$500 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Mujeres, Cancun, 77400

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
971 reviews
We Go Here Every Year

I have had 5 trips now to this resort and it doesn't get old. It's a lot of value for the money..... See full review

  • Jess T.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Getaway

This is the second time we have stayed at this property and as great as it was the first time, it... See full review

  • Coach JClo
  • Feb 24, 2015
Romantic beachfront resort with exclusive amenities near Cancun

The contemporary Excellence Playa Mujeres is perched amid seven swimming pools on a picturesque white sand beach. The adults-only resort boasts a 170-slip marina and Greg Norman signature golf course with sweeping Caribbean views. Swanky suites, nine a la carte restaurants featuring separate vegetarian menus, 11 bars pouring premium alcoholic drinks and a fitness center and cardio-conditioning facility are among the perks at this adults-only, all-inclusive property. Many beach, land and water sports are offered within the exclusive resort community.

Highlights
  • Upscale adults-only resort community with Greg Norman Signature Golf Course and inland marina
  • Gourmet cuisine, in addition to spa cuisine, with special vegetarian menus at nine a la carte restaurants
  • Seven swimming pools, four heated in winter, with pool-side and beach waiter service
Rooms

Spacious and extravagant, the guest rooms are outfitted with plush, L-shaped sofas, 42-inch flat-screen TVs, wireless Internet and a radio with iPod dock. Marble bathrooms feature a shower for two. Suites have private terraces adorned with comfortable, stylish furniture. Many two-story rooftop terrace suites are outfitted with heated hydro spa pools.

Dining

Nine a la carte restaurants range from fine Italian dining to wine-centric gourmet tastings, Asian and lobster-themed menus. All restaurants offer separate vegetarian menus. Spa cuisine is available as well. Eleven bars and lounges -- including a lobby martini bar and swim-up pool bar -- are built for relaxing. Guests who prefer privacy can order room service 24 hours a day.

Recreation

A wide array of land and water sports are available, including wind-surfing, water polo, snorkeling and kayaking. There is a Greg Norman Signature Golf Course on site. Cooking, Spanish and dancing lessons are offered, as are theme nights. Guests can arrange private tennis lessons or scuba, deep-sea or private yacht excursions (fees may apply). The resort's Miilé Spa has the Mexican Caribbean's most complete hydrotherapy circuit (fees may apply). An expansive fitness center and cardio conditioning facility is on the grounds.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Cancun (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Isla Mujeres (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Cancun Hotel Zone (6 mi/ 9.5 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center with audio-visual equipment and shipping services
  • More than 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Club Two Story Rooftop Terrace Suite OCF
All Two-Story Rooftop Terrace Suites are 807 sq. ft.in the ground floor and in the private Rooftop terrace that offers private, large and furnished terrace, with a HydroSpaPool and shower, 2 lounge beds and a table with 2 chairs. The terrace has a private access for room service, and full Ocean Front Views. Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access,four poster canopy king or two double beds,full marble bathroom,separate WC and shower for two with rain shower,sitting area with L-shaped sofa,room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV,bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control,CD/DVD player,alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe(laptop size) coffee/tea maker,daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar.KING BED
Excellence Club Junior Suite Swim Out OCV
Our spacious Suites on the ground floor are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two chairs, private garden and direct access to the pool and full Ocean Front Views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shapped sofa, room service box, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee /tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
Junior Suite Spa or Pool View
Our spacious Suites are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two . Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king or two double beds, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/ DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED or TWO DOUBLE BEDS
Junior Suite Spa or Pool View Swim Out
Our spacious Suites on the ground floor are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two chairs, private garden and direct access to the pool . Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, 4 poster canopy king , full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite Ocean Front
Our spacious Honeymoon Suites are 1,280 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two and full front ocean views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior amenities include: round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king bed, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate living room, separate shower for two with rain shower, room service box, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walking closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, sound system with in-house music channels, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
Imperial Suite Ocean Front
Our spacious Imperial Suites are 1,280 sq. ft in the ground floor and in the upper floor (private rooftop terrace suite). The ground floor offers the same as the Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite and the Rooftop Terrace is furnished with a HydroSpaPool and shower, two lounge beds and a table with two chairs. The terrace has a private access for room service. Full ocean front views to Caribbean Sea KING BED. Excellence Room Amenities Apply
Two-Story Rooftop Terrace Suite Spa or Pool View
All Two-Story Rooftop Terrace Suites are 807 sq. ft.in the ground floor and in the private Rooftop terrace that offers private, large and furnished terrace, with a HydroSpaPool and shower, two lounge beds and a table with two chairs. The terrace has a private access for room service. Superior amenities include: round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king or two double beds, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair dryer, scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar. KING BED
Excellence Club Junior Suite OCF
Our spacious Suites are 807 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with a lounge bed for two, two chairs and full Ocean Front Views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior amenities include: private round Jacuzzi for two with indoor & outdoor access, four poster canopy king bed, full marble bathroom, separate WC, separate shower for two with rain shower, sitting area with L-shaped sofa, room service box, hair Dryer scale and double vanities. 42" flat screen satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, wireless direct dial phone, free high speed internet wireless, walk in closet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe (laptop size), coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Tulum: 5.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 6.8 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 9.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 9.8 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 10.5 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 12.6 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 13.8 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 14.4 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 15.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Playa Mujeres is a stunning setting for hosting productive business meetings and memorable events. With over 17,000 square feet of dynamic space, ranging from intimate boardrooms to larger indoor and outdoor reception areas and flexible breakout rooms, you may choose from a variety of impressive locations that will make your meeting a success and your event unforgettable.

