$706 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playa Mujeres, Cancun, 77400
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
963 reviews
Great Vacation

Wonderful time at a wonderful resort. Couldn't say enough nice things about the staff, resort, and... See full review

  • James B.
  • Jan 22, 2015
Great Xmas Vacation

The resort was amazing and extremely clean. The Staff was out of this world awesome, very willing... See full review

  • Simon H.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Romantic beachfront resort with exclusive amenities near Cancun

The contemporary Excellence Playa Mujeres is perched amid seven swimming pools on a picturesque white sand beach. The adults-only resort boasts a 170-slip marina and Greg Norman signature golf course with sweeping Caribbean views. Swanky suites, nine a la carte restaurants featuring separate vegetarian menus, 11 bars pouring premium alcoholic drinks and a fitness center and cardio-conditioning facility are among the perks at this adults-only, all-inclusive property. Many beach, land and water sports are offered within the exclusive resort community.

Highlights
  • Upscale adults-only resort community with Greg Norman Signature Golf Course and inland marina
  • Gourmet cuisine, in addition to spa cuisine, with special vegetarian menus at nine a la carte restaurants
  • Seven swimming pools, four heated in winter, with pool-side and beach waiter service
Rooms

Spacious and extravagant, the guest rooms are outfitted with plush, L-shaped sofas, 42-inch flat-screen TVs, wireless Internet and a radio with iPod dock. Marble bathrooms feature a shower for two. Suites have private terraces adorned with comfortable, stylish furniture. Many two-story rooftop terrace suites are outfitted with heated hydro spa pools.

Dining

Nine a la carte restaurants range from fine Italian dining to wine-centric gourmet tastings, Asian and lobster-themed menus. All restaurants offer separate vegetarian menus. Spa cuisine is available as well. Eleven bars and lounges -- including a lobby martini bar and swim-up pool bar -- are built for relaxing. Guests who prefer privacy can order room service 24 hours a day.

Recreation

A wide array of land and water sports are available, including wind-surfing, water polo, snorkeling and kayaking. There is a Greg Norman Signature Golf Course on site. Cooking, Spanish and dancing lessons are offered, as are theme nights. Guests can arrange private tennis lessons or scuba, deep-sea or private yacht excursions (fees may apply). The resort's Miilé Spa has the Mexican Caribbean's most complete hydrotherapy circuit (fees may apply). An expansive fitness center and cardio conditioning facility is on the grounds.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Cancun (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Isla Mujeres (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Cancun Hotel Zone (6 mi/ 9.5 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center with audio-visual equipment and shipping services
  • More than 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Club Two Story Rooftop Terrace Suite OCF
All Two-Story Rooftop Terrace Suites are 807 sq. ft.in the ground floor and in the private Rooftop terrace that offers private, large and furnished terrace, with a HydroSpaPool and shower, 2 lounge beds and a table with 2 chairs. The terrace has a private access for room service, and full Ocean Front Views. Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access,four poster canopy king or two double beds,full marble bathroom,separate WC and shower for two with rain shower,sitting area with L-shaped sofa,room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV,bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control,CD/DVD player,alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe(laptop size) coffee/tea maker,daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar.KING BED
Excellence Club Junior Suite Swim Out OCV
Our spacious Suites on the ground floor are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two chairs, private garden and direct access to the pool and full Ocean Front Views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shapped sofa, room service box, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee /tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
Junior Suite Spa or Pool View
Our spacious Suites are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two . Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king or two double beds, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/ DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED or TWO DOUBLE BEDS
Junior Suite Spa or Pool View Swim Out
Our spacious Suites on the ground floor are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two chairs, private garden and direct access to the pool . Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, 4 poster canopy king , full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite Ocean Front
Our spacious Honeymoon Suites are 1,280 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two and full front ocean views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior amenities include: round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king bed, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate living room, separate shower for two with rain shower, room service box, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walking closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, sound system with in-house music channels, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
Imperial Suite Ocean Front
Our spacious Imperial Suites are 1,280 sq. ft in the ground floor and in the upper floor (private rooftop terrace suite). The ground floor offers the same as the Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite and the Rooftop Terrace is furnished with a HydroSpaPool and shower, two lounge beds and a table with two chairs. The terrace has a private access for room service. Full ocean front views to Caribbean Sea KING BED. Excellence Room Amenities Apply
Two-Story Rooftop Terrace Suite Spa or Pool View
All Two-Story Rooftop Terrace Suites are 807 sq. ft.in the ground floor and in the private Rooftop terrace that offers private, large and furnished terrace, with a HydroSpaPool and shower, two lounge beds and a table with two chairs. The terrace has a private access for room service. Superior amenities include: round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king or two double beds, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar. KING BED
Excellence Club Junior Suite OCF
Our spacious Suites are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two chairs and full Ocean Front Views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king bed, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair Dryer scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Tulum: 5.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 6.8 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 9.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 9.8 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 10.5 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 12.6 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 13.8 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 14.4 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Playa Mujeres is a stunning setting for hosting productive business meetings and memorable events. With over 17,000 square feet of dynamic space, ranging from intimate boardrooms to larger indoor and outdoor reception areas and flexible breakout rooms, you may choose from a variety of impressive locations that will make your meeting a success and your event unforgettable.

