$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Flamingo Cancun Resort

3 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 11, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Cancun Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
381 out of 381
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teix
Business
New York, New York
Jan 6, 2013

Disappointed

This was my fourth time at this hotel and this year the service has declined, the food has also declined. The room had a loud noise and vibration coming from the cealing that kept us awake all night. Although we complained the hotel management did nothing about it. The reception front desk was unfriendly and not helpful. In the room the phone and clock did not work, the safe in the room was broken and the refrigerator kept defrosting on its own flooding the room with water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rosieash
Business
Aurora, IL, USA
Dec 27, 2012

The beach was Great!

You get what you pay for. Which in our case was not much. Basic room no safe no fridge no coffe maker no wash cloths no working phone no room service no, avery hard old bed no iron . The staff at the front desk could care less about anything we asked for, probley because you dont tip them. The beach was the best part of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shopping , and quick bus ride to resturants and clubs.

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rum end coke
Business
michigan
Dec 14, 2012

relax

well matained older hotel.Perfect location on the strip.Staff goes over and above the call of duty to please you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alaska tea
Business
alaska
Dec 14, 2012

don't stay here

nothing impressed me all they wanted was for me to spend more money! When they couldn't get me to upgrade they treated me badly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maria Single Traveler
Business
Torrance, CA
Oct 29, 2012

Fantastic Ocean

Hotel needs a facelift and the food was not good. The best thing it has going for it is the location, close to restaurant and bus stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pistole petey
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 27, 2012

close to everything* (*some limitations apply)

I'll try to make this short and sweet: The Bad: - Check-in: was told they had trouble finding my reservation, would take 5 minutes...over 30 minutes later, I finally got the key to my room with no explanation or apology for inconvienence - Uncomfortable beds and super scratchy towels - Was invited for a tour of another hotel, explicitly told that it was not a sales meeting or timeshare info thing...was totally a sales meeting and timeshare info thing. Was told it would take 90 minutes tops, took almost 3 hours. But we did get a voucher for 500 pesos of hotel services (used it for a trip to Xcaret). After we declined buying a timeshare, our room key did not work upon return to our room, coincidence? - Upon checking in, they said that we were close to everything. If by everything they mean across the street from a poor looking mall and authentic Mexican food such as Bubba Gump, Margaritaville and Outback, then yes we were close to everything. If by everything, you mean actual points of interest such as the clubs and downtown and aquarium, then no. -no free wi-fi -our room had a wonderful view of the aforementioned mall and super busy street, we were serenaded to sleep with horns and sirens of the local wildlife. -the room had thin walls and doors, we could hear every little whisper in adjoining rooms and in the hallway The good: - The price was decent - AC worked well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Niecee d
Business
Orange county california
Aug 8, 2012

Girls trip !

The hotel gave exactly what we needed, a place to lay our head. Other than that, it was nothing special. Pros: fairly close to everything. Walking distance to the mall and a short bus ride (10 mins) to the clubs and bars. Most of the staff very friendly and super helpful. 24 hour security made us feel safe. But just know you cant have visitors especially if they are opposite gender Cons: lobby smelt like bug spray. Our first day, the maids walked in our room like it was no problem. At first we were scared to shower because it didnt look at that clean , but we got over it and just showered sometimes the water was hot other times it was kind of cold. We had to flush the toilets several times begore it flushed everything. There was also a promotion when we booked our room about getting into one of the clubs for free, when i got there no one knew anything about it. The pool was always crowded especially with kids. The last day, we were waiting on our pickup service to come , rey , who was in charge of making sure they came , acted like he didnt know it was our day to leave even though we spoke to him on the first day and he wrote our info in his book , so we had to pay for a taxi to come get us. Almost felt like a motel Overall, you get exactly wat you pay for which isnt much. But if ur main goal is to just use the place to lay your head then its perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus ! Its a straight shot to the hotels and only cost 8,5 pesos which is less than a dollar! Less than ten minutes away !

