$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

4 stars
Camino Viejo A San Jose KM 0.5, Cabo San Lucas, 23450
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
125 reviews
Best vacation!

Anything and everything you need or want in a beach getaway. See full review

  • Angelmar
  • Jul 25, 2014
Relaxing, Luxurious Vacation

After reviewing several hotels/amenities for a family trip with my husband and two college age... See full review

  • Chamberspunch
  • Jul 7, 2014
Los Cabos hotel seduces with Spanish Colonial suites and luxury spa
Villa La Estancia Los Cabos, an intimate 152-room, all-suite property with views of Land's End, epitomizes hacienda luxury. Guests choose from spacious deluxe rooms, suites, villas and penthouses with sweeping views of the water via furnished balconies. Restaurants set the scene for intimacy, thanks to poolside, terrace and beach tables. Nightly themed dinners, a 31,000-square-foot spa and resort activities complete the experience.
Highlights
  • All-suite hacienda-inspired hotel overlooking the Sea of Cortez
  • Lagoon-style pool and Jacuzzi
  • Nightly themed shows, bartending and Spanish lessons
  • A 31,000-square-foot spa and fitness center
Rooms
Villa La Estancia Los Cabos embraces Spanish Colonial style in all 156 suites. No more is that evident than in the villas and penthouses, where soaring ceilings, high-end kitchens and expansive wood-heavy living rooms stir drama. A strong palette of earth tones creates warmth in the rooms, while casual furniture -- iron scroll headboards, oversized loungers and large wood media cabinets -- complete the comfortable look. Shiny marble floors complement beige sponge painted walls. Balconies were made for lingering -- each sports chairs to enjoy the Sea of Cortez views.
Dining
Villa La Estancia Los Cabos keeps its dining options simple with upscale dining at La Casona, where guests feast on Kobe beef and produce sourced from Miraflores farm on a terrace overlooking Land's End. For casual fare, visitors flock to poolside eatery La Parilla, which sports patio tables shaded by umbrellas. In-villa and private beach dining can also be arranged.
Recreation

The 31,000-square foot Desert Spa beckons with a full menu of facials, massages, body treatments, plus a fitness center. Expect to be pampered with natural extracts of agave, melon, noval and lime, along with other fruits and herb ingredients native to the Baja California region.


An activities team at Villa La Estancia Los Cabos keeps guests busy with water volleyball in the lagoon-style pool, bartending lessons, Spanish classes and nightly themed dinners. The staff can also schedule day trips to explore the many diversions in the area, from ATV rentals to luxury yacht charters.
Attractions
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Los Cabos Corridor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (16.8 mi/27.1 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 300 guests
  • Catering

Hotel Map

22.8936 -109.8979
Area served
Cabo San Lucas Mexico
Nearby airports
San Jose del Cabo International
Area description
Located only one mile away from downtown Cabo San Lucas where you can find a large selection of restaurants, shops and general activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa La Estancia Los Cabos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Villa La Estancia Los Cabos Rooms

Gourmet Privilege Deluxe Studio
Breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner at all restaurants and bars throughout Villa La Estancia including outlets at adjacent Villa del Arco and Villa del Palmar featuring a total of 10 outlets"
One Bedroom Villa
One king size bed in master bedroom, one queen sofa bed in living room, two bathrooms with one Jacuzzi tub in master bedroom. Fully equipped kitchen and furnished terrace with garden view (surcharge for ocean view), spacious living room/dining room, full size washer & dryer and large pantry. Stereo entertainment system, satellite TV, central air conditioning, direct dial telephone, clock radio and Internet access.
Two Bedroom Villa
One king bed in master bedroom, two queen size beds in second bedroom and one queen sofa bed in living room, three bathrooms with a Jacuzzi tub in master bedroom. Fully equipped kitchen and furnished terrace, spacious living room/dining room, full size washer & dryer and large pantry. Stereo entertainment system, satellite TV, central air conditioning, direct dial telephone, clock radio.
Deluxe Room
All our luxuriously appointed deluxe guest rooms offer a furnished terrace or balcony overlooking the pool or gardens (surcharge for ocean view). Two double beds, satellite TV, central air conditioning, direct dial telephone, clock radio, coffee maker.
Signature Villa Services
Available only in One and Two bedroom suites
4 night minimum stay required
Amenities:
Personalized check- in
Mexican Boutique Wine Sampler
Bath Time Butler Service: menu of fragrances selected to match your mood
Five Senses experience: Awake your senses with special aromas and music in your room and bath
Daily Desert Spa turn-down service: From our glamorous Spa, receive one of 14 different products nightly
Welcome Snack & Beverage fridge stock: Thirsty or hungry from a long trip? Feel welcomed at your home away from home
Beach Bag to carry your favorite beach items
Fresh flowers
Fresh Seasonal fruit upon arrival
DVD player in-room with a selection of movies/music: enough sun? Enjoy entertainment in the privacy of your suite
Pillow menu: from Classic to Therapeutic, request and we will comply
Daily Newspaper
Special Daily Chef amenit

