$465 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Mujeres, Cancun, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
983 out of 983
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blue Springs, MO
Oct 7, 2009

Excellence is right!!

Words cannot tell you everything about this place. I will never stay anywhere else in Mexico but here! I loved that it was away from the hotel zone in cancun. But perfect to still get a cab and do the tourist stuff if you wanted. The only time we left the resort was to take the ferry to Isla Mujeres for the day. Great shopping and the beach and water is beyond gorgeous! The Excellence had great food, the drinks were awesome (even had Budweiser and Coors light), the shows were fun (Michael Jackson show was the best). It was mostly couples and ranged from mid 20's to 60's but from what I could tell the majority was in their 30's. It was a fun crowd but not crazy. Most people were done by 11 each night. They do have a cool disco but hardly anyone was in there the night we went. We stayed in a Jr. swim out suite by the spa. The resort is not too big but we did have to walk a ways to the resturants and the main part of the pool. I would probably want to stay closer like building 7 next time although at night it was so quiet and nice to relax on the lounge bed-just peaceful! The beach was okay and I say okay b/c it doesn't compare to the beaches in the hotel zone. The water is clear but not that turquoise blue like at Isla Mujeres. Plus it did have the seaweed as you enter but is fine once you walk out a little. The sand is soft and plenty of chairs and beds! I loved this place. Even my husband was commenting on how awesome of a resort and he hates Mexico!! Better service than the 2 cruises we have been on and the drinks and tips were included! Although we couldn't help but tip. The service never changed regardless! Nice Nice staff. We tryed for an upgrade to a rooftop but didn't get anywhere! So if you want that pay for it b/c if my husband couldn't get it no one will! Again if you are debating don't. Also make sure your spouse (man) takes dress pants and/or jeans b/c you can't get into the resturants at night without them! Stay here you will not be disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on going to the resturants at night make sure you follow the dress codes! They are strict. Even to eat breakfast at the buffet my husband had to have sleeves on his tshirt and pants at night. Not even dress shorts they won't budge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Rooster
Business
Washington DC
Oct 7, 2009

Simply the best

This property is so nice that you don't need to go anywhere else. We just stayed at the resort to enjoy evrything that this property offers: great room, wonderful restaurants, awesome staffs and such beautiful relaxing place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cborey
Business
Gaineville, FL
Oct 7, 2009

Awesome Honeymoon!!

We relaxed by the pool, ate lots of food and drank lots of drinks. We watched the Michael Jackson Evolution show that was awesome and we also took a day trip to Isla Mujeres and went snorkeling. We felt like we were at home and didn't want to leave. The best vacation that we have ever been on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Medicnbama
Business
Russellville, AL.
Oct 4, 2009

Mixed reviews

Where do I begin. The resort itself was beautiful and 99% of the staff would bend over backward to please you. The beach was not even close to what we are use to. It had lots of grass and was just nasty almost everyday. The resort tried to combat that by raking the beach but it was still in the water. If you are going for the shopping or night life you will be about 30 min. away from Cancun proper and that works out to be a $30 taxi ride one way. Make sure to lock up all your stuff as my cell phone was stolen from my room on the third day there. The only way to participate in activities or get drinks or food at night is to dress up, as all bars and restaurants have a dress code at night. We hated this. We came on vacation to be relaxed not get in hot clothes in tropical climate. We found out the last minute that the bell boys are connected to the taxi's. The bell boy cancelled our shuttle to the airport the morning we were to leave and we ended up having to pay $40 for a taxi. This delay caused us to nearly miss our returning flight. We literally slipped in the door of the plane just as it was about to write us off as a no-show. [...] We had good times on the vacation but just a few things like this made it a frustrating week. Love Cancun but would not stay here again!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring dress clothes. Its the only way to get food, drinks and entertainment at night other than room service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike The Jersey Man
Business
New brunswick, NJ
Oct 3, 2009

It was an "excellent" experience

Everything was better than we expected. Staff and food were wonderful. Only complaint was that the resort is pretty far from downtown so plan at least 5-6 hours for any day trips. for example left for selvatica ziplining at 6:45am and returned around 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan at least 5-6 hours for excursions. Takes about an hour- an hour and a half to reach the main hotel zone especially if you are picking up others along the way. Leaving at the earliest time slot is ideal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hopewell Junction, New York
Sep 29, 2009

Pampering at its best!!

