$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Flamingo Cancun Resort

3 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 11, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
448 reviews
Great for the price

Everything was great. The staff, food , drinks were great. The food was good, you do have to go to... See full review

  • Rlab
  • Sep 12, 2014
Flamingo

We had the best time ever staff was amazing our room was spotless everyday food was great pools... See full review

  • moreno fam 04
  • Aug 4, 2014
Cancun resort in hotel zone near shopping with optional all-inclusive

The conveniently located Flamingo Cancun is a 20-minute ride from downtown Cancun, across from a shopping mall and within walking distance of many attractions. Its vibrantly hued rooms overlook the ocean or lagoon. There are two pools, one facing the grounds, the other facing the Caribbean Sea. An optional all-inclusive plan includes three meals daily, plus snacks and unlimited domestic drinks at three bars as well as many daily activities and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights
  • Convenient, central location in the hotel zone between the airport and downtown Cancun
  • Optional all-inclusive plan with dining, domestic alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and snacks
  • Cheery guest rooms overlooking the ocean or lagoon
Rooms

The 215 standard, 13 junior suite and 32 deluxe guest rooms have one king or two double beds. Each is brightly adorned and comfortably appointed with color satellite TV, mini bar, individual climate control and direct dial telephone, and some feature terraces.

Features

The Flamingo Cancun is conveniently located near shopping and entertainment within the hotel zone. It offers an optional all-inclusive plan. The resort has several dining options, including a Mexican restaurant overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Guests can sip tropical cocktails at a poolside bar or visit the on-site fitness center or tobacco shop (fees apply). A club for children is located on the second floor. It overlooks the courtyard swimming pool.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions

Planet Hollywood (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)

Mayan Aqua Dive (0.7 mi/ 1 km)

Playa Paraiso Golf Club (1 mi/ 1.6 km)

Hotel Map

21.1187 -86.7563
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-12 Miles
Area description
Located in the middle of the hotel zone on the beach. At midpoint between downtown Cancun (20 minutes by taxi) and Cancun International Airport (20 minutes by taxi) and across the street from Flamingo Plaza shopping mall and 5 minutes walking distance from La Isla Shopping Mall. Near from other shopping malls, discos and restaurants. "An excellent location to take advantage of all the activities Cancun offers."

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Cancun Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Flamingo Cancun Resort Rooms

Standard Room European Plan
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room European Plan
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Wireless internet, hospitality room with a computer with internet access and bites. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite European Plan
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults
Standard Room All Inclusive
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room All Inclusive
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite All Inclusive
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.8 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 4 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 4.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.3 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 6.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 6.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 8.2 mi

Dining

La Fuente
Facing the Caribbean Sea, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
Open daily
From 7:00am to 11:00pm
Buffet service
Palenque Lobby Bar
Indulge yourself with exotic cocktails in a musical atmosphere From 4:00pm to midnight
Las Palmas Bar
Serving tropical cocktails at pool side
Bar Service from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Snack Service from 12:00 to 6:00 pm
Albatros Restaurant & Bar
Beach front restaurant bar, offers lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
A la carte service
Dress code for Dinner: Casual Bar from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Lunch from 11:30 to 5:00 p.m.
Dinner from 6:30 to 10:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (448)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Cancun Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
448 out of 448
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shaypr
Puerto Rico
Jun 19, 2009

Is really beautiful but not good in serv

Well Im very dissapointment because when I went I should be received an discount in the food and kids free and when I was there That wasn't so Im not going to be back in that hotel again!! Thanks for nothing.. I felt like in a jail!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pool College Students
Columbus, OH
Jun 18, 2009

