$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

4 stars
Camino Viejo a San Jose Km. 0.5, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
253 reviews
My stay at the villa del palmar

From the minute we checked in we were greeted with Courteous and helpful staff. We were given a... See full review

  • Stephanie Emma
  • Aug 17, 2013
Fun Getaway

Excellent Staff...Very Close to Downtown...Food was Outstanding...The Pools are Amazing especially... See full review

  • Mr. Concrete
  • Jun 11, 2013
All-suite Los Cabos hotel enchants with whale water slide, spa services
Villa el Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos plays to families and couples with pristine grounds, a full-service spa and leisure activities for kids and adults. The all-suite resort honors contemporary design driven by sleek furniture and luxurious bedding. Active travelers take advantage of the full roster of nightly entertainment, spa services and restaurants on the sprawling property.
Highlights
  • Known for its Willy the Whale water slide
  • Supervised activities for kids
  • Water sports, bingo and live entertainment daily
  • Offers a 31,000-square-foot spa and fitness center
  • Restaurants with beach views and Californian, Mexican and Italian fare
Rooms
Crisp lines, striking sun-shaped mirrors and two-tone wood furniture capture a modern feel in Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos. Plum-colored coverlets and throw pillows contrast well with plush white comforters, while espresso-trimmed cabinets pair with blond wood drawers. A collection of 460 suites accommodates groups of multiple sizes with welcome extras like sofa beds, entertainment centers, breakfast bars and patios or terraces overlooking the water.
Dining
Traditional Mexican dishes mingle with Italian fare at Las Tortugas, whose themed buffets, folk dancing and casino nights add to the ambiance. The eatery shows off sparkling tiered pools from both indoor and outdoor dining rooms. Bella California dishes up California and Italian alongside views of the Sea of Cortez. For grab-and-go meals at Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, Palmita Deli and Palmita market provide fuel in the form of sandwiches, salads and pizza.
Recreation
Lush palm trees dot the Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos grounds near the expansive outdoor pool, whose showpiece is Willy the Whale, a giant water slide that has been completely refinished with litmus stones. Elsewhere on the property, guests can enjoy facials, massages and hydrotherapy treatments at Desert Spa or join fellow guests for water aerobics, volleyball and bingo. A supervised kids club engages the tykes while parents unwind on the flagstone pool deck or stroll 20 minutes to downtown Los Cabos.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
Attractions
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Los Cabos Corridor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (16.8 mi/27.1 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 300 guests
  • Catering
Policies and fees

Some areas of the resort will be undergoing renovation from 12 to 31 August.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.8945 -109.8968
Area served
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Nearby airports
San Jose Del Cabo International(SJD)
Area description
Located on the most beautifully pristine beach only 5 minutes from downtown Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, Villa del Palmar has the perfect blend of location, intimacy, relaxation and recreational activities. We are located only 1 mile away from downtown Cabo San Lucas where you can find a large selection of restaurants, shops and general activities..

