$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2015 Check-out: Feb 24, 2015

Flamingo Cancun Resort

3 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 11, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
459 reviews
more than expected

outstanding..a bang for the buck..staff was the best, they made sure me and my family had the best... See full review

  • antonjr1
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great for the price

Everything was great. The staff, food , drinks were great. The food was good, you do have to go to... See full review

  • Rlab
  • Sep 12, 2014
Cancun resort in hotel zone near shopping with optional all-inclusive

The conveniently located Flamingo Cancun is a 20-minute ride from downtown Cancun, across from a shopping mall and within walking distance of many attractions. Its vibrantly hued rooms overlook the ocean or lagoon. There are two pools, one facing the grounds, the other facing the Caribbean Sea. An optional all-inclusive plan includes three meals daily, plus snacks and unlimited domestic drinks at three bars as well as many daily activities and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights
  • Convenient, central location in the hotel zone between the airport and downtown Cancun
  • Optional all-inclusive plan with dining, domestic alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and snacks
  • Cheery guest rooms overlooking the ocean or lagoon
Rooms

The 215 standard, 13 junior suite and 32 deluxe guest rooms have one king or two double beds. Each is brightly adorned and comfortably appointed with color satellite TV, mini bar, individual climate control and direct dial telephone, and some feature terraces.

Features

The Flamingo Cancun is conveniently located near shopping and entertainment within the hotel zone. It offers an optional all-inclusive plan. The resort has several dining options, including a Mexican restaurant overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Guests can sip tropical cocktails at a poolside bar or visit the on-site fitness center or tobacco shop (fees apply). A club for children is located on the second floor. It overlooks the courtyard swimming pool.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions

Planet Hollywood (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)

Mayan Aqua Dive (0.7 mi/ 1 km)

Playa Paraiso Golf Club (1 mi/ 1.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Cancun Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Flamingo Cancun Resort Rooms

Standard Room European Plan
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room European Plan
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Wireless internet, hospitality room with a computer with internet access and bites. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite European Plan
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults
Standard Room All Inclusive
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room All Inclusive
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite All Inclusive
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.8 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 4 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.3 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 6.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 6.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 8.2 mi

Dining

La Fuente
Facing the Caribbean Sea, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
Open daily
From 7:00am to 11:00pm
Buffet service
Palenque Lobby Bar
Indulge yourself with exotic cocktails in a musical atmosphere From 4:00pm to midnight
Las Palmas Bar
Serving tropical cocktails at pool side
Bar Service from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Snack Service from 12:00 to 6:00 pm
Albatros Restaurant & Bar
Beach front restaurant bar, offers lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
A la carte service
Dress code for Dinner: Casual Bar from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Lunch from 11:30 to 5:00 p.m.
Dinner from 6:30 to 10:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (459)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Cancun Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 459
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cancun
Business
Cambridge
Jan 20, 2015

vacation

good location, beach, and TV. not bad staff. but bad facility!!! no freeze in the room! kidding me. I am very disappointed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowgoer
Business
Renton
Jan 14, 2015

A week in Cancun

We didn't do the all inclusive, but this place was a great place to stay. Very affordable and has a great beach, pools, etc. The three things I wish this place had were conditioner with the shampoo, etc., better internet service that was free, and a fridge in the room. They do have ice that you can use though. The beach is great, there are nice restaurants, and the pools are kept clean and are nice. The ocean view rooms are great, and they gave us an ocean view room upgrade for free. It was all in all a great deal. Close to lots of shopping, food, etc. In walking distance of 2 malls and the flea market. I will likely stay here again next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tacun has relatively cheap (for the hotel zone), authentic food and great service. It is a small restaurant on the same side of the road as the hotel about a block south.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I. Bee
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 30, 2014

Couple's Getaway

My boyfriend and I traveled in February 2014. When I read the reviews I was a little skeptical about staying at this hotel, however once we decided on staying here I was pleasantly surprised. Room: We lucked out and got a Junior suite with an ocean view. Which was great! It was clean and maintained and every day the the mini fridge was stocked with complimentary beverages, including bottled water. The only issue I had was that the shower water would run onto the floor, so we had to use towels to make sure that the floor didn't get soaked. Also there was no microwave so you weren't able to warm up any leftovers if you wanted to. Staff: The concierge and all the staff were very pleasant and friendly. And when we first arrived we were greeted by a staff member who gave us information as well as coupons for the different dining options and souvenir shops. Location: The Flamingo Hotel is located in the hotel zone and right on the beach. It is pretty central to a lot of different options, most of which are in walking distance. You can also take the public transportation located in front of the hotel for just one peso per person and it'll take you up and down the strip which makes it easily accessible to entertainment, shopping and restaurants. Dining: We opted out of the all inclusive meal plan and instead decided on eating at the different restaurants along the strip. Next time I might opt for the meal plan because we didn't get to eat three meals a day. Overall, our stay in Cancun turned out to be really great! If you're looking for a more cost effective way to have a great vacation then, Flamingo is definitely a GOOD option. If you can opt for an ocean view room or junior suite, you won't be disappointed. Just make sure you remember to leave a few dollars each day for housekeeping. $5-10 USD, goes a long way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Attractions: We pre-bought our excursions prior to travel, however at the hotel they have a table where you can get information on adventures and excursions. If you stop by the table at a certain time you can also get discounts on fun things to do. If you are into snorkeling and water adventure I recommend Xel ha Ecological park. Also if you want to see the Mayan ruins, I'd recommend a visit to Tulum. Those adventures include an air conditioned coach bus that picks you up about 8am from in front of your hotel and drops you off at the end of your excursion. (The bus ride is approx. 2-3 hrs round trip so make sure you bring snacks!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Derek
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Good experience

