$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

Flamingo Cancun Resort

3 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 11, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
433 reviews
Viva Flamingo!

I can't praise this hotel enough. We were very sceptical before our stay as we had read some bad... See full review

  • Sara1306
  • Apr 1, 2014
Relaxing and Comfortable

We spent our last night in Mexico at this hotel. It was awesome. The staff at the hotel was super... See full review

  • chickensnips
  • Mar 13, 2014
Cancun resort in hotel zone near shopping with optional all-inclusive

The conveniently located Flamingo Cancun is a 20-minute ride from downtown Cancun, across from a shopping mall and within walking distance of many attractions. Its vibrantly hued rooms overlook the ocean or lagoon. There are two pools, one facing the grounds, the other facing the Caribbean Sea. An optional all-inclusive plan includes three meals daily, plus snacks and unlimited domestic drinks at three bars as well as many daily activities and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights
  • Convenient, central location in the hotel zone between the airport and downtown Cancun
  • Optional all-inclusive plan with dining, domestic alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and snacks
  • Cheery guest rooms overlooking the ocean or lagoon
Rooms

The 215 standard, 13 junior suite and 32 deluxe guest rooms have one king or two double beds. Each is brightly adorned and comfortably appointed with color satellite TV, mini bar, individual climate control and direct dial telephone, and some feature terraces.

Features

The Flamingo Cancun is conveniently located near shopping and entertainment within the hotel zone. It offers an optional all-inclusive plan. The resort has several dining options, including a Mexican restaurant overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Guests can sip tropical cocktails at a poolside bar or visit the on-site fitness center or tobacco shop (fees apply). A club for children is located on the second floor. It overlooks the courtyard swimming pool.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions

Planet Hollywood (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)

Mayan Aqua Dive (0.7 mi/ 1 km)

Playa Paraiso Golf Club (1 mi/ 1.6 km)

Flamingo Cancun Resort Rooms

Standard Room European Plan
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room European Plan
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Wireless internet, hospitality room with a computer with internet access and bites. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite European Plan
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults
Standard Room All Inclusive
215 standard rooms brightly decorated, with king size or double beds, lagoon or garden view, Ocean view with extra charge, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Deluxe Room All Inclusive
32 deluxe rooms with king size or double beds, ocean or lagoon view, air conditioning, hairdryer, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephone. Maximum occupancy: 3 adults or 2 adults with 2 children
Junior Suite All Inclusive
13 junior suites, king size bed and living room, terrace with a great ocean view, air conditioning, hairdryer, color satellite T.V, direct dial telephones. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Cancun Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.1187 -86.7563
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)-12 Miles
Area description
Located in the middle of the hotel zone on the beach. At midpoint between downtown Cancun (20 minutes by taxi) and Cancun International Airport (20 minutes by taxi) and across the street from Flamingo Plaza shopping mall and 5 minutes walking distance from La Isla Shopping Mall. Near from other shopping malls, discos and restaurants. "An excellent location to take advantage of all the activities Cancun offers."

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.8 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 4 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 4.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.3 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 6.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 6.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 8.2 mi

Dining

La Fuente
Facing the Caribbean Sea, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
Open daily
From 7:00am to 11:00pm
Buffet service
Palenque Lobby Bar
Indulge yourself with exotic cocktails in a musical atmosphere From 4:00pm to midnight
Las Palmas Bar
Serving tropical cocktails at pool side
Bar Service from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Snack Service from 12:00 to 6:00 pm
Albatros Restaurant & Bar
Beach front restaurant bar, offers lunch and dinner service.
International Cuisine
A la carte service
Dress code for Dinner: Casual Bar from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Lunch from 11:30 to 5:00 p.m.
Dinner from 6:30 to 10:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (433)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Cancun Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
433 out of 433
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
nycteacherealtor
Astoria, NYC
Apr 24, 2012

Good Value, Simple Accomodations, Very Good Location

Honestly, the only reason I selected this hotel was because the Royal next door was sold out and my cousin was getting married there. I didn't use any of the facilities because I paid for the day pass to the Royal, which cost about $62 per person if you did at least 3 days. That pass included food and drink and most other aspects of an amazing hotel from the hours of 9am to 11pm, so there was almost no reason for me to spend time at the Flamingo. What I did experience was a relatively helpful, attentive, and courteous staff at the Flamingo. This was my first time in Cancun. Considering the locations, I would say that this hotel is an overall good value. Although I did save a few bucks sleeping at the Flamingo and using the day pass, if there was space at the all inclusive Royal or their sister property the Grand Caribe, I would choose that instead. The Flamingo was no different than a Holiday Inn type, while the Royal was like being in the luxury of Vegas with classy hints of local flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel to the "clubs" its a short 10 minute walk, so paying for a cab in not worth it. It's relatively safe, but don't travel alone.

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
Schoonie
Oklahoma city
Apr 10, 2012

Positive experience!!!!