Dining

Toscana
No reservation required. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals (leather sandals); Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
Blue
- Swim-up pool bar open from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Flavor market
At this restaurant you can taste wines from the entire world and enjoy our bit size creations. . DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals (leather sandals); Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
Lobster house
Open for breakfast a la carte (from 11 am), and for lunch Deli a la carte with salad bar No reservation required. Obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap, bathing suit and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the use of sleeveless undershirts (tank shirt) and humid clothes in the restaurant; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: The use of short pants is required, polo shirts with sleeves and neck, shoes semi closed and sandals to dress (leather sandals) coincidental; Ladies-casual Elegance: The use of pants is required, capri or skirt, dress shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in undershirt with or sleeveless, shorts or bermuda.
Barcelona
The serve breakfast and lunch on buffet, and for dinner you will be able to taste the world famous Mediterranean Cuisine. A la carte for dinner. No reservation required. BREAKFAST Dress code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access with sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and humid clothes; Obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirts with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access in sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and with humid clothes; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals; Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access.
The Grill
This Palapa-restaurant is open most of the day. The hotel serve a late breakfast a la carte, a snack/grill a la carte for lunch and for dinner is our Steak House restaurant. No reservation required. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap, bathing suit and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the use of sleeveless undershirts (tank shirt) and humid clothes in the restaurant; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress Code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: The use of short pants is required, polo shirts with sleeves and neck, shoes semi closed and sandals to dress (leather sandals) coincidental; Ladies-casual Elegance: The use of pants is required, capri or skirt, dress shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in undershirt with or sleeveless, shorts or bermuda.
Chez Isabelle
Enjoy one of the most elegant restaurants, the French Cuisine & wine cellar. This restaurant is open for dinner a la carte. No reservation required. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals (leather sandals); Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
More Bars
Sol - Pool & beach bar by the main pool open from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Cielo - 2 pool bars at the Excellence Club section open from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Alegra - Piano bar/sing-along bar & comedy club open from 9:00 pm to 1:00 am.
Stars Theater Bar open from 6:00 pm to 1:00 am
La Habana Cigar Bar open from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Revive - Fruit juice bar by the Spa open from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm
X Lounge - Chill-out lounge on the beach open from 7:00 pm to 12:00 am.
Cafe Kafe
Coffee bar on the main square, serving ice cream and pastry treats in the afternoon, open from 10:00 am to 1:00 am
Martini Bar
Lobby bar open from 9:00am to 1:00am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (971)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
971 out of 971
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 17, 2009

