$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Flamingo Cancun Resort

3 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 11, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
447 reviews
Flamingo

We had the best time ever staff was amazing our room was spotless everyday food was great pools... See full review

  • moreno fam 04
  • Aug 4, 2014
Our 2nd Home away from home!

This was our 5th time staying at the Flamingo. The staff Is amazing! they go out of their way to... See full review

  • lokota
  • May 12, 2014
Cancun resort in hotel zone near shopping with optional all-inclusive

The conveniently located Flamingo Cancun is a 20-minute ride from downtown Cancun, across from a shopping mall and within walking distance of many attractions. Its vibrantly hued rooms overlook the ocean or lagoon. There are two pools, one facing the grounds, the other facing the Caribbean Sea. An optional all-inclusive plan includes three meals daily, plus snacks and unlimited domestic drinks at three bars as well as many daily activities and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights
  • Convenient, central location in the hotel zone between the airport and downtown Cancun
  • Optional all-inclusive plan with dining, domestic alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and snacks
  • Cheery guest rooms overlooking the ocean or lagoon
Rooms

The 215 standard, 13 junior suite and 32 deluxe guest rooms have one king or two double beds. Each is brightly adorned and comfortably appointed with color satellite TV, mini bar, individual climate control and direct dial telephone, and some feature terraces.

Features

The Flamingo Cancun is conveniently located near shopping and entertainment within the hotel zone. It offers an optional all-inclusive plan. The resort has several dining options, including a Mexican restaurant overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Guests can sip tropical cocktails at a poolside bar or visit the on-site fitness center or tobacco shop (fees apply). A club for children is located on the second floor. It overlooks the courtyard swimming pool.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions

Planet Hollywood (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)

Mayan Aqua Dive (0.7 mi/ 1 km)

Playa Paraiso Golf Club (1 mi/ 1.6 km)

Hotel Map

21.1187 -86.7563
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-12 Miles
Area description
Located in the middle of the hotel zone on the beach. At midpoint between downtown Cancun (20 minutes by taxi) and Cancun International Airport (20 minutes by taxi) and across the street from Flamingo Plaza shopping mall and 5 minutes walking distance from La Isla Shopping Mall. Near from other shopping malls, discos and restaurants. "An excellent location to take advantage of all the activities Cancun offers."

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Cancun Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Flamingo Cancun Resort Rooms

Standard Room European Plan
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room European Plan
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Wireless internet, hospitality room with a computer with internet access and bites. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite European Plan
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults
Standard Room All Inclusive
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room All Inclusive
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite All Inclusive
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.8 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 4 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 4.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.3 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 6.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 6.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 8.2 mi

Dining

La Fuente
Facing the Caribbean Sea, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
Open daily
From 7:00am to 11:00pm
Buffet service
Palenque Lobby Bar
Indulge yourself with exotic cocktails in a musical atmosphere From 4:00pm to midnight
Las Palmas Bar
Serving tropical cocktails at pool side
Bar Service from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Snack Service from 12:00 to 6:00 pm
Albatros Restaurant & Bar
Beach front restaurant bar, offers lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
A la carte service
Dress code for Dinner: Casual Bar from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Lunch from 11:30 to 5:00 p.m.
Dinner from 6:30 to 10:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (447)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Cancun Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, OH
Jul 20, 2007

LOCATION WAS A PLUS

THE HOTEL WAS JUST OK. NO IRON OR IRONING BOARD WAS IN ROOM SO YOU HAD TO ASK FOR IT. THEY NEVER GAVE US ENOUGH TOWELS AND WASHCLOTHS. THE ROOM WAS SMALL AND LIGHTING POOR. UPDATES TO THE ROOM SURE NEED TO BE DONE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

HOTEL CENTRALLY LOCATED SO SHOPPING OR RESTAURANTS WERE NEVER AN ISSUE.

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 26, 2008

decent for the money

this resort is decent for the money, the food in the food is a little lacking at times. i usually stay there for the location, its in walking distance of alot of things. rooms are usually clean but dont expect anything fancy. this is one of the cheaper places to stay in cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

theres a very nice shopping plaza a short walk away.

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
El Duro
El paso
Mar 19, 2014

Maybe

The quality of the food and drinks it was simple and usually the same thing. The restaurant food it was good but the service not. The air conditioner never works constantly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pistole petey
Austin, TX
Aug 27, 2012

close to everything* (*some limitations apply)

