$489 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

4 stars
View map of Camino Viejo A San Jose KM 0.5, Cabo San Lucas, 23450

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas TX
Jul 25, 2011

Upgrade??- well kind of

When we arrived at the hotel- very beautiful- we had walked through it twice before- we were told that the room the [...] had sold us was not available BUT they had upgraded us at no additional charge. We purchased a Deluxe room with two queen beds, but instead were given a room with one king bed which we did not want- we were two women traveling as friends, not a couple and did not wish to be sleeping together, she did say this room had a much better view though. The front desk agent was insistent saying that it was an upgrade and that the room the [...] had sold us was a first floor and not very nice room. I explained that an upgrade is when something is added not taken away and that a King instead of two Queens was not an upgrade it was a switch. She was very unpleasant and said that if we got the [...] room it would not be a very good one. So we took the room with the King because we got tired of arguing with her. We also ate at the hotels signature steakhouse restaurant on Saturday night and both got terrible food poisoning from the warm caesar salad, that we are still sick with. Overall the hotel staff was medium to quite rude, pool staff were nice but I would not recommend the service at this hotel. WE spoke to a few other employess and were told the hotel had 40% occupancy but the front desk said of the 60% rooms left none had two beds. I will never go back there, ever. This is our third trip to Cabo and certainly the least pleasant hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle from the Burgh
Business
Pittsbugh PA
Jul 12, 2011

Beautiful Place!

We love Cabo and we just love the Villa La Estancia! The rooms are so nice for the price and the kitchen is a dream. The view of the ocean from every balcony and the hotel location cannot be beat. The staff are eager to please. We have stayed in CABO 6 times and this place beats all- except for the Capella Pedregal, if you want to spend a couple THOUSAND dollars more. Take a walk down the beach towards the Marina to eat breakfast at The Office (our favorite!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every Thursday night The Office has a Fiesta! Make a reservation- FUN!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cabo San Lucas
Jun 24, 2011

Great Resort, wonderful staff!!!

This was great vacation!! Staff was amazing!! Resort great!! Pool turned my daughters hair green but that was worse thing that happened! Mexico was very safe & very hospitable!! Loved oversized balconies! Ocean swimmable here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Office

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BluH2oTrvlr
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 21, 2011

It was a very nice and peaceful hotel.

I enjoyed the off-season tranquility of the hotel and the amenities. The spa was wonderful. The entire staff continually went above and beyond to assist me in any way possible. During High-Season noise transfer between Villa La Estancia Hotel Rooms and the Condo balcony's may be an issue for some people, the sound of fountains everywhere helps to mitigate the sound.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a very well stocked and reasonably priced grocery store and great deli in the complex. So it made grabbing a quick bite easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 26, 2011

Excellent place to stay

Great place to stay for a trip to Cabo. The hotel is a short taxi ride or about a 20 minute walk from the heart of Cabo. It's definitely quieter than other hotels closer to town which we enjoyed. Staff were very helpful and the room was in excellent condition. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baja Papa
Business
Malibu, California
May 3, 2011

Very very nice

Attention to detail and an extremely well trained staff. The property is luxurious, beautiful and very well thought out. All was comparable to a much higher priced experience.We had some special needs upon check in and the staff could not have responded with a more efficient solution in a more friendly manner - THANK YOU! Also the location is perfect, gated, safe and secure. Great food and service in the restaurants as well with a well stocked market for rooms with kitchens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
losgallos
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 24, 2011

Read if you need a 1 bedroom villa!!!!!!