Heaven on earth

Second time to the Excellence Resort. We chose Cancun because there were no direct flights to Punta Cana. I have to say that I preferred Punta Cana over Cancun since it was a little bit more smaller and the beaches were better. But all in all the "Excellence" experience is the best! Food, room and service just wonderful. We will be booking again next November.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massapequa, NY
Nov 15, 2009

Highly Recommend

This resort was quality from the start. Staff, food, entertainment, drinks, ambience were outstanding. It was our first time with Excellence resorts and would recommend them to anyone. You will be pampered and do not have to worry about missing any of the best comforts. Everything is at your calling. We had a great time, met fun people from all over the USA and Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Michigan U.S.A
Nov 15, 2009

Awesome Honeymoon, The Best

PRONUNSIATION: Resort-(MOO-HAIR-IS) The Island (EZ-LA MOO-HAIR-IS)We stayed(10 days)at Excellence 09-23-09 to 10-03-09.My hubby and I had the time of our lives. We wanted to stay and live there for the rest of our lives. LOL....NITGH LIFE: If you are looking for a place that has a dance club or a night club then this not the place for you. This is a relaxing/laid back place. Don't get me wrong, it is allot of fun, but the hotel shuts down around 11:00pm.AIRLINES: So I'll start with our plane ride to Mexico. We flew Mexicana Airlines on the way down. When we were on the plane we found out that all of your food and drinks are included in your flight. No extra charge. I'm telling you that's the way to fly. When we got to the Airport we bought two beers and drank them in the van on our way to the resort. When our beer was gone we asked the drive for more beer, so he stopped at a store along the way and we bought a 6pack. I though that was very nice of the driver to make that stop for us. We tipped him very well.ARIVEL: When we arrived at the resort, we were greeted with the wonderful Lavender smelling cold towel for your neck and a glass on champagne. WOW,That was the best thing after a long day of travel. When my champagne was gone they asked me what I wanted to drink. yeah of course I said a beer. They brought it to me right away. What great service. We booked the honeymoon package with the dinner on the Beach, Breakfast in bed and the Spa/massage treatment. I am so glad we did, it is so worth it. We liked the massage that was included in our honeymoon package so much we booked the couples massage, which was well worth the extra money as well. ROOMS: Our room was cleaned everyday around the same time, around 9:00 to 10:00am. We were on the third floor. I believe they start on the top floor everyday and work their way down to ground floor. So for the people that say their room wasn't clean till late in the day, it's probably because the were on the bottom floor. The maid service did a wonderful job. We left our toys in the bathroom sink a couple times and they didn't seemed bothered by it, so neither were we. We were pleaded with the room setup. But DO NOT OPEN THE SLIDER DOOR FOR MORE THAN A MINIUTE OR TWO. The air conditioning unit will turn off, including the fan. This will cause condensation on the tile floors instantly making them VERY slippery. I slipped and fell the first 1/2 hour of being in our room. I broke my finger but didn't let it slow me down. The air and the fans will not work at all if any of your doors are open, not even cracked a bit. Other then that we were very pleased with the rooms. Oh Yeah how could I forget the T.V. LOL.....Check out channels 49 and 50. FREE 24 HOUR A DAY ADULT CHANNELS..... THANK YOU 49 and 50...CONCIERGE: Our Concierge was named Adrian. He was the very best we have ever had. He really went out of his way to great us and say Hi to us everyday. We spent a great deal of time getting to know him and we are glad we did. Not only is he a great Concierge but a great person. We stay in touch with him to this day by e-mail. All tree of us got teary-eyed when it was time for us to leave. A very sad day it was. BARS: The swim up bar and the Martini bar had to be our fav. We were greeted by name at both of these bars every day. One day we went to Isla Mujeres (the Island) and we didn't make to the swim up bar, the next day [...] " the best bar tender" called us by name and said 'I missed you two yesterday', and he made a sad face. He is only 18 years old and has been bar tending for two years. He can serve the whole bar by himself and he is very good at it. [...] (the little man how is missing a few fingers)at the martini bar makes the very best Bloody Mary's we have ever had. OMG,They are the best starter in the AM to help take care of some the effect of the night before. The X-lounge by the Ocean was a great way to unwind at night. We were there every night to have a drink and lis...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bring good/strong bug spray. The bugs come out in full force around 6:00pm nightly. Half of the dining is outside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seasoned Traveler
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 15, 2009