We stayed at the Excellence Playa Mujeres to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. This was by far the nicest hotel we have every stayed in. We cannot say enough about the level of service - EVERYONE working at this hotel made us feel like all they wanted to do was make us happy - always with a smile. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurants had a great selection and variety of foods. The pools were clean and the temperature was even perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Great resort!

great place to just relax in the sun and soak up the drinks. The humidity may have caused some of the electrical issues we experienced but not sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

arrange for transportation in advance to your hotel otherwise you are nailed with high taxi prices from the airport to the hotel. BUT, from hotel to airport, price is fair. (i guess the hotel already have these fares negotiated which is great!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Sep 28, 2009

Wonderful Week-long Getaway

This hotel was above and beyond any other that I have stayed at in the Mexican Riviera. I was hesitant to stay in Playa Mujeres because I have only stayed in the Cancun and Playa del Carmen areas in the past but once in Playa Mujeres it was excellent. The staff is friendly and so very helpful. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are spotless and you even get an Excellence Newsletter daily to detail the drink of the day to all the activities available. Our room overlooked the more restful and laid back pool but there was a rowdier pool located by the Lobster House and Grill. The food was AMAZING. For it being Mexico (and I've had my share of bad Mexican food experiences) the food was great. Great selection - professional service. And NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED!! Awesome! You could go to any of their "specialty" restaurants without reservation and whenever you wanted (no 3 times per stay at this hotel!) Also, make sure you make a trip down to the X Bar (or Stars Bar). It was only open from 6-10pm but it was SO worth it being open only at night. Laying by the ocean sipping on Champagne. Who could ask for more? I cannot emphasize how much we enjoyed our stay. We just got back tonight and I can't wait to plan another trip to the Excellence Playa Mujeres!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are 3-4 of their specialty restaurants open per night so read your "Excellence Newsletter" the night before to figure out where you want to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 26, 2009

We'd go again...

The resort itself was fantastic from the landscaping to the pools to the architecture to the luxury appointments (designer fixtures, lots of marble, high-end all the way). We wanted a quiet retreat away from the city and that is exactly what we got. We are not typically 'pool' people but we spent the good majority of our time floating in the longer pools or by the swim-up bar... or napping on one of the covered beds. The resort was probably only 30-40% at capacity while we were there and there were at least 2-3 restaurants closed each night as a result (on a rotating basis). We never had to wait for a table. I will reiterate some of the important bits about this hotel that many other reviews touch on: 1. Yes, there is sea grass on the beach... though we didn't find it that bad. They 'comb' the beach 1-2 times a day it seemed. 2. The food ranged from OK to very good. We've had better on Princess and Celebrity cruises. We found the buffets at the resort better than most cruise buffets by far, but most sit-down dinners weren't quite as good. We enjoyed Agave, Spice, Flavor Market, and Tuscana the most. We were actually disappointed with Chez Isabelle (high expectations) and pleasantly surprised with the Flavor Market (low expectations). 3. The bathroom. You will love it or hate it. We loved it. Yes, there is less privacy than most people are used to, but the incredible two head shower and beautiful marble make up for it. The bathroom was fine for this married couple, but you might be put off if you are traveling with a friend or have people visiting your room. 3. The staff was fantastic. Most spoke decent English and we had no issues. 4. If you purchased a transfer from the airport to the resort, go right outside. Do NOT stop to talk to anyone inside the airport building after getting through customs as they will try to sell you timeshares or tours. I knew this ahead of time and still go suckered into wasting 15 minutes (I approached a person standing in front of the Gray Line booth outside of customs who turned out to not be a Gray Line employee). I repeat.. go right outside! 5. The resort is not close to downtown Cancun or the hotel district. If you want lots of shopping, night clubs, and other such city-life... this is not a good location for you. We wanted quiet and relaxed and that is exactly what we got. 6. The drinks were very good. Lots of good booze and a huge selection or drink recipes. Catch the staff member who stocks your mini-bar on the first or second day and get it stocked to your liking. 7. Tips - being all inclusive, this place is advertised as having gratuities included. While you can easily get away with not tipping, we found the service good enough to give a little extra ($1-2). Bring lots of singles. Overall, we were very impressed and would definitely consider a return trip within the next year or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If the resort isn't very busy, some restaurants will be closed each night. Check the daily activities bulletin that is delivered each evening for which places will be closed the next day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Clair Shores, Michigan
Sep 24, 2009

Luxury is the word.

Everything was excellent but we enjoyed the beautiful Spa and Wellness Centre where we were really pampered by the excellent staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top