Flamingo Cancun Resort

3 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 11, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
454 reviews
more than expected

outstanding..a bang for the buck..staff was the best, they made sure me and my family had the best... See full review

  • antonjr1
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great for the price

Everything was great. The staff, food , drinks were great. The food was good, you do have to go to... See full review

  • Rlab
  • Sep 12, 2014
Cancun resort in hotel zone near shopping with optional all-inclusive

The conveniently located Flamingo Cancun is a 20-minute ride from downtown Cancun, across from a shopping mall and within walking distance of many attractions. Its vibrantly hued rooms overlook the ocean or lagoon. There are two pools, one facing the grounds, the other facing the Caribbean Sea. An optional all-inclusive plan includes three meals daily, plus snacks and unlimited domestic drinks at three bars as well as many daily activities and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights
  • Convenient, central location in the hotel zone between the airport and downtown Cancun
  • Optional all-inclusive plan with dining, domestic alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and snacks
  • Cheery guest rooms overlooking the ocean or lagoon
Rooms

The 215 standard, 13 junior suite and 32 deluxe guest rooms have one king or two double beds. Each is brightly adorned and comfortably appointed with color satellite TV, mini bar, individual climate control and direct dial telephone, and some feature terraces.

Features

The Flamingo Cancun is conveniently located near shopping and entertainment within the hotel zone. It offers an optional all-inclusive plan. The resort has several dining options, including a Mexican restaurant overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Guests can sip tropical cocktails at a poolside bar or visit the on-site fitness center or tobacco shop (fees apply). A club for children is located on the second floor. It overlooks the courtyard swimming pool.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions

Planet Hollywood (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)

Mayan Aqua Dive (0.7 mi/ 1 km)

Playa Paraiso Golf Club (1 mi/ 1.6 km)

Flamingo Cancun Resort Rooms

Standard Room European Plan
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room European Plan
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Wireless internet, hospitality room with a computer with internet access and bites. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite European Plan
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults
Standard Room All Inclusive
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room All Inclusive
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite All Inclusive
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.1187 -86.7563
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-12 Miles
Area description
Located in the middle of the hotel zone on the beach. At midpoint between downtown Cancun (20 minutes by taxi) and Cancun International Airport (20 minutes by taxi) and across the street from Flamingo Plaza shopping mall and 5 minutes walking distance from La Isla Shopping Mall. Near from other shopping malls, discos and restaurants. "An excellent location to take advantage of all the activities Cancun offers."

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.8 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 4 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.3 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 6.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 6.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 8.2 mi

Dining

La Fuente
Facing the Caribbean Sea, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
Open daily
From 7:00am to 11:00pm
Buffet service
Palenque Lobby Bar
Indulge yourself with exotic cocktails in a musical atmosphere From 4:00pm to midnight
Las Palmas Bar
Serving tropical cocktails at pool side
Bar Service from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Snack Service from 12:00 to 6:00 pm
Albatros Restaurant & Bar
Beach front restaurant bar, offers lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
A la carte service
Dress code for Dinner: Casual Bar from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Lunch from 11:30 to 5:00 p.m.
Dinner from 6:30 to 10:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (454)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Cancun Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
454 out of 454
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JimW.
Business
Lima, Ohio
Mar 25, 2013

BEST FOR THE $$

I have read other reviewers slamming the Flamigo. This is the 2nd time we have been there. You can't find a better punch or the buck. Yes its older and smaller. Its clean, the food is very good, drinks are not top shelf but I don't usually purchase top shelf either. You can pay extra for some top shelf, its a personal choice. Jimmy Buffets is steps away. It was a great week and we can't wait to go back to the Flamingo. The VIP people bombard you with tour offers etc. but it happens as soon as you go through customs and every other block as you walk in the hotel district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great time at Margaritaville.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveling twentys
Business
boston
Mar 25, 2013

How is this hotel open to the public????