I really want to give this hotel 5 stars, but I can't. Everyone else has written about the views, the immaculate care of the grounds, the service you get from the moment you check in, etc. All of that is true. We even really enjoyed the food at the hotel (breakfast at La Parilla is fabulous). So what is not to like? Let me tell you. We booked a 1 bedroom villa. When you book a 1 bedroom villa, you are really booking half of a two bedroom villa. Huh? What? That can't be right!!! But it is. You are booking half of a 2 bedroom villa. The way that they built these villas is that the 2nd bedroom has a separate entrance (you share a gate, but they have their own door), but, and this is a HUGE BUT, you share a balcony with them. There is no separation on the balcony so on the day that they move in, they could walk over and look in the sliding glass doors of your "1 bedroom villa" or worse, you could leave your balcony doors open while you are down at the beach and they check in and have full access to your room. Here is what happened to us. We were lucky to be home when our new roommates moved in. Villa La Estancia didn't inform us that we were getting new guests. They didn't divide the balcony with any partition ahead of their arrival (which they claimed to be customary). These people just all of a sudden appeared on our balcony. That was very unnerving. We had been used to sleeping with the sliding doors open to hear the waves and sea lions, but I just didn't feel safe doing that any more. Our new roomies were party animals looking to score with different women every night. They wanted to have friends come over, get wasted and party until 2-3a. We are the parents of a 6 year old and a 17 month old. We were looking for sleep. On the first night with these new neighbors, the loud noises started at 11:30p. My wife ran out to the balcony and told them to shut up. They quieted down somewhat, but by 12:30 they were back out on the balcony drinking when we started getting their phone calls. Our room was 2604a and their room was 2604b. Their friends didn't know that there was an A side and a B side and kept calling us. After my wife hung up on them a few times, I answered and tried to make it clear that I was not their friend and that they were being ridiculous and were waking up my kids. After about 2 minutes the brilliant friend realized that I don't sound like his friend, apologized and hung up. Hotel management was informed and talked to 2604B. We left our phone off the hook the rest of the night in case any more friends called. But the damage was done. The 17 month old was already standing in the crib. I had to stand and rock the baby for the next 2 hours until he would finally fall back asleep. The next morning I talked to the front desk and re-explained the problem. I asked that they either move the party animals to another location or they find us a better room without neighbors. They claimed that the hotel was full (but I sit here writing this at 9pm on the balcony and see lots of dark rooms). not sure why they didn't want to help us with this problem. They did however provide us with a partition for the balcony. It looks like a short version of one of those old chalkboards on wheels. It clearly puts a line in the sand, but provides us no privacy or security. If our neighbor wanted to get into our room, he could simply move the board out of the way. So there you have it, the reason why I can't give this hotel 5 stars. My recommendation is skip this hotel if you are in need of a 1 bedroom villa, but definitely stay here if you need 2 bedrooms or more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the taxi drivers how much it will cost you before you get in the taxi. These taxi drivers make up the price and it can vary as much as $5 each way to the same location. If a taxi driver gives you a ridiculous price, tell him to move on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AG1
Business
San Diego
Mar 16, 2011

It was Ok

The location and hotel overall is clean. My only complaint was one of the concierge ladies waking me up early and giving me attitude because I didn't want my credit card being charged after I specifically asked to pay cash. Also, I recommend eating out in town. The food is way better and for a decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mariscos Mazatlan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Feb 6, 2011

A little too quiet for us

The hotel itself is very nice. Upgraded finishes in the rooms, beautiful grounds, pool, fitness center (free of charge), and loungers. Free wireless internet around pool and lobby areas. Most of the rooms are owned or timeshared so not many people around when we were there. The problem we had with the resort is that is was a little too quiet for us. Very soft, if any music playing by the pool and no activities available but keep in mind, when you stay here, you can also use the facilities next door at Villa Del Palmar (more active). There were no drink specials here and prices were fairly steep but you are able to eat and dine next door as well at the Palmar and Arco facilities which are more affordable. Overall beautiful resort, just not our style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the local bus downtown or to Walmart for 8 pesos ($0.80) by walking down the driveway of the resort. You will not wait more than 5 minutes for a bus and it saves quite a bit compared to a cab (80 pesos, $7, one way) if you are heading downtown often.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa La Estancia Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eyedoc451[@]
Business
phoenix, arizona
Dec 28, 2010

villa la estancia chritmas 2010

no hot water in our shower, but was fixed immediately. everything else perfect. A little pricy in resturant but its a hotel. great experiance as usual there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go off the marina to eat. mauro's shrimp and lobster great food and price little atmosphere. cabbies know the place! we always dine there at least twice on vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top