Nice but not luxury

All the surfaces are tile so there is noise. There may not be noise from loud parties but it is just as bad if you want to nap. Everything makes noise. This resort is not like a hotel with carpet or a cruise ship. You can hear people talking in the hot tub even on the 4th floor. You hear the noise from the cleaning and food carts. You also hear noise from the entertainment at the pool. We went to relax and did not like the noise. The ocean water is nasty. It is not about just a few blades of grass in the water. It is seaweed in abundance. You can't put your feet in the water without seaweed and grass coming back on them. The water is not clear either. The water on the horizon is beautiful. If you are going for the beaches save yourself some money and go to Panama City Florida. This trip cost us almost five thousand dollars for a week and it was not worth the expense. If you want to celebrate your anniversary or wedding be sure and bring your marriage certificate. I don't care if you are celebrating 50 years of marriage they won't recognize it unless you can prove it. For a luxury resort they were pretty "petty" about this. We belong to several resorts including one in Cancun. The resort we belong to does not have have a luxury rating but the beach is a lot better and they are not "petty" about having you prove your wedding date. The Excellence Club is just something that makes some people feel better about paying more. There really isn't anything about it that makes it worth the extra cost. The food isn't any better. If you are into premium liquor in your room you might find the cost worth it. You would be better off grabbing a cab and buying it at a liquor store. We won't go back. I am sure we can find a resort with good food and a better beach. I was wondering if you paid for the $600 honeymoon upgrade if they would recognize your wedding date without a marriage license. After 30 years of marriage I am not accustomed to providing a marriage license. The rooms are nice but no better than at the Wynn Encore. Room service is always after lunch so if you want a clean room during the day forget it. You get your room cleaned by 3 OR 4 pm as the norm and it is not unusual to get it done later than that. Don't expect early check in even if you upgrade to the Excellence Club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a lot of mosquito spray and don't open your door to the balcony. They bomb for mosquitos daily but they are still awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Nov 12, 2009

Excellence Playa Mujeres

Excellent service, decent food, extremely relaxing. The beach was a bit disappointing: quite a bit of seaweed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 9, 2009

Anniversary Vacation

Overall everything was fantastic; room, food, staff, grounds, pools, beverage service, everything! Our waiter at the beach ensured we never had an empty hand. We were at the resort for an anniversary celebration and felt like we were the only ones there, it was amazing how personalized the service was! However we had some very nasty weather due to a hurricane in South America and did not see sun for the scond half of our trip. We also did not like constantly having to have our room key re-magnitized (at least once a day if not more). I would definatly go back and have already looked into going again with some friends next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

carry both room keys with you in case one does not work and you are in the farthest building from the front desk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Nov 9, 2009

November 2009 at Excellence

Excellent hotel, i have no complains, if you want to be totally away with your wife or husband this is the place to go, it is away from most of the hotels, you will eat and drink like a king. I totally recomend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jacannza
Business
Cleveland, OH
Nov 9, 2009

