$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 3, 2014

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

4 stars
Camino Viejo a San Jose Km. 0.5, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
248 reviews
My stay at the villa del palmar

From the minute we checked in we were greeted with Courteous and helpful staff. We were given a... See full review

  • Stephanie Emma
  • Aug 17, 2013
Fun Getaway

Excellent Staff...Very Close to Downtown...Food was Outstanding...The Pools are Amazing especially... See full review

  • Mr. Concrete
  • Jun 11, 2013
All-suite Los Cabos hotel enchants with whale water slide, spa services
Villa el Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos plays to families and couples with pristine grounds, a full-service spa and leisure activities for kids and adults. The all-suite resort honors contemporary design driven by sleek furniture and luxurious bedding. Active travelers take advantage of the full roster of nightly entertainment, spa services and restaurants on the sprawling property.
Highlights
  • Known for its Willy the Whale water slide
  • Supervised activities for kids
  • Water sports, bingo and live entertainment daily
  • Offers a 31,000-square-foot spa and fitness center
  • Restaurants with beach views and Californian, Mexican and Italian fare
Rooms
Crisp lines, striking sun-shaped mirrors and two-tone wood furniture capture a modern feel in Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos. Plum-colored coverlets and throw pillows contrast well with plush white comforters, while espresso-trimmed cabinets pair with blond wood drawers. A collection of 460 suites accommodates groups of multiple sizes with welcome extras like sofa beds, entertainment centers, breakfast bars and patios or terraces overlooking the water.
Dining
Traditional Mexican dishes mingle with Italian fare at Las Tortugas, whose themed buffets, folk dancing and casino nights add to the ambiance. The eatery shows off sparkling tiered pools from both indoor and outdoor dining rooms. Bella California dishes up California and Italian alongside views of the Sea of Cortez. For grab-and-go meals at Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, Palmita Deli and Palmita market provide fuel in the form of sandwiches, salads and pizza.
Recreation
Lush palm trees dot the Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos grounds near the expansive outdoor pool, whose showpiece is Willy the Whale, a giant water slide that has been completely refinished with litmus stones. Elsewhere on the property, guests can enjoy facials, massages and hydrotherapy treatments at Desert Spa or join fellow guests for water aerobics, volleyball and bingo. A supervised kids club engages the tykes while parents unwind on the flagstone pool deck or stroll 20 minutes to downtown Los Cabos.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
Attractions
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Los Cabos Corridor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (16.8 mi/27.1 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 300 guests
  • Catering
Policies and fees

Some areas of the resort will be undergoing renovation from 12 to 31 August.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos Rooms

Junior Suite- Garden View EP
Two Beds, Located on first floor, with pool or garden views. Balcony or patio with table and two chairs. 592 square feet. Separate sitting area. Full kitchenette with marble breakfast bar. Bathroom with deep marble tub, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fan.
Junior Suite Garden View Non Refundable
Reservations made for this room type cannot be changed or cancelled. Two Beds, Located on first floor, with pool or garden views. Balcony or patio with table and two chairs. 592 square feet. Separate sitting area. