$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan KM 13.5 Lote 24 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
torettod
Business
Miami, FL, EEUU
Feb 21, 2012

“WORST HOSPITALITY”

The service by the hotel staff is very bad, no service attitude. The food is exactly the same everyday in every "restaurant", besides that, the place is ancient. The only good thing about this place is the party company that brings you out to clubs each night and keeps you entertained. I will never stay in this Barcelo hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daysy2k
Business
California, EEUU
Feb 16, 2012

Poor Hotel

At first glance the place seemed really nice.....BUT....the only thing that was wonderful was the crystal blue caribean see...the rest was horrible... Check In: Slower then molasses going up a hill in the middle of winter. Don't plan on getting there before check in time of 3:00pm because you really want them to have the time to clean the rooms - otherwise........ Food: Unless you like live worms crawling in your food, it was gross. That resulted in us eating stale nachos with no salsa all week. Breakfast was the only safe bet...so we starved the rest of the day and had to go out and eat EVERY night. So spend the extra $$$ to get a half decent place. dont stay here never!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
saaa
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 13, 2012

OK

I have stayed at several 3-4 star hotels in Cancun that are all inclusive in the hotel zone and this one was OK. Have stayed at better that had more restaurants that took reservations as opposed to the buffets. The service and staff were EXCELLENT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the R2 bus into downtown Cancun and go to the Mercado 28 for bargains. Very cheap (under one US dollar) and safe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelGuyC
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Average

Our original room overlooked the top of the strip mall. There were noises from the strip mall's air conditioning units, ice machine, a pipe moving in the wall, and doors slamming down the hall at all hours of the night. Despite this, everything seemed ok until the drain in the bathroom backed up, flooding the entire bathroom. They sent up a maintenance person after calling twice. He plunged the drain, shower and toilet for a few minutes and declared it fixed. The cleaning person then went over the flooded area with a towel strapped to a stick, missing a good portion of the flooded area. She then left, leaving us with no towels and a slightly flooded room. The whole ordeal wasted about 2 hours of our time. The next day, we went to the front desk and they gave us a new room facing the ocean. We noticed that the lights and air conditioner are operated off of a motion detector. This means that if you leave for a while, the lights and air go off, leaving you with a warm room to come back to. Also, when you fall asleep, the air conditioner will shut off in the middle of the night if you don't move in your sleep (a minor inconvenience). The food was just ok. The staff in the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The drinks were served in exceptionally small glasses, and if you want a drink by the pool, you needed to get it yourself from the bars because there was very few waitresses/waiters around the pools (which was no big deal).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We used Grey Line for the Chichen Itza tour. It took 2.5 hrs each way to drive there. We also used them for airport transportation. The staff was professional and very knowledgeable. It was very easy and I would definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent traveler12345
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Dec 3, 2011

fun time

It was a good time! decent food, decent drinks, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not go to Coco Bongo's. Overpriced, overcrowded, not worth the money. Shows are good but they overpack the place to where you can hardly move around. If a fire ever broke out, it'd be disastrous the number of casualties there'd be. THe snorkeling/catamaran tour that we did to isla mujeres was a lot of fun and a great way to relax and spend the day. so was tulum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ant knee
Business
Fauquier, Virginia, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Loved it

Great location and staff with nice rooms and fantastic views. Needs better A/C in the rooms. Hotel said they do need to upgrade the units for the entire hotel but need the money to do it. Still comfortable but a little warm for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out each of the restaurants during your stay. Don;t get locked in of just one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missouri Bob
Business
Osage Beach, MO, USA
Nov 20, 2011

A perfect Vacation.

From check-in to check-out I could find little to complain about. Yes, some of the buffet meals were somewhat redundant, but if I wanted gourmet food, I would go out for dinner. The drinks could have been a bit stronger, but a gratuity here and there gets you almost whatever you want. I know that tips are included, and they certainly are not expected, however, most of the support personnel from maids to maintenance and bar people make $10 USD a day. Your dollar means a lot to them and they return the favor. I never saw one hotel employee that was not enthusiastic about their job, everyone was always clean, no tats, and always with a smile. Some of the poolside games were a bit juvenile, but the prizes were good, such as T-shirts and meals at Senior Frogs. The resort is finishing remodeling the upper pool. From what I saw it will be better than ever. We are now talking about a "family" vacation next year to Barcelo Tucancun. By the way, if you have the option, at least get a balcony-ocean view room. We had a villa and it was outstanding. ONE issue was the shower hot water. Once maintenance showed us how to use it, there was no problem whatsoever. If you need and expect five stars, pay the extra. If you want a g-r-e-a-t value for your money, choose the Tucancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You will want to exchange some USD. The rate is better at the Mall across the street, but you need to have your passport. If you are not pinching pennies, the resort will exchange (usually during daytime hours) with no waiting or paperwork. Even a 1% difference is only a dollar per hundred. Small price for the convenience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vicki B
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Grandma's Birthday Party

We stay at this hotel at least once.. sometimes twice a year. We love it. We would never think about staying at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Destilleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudiaaa
Business
Storrs, CT, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Awesome !!

It can't get any better for that price. You have everything you need in the hotel and it is situated along the most beautiful beach of the world. Drinks were awesome, food was great and there were always many activities in the pool if you prefer it over the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-Ha !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tori
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 15, 2011

Family Vacation

The staff was friendly, although it was awkward since we do not speak spanish to clearly understand them. The 2nd floor villa (away from the main hotel building) we had was beautiful, air conditioning did not work well in it, it ran non stop and we still sweated. Food was good. The common areas of the hotel are not air conditioned. The location is great, close to bus stop, marina. Overall, we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not go to the flea market around mile marker 10, total tourist trap, instead go down about another mile for your souvenier shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top