$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

4 stars
View map of Camino Viejo a San Jose Km. 0.5, Cabo San Lucas, 23410

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
minee
Business
los angeles
Jul 19, 2012

Needs that extra something

Cons: * 20.00 all you can buffet small selection but okay and 10.00 for kids, fair enough, but almost four dollars for a latte?? Expensive mini mart. Expensive Video place and computer time too. *Dirty and crowded pool *NOT able to use amenities at Estancia (private residence) or Los Arcos *Staff not that friendly or helpful *Cheesy shows not a lot of money invested in entertainment like at Pueblo Bonito or Melia. Now those are shows. *NO child activities planned by hotel activities planner. In fact your children don't feel special there at all. If you want a family vacation go to the Melia in Ixtapa now thats a vacation! *Weak mixed drinks *The entire staff is NOT customer service prepared, not warm and friendly like at other hotels. * They don't even make eye contact with you. *Although there was one pool side waitress that was very sweet to our kids. I came to the conclusion that perhaps this is because the majority of the people that stay there are already time share owners staying for free and paying for the all inclusive. So the hotel does not make a lot of money. PROS: *Large outdoor chess set for kids to play. *Nice kids pool for the little, little ones. NO shade for parents during the day though. *Good pizzas *Good location * Clean beach *Nice kitchen to cook in (made a trip to costco and wal mart) * Paid 120.00/night DONT pay more than this. *Good cleaning service but had to remove three dirty stinky filthy rugs in room. *Shows are not worth it. Fourth of july barbecue was awful with no Mexican option offered at buffet. Staff was slow and blah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff grabeel
Business
Portland OR
Jul 17, 2012

Good hotel

The hotel was on the ocean, too big of waves though. They had construction on the next room over, so they changed us rooms. I was bitten by some wierd bugs while sleeping, but the beds were comfy and rooms nice. I had my hair braided on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

long walk to town

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott M.
Business
Redondo Beach
Jul 9, 2012

Decent place. Lots of kids.

It was an above average hotel. There were a lot of people putting towels on chairs to reserve spots at the pool early in the morning, but once people start complaining they would remove them every couple of hours. The restaurants were good and the room was very clean. I didn't have any problem with the walls being to thin or hearing other people. I liked the kitchen in the garden view suite we stayed in. I went during a holiday week so felt like the place was more crowded than usual, but over a good place to stay. Everyone at the hotel were very helpful and food/drinks by the pool were easy to order and quick to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tabasco north of the hotel is an awesome place to get away and have some drinks and good cheap food. Very helpful and attentive staff.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cabo 1st Timer
Business
Southern California
Jul 8, 2012

A nice, big room, but we will not return

We rented a one bedroom for 5 days at $200 per night. The grounds are beautiful thanks to marble floors, glass walls, manicured gardens etc. From the corner of our balcony we could see the rocks dividing the Sea of Cortez from the Pacific, although a view of Walmart/Sam's Club was more prominent. Still, the balcony was huge, and the king bed was comfortable. Our kids were happy with a sofa bed and their own TV. Alas, our A/C fan was noisy even after staff tried to fix it twice. One of the sliding doors to the patio would not lock securely. Staff needed a part to fix it that would arrive after our departure. The beach is steep, and for 4 of 5 days, the waves were a bit treacherous for younger kids. (For teenagers and adults they were fun.) Upon arrival you get a map of the pools, spas, restaurants, etc. of Palmar and its sister hotels, Estancia and Arco. A free trolley ride spares you a short but warm walk between the hotels. After a couple days our kids wanted a change from the Palmar pools (which were generally more crowded and murky), so we ventured to Arco but the staff let us know we were not welcome. We were more than welcome, however, to dine at their (expensive) restaurants. All three hotels are part of The Villa Group. They share staff and phone systems, but they guard an alleged five star rating of Estancia and Arco by herding curious Palmar guests back to its murky pools. You get some discounts by surrendering 90 minutes to a timeshare sales pitch. Learn from our mistake: do your research before you consider buying. And, you have 5 days to cancel in contrast to what the sales staff told us. Palmar is a nice place, somewhat isolated from other hotels and eateries. Food and drink is pricey. Hats off to many of the festive guests we mingled with during volley ball and 4th of July party. But the prices and sour experience with sales staff turned us off. We will look elsewhere for our next Cabo trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab ride to Costco and take advantage or your kitchenette. Eat in and enjoy the view from your balcony.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northern California Famil
Business
Chico, CA
Jun 18, 2012

Amazing Family getaway!