I'll try to make this short and sweet: The Bad: - Check-in: was told they had trouble finding my reservation, would take 5 minutes...over 30 minutes later, I finally got the key to my room with no explanation or apology for inconvienence - Uncomfortable beds and super scratchy towels - Was invited for a tour of another hotel, explicitly told that it was not a sales meeting or timeshare info thing...was totally a sales meeting and timeshare info thing. Was told it would take 90 minutes tops, took almost 3 hours. But we did get a voucher for 500 pesos of hotel services (used it for a trip to Xcaret). After we declined buying a timeshare, our room key did not work upon return to our room, coincidence? - Upon checking in, they said that we were close to everything. If by everything they mean across the street from a poor looking mall and authentic Mexican food such as Bubba Gump, Margaritaville and Outback, then yes we were close to everything. If by everything, you mean actual points of interest such as the clubs and downtown and aquarium, then no. -no free wi-fi -our room had a wonderful view of the aforementioned mall and super busy street, we were serenaded to sleep with horns and sirens of the local wildlife. -the room had thin walls and doors, we could hear every little whisper in adjoining rooms and in the hallway The good: - The price was decent - AC worked well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso Texas
May 18, 2009

Fair hotel, too many restrictions.

I had my family stayed at another hotel, they come to drop me off and bring some thing, they attempt to go to my room, and where treated very rude. I explained they where my family 2 sisters with gray hair and decent appearance they just blew me off and said to visit in the Lobby only, they stayed in the Krystal BIG difference nice friendly personal, never had any trouble visiting them in there. The only reason I stay here is because I book my reservation later than them and Krystal was out of rooms, FIRST AND LAST TIME IN FLAMINGO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Flamingo Hotel needs to learn how to treat people I was not a teenager going there to make a full out myself, just to visit this beautiful place and enjoy my vacation.I was not also the type to take women into my room. Staff needs more training in manners and to be able to identified the bad apples from the good ones.

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deebo99
Tennessee, USA
Feb 19, 2012

just OK!

We picked this hotel for it's value price. The hotel is what we were looking for, not a 5 star & not a dump. The food at the buffet in the hotel is cold & the same tasteless junk over & over everyday. I don't know how long it will take for my gut to recover! I would not stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
MONROVIA, CA
May 11, 2008

Great location BUT NOT WORTH IT!

WHERE DO I START. THE DRINKS AT THIS PLACE WERE HORIBLE, TINY AND NOT CHEAP. ALSO IT TOOK FOR EVER TO GET A DRINK BECAUSE THEY DONT HAVE CASH AT THE POOL BAR SINCE MOST PEOPLE HAD ALL INCLUSIVE, NOT US.***(OR AT ANY BAR)*** THEN, WE FOUND OUT THE BAR CLOSES EVERYNIGHT INCLUDING WEEKENDS AT MIDNIGHT. WE WERE THERE FOR 11 DAYS SO THEM NOT LETTING US BRING A COUPLE OF DRINKS AND SOME SNACKS TO HAVE IN THE ROOM WAS REALLY INCONVINIENT AND ENDED UP BEING A MORE EXPENSIVE TRIP. ANOTHER DAY WE WERE AT THE POOL WHICH SAYS THEY ARE OPEN FROM 9-9.WELL THEY HAVE THESE CUSHINS ON THE CHAIRS, WELL JUST AS I GOT UP TO TAKE A PICTURE AND EMPLOYEE CAME AND TOOK MY CUSHIN AND ALL OF THE REST OF THEM FROM THE POOL. I THOUGH IT WAS RUDE SINSE HE MOVED MY TOWEL AND SUNBLOCK HE SHOULD OF SAID SOMETHING. ALSO IT WAS ONLY 5:00 P.M. AND LIKE I SAID THE POOL IS NOT SUPPOSE TO CLOSE UNTILL 9! I TOTALLY FELT KICKED OUT. SINCE WE WERE THERE FOR SO LONG I HAD THE CLEANING PERSON JUST COME ABOUT EVERY 3 DAYS. IT WAS DISCUSTING THAT SHE LEFT THE OLD SOAP WITH HAD HER HAIR ON IT. BECAUSE NEITHERE ME OR MY HUBBY HAVE THAT COLOR HAIR. ALSO SHE LEFT THE SAME TOWELS THAT WERE A 3 DAYS OLD, SHE JUST REFOLDED THEM. ALSO SHE LEFT THE WINE GLASSES IN THE BATHROON WHICH THAT TELLS ME SHE JUST RINSE THEM IN THE SINK WHERE SHE LEFT THEM. DISCUSTING. THE GALS THAT HANG OUT AT THE LOBBY THAT TRY TO SELL YOU TOURS WERE SO RUDE. I CAN SPEAK AND UNDERSTAND SPANISH (EVEN THOUGH IF YOU SEE ME YO U CANT TELL CUZ IM PLATNIUM BLONDE) AND I COULD HEAR THIS CHICK TALKING SHI? ABOUT ME. MAKING FUN OF THE WAY I DRESS AND LAUGHING. VERY RUDE. SORRY ULIKE YOU I HAVE STYLE I SHOULD HAVE TOLD HER. MY WORST PART WAS IT WAS REALLY HOW HARD TO GET A DRINK WHEN YOUR JUST HANGING BY THE BEACH. THEY HAVE THAT RESTAURANT IN FRONT OF THE BEACH BUT THEY HAVE A BIG SIGN THAT THEY DONT TAKE CASH, THAT BAR IS ONLY FOR PEOPLE THAT HAVE ALL INCLUSIVE, I WISH I WOULD HAVE KNOWN THAT. ITS LIKE I CAME TO RELAX AND HAVE SOME DRINKS PEOPLE! I'VE BEEN TO CANCUN A COUPLE OF YEARS BACK AND FOR THE SAME RATE I GOT AT THIS HOTEL. I GOT A WAY BETTER DEAL. THERE THE STAFF WOULD BRING YOU DRINKS WHILE YOUR LAYING IN THE SAND. AND REAL DRINKS LIKE A PINA COLADA WITH A PIECE OF FRUIT ON A BIG GLASS. AND THEY HAD A REFRIGERATOR I CAN ACTUALLY USE. HERE YOU GOT A 4 OZ. FAKE COLADA ON A TINY PLASTIC CUP. BEER SAME THING $6 FOR A TINY 4 OZ CUP THAT TASTED BAD. THEY GUY TOLD ME THAT THEY RAN OUT OF LEMON SO HE PUT SOME LEMON CONCENTRATE IT WAS YUK! I HAD TO TROW THOSE 2 BEERS AWAY AND THEY WERE $12/ IT WAS SO HARD TO GET THEM IN THE FIRST PLACE THAT I DIDNT BOTHER GOING BACK. I WOULD DEFENITLY BE BACK TO CANCUN BUT I WILL LOOK INTO THE HOTEL MORE AND MAKE SURE THEY DONT HAVE STUPID RULES LIKE NO OUTSIDE FOOD AND DRINKS. YOU DONT KNOW HOW BAD I WANTED TO ORDER PIZZA ONE DAY. WELL I WAS THERE 11 DAYS AND YOU CAN ONLY HAVE SO MUCH MEXICAN FOOD. GOOD THING THERE IS SO MANY ACTIVITIES TO DO OUTSIDE THE HOTELS CUZ THOSE DAYS WERE MORE FUN. XEL-HA! WAS MY FAVORITE AND TULUM, YOU CANT LEAVE WITHOUT SEEING THE MAYAN PIRAMIDS NEXT TO THE BEAUTIFUL WATER THAT IS TULUM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GREAT RESTAURANT INSIDE THAT MALL ACROSS THE STREET SAMBRONAS OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT, NEXT TO MARGARITA VILLE. THEY HAD THE BEST GUARACHES. THEN A 5 MINUTE WALK TOWARDS SENOR FROGS ACTUALLY ACROSS FROM SENOR FROGS. 100% NATURAL HAD GREAT BREAKFAST, DINNER & SMOOTHIES. S.L.