Everything from the first interaction with the front desk to seeing the security guard try to steal my IPAD right through my balcony while I was at the pool.. to the lousy and inedible foods, to the watered down drinks, incredibly rude staff, and just lousy all around hotel atmosphere... made this a dispicable experience for us in Cancun. They should be shut down and or burned down. The only and I mean only good thing was it's location and even that was a bit farther down the road than wanted. We are used to nicer hotels, not expecting too much for this low price and that it was spring break week...but how awful can awful get? Just go to this hotel and find out if you really want to know. TERRIBLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marine french student
Business
Springfield, Massachussetts
Mar 25, 2013

Unforgetable

We went during Springbreak so there were a lot of young people staying at the hotel. We were not all inclusive and did not regret it (the food was not good) but it would have been nice to have all inclusive for drinks as we can't drink the water. But a really nice hotel, a lot of wind but perfect location to go out (take the bus and be in coco bongo area in less than 5min).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Just go to the Coco Bongo area to have a crazy night. No need to buy tickets in advance, people everywhere will try to sell you their offers (sometimes really attractive for females!).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Liz A
Business
Chicago
Mar 5, 2013

Kinda Blah

Staff was extraordinarily not helpful- besides one or two people. Beds were hard. Pool activity was kind of dead (with regard to the staff making things exciting). Not a resort that has a lot going on, better to not do the all inclusive here and to sped your money having fun off of the resort. That being said you get what you pay for and i would go back if the price was right.. lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Margarittaville has amazing food and is located right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky man
Business
Charlotte, NC
Mar 5, 2013

My trip was good

Location is perfet Staffs are kind Rooms are old but clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scarffey
Business
Plano,Tx
Mar 4, 2013

Two day getaway

This hotel needs renovation. The bathrooms smelled and sometimes my room would smell too. I would recommend paying a little more and staying at a newer hotel, because no matter how good a service the facility needs to complement that service. Some of the staff were wonderful and then there were others that were rude and unhelpful. The food I didn't like. It was buffet and they charge 350 pesos for it. They do have another restaurant closer to the beach but I didn't dine there. I read there menu and looked at their prices and they seemed a much better choice. Overall I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

When going shopping at a mall, no matter how inviting there are first stroll through the whole mall and look at items from outside, kind of browse and see everything and then decide which store and counters you would like to go back to. This way you don't end up going to the first couple of stores and making all your purchases and then finding out better stores and more unique hand crafts are more towards the middle and end of the mall. Keep in mind the better stores are located much further in the shopping mall. (Flamingo Shopping Mall)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just a FYI
Business
New York
Feb 18, 2013

If you're looking for a bed in a good location....about it

Had high hopes for this place but they felll short. First of all I purchased the hotel because it was all inclusive. Yet, when I got my wrist band and went to get a drink I was told I would have to pay for everything. After looking at their ridiculous cheap and horrible liquor selection I figured it was not the end of the world. Worst part of the experience was the incompetent staff. I understand tourist can be difficult, but they would literally just ignore you as if you were not even there. So belittling. Great location tough if you are not looking to be on resort at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minnesota Frozen
Business
Minnesota
Feb 17, 2013

Flamingo

We have been coming to this resort for several years, each year there are changes, some for the better and some not so good. Food was good, more variety would be appreciated. Housekeeping was prompt. Internet was not available although we purchased an internet card, we were not able to connect during our 10 day stay. Phone cards were also not available, we were told the internet and phone cards would be fixed "tomorrow", this never happened. Probably not a big deal for most travelers but I need to stay connected with my job, so it was a hassle. Staff are all friendly with the exception of the gal at the front desk, I overheard several angry customers complaining and she did nothing to accommadate them, she needs to go! Never smiled even once! The beach is wonderful. The location is also perfect, with shopping and alterative food options just across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Margaritaville and Bubba Gumps are located just across the street, food is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronald B Fourth Time Here
Business
Tucson
Feb 17, 2013

Bad Management

We booked jr suites for four couples, the first couple had to be moved to a different hotel. We got our suite after one day in a standard room, the third couple moved in to their suite after two days in a standard room. And the fourth couple received a street view room the first night, second , third, and fourth night were in different rooms, and received their jr suite on night five. The food was sub-standard and no variety. Also food on menu sometimes not available. The liquer served was bottom of the line , sometimes undrinkable. There were some great staff members we enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close by is Bubba Gump,Margaritaville,Outback and Lemoncello,Lorenzillos. Also stores across street ,farmicia. and extra market were you can buy drinks and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Team traveler
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Feb 17, 2013

Great for the Right Price

Our stay at the Flamingo was well worth it. We got a deal on the hotel which made it worth the price. We opted for the all inclusive option which was great because we kept the drinks flowing! The food at the restaurant outside the lobby wasnt that great but makimg dinner reservatioms for the beachview restaurant made up for it. Service and food there was AMAZING!! The bed was firm which wasnt pleasing to me after swimming all day and dancing all night but I still had an overall good experience and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top