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos Rooms

Junior Suite- Garden View EP
Two Beds, Located on first floor, with pool or garden views. Balcony or patio with table and two chairs. 592 square feet. Separate sitting area. Full kitchenette with marble breakfast bar. Bathroom with deep marble tub, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fan.
Junior Suite Garden View Non Refundable
Reservations made for this room type cannot be changed or cancelled. Two Beds, Located on first floor, with pool or garden views. Balcony or patio with table and two chairs. 592 square feet. Separate sitting area. Full kitchenette with marble breakfast bar. Bathroom with deep marble tub, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fan.
One Bedroom Suite EP
One king bed in bedroom; sofa bed in separate living room. Balcony with table and two chairs with garden views (surcharge for ocean view). 860 square feet. Living room with satellite TV and dining table for four. Second TV in bedroom. Full kitchen with marble breakfast bar. Two bathrooms with deep marble tubs, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fans.
Three Bedroom Suitean Front- All Inclusive
One king bed in each bedroom and one sofa bed in separate living area. Private furnished balcony or patio with ocean view and jetted tub. 2500 square feet. Three bathrooms with sunken marble tub and shower. Kitchen with refrigerator, dishwasher, electric stove, microwave, toaster, blender, coffeemaker, cookware, and flatware for six. Separate dining area with table and chairs. Washer/dryer. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Satellite TV. Purified drinking water.
Junior Suite- All Inclusive
Two Beds, Located on first floor, with pool and garden views. Private balcony or patio with table and two chairs. 592 square feet. Separate sitting area. Full kitchen with marble breakfast bar. Bathroom with deep marble tub, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fan.All-Inclusive inclusions Room accommodations, A la carte and buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at all restaurants and bars in Villa del Palmar only, National bar consisting of selected liquors and cocktails, beers, water and soft drinks as well as house wine by the glass. Selection may vary see bar for details, Live entertainment, Theme nights, Non-motorized water sports, Daytime beach and pool activities, Use of gym, Tennis clinics, Taxes and gratuities.
Family Suite- All Inclusive
Valid for families up to two adults plus two children up to 12 yrs. old only. Extra adults will be charged full price. One bed and pullout couch, Located on first floor, with pool and garden views. Private balcony or patio with table and two chairs. 592 square feet. Separate sitting area. Full kitchen with marble breakfast bar. Bathroom with deep marble tub, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fan. All-Inclusive includes Room accommodations, A la carte and buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at all restaurants and bars in Villa del Palmar only, National bar consisting of selected liquors and cocktails, beers, water and soft drinks as well as house wine by the glass. Selection may vary see bar for details, Live entertainment, Theme nights, Non-motorized water sports, Daytime beach and pool activities, Use of gym, Tennis clinics, Taxes and gratuities.
One Bedroom Suite All Inclusive
One king bed in bedroom; queen sofa bed in separate living room. Balcony with table and two chairs. 860 square feet. Living room with satellite TV and dining table for four. Second TV in bedroom. Full kitchen with marble breakfast bar. Two bathrooms with deep marble tubs, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fans. All-Inclusive inclusions Room accommodations, A la carte and buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at all restaurants and bars in Villa del Palmar only, National bar consisting of selected liquors and cocktails, beers, water and soft drinks as well as house wine by the glass. Selection may vary see bar for details, Live entertainment, Theme nights, Non-motorized water sports, Daytime beach and pool activities, Use of gym, Tennis clinics, Taxes and gratuities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Tortugas
Tortugas restaurant is open only for dinner and we offer every night a different Theme, different buffet and different show. All our buffets offer a great selection of cold and hot food all prepared with the typical Mexican flavor. We have the best Mexican party in town with live Mariachi, Flokloric Ballet and Rooster's Fight. Also, make sure not to miss our great B.B.Q. Beach Party, right on the beach at sunset.
Palmita Market Place and Deli
A typical American Deli with Mexican flavors. Here you will find a large variety of fresh salads and sandwiches for a quick lunch or snack at any time during the day, either to eat it right then or for take out. An early fresh cup of coffee will be waiting for you together with our home-made breakfast pastries. It's the place to order your lunch box for that fishing trip or just to supplement your airplane food on your way back home. Internet is also available to you at the Deli.
Bella California
Outdoor restaurant right by the beach with a large terrace overlooking the famous Cabo San Lucas Arch. It is the perfect place for a romantic or a quiet evening. Our menu is a delicious fusion of Italian and California cooking styles. For breakfast and lunch we offer a more International selection including some great Mexican dishes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Jul 6, 2009

HOTEL WAS BAD AND FLIGHT CANCELLED

NOT SO GOOD- HOTEL WAS UNDER CONSTRUCTION SO THE MAIN POOL WAS CLOSED. WE DIDNT GET THE ROOM WE WANTED! VIEW WAS OF CONSTRUCTION WHEN IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE OF OCEAN! FLIGHT WAS CANCELLED AND NO ONE NOTIFIED US. AIRLINES PUT US UP IN A HOTEL FOR THE EXTRA NIGHT AND SAID WE HOULD HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

MAKE SURE TO CALL AND ASK IF FLIGHT IS STILL AVAILABLE AND IF THE HOTEL IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
regulator12
Business
texas
Jul 20, 2012

Rude Staff

Have traveled to Mexico many times: The staff was by far the worst.......Very rude and not helpful at all. Was physical threatened by an emplyee while waiting to pickup my family in front of the hotel... Said I was in a no parking zone and told to move or else.... They decieve you as soon as you arrive on the property. The meeting with the 'conciere' to inform you about the property is nothing more than a way to have you attend a time share presentation......Please don't go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom with the green eyes
Business
Colorado
Aug 25, 2012

Mom/daughter reunion

I was so looking forward to spending a week with my daughter after not seeing her for a year. I was very disappointed in the hotel, staff was rude, our room had mold and we asked to move to another room (12:30 a.m.) and an item was overlooked in the room and was not returned to me. My room key didn't work most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the local restaurants in town. Try Burrito Surf for the best burritos in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CasualVacationer
Business
Bay Area, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2013

Disappointing family vacation

mold smell in the rooms. situation improved when we moved to upper floor. Two rather small pools, the bigger was closed for renovation half way through our stay! Hotel staff - not too welcoming. not very responsive to our requests. beach - easy access from the hotel, but not welcoming for young kids. Nicer beach for family further from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants in Cabo - for great, not expensive Italian food, try Salvatore (Zapata St.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 30, 2011

Terrible terrible experience

Absolutely terrible experience at this hotel, from start to finish. The staff was less than helpful, everything we asked for or about was a NO, and not followed up with any assistance. The food was disgusting, overpriced, no free coffee in the morning and forget about free internet service. We were gouged at every angle, overall a terrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Juniebug
Business
Bayside NY
Jul 28, 2009

Worst Trip Ever !!!

