$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan KM 13.5 Lote 24 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Salsagirls
Business
USA
Jul 25, 2012

Fine, but nothing super special

Just to start, we were three twenty-something girls traveling together - two of us are 29 and one was 18 (little sister). Check-in: We checked in easily enough but when we got up to our room, there was a man on a ladder in the doorway with a bunch of the ceiling crashed through, and a big puddle of water. We ended up having to carry all of our suitcases back downstairs, back to the front desk, and get another room (upgraded to ocean view for free though). It was so hot and we were so tired that this was really annoying that they wouldn't know ahead of time that the first room couldn't be used, but our second room was nice so it wasn't a huge deal. Amenities: There is NO free wi-fi! They want a lot of money for it. It says here that I can't say how much, but they wanted to charge quite a bit just for one hour of wi-fi. In this day and age I find it crazy that it's not available. Since my phone also wouldn't work in Mexico, I had no way of letting my family know that I had arrived safely. On top of that, our hairdryer didn't work. Room: The room we had was very nice, though the beds were smaller than expected - they were definitely not queen beds, it even felt smaller than the full bed I have at home. We had a balcony which was just wonderful, with a gorgeous view of the beach and the sea. The bed itself was comfortable, you can adjust the AC/temperature yourself, and the TV worked fine. They also gave a free bottle of water each day. Plenty of closet space and an iron/board in the room. Staff: Besides the front desk (I was NOT impressed with them - they weren't unkind but definitely not helpful), the staff was fantastic. The bartenders were so friendly with us (maybe because we were girls, ha), the restaurant workers, even managers that were walking around. We especially bonded with Jose from the Lobby Bar, Vitaliano from the swim-up bar, and Francisco, who was the manager of the bartenders I believe. They really stood out and I hope that the hotel recognizes how friendly and helpful they are. The whole staff as a whole was friendly, and greeted us all the time, asked if we were having fun, etc. Entertainment people were fun as well. Hotel grounds: The pools are AWESOME! The beach is gorgeous - there were plenty of chairs, not much crowding, and I never felt unsafe leaving my things while we all went in the water. The buffet restaurants were fine, nothing special as far as food goes. For the a la carte restaurants, you can only make a reservation in person from 8am-5pm so because of tours and other things, we ended up missing out on that completely, which was disappointing. I think they should take reservations outside those hours to allow for people who have other things to do in that time, or at least allow us to make reservations by phone. The really disappointing thing here was that the beach and the pools closed at 8:00 PM. I understand they need to clean and everything, but we really wanted to go swimming at night, and the hotel guide in the room said the pool would be open until 10 PM. So, that was a disappointment. All in all, I think this could have gone a lot better. Also, don't get the Grayline tour - they cheated us out of our "free" sunset cruise and were just very disorganized in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus, not taxis, to get around. The R2 bus goes right past the flea market, the touristy clubs area, and my favorite, the city center where the "real" clubs are (we didn't want to hang out with tourists, we wanted to hang out with natives!). As a salsa-lover, as a nightlife tip, I highly recommend Mambo Cafe - you get really close to there (Plaza las Avenidas) by taking the bus!! And it's only about fifty cents, as opposed to a much more expensive taxi ride :)

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mulberry Arkansas
Jun 20, 2012

Riped us OFF!!!

Food we gross drinks were aweful and the airconditioning was not good. I have wrote one review on this hotel but this one needs notice. The staff stole a lap top computer an Apple Ipod and a bottle of cologn....Not very relaxing when you have to worry if someone is going through you things while enjoying the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mulberry Arkansas
Jun 20, 2012

Family Vacation

I had a great time in Cancun. We had eight people and three being children. Barcelo was absolutely beautiful. The food was average the drinks needed work but the staff was great. The only complaint was the second day being there we had a lap top computer and and Apple Ipod and a bottle of Afliction Cologn stolen right out of our room. The only thing we could figure was the cleaning staff. There many things we wanted to do while we visited but we were to worried to leave the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kimler
Business
TX
May 21, 2012

50th Birthday vacation

The front desk needs more help. The drinks were good, The scenery was lovely. Everyone was helpful, polite and had a smile on their face. except the front desk asst manager, was not helpful when told the air conditioning did not work. (took 3 days to get another room) We didnt let one bad apple ruin our good time. I turned 50 in Cancun with my husband, sister and brother-in-law and left with some wonderful memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Lobster House was wonderful

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTown
Business
Iowa
Mar 30, 2012

Great Place

Had a Villa and the location was next to the pool. Great view and had plenty of room for four adults. Priced right and the food was not bad except the same variety every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yaMyaP
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Great Value for a Great Location! Recommend this!!!

This hotel was overall great! If you want a full-review check out our review on a site that advises trips (reverse those words and put them together)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the buses everywhere you go 7.50 pesos (about 75cents per trip), convert $$ at the hotel or a local bank to get the best rate (~12 pesos per dollar) -- you don't need that many pesos thought (we used it mostly for bus rides). If you don't to spend $100 to go to Chichen Itza (there are "El Rey" ruins about 1 mile away from the hotel where you can see ancient stones (only $4) and so much closer. Take the bus one day to Wal-Mart & basically you'll get a free tour of the city while your sitting on the bus.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cate12
Business
Clackamas, OR, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great time and a good value

We had a family gathering of 4 couples. We had a great time, the weather was perfect, the hotel was nice and the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IntlTraveler2000
Business
Michigan, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Good all-inclusive hotel with great beach front close to shopping malls

The hotel was overall good. The beach is great! The front desk is however very very slow. It took a long time to check in and to check on anything with the front desk. They really needed more people working at the reception! The hotel is very close to the shopping malls (walking distance), so it's convenient if you want to do something else. It also has an excellent tennis court (also at night you can play). The food is good, and the drinks average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do check out early in the morning to get faster service. You can still use all the amenities and drink/eat (all-inclusive) as they give you a pass. If you check out during rush hour (11am-4pm) it'll take forever (up to an hour).

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
spring breaker 2012
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Spring break with just the girls

The hotel was overall good and better than expected. Pros: -food -drinks -some of the workers are really funny and friendly -perfect location for the beach -entertainment by the pool during the day with music -lobby bar was always a good time -balcony Cons: -local elementary school field trip had the food, pool and beach packed with local Mexican children running wild. -fridge was not stocked daily -view of the back of the mall and the air conditioners for the hotel- bad. Wish I paid extra for the ocean view. -Many workers at the hotel but mostly cancun in general were very obsessed with tips and harassed you non stop. -Many pick pocketing at night in down town. Among the 3 of us, we had over $700 pesos, 2 phones, keys, and a camera stolen in just 2 nights out of our zippered cross body bags.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You MUST check out coco bongo. It is the best club for everyone because it is a mix between a club/concert/fun shows.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
softail
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Great place to visit , Relax and do nothing !

My wife and myself stayed for nine days ,arrived 3/5/12 we had the Superior lagoon view with balcony Rm 3037 don't stay in that room ,the hotel ac is just below ,you couldn't talk the noise was so great ! We went to the lobby and they up graded us to Rm 5003 ocean veiw with a balcony the next morning . The people at the front desk were great ! All the help was great , they are slower than we are but thats the way they it is !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't forget to barter for everything !

Back to menu Return to top