$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Flamingo Cancun Resort

3 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 11, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Cancun Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
382 out of 382
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alyse88
Business
St. Charles, il
May 17, 2013

If I could give this a zero I would!

We were ignored upon arival. Our bags were placed in a puddle of water from the leaking roof. While waiting for our three hours before check in, we decided to sit by the pool. There was a used condom floating next to us! The room smelled of mold, knobs were broke on the drawers and the comforter was filthy. My husband and I both got food poisoning. After a call to get the heck out of there early, I was told by the manager that if I didn't like it, I could leave. Needless to say I will never return to the flamingo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
no thanks 12345
Business
Cancun
May 15, 2013

so so

May not be worth saving little to stay at this hotel compared to other options around. Staff not all that friendly. Room smelled like mold. No coffee maker, no refrigerator. Decent overall but may not be worth it unless saving a lot by staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Rouxs
Business
Maine
May 13, 2013

4th trip and more to come!

This was our 4th trip back... every year gets better.. the staff remembers us year to year and it is always so great to catch up with old friends! Can't wait till next year! Thank you to Jorge and Juan Carlos for a wonderful birthday too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Bobby
Business
Chicago il
Apr 24, 2013

My Cancun home away from home!

As always, Great!! My friends and I have been there over the last 16 years 30 times! We go 2-3 times a year. The staff is competent and friendly! Beach is THE BEST IN CANCUN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Outback Steakhouse or Lorenzillos are superb! The first for steak, the latter for lobster......Tha best!!!

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JimW.
Business
Lima, Ohio
Mar 25, 2013

BEST FOR THE $$

I have read other reviewers slamming the Flamigo. This is the 2nd time we have been there. You can't find a better punch or the buck. Yes its older and smaller. Its clean, the food is very good, drinks are not top shelf but I don't usually purchase top shelf either. You can pay extra for some top shelf, its a personal choice. Jimmy Buffets is steps away. It was a great week and we can't wait to go back to the Flamingo. The VIP people bombard you with tour offers etc. but it happens as soon as you go through customs and every other block as you walk in the hotel district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great time at Margaritaville.

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveling twentys
Business
boston
Mar 25, 2013

How is this hotel open to the public????

Everything from the first interaction with the front desk to seeing the security guard try to steal my IPAD right through my balcony while I was at the pool.. to the lousy and inedible foods, to the watered down drinks, incredibly rude staff, and just lousy all around hotel atmosphere... made this a dispicable experience for us in Cancun. They should be shut down and or burned down. The only and I mean only good thing was it's location and even that was a bit farther down the road than wanted. We are used to nicer hotels, not expecting too much for this low price and that it was spring break week...but how awful can awful get? Just go to this hotel and find out if you really want to know. TERRIBLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marine french student
Business
Springfield, Massachussetts
Mar 25, 2013

Unforgetable

We went during Springbreak so there were a lot of young people staying at the hotel. We were not all inclusive and did not regret it (the food was not good) but it would have been nice to have all inclusive for drinks as we can't drink the water. But a really nice hotel, a lot of wind but perfect location to go out (take the bus and be in coco bongo area in less than 5min).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Just go to the Coco Bongo area to have a crazy night. No need to buy tickets in advance, people everywhere will try to sell you their offers (sometimes really attractive for females!).

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scarffey
Business
Plano,Tx
Mar 4, 2013

Two day getaway

This hotel needs renovation. The bathrooms smelled and sometimes my room would smell too. I would recommend paying a little more and staying at a newer hotel, because no matter how good a service the facility needs to complement that service. Some of the staff were wonderful and then there were others that were rude and unhelpful. The food I didn't like. It was buffet and they charge 350 pesos for it. They do have another restaurant closer to the beach but I didn't dine there. I read there menu and looked at their prices and they seemed a much better choice. Overall I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

When going shopping at a mall, no matter how inviting there are first stroll through the whole mall and look at items from outside, kind of browse and see everything and then decide which store and counters you would like to go back to. This way you don't end up going to the first couple of stores and making all your purchases and then finding out better stores and more unique hand crafts are more towards the middle and end of the mall. Keep in mind the better stores are located much further in the shopping mall. (Flamingo Shopping Mall)

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just a FYI
Business
New York
Feb 18, 2013

If you're looking for a bed in a good location....about it

Had high hopes for this place but they felll short. First of all I purchased the hotel because it was all inclusive. Yet, when I got my wrist band and went to get a drink I was told I would have to pay for everything. After looking at their ridiculous cheap and horrible liquor selection I figured it was not the end of the world. Worst part of the experience was the incompetent staff. I understand tourist can be difficult, but they would literally just ignore you as if you were not even there. So belittling. Great location tough if you are not looking to be on resort at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minnesota Frozen
Business
Minnesota
Feb 17, 2013

Flamingo

We have been coming to this resort for several years, each year there are changes, some for the better and some not so good. Food was good, more variety would be appreciated. Housekeeping was prompt. Internet was not available although we purchased an internet card, we were not able to connect during our 10 day stay. Phone cards were also not available, we were told the internet and phone cards would be fixed "tomorrow", this never happened. Probably not a big deal for most travelers but I need to stay connected with my job, so it was a hassle. Staff are all friendly with the exception of the gal at the front desk, I overheard several angry customers complaining and she did nothing to accommadate them, she needs to go! Never smiled even once! The beach is wonderful. The location is also perfect, with shopping and alterative food options just across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Margaritaville and Bubba Gumps are located just across the street, food is excellent

Back to menu Return to top