The best thing about the hotel was its location. It's right on the beach! And for 10 pesos you can get on a short bus ride to the major clubs. There's a plaza right across the street where you can find liquors, souvenirs, shirts and other decorative arts. Also not to far from the hotel is a plaza with a bunch of luxury brands such Louis Vuitton and Prada, and other US clothing stores like Zara and H&M. The staff and service was on point. The front desk was helpful whenever we had questions and or needed something. After a couple of days, the hotel felt like home. There's a convenience store with drinks and snacks. We chose the all inclusive package which included breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was decent, nothing special. The utensils, glasses and plates they use are on the "cheap" side. The grill that they use to prepare the lunch is obsolete. We chose the all inclusive package because the price difference between just the hotel stay and all inclusive was minor. I'd suggest getting the all inclusive. Overall the hotel was nice. Great location, great staff and service. However, they need to make some improvements in the food area. For the money, I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the bus, runs 24/7 and its cheaper and safer than the cabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alyssa B.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

It's ok

Food was really bad. Literally everything. It was so hard to find something to like. It was all really salty. The pools were nice but you better hope you get there early to get a towel. They ran out of towels three of the four days we were there. You are definitely paying for what you get. I would not recommend anyone to stay here. The staff was generally pleasant. The location is probably the only good thing. Margaritaville is no longer across the street and señor frogs has moved too. You are able to walk downtown from this location. There is also a nice mall within walking range. It has Starbucks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohyDavid
Business
Delaware
Dec 3, 2014

Really Good!

I stay here with my wife for thanksgiving week, everything was good. My only suggestion for the manager is to put some music around to pool area. But some music (not loud music) in the pool area will be great. it will give you i nice Caribbean feeling. The hotel looks like the are working on some structural issues but they are in the right track. Good job for the Manager and all the staff. Will be back next year...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlix
Business
Manhattan, New York
Sep 14, 2014

Good but not perfect

Usually we got surprised because the hotel is better than the photos I saw on the travel web pages! They have to update the hotel photos asap! Please get a better photographer for this! The location is just great, you have access to everywhere... The hotel is simple if you compare with the other ones on the zona hoteleira, but is comfy! All the staff is really good, they threat you very well, and even if you bought the inclusive package, tips in dollars are very welcome! So be prepair to have a lot of dolars-singles in your wallet! The all inclusive drinks are not strong at all, so you have to beg them for a better shot if you want something stronger! (Get tips ready for it)! Food is ok! Both restaurants repeats the menu almost every day! (Not very local food, they respect american taste too much in there)! They charge US$ 7 per day and per advice for WIFI... And doesn't work well in all areas at all! Very expensive for the poor service, should be free as all other resorts around offers... The gym wasn't open, closed in construction! They have poor entertnmeint in there, they should AT LEAST to put music at the pools... We are happy on vacation, we just need the hotel to keep that vibe! (We saw other hotels making parties at the beach, with loud music and we got jealous! Flamingo should do the same by the way)! Cancun is amazing, and we want to go back! We did like Flamingo, they are good but they have the potential to be even better! Thank you! Carla Portella

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coco Bongo for a fun night! flamingo is boring with parties and music..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rlab
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 12, 2014

Great for the price

Everything was great. The staff, food , drinks were great. The food was good, you do have to go to the steak restaurant at night. Make your reservations the day before seating is limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat dinner at the steak resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maya rules
Business
El Paso Texas
Aug 18, 2014

Family vacation

Not a good experience!. The room assigned to us was located in the second floor right in front the swimming pool; there was a lot of noise even during night time, from the pool, and from the main street outside. Our room was somewhat connected to the room next to us and only it was only divided by a regular room door; as a result we were able to hear our neighbor's conversations and the noise produced by their TV set. When I brought these concerns to the staff at the front desk, I was told that they were going to switch us to another room and that never happened during the whole week we stayed there!. This was not a good hotel experience at all ands I will definitely not recommend to my friends and/or relatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of bars and restaurants around the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
President Palmer
Business
West Jordan, UT.
Aug 12, 2014

Great Value and Great place

Very good location with a wonderful beach front. Almost all the staff is bilingual. We opted to do the all inclusive option and were not disappointed. Several of the reviews I read prior to going were critical of the food selection, with the exception of breakfast I never felt that way. The Albatross restaurant was exceptional, I had the best stake of my life there! The room temperature was set perfect and the rooms themselves were clean and nice, not extravagant by any means, but clean and nice. Would recommend this place to stay at. Good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top