$451 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Mujeres, Cancun, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
940 out of 940
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mdreaded
Couples
Sherman, CT
Jan 28, 2014

Five Day Vaca

We arrived at the hotel on Sunday afternoon Jan 19th. The hotel was beautiful, Staff was very accommodating. The restaurants were all good, but out favorites were The Asian fusion and The French. make sure you read about the dress code, because even at breakfast men need a t shirt no tank tops. All in all it was a great vacation. We were traveling with my sister and her husband planning to come back next year. We were in building five very quite view of the spa and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RandB Third Time
Couples
New Jersey
Jan 23, 2014

R&B Third Time.

Amenities: Professional Location: Distant Room Comfort: Beyond Expectations. Room Cleanliness: Excellent Staff: Super helpful, Friendly and Happy. Value: Up there with the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

This is an all inclusive designed to be for your total stay. Do not go here if you want to be in the midst of all the activity the Strip has to offer.

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daratrae
Couples
Wisconsin
Jan 17, 2014

great resort

We had a great time at the resort. The staff was always pleasant and the place was very clean. My only complaint is that the beach area is small. The food was good and the shows were typical for these hotels. The extra music entertainment that was held nightly was the best we have seen in our ten trips to the Caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nephie
Couples
Washington DC
Dec 27, 2013

Great place for some R&R

The Excellence in Playa Mujeres is one of my favorite hotels in Cancun. This was my second time at this particular property and third time at an Excellence property. While it is not truly a 5 star hotel, they do try to accommodate your needs. If you're the type of traveler that likes to be out and about, doing tours, off site shopping or site seeing, this hotel is not for you. It is too far from most of the attractions in Cancun. It is really more for those looking to relax and not leave the property at all. The food quality is decent, the service - overall good. Some of the staff go above and beyond to help you and others not so much. I would suggest to upgrade to the Excellence club if you can. It does make a difference in the amenities you get and gives you access to better beach area and private quiet pools. Also, while this is an All-inclusive property, please tip the staff...they work very hard to make everyone happy and there are lots of people who demand so much and won't even say thank you, let alone tip. The one thing I noticed this time around is that while they have a dress code, they don't seem to enforce it very much, some of the people I saw on this trip were just too white trash. Perhaps they have lowered their prices so much to allow just about anyone to be able to afford it. Overall I still like this property, adult only, all-inclusive. I will probably return again. Not a really a 5 star hotel though, 4 star at best. If you want a 5 star go to Las Velas or LeBlanc in Cancun, pricier, but better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icee
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 24, 2013

A truley Excellent experience!

Me and my girlfriend came down for a 5 day getaway. I would recommend this for every couple that can afford it! However this did not feel like a singles party all inclusive. This is not in the Cancun Hotel Zone. It was about 20 - 25 minutes away..kind of on its own. Which would make trips to places like the clubs, and bars (Coco Bongo, Senior Frogs, etc...) more difficult and expensive compared to staying in the Hotel Zone. That said, you also didn't have the guests from other hotels walking along Excellence's beach. It made for even more relaxation once you were on the property. The staff was very friendly. Every time you stepped around the corner you were warmly greeted by another member of the Excellence staff. They never tried to sell us anything either which was rarely happens on vacations in my opinion.Your stay and business truly felt appreciated from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave! The ocean did have a fair amount of seaweed but they had staff to periodically pick up the seaweed that piled on the beach. The beach was great! We had the basic Jr. Suite and had no complaints at all. A nicely stocked mini fridge with no fees. Four bottles of alcohol neatly waiting for you (all included in the price of your stay). Walk in closet, his and her sinks, rainfall shower head AND a handheld head, wrap around couch, comfortable bed, jacuzzi room that opened to the outside, and a balcony. The restaurants were great! Not true 5 star restaurants by US major city standards, but the best an all inclusive could be to reaching that standard. Overall, highly recommended for a couples getaway. 100% worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't sleep outside on your balcony. The bugs will bite you up :)

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yaya 80
Couples
Cancun, Mexico
Dec 21, 2013

We enjoyed every second

This Hotel is especial for couples that want to have a relax getaway. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Mexican restaurant was amazing. We had an amazing week in Excellence Playa Mujeres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother Teresa C
Couples
Richmond, VA
Dec 12, 2013

perfect honeymoon

If there is ever one single complaint about service, that person is fired. So.... service is amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lori and Mark
Couples
St. Louis, MO
Dec 12, 2013

The Ritz Carlton of All-Inclusives

The Excellence Playa Mujeres is a beautiful resort. The staff are very friendly, and seem to really care about their guests and making you comfortable and happy. We were there for 5 days and we didn't want to come home. We visited the following restaurants, The Grill, The Lobster House, Toscana (breakfast buffet), Chez Isabelle, Barcelona, and Spice and room service. The Grill is the best place to go for lunch. The menu has a variety of items from burgers to steak to mexican cuisine. The restaurant is outside and you can eat while looking right at the ocean. Chez Isabelle was probably my favorite meal. This place has all premium liquors and they will make whatever you want. Your room is stocked with bottles of liquor and wine and mixers also. The grounds are safe (gated area) and immaculate. The cleanliness of this resort is top notch. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kellibrijitis
Couples
Atlanta
Dec 10, 2013

Fantastic adult getaway

Location is perfect , the accommodation is first class, the food quality outstanding, staff is friendly and accommodating. Would surely return. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
After All These Years
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 2, 2013

Still the One

Another wonderful time at EPM! This was our third time at this beautiful, peaceful resort, but will definitely not be our last. We booked a two week stay this time and enjoyed great weather for all but one day, when it rained for the entire day. However, the staff added fun activities in the main building, which helped to entertain everyone who went there. As always, the staff was top-notch, as was the food, drinks, pools, and gym. My husband and I especially enjoyed the Flavor Market (tapas bar) and Basmati (Indian, which has gotten even better since our last stay here). Cafe Kaffe serves all types of custom coffee drinks, which we also appreciated. We took advantage of the live entertainment each evening, and particularly enjoyed Havana's Band and local singer Claudia Trevino, as well as the theater productions of Michael Jackson Evolution and Madonna. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept; the entire resort is very clean and attractive. It is our understanding that only the main pool - where the pool bar is located - is heated during cooler months. The other pools were chilly until mid-afternoon. There was only one jacuzzi that could be described as warm. There was always covered seating available, although perhaps not in the location that you wanted. Although not necessary, we tip the maid, pool service, and waiters. These people give consistently exceptional, friendly service. It doesn't take a lot of money; we take a few hundred dollars in 1s and 5s. Think about it - you tip at home, often for service that is less than stellar - so why not here? The only complaint that we had was definitely not the fault of the hotel. THIS IS A PEACEFUL, RELAXING, ADULTS-ONLY RESORT. A few of the guests, for some unknown reason, seemed to think that they were at a "party hearty" fraternity house or in Ocean City, MD/Virginia Beach. Not so. If your idea of a good time is to behave like a drunken idiot, please book a room in the Cancun Hotel Zone. Your rights end where everyone else's begin. If you think differently, you will have EPM security at your door with the information that either your behavior improves or you will removed from the premises. We've seen it happen...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can probably save some money on ground transportation by taking a private taxi from Cancun Airport to EPM and back - and depart on your own schedule. After clearing Immigration and picking up your luggage, walk straight to the front door of the airport (don't be waylaid by the timeshare people, who pretend to help you with ground transportation), where you will find a large, circular desk. Secure a private taxi to EPM ($85) and move to the outside taxi area. Return fare from EPM was $43; request your taxi at the front desk. This is safe or we wouldn't be doing it.

Back to menu Return to top