$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Flamingo Cancun Resort

3 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 11, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Cancun Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
471 out of 471
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lokota
Business
Covington
Feb 9, 2015

Home away from Home!

We have been staying at the Flamingo for the last 5 years. This place is wonderful it's not a 5 star resort but they staff sure make you feel like it is. In the last couple of years they have renovated their facilities and have increase the variety in their menu. But what really makes this hotel a great place is the location. You couldn't ask for a better place right in the middle of pretty much everything. Overall a great place to stay and enjoy the sun, the beautiful white sand beach and the incredible crystal blue water. Now my advice to you is just have a great time don't be a rude costumer that thinks that because you pay so much amount of $$$$ you deserve to be treated like a royalty. kindness goes a long way in Mexico. $1-3 dollar tips also can get you a lot more than your think. Have fun and enjoy the Sun!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sonia and Rick
Business
overland park
Jan 28, 2015

Great Location, good hotel

Located right on the beach, a shopping mall and restaurants across the street, taxi and bus stop are right there, very convenient. We arrived too early - the hotel stored our luggage until the time to check. we got room on the patio with swimming pool overlooking the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

No entertainment though, but very close to bars and night clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cancun
Business
Cambridge
Jan 20, 2015

vacation

good location, beach, and TV. not bad staff. but bad facility!!! no freeze in the room! kidding me. I am very disappointed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowgoer
Business
Renton
Jan 14, 2015

A week in Cancun

We didn't do the all inclusive, but this place was a great place to stay. Very affordable and has a great beach, pools, etc. The three things I wish this place had were conditioner with the shampoo, etc., better internet service that was free, and a fridge in the room. They do have ice that you can use though. The beach is great, there are nice restaurants, and the pools are kept clean and are nice. The ocean view rooms are great, and they gave us an ocean view room upgrade for free. It was all in all a great deal. Close to lots of shopping, food, etc. In walking distance of 2 malls and the flea market. I will likely stay here again next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tacun has relatively cheap (for the hotel zone), authentic food and great service. It is a small restaurant on the same side of the road as the hotel about a block south.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shiv
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Good family trip

Stayed with family and 2 kids, staff and service was good. Upgraded to ocean view as it was better. Hotel is clean. Bus stop across the street to go anywhere like walmart to the downtown bus station for long distances. Shopping complex across the street. Food served almost continuously in all inclusive, Veggies need to take extra caution as majority of menu is not veggie, salad bar was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You should bargain well at the concierge and in shops across the street. When 2+ families are travelling together to see places away, renting a van thru concierge is a better option as it is flat rate than going to downtown and paying by the number of people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I. Bee
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 30, 2014

Couple's Getaway

My boyfriend and I traveled in February 2014. When I read the reviews I was a little skeptical about staying at this hotel, however once we decided on staying here I was pleasantly surprised. Room: We lucked out and got a Junior suite with an ocean view. Which was great! It was clean and maintained and every day the the mini fridge was stocked with complimentary beverages, including bottled water. The only issue I had was that the shower water would run onto the floor, so we had to use towels to make sure that the floor didn't get soaked. Also there was no microwave so you weren't able to warm up any leftovers if you wanted to. Staff: The concierge and all the staff were very pleasant and friendly. And when we first arrived we were greeted by a staff member who gave us information as well as coupons for the different dining options and souvenir shops. Location: The Flamingo Hotel is located in the hotel zone and right on the beach. It is pretty central to a lot of different options, most of which are in walking distance. You can also take the public transportation located in front of the hotel for just one peso per person and it'll take you up and down the strip which makes it easily accessible to entertainment, shopping and restaurants. Dining: We opted out of the all inclusive meal plan and instead decided on eating at the different restaurants along the strip. Next time I might opt for the meal plan because we didn't get to eat three meals a day. Overall, our stay in Cancun turned out to be really great! If you're looking for a more cost effective way to have a great vacation then, Flamingo is definitely a GOOD option. If you can opt for an ocean view room or junior suite, you won't be disappointed. Just make sure you remember to leave a few dollars each day for housekeeping. $5-10 USD, goes a long way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Attractions: We pre-bought our excursions prior to travel, however at the hotel they have a table where you can get information on adventures and excursions. If you stop by the table at a certain time you can also get discounts on fun things to do. If you are into snorkeling and water adventure I recommend Xel ha Ecological park. Also if you want to see the Mayan ruins, I'd recommend a visit to Tulum. Those adventures include an air conditioned coach bus that picks you up about 8am from in front of your hotel and drops you off at the end of your excursion. (The bus ride is approx. 2-3 hrs round trip so make sure you bring snacks!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Derek
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Good experience

The best thing about the hotel was its location. It's right on the beach! And for 10 pesos you can get on a short bus ride to the major clubs. There's a plaza right across the street where you can find liquors, souvenirs, shirts and other decorative arts. Also not to far from the hotel is a plaza with a bunch of luxury brands such Louis Vuitton and Prada, and other US clothing stores like Zara and H&M. The staff and service was on point. The front desk was helpful whenever we had questions and or needed something. After a couple of days, the hotel felt like home. There's a convenience store with drinks and snacks. We chose the all inclusive package which included breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was decent, nothing special. The utensils, glasses and plates they use are on the "cheap" side. The grill that they use to prepare the lunch is obsolete. We chose the all inclusive package because the price difference between just the hotel stay and all inclusive was minor. I'd suggest getting the all inclusive. Overall the hotel was nice. Great location, great staff and service. However, they need to make some improvements in the food area. For the money, I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the bus, runs 24/7 and its cheaper and safer than the cabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alyssa B.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

It's ok

Food was really bad. Literally everything. It was so hard to find something to like. It was all really salty. The pools were nice but you better hope you get there early to get a towel. They ran out of towels three of the four days we were there. You are definitely paying for what you get. I would not recommend anyone to stay here. The staff was generally pleasant. The location is probably the only good thing. Margaritaville is no longer across the street and señor frogs has moved too. You are able to walk downtown from this location. There is also a nice mall within walking range. It has Starbucks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Dec 5, 2014

Cancun trip

Overall great value for price paid located near shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohyDavid
Business
Delaware
Dec 3, 2014

Really Good!

I stay here with my wife for thanksgiving week, everything was good. My only suggestion for the manager is to put some music around to pool area. But some music (not loud music) in the pool area will be great. it will give you i nice Caribbean feeling. The hotel looks like the are working on some structural issues but they are in the right track. Good job for the Manager and all the staff. Will be back next year...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top