$465 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Mujeres, Cancun, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
1070 out of 1070
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, Ontario, CAN
Oct 13, 2009

Fantastic getaway, we will return!

My husband and I spent 6 nights at the Excellence in Playa Mujeres. It was excellent, just like the name of the hotel chain! I am very picky when it comes to food when travelling and we thought the drinks and food were both the best we have experienced on all of our travels. It was our anniversary and we let the front desk know upon our arrival. They offered a room upgrade and gave us a fantastic ocean view room in the 9 building. The room was lovely, we loved the bed on the terrace for our afternoon naps and the view was beautiful. The hotel has mainly couples and offers a busy main pool area or quiter areas in the far end of the resort. We enjoyed all areas and loved the lazy river. The staff catered to your every need and the service was top notch. We really enjoyed our trip and would recommend to everyone! We will be back booking for our 10th anniversary in 2011 and can't wait!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Isla Mujeres ferry is a short cab ride away. A terrific way to spend the day and enjoy the beauty of the island!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, Ca.
Oct 12, 2009

Honeymoon

I relaxed and slept

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city
Oct 12, 2009

An amazing honeymoon!

This place was amazing! It was beautiful! there were a lot of mosquitos at night, but they did fog the outside areas every night. The lazy river was so relaxing and my husband and I enjoyed laying on the hammocks in the water! the Beach area was awesome too! we could always find a hut when we were there! We would go back in a heartbeat! Also it had the largest shower and a very nice jacuzzi in the room! And the drinks were very tastey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allkatla
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 11, 2009

Excellence Playa Mujeres is excellent

This is a first rate location with a quality staff. Some all inclusives get by with the providing weak food and poor service at the bars. Buy at the Playa Mujeres we found the food to be very good and the bars were we usually speedy. Unless, of course,the person in front of you was getting 6 frozen drinks made. The pools here are excellent. While there is a main pool area much of the pool space meanders through the complex allowing you to go 'for a walk in the water'. You can choose to be in main pool where it is busier or you can spend time towards the ends of the pool areas throughout the complex which tend to be a little quiet. Best all inclusive we have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 9, 2009

Wow.

Absolutely amazing experience. First class all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blue Springs, MO
Oct 7, 2009

Excellence is right!!

Words cannot tell you everything about this place. I will never stay anywhere else in Mexico but here! I loved that it was away from the hotel zone in cancun. But perfect to still get a cab and do the tourist stuff if you wanted. The only time we left the resort was to take the ferry to Isla Mujeres for the day. Great shopping and the beach and water is beyond gorgeous! The Excellence had great food, the drinks were awesome (even had Budweiser and Coors light), the shows were fun (Michael Jackson show was the best). It was mostly couples and ranged from mid 20's to 60's but from what I could tell the majority was in their 30's. It was a fun crowd but not crazy. Most people were done by 11 each night. They do have a cool disco but hardly anyone was in there the night we went. We stayed in a Jr. swim out suite by the spa. The resort is not too big but we did have to walk a ways to the resturants and the main part of the pool. I would probably want to stay closer like building 7 next time although at night it was so quiet and nice to relax on the lounge bed-just peaceful! The beach was okay and I say okay b/c it doesn't compare to the beaches in the hotel zone. The water is clear but not that turquoise blue like at Isla Mujeres. Plus it did have the seaweed as you enter but is fine once you walk out a little. The sand is soft and plenty of chairs and beds! I loved this place. Even my husband was commenting on how awesome of a resort and he hates Mexico!! Better service than the 2 cruises we have been on and the drinks and tips were included! Although we couldn't help but tip. The service never changed regardless! Nice Nice staff. We tryed for an upgrade to a rooftop but didn't get anywhere! So if you want that pay for it b/c if my husband couldn't get it no one will! Again if you are debating don't. Also make sure your spouse (man) takes dress pants and/or jeans b/c you can't get into the resturants at night without them! Stay here you will not be disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on going to the resturants at night make sure you follow the dress codes! They are strict. Even to eat breakfast at the buffet my husband had to have sleeves on his tshirt and pants at night. Not even dress shorts they won't budge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Rooster
Business
Washington DC
Oct 7, 2009

Simply the best

This property is so nice that you don't need to go anywhere else. We just stayed at the resort to enjoy evrything that this property offers: great room, wonderful restaurants, awesome staffs and such beautiful relaxing place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cborey
Business
Gaineville, FL
Oct 7, 2009

Awesome Honeymoon!!