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marquigno
Business
San Antonio
May 27, 2012

not the best

I was very disappointed, the front desk person told me that nothing was inclusive and it would be an additional $70 per day per person to have everything inclusive, even the breakfast was not included, i was told only the last day by the cleaning person, that there was coffee and cookies on my floor in the morning. For the 1st 2 days, the telephone did not work, we also had a problem with TV, on the last day (day 5), they brought a new flat screen TV. Sorry to say, i will neither be coming back to this hotel in particular nor recommand it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nycteacherealtor
Business
Astoria, NYC
Apr 24, 2012

Good Value, Simple Accomodations, Very Good Location

Honestly, the only reason I selected this hotel was because the Royal next door was sold out and my cousin was getting married there. I didn't use any of the facilities because I paid for the day pass to the Royal, which cost about $62 per person if you did at least 3 days. That pass included food and drink and most other aspects of an amazing hotel from the hours of 9am to 11pm, so there was almost no reason for me to spend time at the Flamingo. What I did experience was a relatively helpful, attentive, and courteous staff at the Flamingo. This was my first time in Cancun. Considering the locations, I would say that this hotel is an overall good value. Although I did save a few bucks sleeping at the Flamingo and using the day pass, if there was space at the all inclusive Royal or their sister property the Grand Caribe, I would choose that instead. The Flamingo was no different than a Holiday Inn type, while the Royal was like being in the luxury of Vegas with classy hints of local flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel to the "clubs" its a short 10 minute walk, so paying for a cab in not worth it. It's relatively safe, but don't travel alone.

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schoonie
Business
Oklahoma city
Apr 10, 2012

Positive experience!!!!

I read the many reviews of the Flamingo on this and many other sites. I was weary. But after my six night stay I will definatley go back again. Why? Value and location!! I spent my vacation on the most beautiful beach in the world. I stayed in the Jr Suite which has its own private area overlooking the beach. I stayed in room one o six which was clean, comfortable, and had a great bed, fridge, a warm shower with great water pressure and clean fluffy towels. A competing site had it a few dollars cheaper, but that was for a standard room. This site was basically the same price for a basic room or a Jr suite...you definatley want to upgrade to a Jr suite. The hotel is fine. Is it the nicest hotel on the beach....no where close. But by what I saved in booking this reservation to the flamingo I went on two excursions, went out to eat several times and bought many souvineers. The hotel has a few outdated issues. The pool had some rustry spots. But the pools (there are two) were otherwise clean and comfortable. The beach was....well...the beach. I have been to several great beaches in the world and in my opinion Cancun has the most beautiful of them all. My girlfrind simply could not believe how incredible canucn was. The food was fine. Not the best ever, but tastly and fresh. You could get a freshly made omlet for breakfast. The Albatros resurant was delicious for dinner, tho reservations are required. Try the t-bone = amazing. My girlfriend is a vegetarian and she had the ravioli and it was incredible as well. We mainly drank beer (dos equis) and it was great (and strong). To sum up, two resuraunts open pretty much all day. One snack area with fresh cooked burgers by the pool. Bars by the pool and one by the lobby. The location in great. Literally right across the street from Margaritaville and a shopping mall. Easy walk to the south (maybe 1/2 mile) to 'Le Isle' mall with upscale shopping. A slightly longer walk (maybe a mile ( to the north to the main entertainment district and flea market. So go, enjoy the flamingo, its great location, great beach, great food, free drinks. Know you will get hit up for memberships, but 'play' the sytem a little to enjoy a great time. We are already planning our next trip back to cancun and will for sure stay at the flamingo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

My advice is to not schedule day trips in advance. You can get a better deal locally in cancun from vendors. Remember, you will be asked to attend presentations (both at the airport and at the hotel) for a dicount on day trip. We decided to do this and for our 2 hours of time recieved 2 trips for about 1/4 of the normal cost. We attended teh presentation witha good attitude. Said no. Then enjoyed our significantly dicounted trips and lughed about he crazy prices they wanted.

Back to menu Return to top