$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Flamingo Cancun Resort

3 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 11, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
472 reviews
Spring Break trip with my friends

We visited Cancun for our spring break. The hotel was nice and clean, and also it was close from... See full review

  • NInja
  • Feb 9, 2015
Great Location, good hotel

Located right on the beach, a shopping mall and restaurants across the street, taxi and bus stop... See full review

  • Sonia and Rick
  • Jan 28, 2015
Cancun resort in hotel zone near shopping with optional all-inclusive

The conveniently located Flamingo Cancun is a 20-minute ride from downtown Cancun, across from a shopping mall and within walking distance of many attractions. Its vibrantly hued rooms overlook the ocean or lagoon. There are two pools, one facing the grounds, the other facing the Caribbean Sea. An optional all-inclusive plan includes three meals daily, plus snacks and unlimited domestic drinks at three bars as well as many daily activities and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights
  • Convenient, central location in the hotel zone between the airport and downtown Cancun
  • Optional all-inclusive plan with dining, domestic alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and snacks
  • Cheery guest rooms overlooking the ocean or lagoon
Rooms

The 215 standard, 13 junior suite and 32 deluxe guest rooms have one king or two double beds. Each is brightly adorned and comfortably appointed with color satellite TV, mini bar, individual climate control and direct dial telephone, and some feature terraces.

Features

The Flamingo Cancun is conveniently located near shopping and entertainment within the hotel zone. It offers an optional all-inclusive plan. The resort has several dining options, including a Mexican restaurant overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Guests can sip tropical cocktails at a poolside bar or visit the on-site fitness center or tobacco shop (fees apply). A club for children is located on the second floor. It overlooks the courtyard swimming pool.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions

Planet Hollywood (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)

Mayan Aqua Dive (0.7 mi/ 1 km)

Playa Paraiso Golf Club (1 mi/ 1.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Cancun Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Flamingo Cancun Resort Rooms

Standard Room European Plan
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room European Plan
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Wireless internet, hospitality room with a computer with internet access and bites. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite European Plan
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults
Standard Room All Inclusive
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room All Inclusive
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite All Inclusive
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.8 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 4 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.3 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 6.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 6.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 8.2 mi

Dining

La Fuente
Facing the Caribbean Sea, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
Open daily
From 7:00am to 11:00pm
Buffet service
Palenque Lobby Bar
Indulge yourself with exotic cocktails in a musical atmosphere From 4:00pm to midnight
Las Palmas Bar
Serving tropical cocktails at pool side
Bar Service from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Snack Service from 12:00 to 6:00 pm
Albatros Restaurant & Bar
Beach front restaurant bar, offers lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
A la carte service
Dress code for Dinner: Casual Bar from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Lunch from 11:30 to 5:00 p.m.
Dinner from 6:30 to 10:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Cancun Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 472
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eva L.
Business
Seattle
Apr 6, 2015

Great location for great price

I loved my stay at the flamingo. Clean room, great food and great view of the ocean from my room. Thank you Laura R for being very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicholas H.
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Most disappointing resort I have ever been to

This morning I woke up to the sound of hammers pounding. Still happening as I write this. I am not sure why they thought a remodel on the room next door at 7am was appropiate at a resort but you get what you pay for. The food is terrible. If it wasn't all inclusive, I would not pay a dime for it. When I arrived, I was forced to pay $200 as a security deposit because they thought I was a spring breaker. With this deposit came with a contract I had to sign that promised I would not have any food or drink at the pool. Sort of false advertising for the swim up pool bar. I talked some older people here that informed me they were not required to sign the contract or pay the deposit. I would have been fine paying it if I would have been notified that they are discriminatory towards age but I was given no notice. Another thing is the last three times I went to check out a towel, they were out. Sounds nitpicky I know but wanting a towel for the beach is not unreasonable. I still have three more days here. Hopefully the rest of my stay goes more smoothly. Ps wait staff is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stantin
Business
Fair Lawn
Feb 27, 2015

Upscaled hotel without internet

The hotel is very comfortable and expensive but its internet service is: - not free - slow and unstable - only for single device I need to do some work and paid for internet. The thing turned out completely useless and after a couple of hours it stopped working. I was able to survive because there is Outback Steakhouse right across the road offering free WiFi. For the hotel price it is just ridiculous to provide so bad internet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NInja
Business
Neyagawa
Feb 9, 2015

Spring Break trip with my friends

We visited Cancun for our spring break. The hotel was nice and clean, and also it was close from the beach. It took only a minute to get the beach from the room. They provide buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! That was a great vacation ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sonia and Rick
Business
overland park
Jan 28, 2015

