$465 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Mujeres, Cancun, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
978 out of 978
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
petdash
Business
oklahoma city, ok
Aug 3, 2009

AMAZING!!!!

Great food, ate at every resturant except the Italian and never had a bad meal. The Flavor Market had small portions and less selection, so you had to order more but still very good food. If you're looking for a place to relax, with great food and great service, this is it. We got the basic room w/o the excellence club and it was wonderful, always cool, clean and stocked with snacks and drinks. We stayed in bldg 7 and loved the location. It's close to everything. We did tip a dollar or two at meals and when getting drinks but really didn't notice a big difference in service. It was always wonderful. The staff was very appreciative of the extra cash. Room service was 30 minutes or less. We left at 6 am one morning for a fishing trip and I called room service at 5:45 am to see if we could get some fruit. They were able to bring us pancakes, fruit and eggs in 8 minutes! Never had a problem finding a lounge chair on the beach or pool and the hotel did not appear to be empty. I strongly recommend the mango daiquiris! They were yummy! The spa was amazing and we loved our couples massage. We also had the spa run a mineral bath for us one evening in our room that was extra nice. The shows were cruise ship like and not Broadway but entertaining. We took a taxi and ferry to Isla Mujeres for a few hours. We originally planned to stay on the island. The beaches were crowded, the hotels looked very old and people weren't very friendly. SO glad we picked Excellence!! We felt very safe at the resort and got some much needed relaxation. Loved the beach, the small amount seaweed wasn't a problem for us. Loved the pool, could always find a party spot or a quiet one depending on what mood we were in. Unless you plan to go to Cancun alot, this is the best resort to stay in. Cancun was a $25/25 minute cab ride away. We planned to mostly stay at the resort so it was perfect. I usually go on cruises for my vacation but now plan to go to as many Excellence resorts as I can instead!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go deep sea fishing we strongly recommend using Pesca Dep. Your Orbitz rep at the resort can book it for you or email them at pescadep@prodigy.net.mx [...] was the best captain and we caught more fish than any other boat that morning. They only take a maximum of six people and often it's less. They worked so hard and we had an amazing day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 2, 2009

Best couples hideaway!

It was paradise! A little far from the rest of Cancun so it was a long drive from the airport and to excursions, but it was peaceful without the noise or partying kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 1, 2009

1st trip to Mexico

Short and sweet. We loved this all inclusive resort. We ate nearly every meal at different restaurants on the resort. We didn't love every meal, but thought the food was very good in general. I did get a case of montezuma's revenge, but don't know exactly which restaurant or meal it came from. It was kind of a bummer, but by no means ruined the trip. Neither my wife, nor anyone else we met got sick. The hotel was immaculate, the staff was great. Despite being more expensive, we opted for the chartered USA 3000 direct flight which was great. A 3 hour direct flight from St. Louis which really helped maximize our precious vacation. Excellence Playa Mujeres was great and we would definitely return. It was our first trip to Mexico so didn't know what to expect. The weather was just about what you'd expect in Cancun in July (hot and humid). As such, the rooms have a light must smell, but I think this is pretty common in this environment. I felt like we got a great deal through Orbitz. All in all, we had an awesome trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

book the more expensive direct flight if it is available. also, just ignore the people claiming to help visitors as you exit the Cancun airport. They are just trying to get you signed up for a timeshare presentation. Keep walking and be firm with them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laramie, WY
Aug 1, 2009

Excellence lives up to its name!

The hotel was great. We stayed in a 'standard' room and it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Better than any W hotel, or any Vegas strip suite. The room was nothing short of spectacular. The pools are excellent, especially the lazy river and the in-pool bar. The only less-than-excellent experience was the food quality. The food choices were wide and varied with 7 or 8 different restaurants. Breakfasts and lunches were tasty. Dinners were good but not superior quality and lacked a certain je ne sais quoi. I am however a foodie and wine snob. Overall, I would highly recommend the Excellence and will go back myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

At noon in the SOL bar they make cocktails in pineapples. They only make 20 per day and are super tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gipper's Girl
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 31, 2009