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disapointed Guests
Akron, OH
Dec 19, 2010

Average Hotel, Terrible Restaurant

First of all, in the hotel description it was estated that all rooms had view to the beach. Once we arrived to the hotel, we were told by the front desk staff that a $200 charge would be added on to the bill for each room to have the beach view. If it was not paid then we would receive a room with view to the street. After a long flight, we wanted to rest in our rooms, but we were hunted down by those who sold special tours in Cancun. These employees would not leave us alone until we agreed to buy a tour. The toilets in the bathrooms were plugged. The cleaning staff was very nice and attentive to our needs. The worst part of this hotel was the all-inclusive. It was terrible food with few selections. The worst was the restaurant called Albatross. The food was extremely uneatable, extremely expensive, and the service was nonexistent (some of the customers even walked into the kitchen to pick up their own food). Drinks were very watered down, and all refills were charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat at the restaurants in the hotel! Terrible food!

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ScoobyScuba
Kelowna, Canada
Mar 27, 2010

Flamingo MOTEL

As I stated in the title, this place is nothing more than a Motel,If you have stayed at other resorts you will be dissapointed with this one, even when the price is atractive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scarffey
Plano,Tx
Mar 4, 2013

Two day getaway

This hotel needs renovation. The bathrooms smelled and sometimes my room would smell too. I would recommend paying a little more and staying at a newer hotel, because no matter how good a service the facility needs to complement that service. Some of the staff were wonderful and then there were others that were rude and unhelpful. The food I didn't like. It was buffet and they charge 350 pesos for it. They do have another restaurant closer to the beach but I didn't dine there. I read there menu and looked at their prices and they seemed a much better choice. Overall I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

When going shopping at a mall, no matter how inviting there are first stroll through the whole mall and look at items from outside, kind of browse and see everything and then decide which store and counters you would like to go back to. This way you don't end up going to the first couple of stores and making all your purchases and then finding out better stores and more unique hand crafts are more towards the middle and end of the mall. Keep in mind the better stores are located much further in the shopping mall. (Flamingo Shopping Mall)

Back to menu Return to top

Change search