$302 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan Lote 64 Bis Seccion A 2a., Etapa Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation of two
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 6, 2013

Amazing

The food was delicious and the staff was very friendly! There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel to go downtown for shopping.(very useful) There is a 24 hr room service so even though we had an early flight back home, we were able to eat breakfast. The only problem was that there was a group of people being very inconsiderate of others. They were partying and being loud in the halls at 4am and we couldn't sleep. But everything else was great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant Veneto has the best food and waiters/waitresses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Dog Daddy Todd
Business
Gansevoort,NY
Mar 6, 2013

Nice and relaxing vaca. Close to shopping, which was a big plus

For an all-inclusive value, this was definitely the place to stay. My wife and l had an excellent time. Staying at GR Caribe, and being able to use the Royal Solaris resort amenities next door was like staying at 2 resorts at once. Which was absolutely Fabulous. I would,and have, recommend GR Caribe to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Many Plazas and mini malls very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amrunner
Business
Taylorville, Illinois
Mar 5, 2013

enjoyable stay

The Caribe was a lovely place to stay. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. I can't praise the staff enough. They were all friendly, hardworking, and efficient. The Mediteranean architectural style of the resort is unique with arches throughout and several small plazas for outdoor lounging. There was no balcony, however, and I really missed that. The food and drinks were good, and the service was excellent. From other reviews I expected free WiFi in the public areas. That is no longer the case as of February 15. They now charge everywhere. Since I had made my reservation before the change, they gave me a password free of charge. When staying at the Caribe you have full use of the Royal Solaris right next door which gives you more dining and activity choices. It seems the majority of families with young children stayed there. In comparison the Caribe seemed quieter with mostly adult guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I went shopping in the flea market and bought a ceramic dish. The one I picked out was top quality marked lead free. They wrapped it up for transporting home. When I unwrapped it back in the States I didn't have the one I picked out, but one of inferior quality. I was had, but learned a lesson. Watch as they wrap your purchase to make sure they don't make a switch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Life's A Beach...
Business
Georgia
Mar 5, 2013

Nothing Special, but beach is nice

The beach is great and it's right by the airport, which are the main pros about the property. Here are a couple of cons to be aware of: -- Our room smelled like rotten eggs/sewage. We called, they "fixed" and it still smelled like it. We ended up closing the door to the bathroom so that the room remained decent. -- Food is terrible and I mean terrible. Fruit was nice, but really everything else was poorly made, cold, etc. -- Staff is hit or miss. Some folks were nice, and others were weird. Having traveled to Mexico before, we were aware of the timeshare, aka, "concierge" scheme they try and after several firm "no's" to their hounds, they finally left us alone. -- We did like that it was a smaller hotel rather than the larger properties, so no fighting for beach chairs, etc. Pool is small and it was crowded, but we hung out mostly at the beach. -- Drinks were also terrible (LOL). We just decided that we'll drink at home. Overall, it's okay. Location is nice, food and rooms...not so much. If you keep your expectations low, you'll be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hop on the bus and take it to the flea market. It's about a $1 ride and they have lots of cute items to bring home for friends and family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iowa Snow Bird
Business
Cancun Mexico
Mar 4, 2013

Relaxing Vacation

Great location, beach just outside your door. The food and staff were top rate. We loved the food at our location. Hotel draws a more mature crowd but plenty of action at adjoining property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TG the Travel Agent
Business
Omaha, NE
Mar 1, 2013

Just returned

The hotel is nice. The lobby, however, is not air conditioned and was very hot and humid. All was clean - not new, but clean. Food was very good. Staff were very courteous. Beach was nice and had a covered area for those of us who don't want to sit in direct sun. All activities are at the hotel next door. We could share all amenities of the sister hotel, but it was louder and had a lot more children, teens, etc. Also, not always convenient to get to an activity. The passage is outside. The one night we wanted to go to a show, it was raining, so we opted not to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the inside restaurants. It was very hot and humid and you want to eat in air conditioning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cali D from the B
Business
Boston, Mass
Mar 1, 2013

Awesome Stay at an Awesome Resort

This is one of the nicest and most relaxing hotels in Cancun. *If you (understandably) wanna stay at a crazy spring break party hotel, don't stay here.* First of all, this is a beautiful resort. Other places look kind of out outdated, but this resort has a really classic, almost Mediterranean/ moroccan feel which is timeless. Our room was very beautiful. Initially our reservation was for a regular room, but when we got there we upgraded to an ocean view room and it was definitely worth the upgrade. The restaurants are great, and always have different unique and tasty meals. Service was great! One of the nicest resorts I've ever stayed at. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amber and Travis
Business
Kansas City
Mar 1, 2013

Grea stay..Greatvalue

everything was very clean. food was great! love the use of both hotels. beach was absolutely perfect!! very happy with our stay! would stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blondetraveler
Business
Rochester, New York
Feb 28, 2013

Loved Cancun!

My husband and I traveled to Cancun in February. It was our first trip there. What a beautiful place! We have been to many beaches and this was close to being the best. The GR Caribe by Solaris was a comfortable all inclusive resort. The Caribe is small, quiet and easy to get around. If you stay here, you can also use the facilities at the Solaris next door which gives you the swim up bar and other restaurants/bars. The hotel is very clean and we felt everyone working there was polite and attentive. The only drawback is the timeshare sales, but even that wasn't a problem when you let them know you're just not interested. I would recommend this hotel and Cancun itself to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the restaurants in both hotels that serve sitdown dinners. You do not have to make a reservation and the food was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris Deluxe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jentsone
Business
Berkley, Michigan
Feb 27, 2013

Paradise!

We checked into the GR Caribe Solaris in the evening and were given a room on the first floor. It smelled of mildew, so we asked for a change. We moved to the 4th floor and it was perfect: clean, beautifully redone bathroom, with an alcove sitting area. The service was top notch. The food was fresh, tasty, and so beautifully presented. Our favorite restaurant was overlooking the beach. The Moroccan style of architecture added an interesting atmosphere, rather than a typical high rise hotel. We'll go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top