Relaxing

My husband and I just came back from Excellence Resort in Playa Mujeres Mexico. We had a wonderful time! The resort is clean, the service great! We have never had such great service anywhere. The waiters, bartenders, and everyone was very nice and polite. Even though it is an all-inclusive resort, we still tipped. Usually about 20 pesos every couple drinks and for meals. Luis out on the beach was awesome! You don't have to tip, but as good as the service was before, it got even better with tips. They have a variety of entertainment shows with the Micheal Jackson show being the best one that we saw. It is an indoor-outdoor theater with comfortable seats and of course, non-stop drinks. The food was good. The Barcelona has a great breakfast every morning. We ate at a different restaurant every night and our favorite was the Italian restaurant. Some of the wine was good, but the white Chardonnay at the Lobster House was awful. The lobster was great at the Lobster House. They also have theme nights like Caribbean and Mexican fiesta nights. They have a lovely lazy river and plenty of pools to choose from. I read in previous reviews that people would "hog" the floats, but we did not find this to be the case. They have a swim-up bar, but we never went there because most of the people there looked drunk. There were a few negatives during our stay even though it was not anything the staff could help. There IS seaweed on the beach and in the water's edge. They DO their best to clean it up, but it still looks unsightly. The first couple days of our stay, people were fairly quiet and polite, but as the week progressed, wedding groups showed up and they were loud and drunk most of the time. And yes, they all seemed like they were from the US. I hate when people put down our country and/or its people, but we felt embarrassed. Not only were they loud and sloppy, but they were also rude to the staff. For example, the staff set up the poker and Black Jack tables to run the games and a group of people showed up and completely rearranged everything. My husband was so disgusted he left. At the same time though, other Americans were the nicest of guests and we met some truly wonderful people from the US. It seemed like the majority of people were from the US and Canada.Our room was freezing when we got there. It didn't matter where we turned the temperature, it stayed cold unless we turned the air completely off. We only turned it on at night to sleep. I think they have to keep it cool so it does not get that musty smell. It did rain the last couple days we were there, but the staff do a wonderful job of setting up games and there is plenty of indoor space and bars to keep people occupied. Plus, we are from Ohio and I would rather be in Mexico when it rains than in Ohio during the winter! We played pool, and learned how to play Black Jack and Poker. And you can take dancing lessons or Spanish lessons. My favorite thing to do was lay out on our balcony bed and read with the sound of the rain. We had a regular room with a pool view and it was pretty nice. A word of advice: When you get through customs go STRAIGHT outside. I read all the warnings about the timeshare people, but we still fell for it. They say they are "tourism advisers" and they even ask us if we are looking for Grey Line which was our transportation and of course we fell into the trap. It wasn't until we got outside and found the Grey Line employees (who by the way are awesome)that we realized we were duped. My husband marched right back inside and canceled the outing we booked with them. [...] The resort is about 20-30 minutes from Cancun and transportation is not cheap. We only left twice to go to Tulum (Awesome!) and Chichen Itza (Awesomer!)We booked with Grey Line right at the resort with [...] who is great! [...] It was awesome and I want to go back today!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seeking sun and relaxation
Business
Cleveland, OH
Nov 6, 2009

Another great stay

Second trip back to Excellence (March 09 and Nov 09) and both were great. Only difference was that the November trip had rain and some mosquitos. Loved the room, the view, the friendly staff who accommodated all of our requests! Would recommend to anyone looking to get away and relax .... not for those looking to stay up all night partying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book transfers ahead of time and not through the resort. Their prices are much higher than private companies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leon & Jean
Business
Champaign, Illinois
Nov 3, 2009

Terrific trip!

The Excellence Playa Mujeres was substantially above our expectations. The staff could not have been more friendly and the food was very good. We did do two off-property excursions but really would have had enough to do (or not do!) if we had stayed at the resort every day. The golf course was a little pricey but, other than that, my wife and I had no criticisms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top