$433 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Mujeres, Cancun, 77400

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
1,075 reviews
Amazing as always~

This was our second stay and I never thought it was possible but they surpassed even our first time... See full review

  • Kylie
  • Jun 18, 2015
Perfect for 25th Anniversary

We had a splendid 25th anniversary at this hotel. The restaurant choices were great. Our room was... See full review

  • Monte
  • Jun 9, 2015

The contemporary Excellence Playa Mujeres is perched amid seven swimming pools on a picturesque white sand beach. The adults-only resort boasts a 170-slip marina and Greg Norman signature golf course with sweeping Caribbean views. Swanky suites, nine a la carte restaurants featuring separate vegetarian menus, 11 bars pouring premium alcoholic drinks and a fitness center and cardio-conditioning facility are among the perks at this adults-only, all-inclusive property. Many beach, land and water sports are offered within the exclusive resort community.

Dining

Nine a la carte restaurants range from fine Italian dining to wine-centric gourmet tastings, Asian and lobster-themed menus. All restaurants offer separate vegetarian menus. Spa cuisine is available as well. Eleven bars and lounges -- including a lobby martini bar and swim-up pool bar -- are built for relaxing. Guests who prefer privacy can order room service 24 hours a day.

Rooms

Spacious and extravagant, the guest rooms are outfitted with plush, L-shaped sofas, 42-inch flat-screen TVs, wireless Internet and a radio with iPod dock. Marble bathrooms feature a shower for two. Suites have private terraces adorned with comfortable, stylish furniture. Many two-story rooftop terrace suites are outfitted with heated hydro spa pools.

Highlights
  • Upscale adults-only resort community with Greg Norman Signature Golf Course and inland marina
  • Gourmet cuisine, in addition to spa cuisine, with special vegetarian menus at nine a la carte restaurants
  • Seven swimming pools, four heated in winter, with pool-side and beach waiter service

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Club Two Story Rooftop Terrace Suite OCF
All Two-Story Rooftop Terrace Suites are 807 sq. ft.in the ground floor and in the private Rooftop terrace that offers private, large and furnished terrace, with a HydroSpaPool and shower, 2 lounge beds and a table with 2 chairs. The terrace has a private access for room service, and full Ocean Front Views. Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access,four poster canopy king or two double beds,full marble bathroom,separate WC and shower for two with rain shower,sitting area with L-shaped sofa,room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV,bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control,CD/DVD player,alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe(laptop size) coffee/tea maker,daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar.KING BED
Excellence Club Junior Suite Swim Out OCV
Our spacious Suites on the ground floor are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two chairs, private garden and direct access to the pool and full Ocean Front Views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shapped sofa, room service box, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee /tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
Junior Suite Spa or Pool View
Our spacious Suites are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two . Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king or two double beds, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/ DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED or TWO DOUBLE BEDS
Junior Suite Spa or Pool View Swim Out
Our spacious Suites on the ground floor are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two chairs, private garden and direct access to the pool . Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, 4 poster canopy king , full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite Ocean Front
Our spacious Honeymoon Suites are 1,280 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two and full front ocean views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior amenities include: round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king bed, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate living room, separate shower for two with rain shower, room service box, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walking closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, sound system with in-house music channels, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
Imperial Suite Ocean Front
Our spacious Imperial Suites are 1,280 sq. ft in the ground floor and in the upper floor (private rooftop terrace suite). The ground floor offers the same as the Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite and the Rooftop Terrace is furnished with a HydroSpaPool and shower, two lounge beds and a table with two chairs. The terrace has a private access for room service. Full ocean front views to Caribbean Sea KING BED. Excellence Room Amenities Apply
Two-Story Rooftop Terrace Suite Spa or Pool View
All Two-Story Rooftop Terrace Suites are 807 sq. ft.in the ground floor and in the private Rooftop terrace that offers private, large and furnished terrace, with a HydroSpaPool and shower, two lounge beds and a table with two chairs. The terrace has a private access for room service. Superior amenities include: round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king or two double beds, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar. KING BED
Excellence Club Junior Suite OCF
Our spacious Suites are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two chairs and full Ocean Front Views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king bed, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair Dryer scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Tulum: 5.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 6.8 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 9.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 9.8 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 10.5 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 12.6 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 13.8 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 14.4 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 15.8 mi