This was our first time in a resort and it was so beautiful! There was a lot to do at the resort and the many pools provided water relief in a variety of settings. The pottery available to paint was a great craft and we all enjoyed it and loved picking up our glazed art work the next day. The rooms are a older and really could have used a fan in the master bedroom as there are no windows in there. The murphy bed mattress was a little uncomfortable and small for two grown girls. The service was impeccable. The restaurants tasty and the evening shows were really great! The hotel really was a longer walk than we anticipated into downtown Cabo. The resort helped us book parasailing, sea doos, swimming with the dolphins. All of these were at a great value! Other guests were staying there who paid much more than we did! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a market right there on the property! It had food, produce, deli, coffee house & pastries, ice cream parlor, beverages, both alcoholic and non, large water containers, snacks, gifts, swimwear, clothing, phamacueticals etc....The prices are higher than Walmart, but so convenient! Ladies, bring your own supplies, as they do not carry tampons there.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mas cerveza
Business
Arizona
Jun 13, 2012

Answers to Important Questions

We read all the Villa del Palmar reviews before booking. Ignore the complaints. The hotel provides a clean, safe environment, friendly staff, and above average food. A few details not covered in previous reviews: *Mixed drinks are often weak; just order a seperate shot and assemble it yourself. *Rooms have a standard-size electronic safe good for cameras, passports, etc, but too small for a laptop. *Beach towels are included. *Hotel provides shampoo, conditioner, lotion & bar soap. Bring your own shower gel. *All-inclusive is the best value unless you plan on going out every night. Staff only gets about a 5% gratuity for AI service unless you add more to the check or pass them some cash. *Fitness center is well appointed - quality treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, free weights and weight machines. *If you book your transfer with Gray Line, they'll give you free wifi access in the billiard lounge. All in all, a great vacation. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

It's not a secret, but no one seems to know about the private jacuzzi and wet & dry saunas in the fitness center locker rooms.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keenie
Business
LA, California
Jun 13, 2012

Good value

Other than the usual distractions upon arrival of them wanting me to go through a timeshare presentation the hotel was pretty decent. The food was a good B+... The mixed drinks were more like a D-. Really weak drinks. Stick to beer or wine. Airport to Hotel transfers were decent as well. The Spa was fully equipped with StarTrak exercise equipment and the locker room was great as well. I wish they had a small free kiosk where a person can print their boarding passes. I asked the concierge for help with this and she said her printer was broken. A few moments later I saw that it wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

After the so-so dinner shows the place gets pretty dull. Everything ( pool, spa, bars ) all shut down around 10 PM. This forces one to spend their money in town at another establishment.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OCTraveler
Business
Orange, CA
May 29, 2012

Great hotel in ideal location

The hotel is centrally located and is very close to downtown. The amenities are great and staff is very friendly and eager to please. The beds were not the most comfortable but we were in the pool most of the time so it wasn't too bad. We took a boat ride in the morning, which was great! We had an all-inclusive package ($660 per person - hotel, food and airfare for 4 nights) and that was the best decision we could have made. The food and drinks were very good and they had a theme night Wed-Sat., which was awesome. Overall we had a great experience and recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall has cheaper souvenirs than vendors in the downtown area.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJVF
Business
Montana
May 17, 2012

great family vacation

Staff friendly and very helpful. Pool and beach area great. Plenty of seating available. Room kind of dark, but who wants to be in the room? Stayed in a one bedroom suite. Extra bathroom handy. Close enough to downtown. Taxis available at all times. Didn't walk to town, but could have. Had a garden view room with a tiny view of the ocean, but was still nice. The grounds are beautiful.Jet skis right on the beach and found a place to surf within 25 min. Beautiful beach. No complaints at all. Would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry51
Business
Boston, MA
May 1, 2012

College Hangout

Our room was clean and spacious, with a balcony and kitchenette. The food here was more expensive than we wanted to pay, so a few times we just grabbed food from the mart. Be aware that this is a hotel that many college students go to, which could be good or bad. Good: if you want that environment of lots of young people, this is the place for you. Bad: The building is an atrium style with no carpet, so any noise that's made can be heard on multiple floors and echoes. Since there are a lot of college students here on spring break, there's often a some noise late at night. Hot tubs were usually crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

A cab ride downtown is around $7, but we just took the bus for less than $1 each

Back to menu Return to top