$408 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

4 stars
View map of Camino Viejo A San Jose KM 0.5, Cabo San Lucas, 23450

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cabo Willie
Business
Reno, NV
Mar 26, 2010

Our suite was as big as our house

Check in March 19,2010. Check out March 25, 2010. First impression was better than we expected. Very friendly and helpful staff. The suite was huge and very comfortable. We were on ground floor and our patio (very large and well furnished) was directly across from La Casona resturant. Lots of foot traffic, but we enjoy people watching. The grounds and pool area are well maintained and beautiful. The beach is right there with lounge chairs and umbrellas. We walked the other two sister properties (Palomar and Del Arco). We definitely made the right choice with La Estancia. Palomar was mostly partying college students on Spring Break. Del Arco seemed to be the family place. La Estancia was very peaceful and we were awakened at 4am only twice. Once by a very active couple upstairs, and once by a drunk sceaming throug the corridor. Service was excellent and very personable. We had a $150 food/beverage credit for staying more than 5 nites. We ate dinner at La Casona to use our credit. It was very good, but pricey. We ate a buffet breakfast there our last morning which was ridiculously priced ($50US for the two of us). Having a fully equipped kitchen was great. With a couple exceptions we prepared our own breakfasts and lunches in our suite. We went grocery shopping at Walmart the first nite in, but next time we will go to CCC rather than Walmart. Housecleaning was daily and pretty good. Once the housekeeper put up dirty dishes from the dishwasher, but otherwise good. We rented a car at the airport (our "Mexican Porche" aka Chevy Comfort). It took a little getting used to driving there, but then it became fun. However, next time we probably will only rent a car for a one day side trip. We taxied out to dinner, so we wouldn't have to worry about drinking and driving. After having successfully run the gauntlet of timeshare guys at the airport, our Avis representative talked us into attending a presentation at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach the next day. We put down a $20US deposit for a $200US cash gift and a $100US certificate for dinner at Fridas. We were really hesitant about attending, but as it turns out it was very good. We ended up buying one week in a one bedroom suite there and the next night we had a free $200US dinner at La Fridas which was absolutely wonderful. The property is fantastic. We can't wait to get back. We didn't spend as much time on the beach or poolside as we had planned. However, we really enjoyed the Americas Cup racing yacht adventure and our encounter with the dolphins. Besides La Castona and La Fridas, we had dinner at the following (all of which I would rate excellent and very reasonably priced): La Golandrena, Maria Corona, Los Desadedos, and Edith's. We did a day trip to Todos Santos which was very enjoyable. Our flight out was late afternoon, so we spent the better part of the day exploring San Jose and had great lunch at La Damiana. Both these towns are older and filled with arts. If you like to drink wine, especially Chardonnay like we do, try Tutte Bene (near the Marina) and La Europea. Evidently it's very expensive to import California wines, so don't be afraid to try the Chilean, Argentinian, and even Mexican. The folks we bought the timeshare from were very nice and gave us a personal gift of a nice Mexican Chard from the oldest winery in Mexico (est. 1597). We really enjoyed our vacation and look forward to getting back to Cabo as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste time buying Pesos in the US before your trip. Most places were exchanging between 12-13 pesos per $1US. Make sure to bring plenty of small bills (taxis and tips).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Mar 16, 2010

Great hotel for the price

Very nice room for a short stay. Longer stays, need the microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants at the Marina. Good nightlife and lots of activities nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Mar 14, 2010

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel. I would stay there again. We were glad that we did not do the all inclusive package. Weather was perfect. Best hotel we have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Mar 13, 2010

Lovely and close enough to town

The location was great as it was just a 10 min. walk down the beach to the marina area if you wanted to be in the action. If you wanted to avoid that, the Estancia's pool and beach areas were nice and quiet. Took a drive to Todo Santos one day that we could have passed on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington,Michigan
Mar 12, 2010

Over rated

The weather was un-cooperative! Three full days of pure clouds! One day all rain! One day some sun! One day mostly sunny! Watched T.V. and the signal was intermitant causing frustation. No hot water for showers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many great resturants with-in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RRJ
Business
Dallas, Texas
Mar 8, 2010

Things aren't always what they seem ...

The Villa La Estancia at first blush was a definite 5 star hotel with pristine grounds. It was very clean with a gorgeous pool and awesome beach front amenities. The food at both La Casona and La Parilla was awesome, however with Petron tequila shots at $27 (american dollars) each I would have thought Mr. Petron himself would have served them! Once you got into the unit (room) itself I came to find out that these units are individually owned. Hence, there were things like stained extra pillows in the closet for which they could not provide pillow cases (they explained the pillows were the Owners), there were no robes (something I have come to expect from any hotel in which I stay), the shower had barely trickling water (for which we placed a call for service and waited over an hour while someone came and completely took the shower apart and snaked the plumbing), then the hot water was shut down from 11:00 am - 4:00 pm for "maintenance" on one of the days of our stay. They also did not come and clean the rooms every day. The resort stated they were "the quiet one, a kids-free resort" however this was not the case. Also touted was their "in-suite" dining for which they had no room service menus. When we called for room service they asked if they could make some "suggestions". Cabo San Lucas is a beautiful place, but I would not stay at Villa La Estancia again. I firmly feel like they misrepresented themselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KOTravel
Business
New Jersey
Mar 3, 2010

Villa La Estancia, Cabo

The room was a good size although I was told no one would be renting the 'other half of the two bedroom condo'... there were people in it. What I thought was a great terrace was soon cut down to a small corner by a wooden 'fence'. There is a 'pool protocol'... Do Not take a spot that an 'owner' always has, you will soon be 'put in your place'!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The marina is about one mile and has everything. You can take a water taxi from the beach to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle,wa
Feb 26, 2010

fantastic getaway

Check in was easy, rooms are beautiful and the staff is great. Makes for a great relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 19, 2010

Great Hotel not Great Food

I loved this hotel and it's location. But for the price you pay for the food, you'd expect it to be consistent and better. If going to Cabo, make a special trip to Walmart or even a local super market (most are a $15.00 cab fare round trip) and stock up on water, and snack foods. Even the restaurants around Cabo are not that great. Tabasco on the beach is good and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 16, 2010

Exceptional Escape

My partner and I traveled to Cabo for the first time and Villa La Estancia was fantastic! Great location..close enough to walk to the marina and eatieries, yet secluded from nightclubs. Beautiful resort. Restaurants at Estancia are overpriced and not that great. Head out to wonderful eateries like the The Office, Salvatore's, Baha Cantina and Edith's($$). Staff is attentive and helpful..tips go a long way and much appreciated! We will definitly be back one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top