We relaxed by the pool, ate lots of food and drank lots of drinks. We watched the Michael Jackson Evolution show that was awesome and we also took a day trip to Isla Mujeres and went snorkeling. We felt like we were at home and didn't want to leave. The best vacation that we have ever been on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blue Springs, MO
Oct 7, 2009

Excellence is right!!

Words cannot tell you everything about this place. I will never stay anywhere else in Mexico but here! I loved that it was away from the hotel zone in cancun. But perfect to still get a cab and do the tourist stuff if you wanted. The only time we left the resort was to take the ferry to Isla Mujeres for the day. Great shopping and the beach and water is beyond gorgeous! The Excellence had great food, the drinks were awesome (even had Budweiser and Coors light), the shows were fun (Michael Jackson show was the best). It was mostly couples and ranged from mid 20's to 60's but from what I could tell the majority was in their 30's. It was a fun crowd but not crazy. Most people were done by 11 each night. They do have a cool disco but hardly anyone was in there the night we went. We stayed in a Jr. swim out suite by the spa. The resort is not too big but we did have to walk a ways to the resturants and the main part of the pool. I would probably want to stay closer like building 7 next time although at night it was so quiet and nice to relax on the lounge bed-just peaceful! The beach was okay and I say okay b/c it doesn't compare to the beaches in the hotel zone. The water is clear but not that turquoise blue like at Isla Mujeres. Plus it did have the seaweed as you enter but is fine once you walk out a little. The sand is soft and plenty of chairs and beds! I loved this place. Even my husband was commenting on how awesome of a resort and he hates Mexico!! Better service than the 2 cruises we have been on and the drinks and tips were included! Although we couldn't help but tip. The service never changed regardless! Nice Nice staff. We tryed for an upgrade to a rooftop but didn't get anywhere! So if you want that pay for it b/c if my husband couldn't get it no one will! Again if you are debating don't. Also make sure your spouse (man) takes dress pants and/or jeans b/c you can't get into the resturants at night without them! Stay here you will not be disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on going to the resturants at night make sure you follow the dress codes! They are strict. Even to eat breakfast at the buffet my husband had to have sleeves on his tshirt and pants at night. Not even dress shorts they won't budge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Medicnbama
Business
Russellville, AL.
Oct 4, 2009

Mixed reviews

Where do I begin. The resort itself was beautiful and 99% of the staff would bend over backward to please you. The beach was not even close to what we are use to. It had lots of grass and was just nasty almost everyday. The resort tried to combat that by raking the beach but it was still in the water. If you are going for the shopping or night life you will be about 30 min. away from Cancun proper and that works out to be a $30 taxi ride one way. Make sure to lock up all your stuff as my cell phone was stolen from my room on the third day there. The only way to participate in activities or get drinks or food at night is to dress up, as all bars and restaurants have a dress code at night. We hated this. We came on vacation to be relaxed not get in hot clothes in tropical climate. We found out the last minute that the bell boys are connected to the taxi's. The bell boy cancelled our shuttle to the airport the morning we were to leave and we ended up having to pay $40 for a taxi. This delay caused us to nearly miss our returning flight. We literally slipped in the door of the plane just as it was about to write us off as a no-show. [...] We had good times on the vacation but just a few things like this made it a frustrating week. Love Cancun but would not stay here again!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring dress clothes. Its the only way to get food, drinks and entertainment at night other than room service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top