The first but hopefully not the last

The hotel staff was extremely helpful, as were the travel guides at the hotel. Although we didn't book services through them, because we had never traveled to Cancun before, they were able to ensure that we made our horseback riding and day trip to the ruins when our contact fell through. The all inclusive program is great and definitely worth while. The food was good, although we preferred the smaller restaurant on the beach for lunch and dinner as the indoor restaurant was a little fancy for our taste. Although we expected more traditional Mexican food, everything we ate there was delicious. The breakfast buffet was great as well. Our room was lovely with an excellent view of the beach. The beach chairs were a little uncomfortable, but the ones by the pool were good. Overall a really stellar first trip. We hope to return to Cancun soon for another vacation and will likely stay at the Flamingo again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book activities at the hotel through the travel activity planners there. Sometimes there will be discounts because you are in the all inclusive program and they were extremely helpful and friendly, even if you didn't book through them. We booked online this trip, but in the future, we wouldn't do that because it was a pain to ensure that we actually got to go! The travel activity planners at the hotel will make sure you get to your activity and may refund you if you miss the service or it is canceled due to weather.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doris & tony
ROCHELLE PK, NJ
Jun 13, 2009

FANTASTIC HOTEL WITH A FRIENDLY STAFF

WE HAVE STAYED AT THIS HOTEL MANY TIMES. ITS A GREAT LOCATION TO SHOPPING AND NIGHT LIFE...THE PEOPLE WHO WORK THERE MAKE THIS A GREAT HOTEL...WE FEEL LIKE FAMILY....FOR A MEDIUM PRICE HOTEL WITH FRIENDLY PEOPLE & GOOD FOOD YOU CAN'T BEAT IT....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent Flamingo visitor
Dallas, TX
Jun 9, 2009

A Fine Place to Kick Back

Situated right on the beach, oceanside, this hotel was friendly, responsive, and lovely. Although not a luxury property by any means, it had all we wanted in a Cancun hotel: stunning beach view, easy access to the bus and other restaurants, and a very attentive staff. The employees made it a pleasure to stay there. The pillows were lumpy, so I would probably take my own next time; the bed was, as other reviews have said, hard, but not at all uncomfortable. But the restaurant coffee--from Chiapas--was divine! All in all, it was peaceful and relaxing, the food was dependably good (especially the fish), and we would go back in a minute. And it was very safe there--all service workers in Cancun are eager to go out of their way to please tourists during this huge lull in their economy; they are hurting financially, so please TIP GENEROUSLY whenever deserved! You'll be rewarded with excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the hotel, visit Sanborn's restaurant for their famous Enchiladas Suizas--a delicious standard on their menu for over 30 years. (About $9)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 9, 2009

Resort.....not so much

Cancun was not my favorite place to vacation, but it was still fun. The Flamingo is not your typical resort. The rooms are small and are comparable to a La Quinta or Days Inn. The beds are really hard and the air conditioner never gets really cool. The staff was ok, but the restaurant service wasn't so great. Breakfast is definitely the best meal of the day. It is a buffet but there is some varienty from day to day. Only about half of the staff spoke English. Margarittaville, Outback and a few other restaurants are across the street as well as a small shopping mall and a pharmacy. The hotel is about 1-2 miles from the other clubs. the easiest way to get there was by bus and itonly cost 7.5 pesos. we walked back severl times, and the walk isn't too bad either. Defiitely learn the currency and the exchange rate because the locals will try to cheat you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't do the party bus. It's not worth it. It's easier to ride the bus and bargain for open bar. On tuesday night, I only spent 13 dollars and had open bar and free entrance into Congo bar and Coco Bongo. Tuesday was the best night for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancunfirsttimer
Dallas, TX
Jun 1, 2009

Good hotel...

Very friendly service and staff, very accommodating and willing to work with us...we think we went when there weren't too many tourists in general, so that could be the reason it was quiet, but it was very relaxing and peaceful on the beach with not a lot of noise or people around us...the only negative on the beach was that the chairs were not very comfortable so we often used those of the hotel located next to the Flamingo...overall for the price and the convenient location, i would definitely recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beware of being ripped off by the travel people located in the hotel...my friend and i did an excursion sail boat trip that they charged us $55 for and told us they were giving us a "deal"...turns out if we had just walked up to the place that offered the excursion itself, it only cost $35 to do!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cancun, Mexico
May 24, 2009

gorgeous location

It was really slow when we went. The service was very good, and the food was delicious. I was shocked, because typically you don't go to cancun for the food. The room was very clean, and the staff was very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't take a taxi from the airport to the hotel. Instead, take a shuttle service. It will be at least half the price. Then when you're at the hotel, arrange with them for a ride back to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, Wa
May 21, 2009