I will never book a trip through Orbitz again. Check in was a nightmare Check out was the same. We had on 3 seperate occasions no maid service I.e.(beds not made, had to call for towels. There was no mention of the main pool with the waterslide being under renovation, and the resort being under renovation. The noise from the construction echoed througout the resort. The glassware on several occasions was stained with lipstick or dirty in general. The elevators were constantly out of order and we were on the 6th floor. This trip was a complete nightmare and no one had anything to say for it at the hotel. You could not speak to the hotel manager at all. You had to talk to the front desk supervisor who had no answer for any of the problems. The menu in the resoort was the same everyday and it was disgusting !!! dont ever stay at the Villa Del Palmar !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trophy Club, TX
Aug 27, 2009

got ripped off

The main pool was under construction at The Palomar. My friends were staying next door at La Estancia and they negotiated a rate for me to pay an additional $173.00 to upgrade to their hotel. I did and at check out, they charged me $1,043 extra and said I had agreed to $173.00 more per night. They would not work with me, my friends (13 of them)had all stayed at La Estancia, 4 of them had been present when the negotiation was made and they would not budge. I am a single mother, had not been on vacation in 3 years and the additional $1,000 they charged me (which was not agreed to) set me back. I have tried to refute this through my bank but because I supposedly signed a paper that said I agreed to the charge per night I have lost the argument. I will never stay with this group of hotels again - it is, unfortunately, what people think Mexico is all about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

better to get a taxi if at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westlake Village, CA
Aug 5, 2008

Not as expected

The Villa Del Palmar is a 15'ish year old hotel, and shows its age, but the VD Arco is a better choice. Our rooms sweated and smelled of mold for the entire stay. The pools were so crowded that the best one could do was to walk from side to side unless it was late at night or early morning. The public beach adjacent to the property did offer a nice escape and some swimming, you just take your life in your hands avoiding speed boats, and wave runners. When they flew the red flag, the water was declared off limits and violation could have you "evicted" from the property according to the sign. The flag was up most of the time we were there and no one stopped me, and the surf was fun to roll around in. The restaurants varied in price and the most affordable La Tortugas, was always very noisy with many video screens showing different sports venues, too loud to carry on a conversation or enjoy a quiet family meal. Food prices seemed on the expensive side, something more like what I would expect in Wash DC, NY, LA or Boston. They did offer all inclusive programs but the rate only allowed about a 40% savings. I suppose if you wanted to sit by the pool all day and sun bath and drink all inclusive is the way to go, please make sure you get the both VDP & VDA pass, the food and atmosphere at the VD Arco is much better and less populated. Kitchen in the room has full size frig and small 2 burner stove. A short bus ride to Wal-Mart across the street or Costco down the street, gets you some good value, compared to prices in the hotel area. The main Marina is about a 20 minute walk, many tourist activities there and all expensive. Watch out for all the Time share sales people, you can barely walk out the door without someone trying to make you a special offer. Not very relaxing so we rented a car and drove to Cabo San Jose and escaped the sales pitches and enjoyed a nice quiet lazy laid back town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Mixed grill at Patagonia restaurant was very good. Argentine style BBQ assorted meats, ( lamb was fatty though) but everything else made up for that. Dinner for 4 figure about $150, includes 2 liters Sangeria, empandadas, and the mixed grill. very nicely done but please take cash, no credit cards accepted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tenerife
Sep 13, 2007

Time Share Beware

The Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa is nothing more than a time share property that offers it's additional rooms at a reasonable price, with the hopes of luring you into purchasing a time share opportunity in one of their other 2 resorts located on the same property. While the location is pretty good, it's about a 15 minute walk to Cabo San Lucas, the way we were treated at the resort, does not justify a recommendation.We were meet by our concierge the minuite we stepped into the lobby and she rushed us into check in. After checking in, she immediately took us to a remote part of the hotel and started her sell on the timeshare program with the incentive of receiving a gold card that would entitle us to 40% off services and dinning in the resort. When we refused to attend any of the presentations, we were treated very rudely by the hotel staff. When we entered our room, even though the rooms had been completely remodeled, the room smelled damp and of urine and the mattress and pillows were completly flat and uncomfortable. The rooms in the resort, are set up in courtyard style, around the lobby and one could hear the comings and goings of the other guests into the early hours of the following morning. We were accosted by more hard selling of the timeshare concierge the following morning, as we tried to leave the property to hire our own rental car, we choose not to use the other services of the resort. The concierge followed us to the end of the property, and when we finally asked him to stop pressuring us to attend a presentation, he told us that our vacation was going to be ruined! So much for making sure the Villa Palmar guests were being treated well! My husband and I took this as a threat, and when we asked to speak to management, there was no one available. We managed to make the most of the vacation and had an excellent time, when not at the resort! I would not recommend this resort at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE
Feb 18, 2010

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THE HOTEL ATTEMPTED TO CHARGE FOR EVERY POSSIBLE ITEM. EVERYONE VISITING THIS HOTEL NEEDS TO READ THE FINE PRINT AND ASK AS MANY QUESTIONS AS POSSIBLE REGARDING BILLS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top