Great Location, good hotel

Located right on the beach, a shopping mall and restaurants across the street, taxi and bus stop are right there, very convenient. We arrived too early - the hotel stored our luggage until the time to check. we got room on the patio with swimming pool overlooking the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

No entertainment though, but very close to bars and night clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cancun
Business
Cambridge
Jan 20, 2015

vacation

good location, beach, and TV. not bad staff. but bad facility!!! no freeze in the room! kidding me. I am very disappointed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowgoer
Business
Renton
Jan 14, 2015

A week in Cancun

We didn't do the all inclusive, but this place was a great place to stay. Very affordable and has a great beach, pools, etc. The three things I wish this place had were conditioner with the shampoo, etc., better internet service that was free, and a fridge in the room. They do have ice that you can use though. The beach is great, there are nice restaurants, and the pools are kept clean and are nice. The ocean view rooms are great, and they gave us an ocean view room upgrade for free. It was all in all a great deal. Close to lots of shopping, food, etc. In walking distance of 2 malls and the flea market. I will likely stay here again next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tacun has relatively cheap (for the hotel zone), authentic food and great service. It is a small restaurant on the same side of the road as the hotel about a block south.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I. Bee
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 30, 2014

Couple's Getaway

My boyfriend and I traveled in February 2014. When I read the reviews I was a little skeptical about staying at this hotel, however once we decided on staying here I was pleasantly surprised. Room: We lucked out and got a Junior suite with an ocean view. Which was great! It was clean and maintained and every day the the mini fridge was stocked with complimentary beverages, including bottled water. The only issue I had was that the shower water would run onto the floor, so we had to use towels to make sure that the floor didn't get soaked. Also there was no microwave so you weren't able to warm up any leftovers if you wanted to. Staff: The concierge and all the staff were very pleasant and friendly. And when we first arrived we were greeted by a staff member who gave us information as well as coupons for the different dining options and souvenir shops. Location: The Flamingo Hotel is located in the hotel zone and right on the beach. It is pretty central to a lot of different options, most of which are in walking distance. You can also take the public transportation located in front of the hotel for just one peso per person and it'll take you up and down the strip which makes it easily accessible to entertainment, shopping and restaurants. Dining: We opted out of the all inclusive meal plan and instead decided on eating at the different restaurants along the strip. Next time I might opt for the meal plan because we didn't get to eat three meals a day. Overall, our stay in Cancun turned out to be really great! If you're looking for a more cost effective way to have a great vacation then, Flamingo is definitely a GOOD option. If you can opt for an ocean view room or junior suite, you won't be disappointed. Just make sure you remember to leave a few dollars each day for housekeeping. $5-10 USD, goes a long way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Attractions: We pre-bought our excursions prior to travel, however at the hotel they have a table where you can get information on adventures and excursions. If you stop by the table at a certain time you can also get discounts on fun things to do. If you are into snorkeling and water adventure I recommend Xel ha Ecological park. Also if you want to see the Mayan ruins, I'd recommend a visit to Tulum. Those adventures include an air conditioned coach bus that picks you up about 8am from in front of your hotel and drops you off at the end of your excursion. (The bus ride is approx. 2-3 hrs round trip so make sure you bring snacks!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Derek
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Good experience

The best thing about the hotel was its location. It's right on the beach! And for 10 pesos you can get on a short bus ride to the major clubs. There's a plaza right across the street where you can find liquors, souvenirs, shirts and other decorative arts. Also not to far from the hotel is a plaza with a bunch of luxury brands such Louis Vuitton and Prada, and other US clothing stores like Zara and H&M. The staff and service was on point. The front desk was helpful whenever we had questions and or needed something. After a couple of days, the hotel felt like home. There's a convenience store with drinks and snacks. We chose the all inclusive package which included breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was decent, nothing special. The utensils, glasses and plates they use are on the "cheap" side. The grill that they use to prepare the lunch is obsolete. We chose the all inclusive package because the price difference between just the hotel stay and all inclusive was minor. I'd suggest getting the all inclusive. Overall the hotel was nice. Great location, great staff and service. However, they need to make some improvements in the food area. For the money, I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the bus, runs 24/7 and its cheaper and safer than the cabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alyssa B.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

It's ok

Food was really bad. Literally everything. It was so hard to find something to like. It was all really salty. The pools were nice but you better hope you get there early to get a towel. They ran out of towels three of the four days we were there. You are definitely paying for what you get. I would not recommend anyone to stay here. The staff was generally pleasant. The location is probably the only good thing. Margaritaville is no longer across the street and señor frogs has moved too. You are able to walk downtown from this location. There is also a nice mall within walking range. It has Starbucks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top