pool was warm and calm. Pool next door had a lot more activity if you don't just want to relax. Only saw one show and it was so so. We rented a car and saw Talum, Xcaret, shopping. Note: be prepared for barrage of people pushing time share presentations at airport, rental car store, and at hotel. We did one presentation to save couple hundred bucks on tickets to Talum and Xcaret. It was about 3 hrs and typical sales pitch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CHELY
Business
CANADA
Feb 6, 2014

WE MOVED TO ROYAL SOLARIS

I really didn't like it ....but I loved the sister hotel ROYAL SOLARIS so even it was cheaper than the CARIBE DELUXE we changed hotels....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Marco Polo restaurant...lobster was amazing!!! pizzas from 12 to 5pm...awesome....

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxing Honeymooners
Business
Mission Viejo, California
Feb 1, 2014

Cancun....AWESOME Getaway..!

Awesome place to stay... I little far from town, but with the busses going in front of the hotel every 30 seconds ...who cares. and is cheaper than renting a car. The hotel has Excellent food but would be nice to have at least 2 more nice Theme Restaurants...but I must say food is Top of the line... Staff at the hotel Happy, pleasant, informative, helpful, caring, etc, etc,...! to the point that we are owners /members.. whatuknow... that's is how much we enjoy this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment in Hotel Royal Solaris. Every Night.

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snow Farmer
Business
Wallace, Idaho
Jan 31, 2014

Great Trip!

We will return to the same hotel when we return to Cancun. Great beach location. Easy to get around on the local bus (USD $1 each way anywhere). The staff was excellent, helpful and friendly. Food was very good. Nice variety of restaurants expecially since as a GR Caribe guest you also get full use of the facilities and restuarants at the Royal Solaris next door. And they don't get access to the GR Caribe. Thus, the GR Caribe is better for your quieter times. Overall a great resort for a good valued Cancun vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcelroysintx
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 31, 2014

Entertaining Week in Cancun

We usually don’t write reviews, but this trip deserves a little comment. The hotel is a good value for money, but not 4-star in our view. The staff is friendly, the food is good and our room was kept very clean. However, the trip was memorable because of the booking company that managed our excursions (probably no surprise), not the hotel. The hotel didn’t provide any type of transportation – but the bus system in Cancun is excellent and inexpensive. If you choose this hotel - a few things to consider about your visit: 1) Not so “all inclusive” – for example, internet access is available for $16 a day for each instrument. So, two iPhones and one iPad will cost you $48 a day – and you best make sure you understand the phone carrier charges as well. 2) No self-serve laundry facilities – so wet bathing suits, etc were the order of the day – with the humidity nothing dries out overnight including what you’re packing to bring home. Of course, for a price you can get anything laundered. 3) There are computers available in the “Business Center”, but there are for “Associate Members only” – timeshare holders we assume. One good thing, we were not harassed to buy a timeshare. 4) Until 11 or later at night, expect a lot of noise for rooms that have doors facing the pool or facing the sister hotel on the north side. So while your ocean view may suffer a little, stay away from these rooms if you have small children or want to get to sleep before midnight. 5) If you speak a little Spanish or simply stick to the menu (mostly buffets or 5 or 6 entrees for more formal dinning), things are great. For us, most special requests fell short because of my poor language skills. 6) The hotel has no money exchange or cash available – not even an ATM. The front desk suggested we walk to the 7-11 down the street. We’ve had our cards eaten by Mexican ATM’s – so that wasn’t an option for us. If you run short on cast, you’ll need to go to the bank and don’t forget your passport if you do! 7) The hotel tipping policy is a little fuzzy to say the least – but obviously expected. Take a lot of one dollar bills. 8) Our trip was in late Jan and we were very surprised at the large number of small children – even if you are loving grandparents, consider kiddo’s running everywhere and NOT using their “inside voices” if this is your choice in hotels. We may be a little too old for this hotel and all these observations common events for Cancun, but they are not common in many other places we have visited in Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Excursions were the attraction for us - Chichen Itza, Xel-Ha Public, Tulum and Isla Mujeres. Each is all day and pick your excursion company carefully. If you can, leave a day in between each trip to explore Cancun. We won’t return to Cancun – we’ll head back to Cozumel!

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bianca p
Business
utah,usa
Jan 30, 2014

great week get away

was very pleased. we have been to 5 star resorts, this one is not, but the room's were clean. missed having a balcony, but the room's were sufficient. the resort was nice, it reminded us of being in old town mexico. it really made you feel like you were in mexico. the beach was nice, the entertainment was great every night. the guy playing the trumpet at night i the lobby was great and so was the spiked coffee guy every night in the lobby. the best thing of all was the food. dinners were like eating 5 course fine dining every night. we never did the buffet for dinner, so i can't comment on that. food was amazing for dinner. wonderfull chefs. if you were to pay for your dinners it would be a $150.00- $200.00 dinner. definitely would recommend. staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chadhumm
Business
Tampico, Il
Jan 18, 2014

Good not great

Overall all service was fantastic. A few individuals stand out, Gaby was an angel, and the lobby bar in general was great. Food and drink was fantastic. Marco Polo service was amazing. Cons: A room wasn't available when we arrived, which is ok we were a little early. We reserved a king bed room and instead got 2 dbls that were small and uncomfortable. Weather wasnt great while there so resorted to a little TV watching. Small tv and very few channels in english. Walls and doors werent heavy/thick so there was a lot of noise from outside the room and a door between our room and the next room . so much noise it was as if there was no door there at all. Luckily there wasnt too much noise during sleeping hours. It was chilly half of our stay at night and even 2 days of the 4 days(upper 60's) we didnt prepare for that but there wasn't anything we could do to warm the room except stay under blankets. Hot showers would have been nice but more often than not the water was barely warm. Apparently more water heating capacity is needed. 33% of the time it was warm enough, 33% barely warm, 30% of the time not warm enough. It didn't seem to matter what time of the day or night either. The last complaint I have is their internet wifi policy. When I originally booked I had read that wifi was included. When we arrived we were told it was almost $10 per day. We didn;t want to spend an additional 40-50 for wifi so we agreed to do the timeshare presentation to get that for free. We have done it before this time they were extremely pushy. We got our wifi and again put off when told it was only good for one device. We had my wifes phone , my phone and our laptop that we would have liked to use in addition to a kindle device for reading at the pool area. It would have cost an extra 30 to 40 dollars a day to do this. so we got it for just 1 device - the laptop so we could use skype to call home Went without our kindle books which we had planned to sit and read by the pool or ocean out in the sun. Unfortunately not much sun and no wifi. Would we go back? Because of the food and service, Yes, If the price was right. We would be more prepared for chilly nights and no wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

It can be chilly at night bring something to cover up with for those occasions. Nothing in the room to help with that. Also be prepared to spend a lot for internet access or pre-download everything you need before getting there. Apps, books, etc.

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USMC Chris
Business
Virginia
Jan 13, 2014

Love the hotel and the staff!

This is the 2nd All inclusive hotel i went to in Cancun. I have to say that i am Glad i picked this place. The safe was so nice and the hotel is just beautiful! Food was amazing. Room service 24/7 was nice and included. I am a BIG fan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Do some excursions !

Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yy liu
Business
seattle
Jan 8, 2014

This is a valuable trip!

My friend and I live in GR about five days. It is a fantastic trip. Stuff is very nice and polite. we always had many troubles when we live in there. And the stuff were greatly help us. Especially, food is very good! there are a lot of resturant. U can find food everytime. it is enjoyable! anyway, GR is a nice choice for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top