$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan km 4.5 Lote D7, espacio 5, Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 777500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alostknight2005
Single
leeds, maine
May 27, 2012

might return

you get what you pay for..period. check in service extrermely slow..bar service slow but everything else about the hotel was good. nice beach, good food good drinks. had a nice balcony room overlooking pool with a hammock and a frig restocked everyday of drinks...doesn't really get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: In Hotel

haggle with the vendors on pricing. they start off at double of what they will take

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Britt.Trip
Couples
Baltimore, Maryland
Jul 21, 2012

Good, but not for the price.

This resort was ok overall, but there are a few things I did not like about it. The room that I stayed in was so noisey, it was in the front of the hotel, so of course you heard all the car horns, buses and everything that passed by. The entertainment was excellent, it was always something different every night, however; the location for the entertainment was horrible, if I wanted to go to sleep before 9, I couldn't because it was right outside at the pool and you can hear it through your room. The beach was nice before 2 when there isn't alot of sea-weed, the food was nasty, you would be better off going in town to get something to eat. And last but not least the staff did not let us know about everything that you can do on the resort or let us know that we were VIP guest and that we had 200 USD resort credit, they didnt let us know about that until our 3rd day there and we only had one more day there. But overall, I wouldnt suggest anyone to stay here for the price if you have to pay more than 500 for a week, dont take it, it's not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rolando Aguilar
Family
United States
Aug 14, 2012

Family Vacation

Barcelo Costa Cancun was a great hotel with employees that provided excellent service. Room service was exceptional, the food variety fantastic and the cleanliness of the facility was close to perfect yet there were some downsides. The waiters at the catering restaurants inside the hotel were rather rough and not as good as we expected. At the seafood restaurant called "Claraboya" the food took quite a long time to be served. Bar service couldn't have gotten any better. If you consider visiting Cancun and staying at Barcelo, I would like to say that you should at least stay a little more than 7 days just because you will not be able to find a way to spend time inside this magnificent hotel and do outside activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alostknight2005
Couples
leeds, maine
Oct 14, 2012

about as expected

have stayed here before and was what i was expecting. rooms werte nice, front desk was slow, food was good, staff were freindly other than inside the gift shop where they should be fired and the trumpet player needs to go. activities were the same from the last time i stayed there. new activities and different entertainment at night to mix it up a bit would improve hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

never accept price given by vendors for any of their goods. offer them half. if they say they cannot accept then walk away. some stuff is nice but most is not worth what they want

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shell Bells
Friends
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Feb 22, 2013

Do you want to dance?

The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant. Our frig was broken for a good part of our stay and when they replaced it the new one didn't work. The food was okay but lacked flavor and tended to be bland. The one thing that surprised me was that the hotel did not have a place where you could dance. They relied on their outdoor shows (which were good) to provide evening entertainment. I would go back to Cancun but not this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boo and me
Family
Chicago
Mar 3, 2013

Boo and me

Grey line took 35 minutes to pick us up at airport. The beach at Barcelo is next to a Helliport (Noisey) and a marina. If you like booze you'll be very happy. They offer all kinds and mixes. The food was average but the buffet needed more refilling. Our room was parallel to the stage for nightly entertainment and was extremely loud. The staff was very friendly and wanting to please. The spa was very nice. One of the best massages I have ever had

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IrinaS56
Couples
East Cost, USA
Mar 17, 2013

Small, cosy hotel with perfect staff

Very small territory, absolutely no place to walk. Had to go walking on the bouleward Kukulkan (stuffed with buses, taxis and cars). Booked room was too small. Store credit is just discount coupons; used it for room upgrade to Junior site w/jacuzzi and Wi-Fi (insanely high). Started to enjoy my stay after. Smallest beach with whitest and silkiest sand I've ever seen. Smell of gas all the day long from boats and ships passing to and from lagoon. Worst experience came with my favorite liquers I had to pay for... However staff is perfect! Thanks Norma and Rita! Thanks Alejandra!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelbug1013
Family
new york
Mar 20, 2013

ok, but never again during spring break

I went with my husband and 8month old. We have been to Cancun 6+ Times but first time at this resort and this time of year. The price was good, location nice, but lots of boats in and out so you smell fuel all of the time from the idoling boats. Water in pool and ocean was cool for this time of year, but clean. We were hounded to receive our "welcome package" I ended up unplugging our room phone after they called so much and woke my baby. They need to update what they offer for a crib, it was dragged up, no wheels, all wooden and old. I checked it for bed bugs because it looked so bad. But it worked out ok. I liked our location and view from the room, The nice balcony with hammock. The spring breakers weren't all bad in the beginning, but it gradually got worse. The last night was the worst screaming and banging on doors, we had to call and complain. The room was beautiful, bathroom huge, no tub so a bit harder to bathe my baby but we made it work. The food and restaurants were very good, like some SO a bit repetitive but always good choices. No swim up bar, small pool. Mixed drinks were horrible, very syrupy, even the margaritas were gross, we stuck to Coronas....that was the least I've EVER seen my husband drink while on vacation. Nice palm trees throughout the beach area. We used best day for travel round trip from airport they are always the best and located in the lobby. The waiters were very helpful with our baby ,Orlando was awesome! :) we received discounts on many things like lobster dinners and spa massage. I enjoyed a stone massage that was wonderful! The elevator was small and slow, thankfully we were on the second floor, we carried my son in his stroller most of the time. We stayed at a barcelo before in DR and were hounded there to be involved in the time shares, they don't like to hear no. We usually stay at Riu' s now...but wanted to give this one a try. Our fault for going during this time of year, but we made the best if it. I might go back in a quieter time of year, but I don't think my husband will.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the local Wal-Mart hop on the bus for a short trip to get great deals on liquor and gifts! The flea market guys tend to "adjust" prices as they feel and can get rude.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nonamegiven
Friends
Texas
Oct 25, 2010

Maybe for Spring Break, not for family

This place is just okay. We were here for a family birthday celebration and its not suited well for the relaxing/chillout time we were looking for. The cleanliness was borderline, the food was awful and all of the sales pitches get really old (like even when you're getting your pool towels). However, the service was amazing, everyone but the front desk were very friendly and wonderful!We went to Chichen Itza with the [...] tours and that was also disappointing. Our tour guide was not good, he was boring and dry. We got food poisoning from the lunch at the ruins. But the driver was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weronika
Friends
New York
Apr 4, 2010

Good vaca

Good all inclusive hotel. It was a small resort bit in a good way. The only bad thing about this hotel is the location. The hotel is at the very end of the hotel strip and the water in the beach is not great. The beach itself is small and located right next to the pirate ship dock. All day long you see ships coming abck and forth through the water right outside of the booeys in the water. Food was good, pool was ok but on the smaller side but since it was a smaller resort you never felt cramped. If you a looking for a small resort with an ok pool and a small beach then this is the spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top