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Bella California
Located at our sister property, Villa del Palmar. An outdoor restaurant right by the beach with a large terrace overlooking the famous Cabo San Lucas Arch. It is the perfect place for a romantic or a quiet evening. Our menu is a delicious fusion of Italian and California cooking styles. For breakfast and lunch we offer a more International selection including some great Mexican dishes.
El Bucanero
Located at sister resort Villa del Arco but available for guests at Villa La Estancia. (not included in all-inclusive plan) Casual, pirate boat themed and shaped snack bar and lunch spot "anchored" in the middle of the main pool. Serving a variety of lighter fare items including tacos, wraps, burgers and sandwiches. Open Daily from 10am to 6pm
El Faro
Located at sister resort Villa del Arco but available for guests at Villa La Estancia. (not included in all-inclusive plan) Oyster, sushi and tequila bar serving fresh fish and fine tequilas. An ideal spot to share sunset cocktails overlooking El Arco and the Sea of Cortez. Open daily for tapas and libations from 4pm to 11pm
La Perla
Located at sister resort Villa del Arco but available for guests at Villa La Estancia. (not included in all-inclusive plan) This gourmet restaurant offers an elegant menu of fresh seafood, steaks and International cuisine presented in a gracious fine dining atmosphere. Dinners are complemented by a large selection of wines, martinis and tequilas. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7am to 10:30pm
Tortugas
Located at our sister property, Villa del Palmar, Tortugas restaurant is open only for dinner and we offer a different Theme every night, different buffet and different show. All our buffets offer a great selection of cold and hot food all prepared with the typical Mexican flavor. We have the best Mexican party in town with live Mariachi and Folkloric Ballet. Also, make sure not to miss our great B.B.Q. Beach Party, right on the beach at sunset
La Parrilla
Located right at the edge of the swimming pool it offers a beautiful view of the Sea of Cortez, casual outdoor service, exhibition kitchen and swim up bar. Serving daily breakfast and lunch. You can also enjoy a nice Mexican dish and beverage while you are relaxing under the beautiful Los Cabos sunny sky by the pool. Our culinary team has prepared a menu that includes some light but tasty dishes for those that are more health conscious.
Palmita Deli
A typical American Deli with Mexican flavor. Here you will find a large variety of fresh salads and sandwiches for a quick lunch or snack at any time during the day, either to eat it right then or to take out. An early fresh cup of coffee will be waiting for you together with our homemade breakfast pastries. It is the place to order your lunch box for that fishing trip or just to supplement your airplane food on your way back home. Internet is also available to you at the Deli.
La Casona
At La Casona, a steak and seafood grill with indoor and outdoor seating, we invite you to enjoy the well known quality of Angus and Kobe beef and also to enjoy delightful grilled fresh fish and shellfish from the Sea of Cortez, all this cooked to perfection by our International chefs, in order to get the most out of your favorite dish. Enjoy a quiet or romantic dinner or just a refreshing drink at the bar while you listen to our piano player. Open seven days a week from 6PM to 10:30PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Nov 18, 2010

Cabo Golf Trip

The nicest property in the Villa complex. Pool area perfect. Actual unit decorated oddly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City
Dec 31, 2008

Great location and family friendly

It was within walking distance to all the restaurants we like. It took a long time to get into our room and once we were there the safe didn't work and neither did the ice maker but for the most part it was a beautiful location and lots of activities were available just outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ER Barbie
Virginia Beach V>
Mar 3, 2009

Villa La Estancia

First I have to give credit to the transportation service-they were worth the cost-the staff lead us right out of the airport where we we instantly attacked by the time-share people trying to book tours. When we arrived to the hotel, we were offered the "timeshare tour" which we did take- nice tour of the grounds, breakfast and great discounts on activities- they did accept no for an answer and stuck to the 90 minutes we agreed to. I was disappointed in our room, it was nice enough, clean and quiet, but it was the furthest room from the beach and the pool, two doors from the lobby. We were unable to change our room, we were told it was due to our booking through Orbitz- occupancy was aroud 35% so I felt we should have been able to move but we never were able to. In reality-there is no need to leave the grounds-every service is available and not really any more expensive than in town. We were able to walk to most places- taxi fare about 7 US to anywhere. Loved the activities-over all very enjoyable and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mi Casa, Trailer Park and The Office all worth while.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Apr 25, 2007