I read the many reviews of the Flamingo on this and many other sites. I was weary. But after my six night stay I will definatley go back again. Why? Value and location!! I spent my vacation on the most beautiful beach in the world. I stayed in the Jr Suite which has its own private area overlooking the beach. I stayed in room one o six which was clean, comfortable, and had a great bed, fridge, a warm shower with great water pressure and clean fluffy towels. A competing site had it a few dollars cheaper, but that was for a standard room. This site was basically the same price for a basic room or a Jr suite...you definatley want to upgrade to a Jr suite. The hotel is fine. Is it the nicest hotel on the beach....no where close. But by what I saved in booking this reservation to the flamingo I went on two excursions, went out to eat several times and bought many souvineers. The hotel has a few outdated issues. The pool had some rustry spots. But the pools (there are two) were otherwise clean and comfortable. The beach was....well...the beach. I have been to several great beaches in the world and in my opinion Cancun has the most beautiful of them all. My girlfrind simply could not believe how incredible canucn was. The food was fine. Not the best ever, but tastly and fresh. You could get a freshly made omlet for breakfast. The Albatros resurant was delicious for dinner, tho reservations are required. Try the t-bone = amazing. My girlfriend is a vegetarian and she had the ravioli and it was incredible as well. We mainly drank beer (dos equis) and it was great (and strong). To sum up, two resuraunts open pretty much all day. One snack area with fresh cooked burgers by the pool. Bars by the pool and one by the lobby. The location in great. Literally right across the street from Margaritaville and a shopping mall. Easy walk to the south (maybe 1/2 mile) to 'Le Isle' mall with upscale shopping. A slightly longer walk (maybe a mile ( to the north to the main entertainment district and flea market. So go, enjoy the flamingo, its great location, great beach, great food, free drinks. Know you will get hit up for memberships, but 'play' the sytem a little to enjoy a great time. We are already planning our next trip back to cancun and will for sure stay at the flamingo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

My advice is to not schedule day trips in advance. You can get a better deal locally in cancun from vendors. Remember, you will be asked to attend presentations (both at the airport and at the hotel) for a dicount on day trip. We decided to do this and for our 2 hours of time recieved 2 trips for about 1/4 of the normal cost. We attended teh presentation witha good attitude. Said no. Then enjoyed our significantly dicounted trips and lughed about he crazy prices they wanted.

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
teachatthebeach
Atlanta, Georgia, EEUU
Apr 2, 2012

Beautiful View

The hotel had a great location. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean. The room and aminities were adequate, but nothing special. Very touristy. After we checked in, we were told a lot of information that I didn´t really want nor need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

5
Kelly J. L.
Oregon
Mar 31, 2012

Flamingo Cancun resort all inclusive

My girl friend and I went to Cancun for a girls week away. We had the best time. The staff were very sweet and friendly. Anything and everything we asked for they were so helpful. We booked a couple of excursions, with there help. Had an outstanding time. The food was very good, cooked and prepared excellent. The 2 night of entertainment was a lot of fun. I would definately go back to the Flamingo Resort in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

snorkleing and parasailing adventures were fun. Maroma Adventures were very accommodating

Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
D'envy
Denver, Colorado
Mar 28, 2012

Flamingo 2012

We've stayed at this hotel four times now. The most unfortunate thing is that our view of the ocean from the Junior Suite -which is on the ground level- is becoming more obstructed every year. I understand they are trying to make the beach nice, but this trip I was looking at the leaves from a palm tree. Maybe next year they will be taller and out of the way. The only problem we had with our room was getting our fridge stocked. It didn't matter how many times we called or who we spoke to, in six days it got stocked three times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

1
BJDM
Indiana
Mar 18, 2012

Never Again!

I don't usually do reviews on hotels but this one was so bad I thought I should warn others. Our first room was dirty, stunk, and was not a lagoon view! We argued until we got an upgrade (which we had to pay more for) but there was no way I was staying in this room. With the upgrade we were supposed to get a mini fridge and they only refilled it twice. The a/c didn't work and we were hot the whole time. The last day of our stay our ceiling started leaking everywhere and we called for an hour 4 times until someone finally came to fix it. I could go on and on but I would definetely not pay to stay here again. I should have listened to others advice!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

4
ajb1986
Hudson Falls, NY, USA
Mar 18, 2012

great experience

The flamingo was fantastic. We got to know the staff on a first name basis and they made our stay extremely fun and comfortable. We loved the buffet and there was another restaurant there if u wanted something a little more private and front row to the beach. There were 2 days we didn't get enough towels but they got them right away for us. For the price and being all inclusive I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
Yellaboi
Cancun
Mar 6, 2012

Spring break

it is what it is...good price for it's value!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

3
cancunmomma
MO
Mar 4, 2012

Great place to stay

First I must say- TIMESHARE people in the lobby, right when you walk in. They know your name, and they try to grab you right away. Just say no, no, no, no, and no. Go straight to the check in desk and that is all the time you need to spend there. Avoid the timeshare as they are pushy and pretend to help and will suck your time away. Dont fill out any info as they will continue to bother you,etc. Just enjoy your stay! We love this place- the staff is awesome. The food is mediocre at best but the place is really clean and the beach is beautiful and clean. Close to a market/mall. Very clean rooms, and staff is very helpful. Junior suite with ocean view is the way to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Flamingo Cancun Resort

Reviewer score

5
Laurie E.
Sterling, Virginia
Feb 26, 2012

Great Tropical Vacation

We were really impressed at our stay at the The Flamingo Hotel, a 3-star hotel in Cancun, Mexico. After a long flight, we arrived at the Flamingo in the afternoon. The front desk agents were very competent and extremely friendly. Within a short period of time, we were given keys to our hotel room. Our room was bright yellow with two comfortable double beds. The bathroom was stocked with bottles of water--very refreshing after our long day’s journey. The next morning we woke up and looked out the window at a picturesque view of the Caribbean Sea!! Breakfast was excellent, offering locally grown fresh fruits such as oranges and papaya as well as cereals and delicious hot entrees. Excellent staff were available to fulfill any special need . The beach restaurant's lunch and dinner dining room offered a gorgeous view of the Caribbean Sea with its clear blue water and white sand. The staff were friendly and expedient in bringing delicious fresh fish (with limes), tortillas, guacamole, and delicious drinks to our table. I would highly recommend staying at The Flamingo Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

I suggest arriving at the venue early to get the BEST SEAT for the outstanding "Mardi Gras" revue.

Back to menu Return to top