Dining

Toscana
No reservation required. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals (leather sandals); Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
Blue
- Swim-up pool bar open from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Flavor market
At this restaurant you can taste wines from the entire world and enjoy our bit size creations. . DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals (leather sandals); Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
Lobster house
Open for breakfast a la carte (from 11 am), and for lunch Deli a la carte with salad bar No reservation required. Obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap, bathing suit and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the use of sleeveless undershirts (tank shirt) and humid clothes in the restaurant; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: The use of short pants is required, polo shirts with sleeves and neck, shoes semi closed and sandals to dress (leather sandals) coincidental; Ladies-casual Elegance: The use of pants is required, capri or skirt, dress shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in undershirt with or sleeveless, shorts or bermuda.
Barcelona
The serve breakfast and lunch on buffet, and for dinner you will be able to taste the world famous Mediterranean Cuisine. A la carte for dinner. No reservation required. BREAKFAST Dress code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access with sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and humid clothes; Obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirts with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access in sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and with humid clothes; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals; Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access.
The Grill
This Palapa-restaurant is open most of the day. The hotel serve a late breakfast a la carte, a snack/grill a la carte for lunch and for dinner is our Steak House restaurant. No reservation required. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap, bathing suit and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the use of sleeveless undershirts (tank shirt) and humid clothes in the restaurant; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: The use of short pants is required, polo shirts with sleeves and neck, shoes semi closed and sandals to dress (leather sandals) coincidental; Ladies-casual Elegance: The use of pants is required, capri or skirt, dress shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in undershirt with or sleeveless, shorts or bermuda.
Chez Isabelle
Enjoy one of the most elegant restaurants, the French Cuisine & wine cellar. This restaurant is open for dinner a la carte. No reservation required. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals (leather sandals); Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
More Bars
Sol - Pool & beach bar by the main pool open from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Cielo - 2 pool bars at the Excellence Club section open from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Alegra - Piano bar/sing-along bar & comedy club open from 9:00 pm to 1:00 am.
Stars Theater Bar open from 6:00 pm to 1:00 am
La Habana Cigar Bar open from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Revive - Fruit juice bar by the Spa open from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm
X Lounge - Chill-out lounge on the beach open from 7:00 pm to 12:00 am.
Cafe Kafe
Coffee bar on the main square, serving ice cream and pastry treats in the afternoon, open from 10:00 am to 1:00 am
Martini Bar
Lobby bar open from 9:00am to 1:00am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (963)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
963 out of 963
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MS
Feb 18, 2008

