$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan KM 13.5 Lote 24 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Recently Married
Business
Cheyenne, WY
May 29, 2010

So-So Service

Overall, the hotel was clean and very close to the beach. I requested a king size bed for my honeymoon, but instead received a room with 2 full sized beds. I talked to the staff 3 days in a row with no change. The walls are also paper thin, which is a problem when you make plans that start at 7am the next day, and the people on your floor stumble into their rooms and slam their doors when they get kicked out of the lobby bar at 6am. The Gray Line crew that works in conjuction with [...] was very helpful in organizing side trips so we didn't get bored. They also provided us great rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit La Isla, one of the local malls. There is an authentic Mexican restaurant that is located right next to a dolphin pool. On the other side of the restaurant is a shark tank where you can view several different types of sharks and other aquatic life.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Suffolk, VA.
May 29, 2010

Hotel has some flaws but overall good

Cancun was great! the Hotel staff was terrific!! There was a few minor flaws. The shower water could never be adjusted to the right temp. one minute extreme hot the next extreme cold. The beds were a little hard, but got used to them. The Mexico Lindo restaurant was only open on Friday and saturday nights, not even open during week. We arrived sunday and left Friday morning so we weren't there either of the nights it was open. The bartenders and servers in restaurant were outstanding!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to enjoy the Mexican restaurant thats in the hotel make sure your stay includes either Friday or Saturday night in your visit.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PBinCA
Business
Fairfield, CA
May 26, 2010

Nice vacation for the money!!

Didn't care for the front desk personnel..not very accommodating nor friendly.. Luckily we traveled with a Spanish speaking person which helped very much at times..Service staff were very friendly and accommodating!Activity staff were great!One disappointment was booking a deep water fishing trip thru [...] at the hotel. Once at the venue we needed to pay extra to use a bigger boat, which wasn't cool at all! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 25, 2010

Great Stay

Stayed from May 9 - May 16. Staff was great while we were there. Did not have a problem checking in early. There were always plenty of chairs around the pool and on the beach. Bartenders were great. We did have a slight problem with our sink draining slow and the shower leaking, but nothing a little towel by the door couldn't stop. Air conditioning was motion activated so it turns off when you are not in the room. Pools were all great and the beach was nice. Activities everyday (volleyball, waterpolo, soccer) were fun. Overall great experience and nothing to complain about. Drinks werent all that strong, but if you ordered a rum and coke, it was extremely strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Barhopping tour was a blast.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 25, 2010

Could be better.

First of all the room doors are paper thin. You can hear everything outside your room clearly as if it were open. Even the bathroom door. The entertainment staff was the best though. They went out of their way to make sure you had a great time. The pools were amazing. There are three different ones and all good size. Events were taking place at a different pool every day, so if you just wanted to lay out you could attend another pool. The customer service was pretty bad though. They took our sheets without informing us and when we came back to the room at 4am there were no bed sheets! They said we had to pay $130 for them because we spilled on them and they had to special order new sheets. The buffet that pretty much was open all day was ok but had the same stuff everyday. Only one of the three resturants was good. The hotel did have great daily shows though. But their bartenders were pretty bad for the most part only liked one and tried to stick with him the rest of the trip. Ovreall had a good vacation but, i wouldnt stay at this hotel if i went to Cancun again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two malls walking distance.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
May 22, 2010

Surprised, but still disappointed

We came to this resort with a bad impression after reading reviews on this website. I travel every week for work and am not very picky, but there were some things that would need to change before we come back to this resort.The room was a major downside of the resort. The water pressure was not the best in the bathroom and the water temperature would go from hot to cold every 30 seconds. It was terrible to take a shower. The beds were very hard, but we still managed to sleep comfortably every night. The a/c worked well unlike in some of the reviews we saw. We could hear the people in the room next to us and the fact that all rooms have tile floor helped the sound bounce all over the place and seem louder.The drinks are watered down and even after asking the bartender for extra liquor, it was still weak. A tip did not seem to do the trick. We tried NOT tipping for a day to see if the service was any different and we found that everything was the same. A tip does NOT go a long way at Barcelo Tucancun. The nightly entertainment was OK, but nothing special. We walked out a few nights because it was not very interesting. The International show was the best in our opinion. The entertainers were great especially [...]. [...] seemed more interested in getting girls than entertaining and it really got in the way of his job.The food was decent. The themes matched the entertainment for the night we found. If you get to breakfast after 9:30, they do not refill the breakfast food. We went to Don Quijote and the steak was completely red and cold...like they didn't even cook it. The other Mexican restaurant was great, however. The food was great and the service was excellent.I think next time we will try somewhere different unless they let us know these issues have been corrected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Kulculcan Plaza and La Isla are walking distance from the hotel and great to get out and shop on a rainy day.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
May 21, 2010

"Great friends getaway"

The staff was very friendly! The food was great for an all inclusive resort! The drinks could have been much stronger but you could get as many as you wanted so it wasn't too much of a problem. Great relaxing hotel with a beautiful pool and beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troy, OH
May 20, 2010

Warning...Warning...Warning ! ! !

We had four different rooms in nine days. The first room had no air conditioning. The second room had air conditioning, but the ceiling leaked. The third room had no air conditioning. The fourth room had no air conditioning. We finally gave up. The food was horrible. Way too many drunk americans making fools of themselves. All inclusive doesn't mean drink as much as you possibly can. No dress code enforcement. If we wanted to go to a topless resort, we would have booked one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You get what you pay for. Stay somewhere else.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jonesboro, Ar
May 17, 2010

May 2010 Vacation

The staff was not very helpful. You would ask a question and they would just look at you like they did not even work there. It was not due to a language barrier. We had one person we could go to for questions and he was Awesome. [...] in the Hospitality area. There should be a pool for families with children 12 and under and not a caged in area in the main pool. We did not have children, but that pool was pretty wild most of the time. The other pools were to good for adults that wanted to be more laid back, but when children would come it would get very noisy. I love children, but I was on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You could walk to most places or it would be a short bus ride. We always felt safe if we were walking. We were very impressed with Cancun and how clean it was. Buses were clean and fun to ride.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hillbilly Cliffy
Business
Dexter,Maine
May 14, 2010

fun afordable vacation

Jungle tour was awesome!!!! Nice to have Mall right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top