Dining

Toscana
No reservation required. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals (leather sandals); Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
Blue
- Swim-up pool bar open from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Flavor market
At this restaurant you can taste wines from the entire world and enjoy our bit size creations. . DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals (leather sandals); Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
Lobster house
Open for breakfast a la carte (from 11 am), and for lunch Deli a la carte with salad bar No reservation required. Obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap, bathing suit and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the use of sleeveless undershirts (tank shirt) and humid clothes in the restaurant; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: The use of short pants is required, polo shirts with sleeves and neck, shoes semi closed and sandals to dress (leather sandals) coincidental; Ladies-casual Elegance: The use of pants is required, capri or skirt, dress shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in undershirt with or sleeveless, shorts or bermuda.
Barcelona
The serve breakfast and lunch on buffet, and for dinner you will be able to taste the world famous Mediterranean Cuisine. A la carte for dinner. No reservation required. BREAKFAST Dress code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access with sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and humid clothes; Obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirts with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access in sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and with humid clothes; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals; Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access.
The Grill
This Palapa-restaurant is open most of the day. The hotel serve a late breakfast a la carte, a snack/grill a la carte for lunch and for dinner is our Steak House restaurant. No reservation required. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap, bathing suit and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the use of sleeveless undershirts (tank shirt) and humid clothes in the restaurant; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: The use of short pants is required, polo shirts with sleeves and neck, shoes semi closed and sandals to dress (leather sandals) coincidental; Ladies-casual Elegance: The use of pants is required, capri or skirt, dress shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in undershirt with or sleeveless, shorts or bermuda.
Chez Isabelle
Enjoy one of the most elegant restaurants, the French Cuisine & wine cellar. This restaurant is open for dinner a la carte. No reservation required. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals (leather sandals); Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
More Bars
Sol - Pool & beach bar by the main pool open from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Cielo - 2 pool bars at the Excellence Club section open from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Alegra - Piano bar/sing-along bar & comedy club open from 9:00 pm to 1:00 am.
Stars Theater Bar open from 6:00 pm to 1:00 am
La Habana Cigar Bar open from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Revive - Fruit juice bar by the Spa open from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm
X Lounge - Chill-out lounge on the beach open from 7:00 pm to 12:00 am.
Cafe Kafe
Coffee bar on the main square, serving ice cream and pastry treats in the afternoon, open from 10:00 am to 1:00 am
Martini Bar
Lobby bar open from 9:00am to 1:00am

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Playa Mujeres is a stunning setting for hosting productive business meetings and memorable events. With over 17,000 square feet of dynamic space, ranging from intimate boardrooms to larger indoor and outdoor reception areas and flexible breakout rooms, you may choose from a variety of impressive locations that will make your meeting a success and your event unforgettable.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
947 out of 1075
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monte
Business
N/A
Jun 9, 2015

Perfect for 25th Anniversary

We had a splendid 25th anniversary at this hotel. The restaurant choices were great. Our room was beautiful with some neat surprise waiting for us every time we returned. Our roof top balcony was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ohiogirl
Business
N/A
Jun 5, 2015

Great getaway!

We loved this place and felt we got a really great price on our stay. The food was better than any all-inclusive we have been to before, the beach was nice, the staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and the activities and pool are so much fun. We loved the Tapas restaurant, Chez Isabelle and the Indian restaurant the best and I so enjoyed the Tamarindo Margaritas!! We did the bike ride and went to the spa, both were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mathew p.
Business
avon
Jun 4, 2015

We felt like royalty

The staff constantly catered to our every need we will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kasey C.
Business
Las Vegas
May 22, 2015

Amazing honeymoon

Beautiful hotel nice staff! Wish the restaurants were opened earlier and more lunch places to visit.the food and everything else was amazing.The spa was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mike
Business
denton
May 20, 2015

great place

property was great. will come again. food was good. staff great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeffery e.
Business
N/A
May 11, 2015

Vacation

Awesome hotel . Liked the American beer they had two out of seven days. Bud light

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie
Business
Bayside
May 8, 2015

Awesome honeymoon!