Paradise for Couples

This was a trip my husband and I had looked forward to for a long time. We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and chose the Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun as our destination. It was fabulous!! The grounds were breath-taking!! We were wowed from the minute we walked throught the entrance doors. The staff were so nice and the accomodations were way more than we could have ever expected. We really loved the patio area and the Jacuzzi tub in the room. The pools were so inviting and the restaurants were fantastic!! We could not have selected a better destination and we have been to so many different places!! We will definitly go back and recommend this location to anyone who is looking to relax and enjoy their time together without a worry in the world!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jan 6, 2008

great winter get-a-way

hotel opened in November 2007, we stayed here at the beginning of January 2008, because we were not on a tour had to take a private taxi to the hotel, the round trip cost seemed high at the time but they were promptly at the hotel to pick us up at the end of our trip and any of the alternative methods required a transfer in Cancun, hotel is north of Cancun and is very secure, the occupancy was 30% when we stayed there so it was really good for service at the bars, restaurants, pool, beach, shows and at the gym, we suspected that we were the first ever guests in the room which was fantastic every thing was excellent, bed, TV, walk-in shower, 2 person jacuzzi, balcony bed, IT WAS REALLY NICE NOT TO HAVE THE 21 AND UNDER CROWD AROUND FOR A CHANGE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karan
Business
St Louis, MO
Mar 16, 2008

Best place in Mexico we have stayed!

My husband and I were truly impressed with the hotel's atmosphere and excellent customer service. Their attention to detail was unbelievable and our entire visit was so peaceful and romantic. We are already planning our next year's visit and bringing friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The location of the hotel was pretty far from everything, however the hotel had everything you needed! Great resturants, entertainment and a dance club. It was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cmbett
Business
Boston, Ma
May 6, 2009

Wonderful Couples Resort

The hotel was beautifula and the location is remote so we are the only ones one the beach and it's not crowded. The staff was so friendly and very accomodating. The food was delicous and such a great variety. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a day trip to Isla Mujeres and thar was fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flychuker
Business
Boston, MA
May 29, 2009

An "Excellence" Time

The Excellence Playa Mujeres is one of the finest places I have ever stayed at. A beautiful location, very clean, and very relaxing. The staff is friendly and you were always greeted with an "Hola". One great thing that is different from other all inclusives is that reservations are not required for dinner. I've heard stories of people having to make reservations on Monday for Friday dinner. Not in the middle of Cancun nite life, this is a place you go to relax. My wife and I will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChaCha
Business
Rileyville, VA
Jun 17, 2009

Wonderful and Beautiful

The resort has beautiful rooms, great food and great service. We really enjoyed the lazy river pools. There was bars service around the pools and beach. The entire staff - from management to maids - was extremely friendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the resort resturants had great food and service. There are eight resturants and 11 bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Dawg
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 24, 2009

Great Hotel

This was absolutely one of the best hotels, I've stayed at in Mexico. The restaurants were outstanding and you did not need reservations. The spa was absolutely wonderful!! Water activities were awesome and reasonably priced. Service was great. A wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Adventure
Business
Huntsville, AL
Aug 6, 2009

Loved the Hotel!!!

Awesome hotel experience. Staff outstanding, very clean, fun and romantic. Food was good just not outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

No need to book outside excursions. Everything is available from hotel. Will NEVER book again w/ Cheaptickets!!! We had nothing but problems and were charged more at every location. Could have paid less had we just booked from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George Kim
Business
sacramento, CA
Aug 14, 2009

Best adults only all inclusive resort

This was by far the BEST all inclusive hotel that we have stayed at. We don't have one complaint about hotel. Very relaxing. Staff very friendly. The food was very good. They have top shelf alcohol. We had a swim out room. Loved it. They have floaties to lay on at all the pools. Beach was very nice. there are many actities during the day and shows at nite. It is a quiet resort, not party place. You don't hear people running and yelling down hallways day or nite, or slamming doors. We are definately going to come back next year, but will spend at least 7 nts. Hated to leave resort. They make you feel at home. There were people of all ages there and we got to meet lots of nice couples. You don't have to leave resort to have a good time. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a high quality vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to eat at all restaurants in hotel. The food is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 2, 2009

Just as amazing as last year

Perfect anniversary trip. We stayed here for our honeymoon last year and had such an amazing time that decided to come back for our first wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. We cant wait to go back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top