Size matters

Villa la Estancia is good for families given the size of the one bedroom villas and amenities such as the full kitchen and wash/dryer. The beach is nice, but the water is not swimable for kids and the pool has a shallow section for small children, but is often too cold and the kids shiver as a result. Tough to understand why they don't heat the pool a bit more or just allow it to warm up from the sun. Shop at the City Club or Costco for food and avoid the highly overpriced market in the nearby square. We have usually been pretty happy with the scene at the hotel, but this past visit was somewhat marred by some rowdy partiers. It seemed like the resort loosened its standards when it came to cracking down on noise makers at 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Good location as it's a short cab ride to town but far enough away from the party scene to get some peace and quiet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry & Sandy
Chicago, IL
Feb 3, 2010

Vacation in Paradise

Very good experience overall. The restaurant La Casona (sp ?) was very good. Pool and beach were very nice. Food and service at pool also very good. The hotel was conveniently located. The only thing missing was a kitchenette. When we booked I was under the impression that there was one. Overall, we had a very nice stay at La Estancia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Central area behind the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flaherty
Newport Beach, CA
Sep 25, 2009

Luxrious property, great staff

Awesome hotel with great service and staff. Cabo was dead when we were down there, hotel capacity was only 10% so there wasn't much going on with the property. I can see it being much more enjoyable when there's more people around. Nice spacious rooms and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adventurous Chick
Huntsville, Texas
Jun 23, 2013

Anniversary trip

We spent a week at La Estancia and enjoyed it very much. The 1bdrm Villa was well equipped, beautiful and luxurious! Dinner at La Parilla, pool side, was very good. This is a quiet retreat, so there wasn't any music playing poolside or pretty much any where else at La Estancia. We expected some kind of beach style "nightlife" entertainment, so we were disappointed that there wasn't any to speak of. It was as quiet as a church mouse by 10pm! We took a taxi (8$ one way) to town for live bands and dancing. We enjoyed Cabo Wabo but really had fun at the Mango Deck. You can walk the beach to get there but the coarse sand makes walking very strenuous. Taking a taxi was quicker and more relaxing, especially after dinner and drinks. It has a laid-back atmosphere, right on the beach, the food was great, full service bar and the live entertainment was fun and fantastic! La Estancia does offer a shuttle to and from the airport but it has to be booked 24hrs in advance. A private taxi to the airport will cost 80$ each way and we felt it was worth the price not to have to take the bus with all our luggage. Parasailing, booked thru the Resort was a blast! A water taxi (about 6$ round trip) to Lovers beach is a must. The swimming is a bit easier there and lots of picture taking opportunities as well. We will definitely go back to Cabo again but may try a different resort that has more to offer for music and nightlife entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
losgallos
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 24, 2011

Read if you need a 1 bedroom villa!!!!!!

I really want to give this hotel 5 stars, but I can't. Everyone else has written about the views, the immaculate care of the grounds, the service you get from the moment you check in, etc. All of that is true. We even really enjoyed the food at the hotel (breakfast at La Parilla is fabulous). So what is not to like? Let me tell you. We booked a 1 bedroom villa. When you book a 1 bedroom villa, you are really booking half of a two bedroom villa. Huh? What? That can't be right!!! But it is. You are booking half of a 2 bedroom villa. The way that they built these villas is that the 2nd bedroom has a separate entrance (you share a gate, but they have their own door), but, and this is a HUGE BUT, you share a balcony with them. There is no separation on the balcony so on the day that they move in, they could walk over and look in the sliding glass doors of your "1 bedroom villa" or worse, you could leave your balcony doors open while you are down at the beach and they check in and have full access to your room. Here is what happened to us. We were lucky to be home when our new roommates moved in. Villa La Estancia didn't inform us that we were getting new guests. They didn't divide the balcony with any partition ahead of their arrival (which they claimed to be customary). These people just all of a sudden appeared on our balcony. That was very unnerving. We had been used to sleeping with the sliding doors open to hear the waves and sea lions, but I just didn't feel safe doing that any more. Our new roomies were party animals looking to score with different women every night. They wanted to have friends come over, get wasted and party until 2-3a. We are the parents of a 6 year old and a 17 month old. We were looking for sleep. On the first night with these new neighbors, the loud noises started at 11:30p. My wife ran out to the balcony and told them to shut up. They quieted down somewhat, but by 12:30 they were back out on the balcony drinking when we started getting their phone calls. Our room was 2604a and their room was 2604b. Their friends didn't know that there was an A side and a B side and kept calling us. After my wife hung up on them a few times, I answered and tried to make it clear that I was not their friend and that they were being ridiculous and were waking up my kids. After about 2 minutes the brilliant friend realized that I don't sound like his friend, apologized and hung up. Hotel management was informed and talked to 2604B. We left our phone off the hook the rest of the night in case any more friends called. But the damage was done. The 17 month old was already standing in the crib. I had to stand and rock the baby for the next 2 hours until he would finally fall back asleep. The next morning I talked to the front desk and re-explained the problem. I asked that they either move the party animals to another location or they find us a better room without neighbors. They claimed that the hotel was full (but I sit here writing this at 9pm on the balcony and see lots of dark rooms). not sure why they didn't want to help us with this problem. They did however provide us with a partition for the balcony. It looks like a short version of one of those old chalkboards on wheels. It clearly puts a line in the sand, but provides us no privacy or security. If our neighbor wanted to get into our room, he could simply move the board out of the way. So there you have it, the reason why I can't give this hotel 5 stars. My recommendation is skip this hotel if you are in need of a 1 bedroom villa, but definitely stay here if you need 2 bedrooms or more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the taxi drivers how much it will cost you before you get in the taxi. These taxi drivers make up the price and it can vary as much as $5 each way to the same location. If a taxi driver gives you a ridiculous price, tell him to move on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Folsom Family vacation
Folsom, CA
Apr 29, 2009