We stayed at the Excellence Resort in March 2015 and it was wonderful! The staff is very friendly and the hotel grounds are beautiful!! The food was decent. The best restaurants were probably the French and Tapas restaurants. The place looked exactly like the pictures and it was overall a very relaxing experience. It was great for a honeymoon and we would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christiane
Business
Chicago
Apr 30, 2015

Fifth visit...and probably our last. Used to be our preferred destination..

This was our fifth visit to this hotel in April 2015, and while we had a wonderful time, there were significant changes we noticed that now have made it a run of the mill resort, and not anymore the amazing luxury romantic resort we had come to love. PROS: hotel is beautiful, clean, and there is great attention to detail. Food was improved, especially from our visit in 2013. CONS: General staff were very good and nice, but compared to other years, they appeared over-worked and tired. Concierge staff was a major decline. Our first visit in 2008 in non-Excellence Club room we had one concierge per floor, and we received attention from her every day. Now in an Excellence Club Rooftop suite we found one concierge for the whole building. We had her attention only because we were unhappy with out first room (as you will read below). The check in and check out experience at the Excellence Club Lounge was utterly disappointing. The staff there (except the amazing bartender Sandra) are snooty, aloof, and will avoid eye contact. We were greeted being asked if this was our first visit...we have been here FIVE TIMES in only 7 years!!! When we kindly stated we would like to be recognized as returning loyal guests, we were basically told that other guests return here too and have stayed more than 200 nights....you are only staying 6 nights right?. C'mon!!!! I do not think it is too much to ask a resort that says is a 5 star resort to be warm and welcoming to all guests regardless of how many nights you stay, and to recognize loyal customers, even if you have logged less than 200 nights. We were giving an awful room for our first night with no ocean view to speak of, right in front of the rowdy party pool blasting music and drums all day long that you can hear even when all the doors are shut, no privacy at all with the entire hotel looking into your room and roof top terrace, and so we spent our first day unpacked in a room worthy of a holiday inn, and our second day without a room since they did not transfer us to our new room until 4pm: waste of first day at a premium price! The way they handled our request to change rooms to what we paid for made us feel we were asking for too much and we found ourselves apologizing instead of the other way around! Crowd has changed: this hotel now caters to many more groups and it just gets louder than ever before at all times of day, in the pool as well as out on the beach. We were not able to take naps on the beach as we used to due to the constant noise from rowdy guests. Not as romantic at all anymore. Drinks: declined significantly. We noticed our room had cheaper brands and now you have to call concierge and ask for the brands you like instead of them giving you top shelf alcohol as advertised without having to go out of your way to ask. Another example: I ordered micheladas, a mexican drink with beer all trip long, and I kept thinking they tasted weird...until my last day I caught them making my michelada (a local mexican drink)..with BUD LIGHT!!!!!! WHAT?! At least a corona but bud light? is that their idea of premium alcohol? All in all, I think that management is more worried about cutting costs than maintaining the high standards they used to have. We are returning to the area in July 2015 and will NOT be staying at an Excellence resort, this time we wil be trying Secrets Maroma or Fairmont Mayakoba instead. Sincerely, The Oilars (BTW, they never got our name right, each day it was listed wrong on their lists, and when family called us they were told we were not staying at the resort!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa S.
Business
N/A
Apr 18, 2015

Great Getaway

Wonderful adults only all-inclusive with good food, activities and service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt b
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Great for a honeymoon

My first time at an all inclusive, and it was worth every dollar. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff was not only helpful but also approachable. During our stay we met a lot of great people also vacationing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top