Nice Clean Hotel,Friendly Helpful Staff,

My first time to Cancun and since I was on a budget this hotel surprised me in many ways and kind of reminded me that of a 4 star hotel with just a few things missing. Great location,clean rooms, well kept hotel,helpful friendly staff,perfect for kids since they have a big enough pool in the middle of the hotel to play volleyball and basketball,fun atmosphere. I didn't do the all inclusive and next time I will. It makes sense! I had a standard room facing the water with a deck which was nice. The bathrooms looked as if they were just updated and tastefully done. I was disappointed with the comfort of the beds which need to be addressed since they were hard as a rock. But a good stay overall and a nice place especially if you can't afford a 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso Texas
May 18, 2009

Fair hotel, too many restrictions.

I had my family stayed at another hotel, they come to drop me off and bring some thing, they attempt to go to my room, and where treated very rude. I explained they where my family 2 sisters with gray hair and decent appearance they just blew me off and said to visit in the Lobby only, they stayed in the Krystal BIG difference nice friendly personal, never had any trouble visiting them in there. The only reason I stay here is because I book my reservation later than them and Krystal was out of rooms, FIRST AND LAST TIME IN FLAMINGO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Flamingo Hotel needs to learn how to treat people I was not a teenager going there to make a full out myself, just to visit this beautiful place and enjoy my vacation.I was not also the type to take women into my room. Staff needs more training in manners and to be able to identified the bad apples from the good ones.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Collins, CO
May 15, 2009

Spring 2009 Trip

We took a "Spring Break" trip to Cancun this year, albeit only about half of us were still in school. Check in was pretty straight forward, the lady at the front understood English enough to get us our rooms and bracelets. We did the all-inclusive option, as we wanted to have easy access to drinks during the day. The rooms were fairly clean, and your standard layout. 2 beds, a balcony. Our balcony faced the busy road, and wasn't all that great minus the fact that it was nice to watch the sunset while drinking a cold beverage before you got ready for dinner. It might be worth a few extra bucks to get a room that has an ocean view if you are into that. The cleaning lady was pretty consistent each morning showing up around 9 or 10. She would drop off two water bottles, even if you didn't answer the door, which was cool because some mornings we weren't in shape to be out of bed at that hour. Every we answered, we usually just asked her to come by in a few hours. It also probably didn't hurt that we would tip her a buck each day. The service in the rest of the hotel was kind of a mystery...I guess you would call it Jeckyl and Hyde. The first day we had lunch at the ocean side resteraunt. The service was fantastic! They brought out drinks about as fast as we could finish them, and chips and salsa was brought out before the food, which was also delivered fairly promptly. But on other occasions when we would eat there. The service was horribly slow. Sometimes taking up to half an hour to get food after you ordered it, and nobody serving you drinks (alcoholic or non). Some of the waiters were not the most friendly either. The regular restaurant had good food most nights, and the staff was pretty good. It was pretty much self serve, so didn't have to worry much. The bartenders around the pool area were pretty decent. Not the most personal people, but hey, they got you your drinks. The atmosphere in the hotel was a good mix. There were a decent amount of young adults, but not like it was student city headquarters (and I wouldn't wish that on anybody). There were some familys and couples there too. Nothing too crazy or crowded, but still fun, which is what we were preferring. On one or two mornings though you could hear doors slamming at like 5 am. Which was pretty annoying. All in all, I would say, don't expect extravagance. This place is nice, but not 4 star nice....but hey, it's Cancun, get off your high horse and have some fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Lobby bar is a pretty cool place to hang out, pregame, and meet some of the other guests before you go out for the night. Also Margaritaville is across the road, if you want to have a fun yet low key night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search