$338 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Mujeres, Cancun, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
928 out of 928
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carkey
Business
N/A
Dec 21, 2014

Even better than riviera cancun

Great great great anniversary trip! For our honeymoon we went to Excellence at Riviera Cancun and this resort was even better! A little pricier than Riviera Cancun and the resort is a little further from the airport. Overall fantastic trip and we will be coming back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ronald S.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Great Pre-Holiday Trip

The resort was truly excellent. Staff was consistently friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding, regardless of which restaurant we chose to dine at. Top shelf liquor, fun pools, great exercise classes, nice beach with lots of lounging options. The resort is a bit north of Cancun and quite isolated (very secure), so to go off property was a bit involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Compiler
Business
Lutherville
Dec 16, 2014

Great View, A Bit Far...

This is a beautiful resort. Beach is clean and wonderful. Since all hotels in Cancun has very high standard, you will get everything a high-end resort could and should offer here. So I would not list the good things here, just the part that I'd like them to improve, and whatever I didn't mention should be regarded as wonderful. 1. Room arrangement. In our reservation, we specifically requested king bed room. However, they failed to provide one. The resort did put in GREAT efforts in converting two queen beds to one gigantic bed. But it was still not what we've requested. If you really want a king bed room, you might have to triple check with them. 2. The food. The Mexican food is great. The bars are charming. The breakfast buffet is exceptional. But the so-called "highly-recommended" Asian restaurant is quite disappointing. I think they should find themselves a whole new team to replace it. 3. The value. I've given 3 stars in this category only because this is the first time we choose an all-inclusive hotel and found that, for non-alcoholic tourists, it is a HUGE waste for us. The UNLIMITED liquor is quite good value for whoever can handle it. For those who don't really drink. The value is discounted by a lot. Keep that in mind. 4. Location. It is outside of the hotel zone, which we knew before we went there. It is not a bid deal since the resort has everything inside. But if you do want to go outside, there is nothing close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luxury Lovin' Lady
Business
Southern California
Nov 27, 2014

You can't go back to any less

This was my first stay at a luxury hotel. I stayed 4 nights, 5 days and came with a friend as a guest to a destination wedding. Food: top-notch, great variety. The Indian restaurant was possibly my favorite, and our travel group also loved the French restaurant and hibachi. Even picky eaters will find something good at the breakfast and lunch buffets. And the bars & bartenders... oh my! Best mojito I've ever drank in my life. Rooms: wonderfully furnished, and every room has a balcony/porch with a sofa and an outdoor table. Take my advice: the "cheap" rooms are perfect, so no need to splurge on a swim-up or anything bigger. The bride & groom even stay in a "cheap" room and loved it (this was their 3rd time visiting Excellence) Activities: Great evening shows. Non-motorized water activities are free (paddle boarding, kayaks, etc.) Even though this resort is a little outside the hotel zone, I never felt regret or need to leave because there was enough to do each day. It's almost like a cruise ship (with a schedule of activities) with more space! Staff: the staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable. Hands-down best service I've ever received. Beach: if you're a beach person, there's a lot of seaweed in Playa Mujeres - they run a machine every 30-45 minutes to sweep the seaweed out. I normally sit and hang out at the beach, but the pools were so amazing I never felt like I needed to go down to the beach. When I did, it was still gorgeous - just swimming in the water was occasionally seaweed-y. It's not bad once you get a few feet past the shore. Cost: Besides tips, I didn't have to pay for anything else out of pocket once I arrived. You certainly get what you pay for! Bottom line: Get a good deal on your stay and you will be amazed at the service, quality, and luxury of your vacation! It'll be impossible to go back to anything less!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

This is a hotel best for couples and romantic getaways.

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carkey
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 23, 2014

Will be going back!

Amazing experience. We had gone to excellence riviera cancun previously and this one was just as good, if not better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ASAH
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Nov 23, 2014

Always Excellent

We have stayed here four times and will continue to return. The staff, rooms, amenities, drinks, and food are the best. I am not in love with the beach areas since they are constantly cleaning seaweed from the sand. It is not as pretty as other locations in the Cancun area...but the service greatly outweighs other top rated resorts. I highly recommend staying club level in a swim out room in building 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pluto Cho
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 23, 2014

Nice for inexpensive travel

I got all inclusive offer and that's what I would recommend anyone going to this resort. Even though it wasn't the "perfect" experience, I really can't complain because of the amazing price. Nice place with lots of things to do. Food is awesome. Don't sit in your room and order room service your meals. The quality of room service food for some reason is so much inferior to what you can get from restaurants they have for free. Ask the staffs about all your options when you are going for lunch or dinner because they have a lot of restaurants. It's not one of those quiet and heaven like resort, but rather more like an active place with music going on in the background always. If that's what you want, this is a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants in the resort - get to know all of them so you don't miss anything during your stay.

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coach JClo
Business
Virginia
Nov 22, 2014

Getaway

The staff is excellent and the food and room were exceptional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lindsey34
Business
Cleveland, OH
Nov 19, 2014

Couples Trip

We had such an amazing time!! Location was tucked back behind everything and was very secure. Room cleanliness was good. There was 2 days where the room did not get cleaned or the mini-fridge was not stocked, which was not a huge deal at all. Comfort of the room was great. Large king bed and comfy sheets. The staff was phenomenal. Always making sure you had what you needed. We will for sure be going back to this location, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bxnunya
Business
New york , New York
Nov 19, 2014

One Year Anniversary

We spent our one year anniversary here and it was perfect ! Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top