$465 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Mujeres, Cancun, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
984 out of 984
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ana & fernando
Business
houston, texas
Aug 10, 2009

''excellence"'

the staff was very nice and friendly!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown, PA
Aug 10, 2009

Terific couples resort

Private, located outside the Hotel Zone. Everything was very clean. It is a great couples resort. No reservations needed for restaurants, but not all restaurants are open each day. If something isn't provided or as was expected, ask and they are very good about doing whatever it takes to make your stay perfect. Small tips are very appreciated. We would definitely go back and herd the same from others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple from Manassas
Business
DC
Aug 9, 2009

Wonderful Experience

Amazing place to relax, swim, float, great food and night shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Took The Bar Exam
Business
Lawrence, KS
Aug 7, 2009

A Great Get-Away

This hotel was fantastic. It's relatively new so everything is still very nice and the hotel staff are all really accommodating. This is an adults-only resort so it's actually really quiet most of the day, which is great if you just want to lay by the pool and relax. Keep in mind, though, that Excellence is located about 25 minutes north of Cancun, so it's perfect if you are looking for a resort to just stay at and relax, but a little inconvenient if you want to get into Cancun and do any of the touristy things. Though, we had a really great experience with the Xel-Ha/Tulum deal. But be prepared! When you get through Customs at the Cancun airport, there are people waiting to hound you about timeshares. You can get super cheap passes for tourist things if you sit through a timeshare presentation, which ends up being about 3 - 3 1/2 hours including travel time. Might be worth it, but be ready to say no a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantic Adventure
Business
Huntsville, AL
Aug 6, 2009

Loved the Hotel!!!

Awesome hotel experience. Staff outstanding, very clean, fun and romantic. Food was good just not outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

No need to book outside excursions. Everything is available from hotel. Will NEVER book again w/ Cheaptickets!!! We had nothing but problems and were charged more at every location. Could have paid less had we just booked from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moe Man
Business
North Bergen, NJ
Aug 6, 2009

Great trip. Worth

Everything about the resort was great. The service, food, activites, and scenery were nice. There is a large variety of foods to eat at many restaurants. There is a list of activites to do during the day and night in the resort. You can also reserve for activities outside the resort with the tour representatives. I went here for my honeymoon. It was real relaxing but never boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
petdash
Business
oklahoma city, ok
Aug 3, 2009

AMAZING!!!!

Great food, ate at every resturant except the Italian and never had a bad meal. The Flavor Market had small portions and less selection, so you had to order more but still very good food. If you're looking for a place to relax, with great food and great service, this is it. We got the basic room w/o the excellence club and it was wonderful, always cool, clean and stocked with snacks and drinks. We stayed in bldg 7 and loved the location. It's close to everything. We did tip a dollar or two at meals and when getting drinks but really didn't notice a big difference in service. It was always wonderful. The staff was very appreciative of the extra cash. Room service was 30 minutes or less. We left at 6 am one morning for a fishing trip and I called room service at 5:45 am to see if we could get some fruit. They were able to bring us pancakes, fruit and eggs in 8 minutes! Never had a problem finding a lounge chair on the beach or pool and the hotel did not appear to be empty. I strongly recommend the mango daiquiris! They were yummy! The spa was amazing and we loved our couples massage. We also had the spa run a mineral bath for us one evening in our room that was extra nice. The shows were cruise ship like and not Broadway but entertaining. We took a taxi and ferry to Isla Mujeres for a few hours. We originally planned to stay on the island. The beaches were crowded, the hotels looked very old and people weren't very friendly. SO glad we picked Excellence!! We felt very safe at the resort and got some much needed relaxation. Loved the beach, the small amount seaweed wasn't a problem for us. Loved the pool, could always find a party spot or a quiet one depending on what mood we were in. Unless you plan to go to Cancun alot, this is the best resort to stay in. Cancun was a $25/25 minute cab ride away. We planned to mostly stay at the resort so it was perfect. I usually go on cruises for my vacation but now plan to go to as many Excellence resorts as I can instead!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go deep sea fishing we strongly recommend using Pesca Dep. Your Orbitz rep at the resort can book it for you or email them at pescadep@prodigy.net.mx [...] was the best captain and we caught more fish than any other boat that morning. They only take a maximum of six people and often it's less. They worked so hard and we had an amazing day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 2, 2009

Best couples hideaway!

It was paradise! A little far from the rest of Cancun so it was a long drive from the airport and to excursions, but it was peaceful without the noise or partying kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 1, 2009

1st trip to Mexico

Short and sweet. We loved this all inclusive resort. We ate nearly every meal at different restaurants on the resort. We didn't love every meal, but thought the food was very good in general. I did get a case of montezuma's revenge, but don't know exactly which restaurant or meal it came from. It was kind of a bummer, but by no means ruined the trip. Neither my wife, nor anyone else we met got sick. The hotel was immaculate, the staff was great. Despite being more expensive, we opted for the chartered USA 3000 direct flight which was great. A 3 hour direct flight from St. Louis which really helped maximize our precious vacation. Excellence Playa Mujeres was great and we would definitely return. It was our first trip to Mexico so didn't know what to expect. The weather was just about what you'd expect in Cancun in July (hot and humid). As such, the rooms have a light must smell, but I think this is pretty common in this environment. I felt like we got a great deal through Orbitz. All in all, we had an awesome trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

book the more expensive direct flight if it is available. also, just ignore the people claiming to help visitors as you exit the Cancun airport. They are just trying to get you signed up for a timeshare presentation. Keep walking and be firm with them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laramie, WY
Aug 1, 2009

Excellence lives up to its name!

The hotel was great. We stayed in a 'standard' room and it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Better than any W hotel, or any Vegas strip suite. The room was nothing short of spectacular. The pools are excellent, especially the lazy river and the in-pool bar. The only less-than-excellent experience was the food quality. The food choices were wide and varied with 7 or 8 different restaurants. Breakfasts and lunches were tasty. Dinners were good but not superior quality and lacked a certain je ne sais quoi. I am however a foodie and wine snob. Overall, I would highly recommend the Excellence and will go back myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

At noon in the SOL bar they make cocktails in pineapples. They only make 20 per day and are super tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top