CABO

Great Hotel and location - paid a lot through Orbitz and only rec'd a "garden view" room - not equal to the amount paid, we should definitely made sure when we booked that we would have an Ocean View. The hotel is awesome and the location allows for walking into town. This was our 7th year going. We had 4 families all vacationing together - most everyone stayed next door at Villa del Palmar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Make friends with the people on beach selling goods. They are good people and will give you a good deal if you keep coming back to them. Take your own sunscreen as the stores charge a fortune and everyone needs it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cabo Willie
Reno, NV
Mar 26, 2010

Our suite was as big as our house

Check in March 19,2010. Check out March 25, 2010. First impression was better than we expected. Very friendly and helpful staff. The suite was huge and very comfortable. We were on ground floor and our patio (very large and well furnished) was directly across from La Casona resturant. Lots of foot traffic, but we enjoy people watching. The grounds and pool area are well maintained and beautiful. The beach is right there with lounge chairs and umbrellas. We walked the other two sister properties (Palomar and Del Arco). We definitely made the right choice with La Estancia. Palomar was mostly partying college students on Spring Break. Del Arco seemed to be the family place. La Estancia was very peaceful and we were awakened at 4am only twice. Once by a very active couple upstairs, and once by a drunk sceaming throug the corridor. Service was excellent and very personable. We had a $150 food/beverage credit for staying more than 5 nites. We ate dinner at La Casona to use our credit. It was very good, but pricey. We ate a buffet breakfast there our last morning which was ridiculously priced ($50US for the two of us). Having a fully equipped kitchen was great. With a couple exceptions we prepared our own breakfasts and lunches in our suite. We went grocery shopping at Walmart the first nite in, but next time we will go to CCC rather than Walmart. Housecleaning was daily and pretty good. Once the housekeeper put up dirty dishes from the dishwasher, but otherwise good. We rented a car at the airport (our "Mexican Porche" aka Chevy Comfort). It took a little getting used to driving there, but then it became fun. However, next time we probably will only rent a car for a one day side trip. We taxied out to dinner, so we wouldn't have to worry about drinking and driving. After having successfully run the gauntlet of timeshare guys at the airport, our Avis representative talked us into attending a presentation at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach the next day. We put down a $20US deposit for a $200US cash gift and a $100US certificate for dinner at Fridas. We were really hesitant about attending, but as it turns out it was very good. We ended up buying one week in a one bedroom suite there and the next night we had a free $200US dinner at La Fridas which was absolutely wonderful. The property is fantastic. We can't wait to get back. We didn't spend as much time on the beach or poolside as we had planned. However, we really enjoyed the Americas Cup racing yacht adventure and our encounter with the dolphins. Besides La Castona and La Fridas, we had dinner at the following (all of which I would rate excellent and very reasonably priced): La Golandrena, Maria Corona, Los Desadedos, and Edith's. We did a day trip to Todos Santos which was very enjoyable. Our flight out was late afternoon, so we spent the better part of the day exploring San Jose and had great lunch at La Damiana. Both these towns are older and filled with arts. If you like to drink wine, especially Chardonnay like we do, try Tutte Bene (near the Marina) and La Europea. Evidently it's very expensive to import California wines, so don't be afraid to try the Chilean, Argentinian, and even Mexican. The folks we bought the timeshare from were very nice and gave us a personal gift of a nice Mexican Chard from the oldest winery in Mexico (est. 1597). We really enjoyed our vacation and look forward to getting back to Cabo as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste time buying Pesos in the US before your trip. Most places were exchanging between 12-13 pesos per $1US. Make sure to bring plenty of small bills (taxis and tips).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search