No Regrets at EPM

I realize this review may sound a bit nit-picky to some. My intention is to give a detailed accounting of our experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres, as there are so many choices when booking an all-inclusive in Mexico. You will likely have a great time at any resort you choose, provided you've done some preliminary research, but it's the details that set one resort apart from the others. Check-in went smoothly and we were greeted with cool towels and champagne. They asked us if we were celebrating anything and I told them that this was a belated anniversary trip for the two of us (our anni is in June and we stayed at EPM in July). They then asked if we had a copy of our marriage license and told them no. They said not to worry about it and they would do something special for us. They delivered on the surprise the third day of our stay. They put an anniversary banner on our door, towel art and rose petals on the bed, a bowl of fruit, bottle of champagne and a couple of beautiful desserts in our room. I thought that was nice thing to do and unexpected. The resort is beautifully maintained. You can tell the management and staff take pride in the property. The beach has nice sand, but lots of sea grass washes up on the shore. I'm told they sweep the beach every morning, but by afternoon it's covered in grass again. It's totally swimable and not a big deal unless you're a beach snob. There is a nice variety of pool options available. The main pool seemed to be more of a party scene during the day. If you're looking for a quieter spot, venture around the lazy river or to one of the outlying pools. The only problem with venturing out is that you'll be further away from drink service. There are plenty of seating options in the pool area. They have shaded and unshaded lounge chairs, shaded lounge beds, lounge chairs in the water, hammocks floating above the water, as well as floaties. Never had much of an issue with finding a well-positioned chair or a floatie. My husband did have to hunt down a floatie once or twice because people were hoarding them, but he always found one eventually. Towels were readily available. We were waited on by a poolside waiter maybe only 3 times total during our stay (and yes, we tipped). I think it was an issue of simply not having enough poolside waiters working at a given time and they have too much territory to cover. That was somewhat of a disappointment, but we never had to wait too long at the pool bars for a drink. There are quite a few bars very near the pools, so I would recommend finding a spot at a pool near a bar. Drinks are good and strong. They have a quality liquor selection, but you definitely have to ask for top shelf or non-well varieties or you'll get the not so great stuff. I do wish they had Modelo beer, but they have Tecate, Sol and Dos XX, as far as Mexican beers are concerned. Hate to say it, but their house wine is awful. I mean, just plain bad. I tried the white, and two different reds and could not bring myself to finish a glass of any of them and I do not consider myself to be a wine snob whatsoever. The food was fine, but didn't knock my socks off and unfortunately I came down with food poisoning. Luckily, they have a doctor on call that was able to come to our room and give me medications to ease my discomfort. He was very competent and professional, albeit expensive if you don't have trip insurance that includes medical coverage. It's worth every penny, though, if you're feeling as miserable as I was. There is no way for me to know for sure what brought on the food poisoning, other than it was definitely something I ate at the resort. I had been only eating food from the resort for the past three days. If I had to venture a guess it would be the ceviche or the Caribbean grouper sandwich at The Grill, which I ordered for lunch. The misery commenced later that night while at dinner at Agave. The Lobster House was good for dinner...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use a private transfer service to get between the resort and the airport. We had a great experience with Cancun Transfers (dot) com.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ireland
Jul 29, 2009

Fantastic couples getaway

I stayed in the resort for 6 nights. It was part of my honeymoon, and was the perfect destination. It really gave us a chance to relax and unwind. While we didn't leave the resort, there were plenty of day trips available, as well as plenty of activities organised on the resort. You could do as much or as little as you wanted. The food there was really delicious, with a number of restrants to choose from. I can't think of one fault with the resort and would give it 10/10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Havekidswilltravel
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2009

Wow! Great place, great price!

Wow! Stayed here July 24-27 and what a great romantic weekend. The rooms were amazing, the spa was incredible to say the least, the food was good to outstanding at times, the property is spotless and the drinks were perfect! No skimping here on the booze, only the best! The service could not have been better. We stayed in a non-excellence club pool view room and for what we paid we got way more than our money's worth. Will definitely go back. This is a perfect place for a romantic getaway complete with a shower set up for 2 people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to go to Spice and do the hibachi, outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First-time All-Inclusive Vacationer
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 27, 2009

Very Relaxing!

The resort is beautiful and the staff is incredibly friendly. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable (except maybe for the not-so-private bathroom). The shower is awesome! The food is hit or miss but by the second or third day, you'll develop your favorites. The room service menu is small but good. Expect to wait a little bit during high-traffic ordering times (like 8:00 in the morning or later into the night). The guacamole is the best and you can eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! The pools are beautiful and there are bars everywhere, although some close too early. Don't worry about finding name-brand liquor here. They have many things stocked (like Coors Light, Skyy vodka, Tanqueray, etc). You can even have mimosas and blood mary's for breakfast! Overall, a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 26, 2009

Heaven of Earth

The service is great. The staff is at your disposal 24 hours. Schedule a diet once you return cause you ain't goning to stop eating and drinking thier excellant food. The only thing with this hotel is it's location.To get to the city will cost you round $20 while if you catch a taxi in the city the will only charge you half.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Isla Mujeres it's Great!!!!1

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarheels Hater, but love the state of NC
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 25, 2009

Absolutely Perfecto !!!!!!!!

We visited the resort from July 11th - 18th. If you are looking for a resort that has something for you to do every minute of the day then resort is not for you. This place is very relaxing with mild entertaintainment at night. Most people hung out near the lobby bar after the nightly entertainment. Although the resort is secluded there are several opportunities to explore outside the resort. For instance, Isla Mujeres, Chinizti Izti (Chicken Pizza), Hotel district, or Xacaret which were fun excursions, but took up most of your day. Don't forget to check out the BIG Bowa Constrictor snake @ the 2nd security gate (it's in a cage of course). We found everyone at resort approachable and willing to help. For those of you who speak very little Spanish, no worries mostly everyone speaks enough English to get questioned answered. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and the variety of food was a plus. The room service menu also had a variety for those looking for a late night snack (delivery took approx. 30 minutes). I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation luxury. Also, I not a big drinker, but I know they had the top shelf stuff (Hennessy, Martell, Courvoisier, Grey Goose, Skyy, etc.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the Wal-mart near Market 28 and you will find the same souvenirs they on the street for much cheaper. It also interesting to see the different flavors and fragances because of the region. Like the Wal-Marts in America everyone and their mother is there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top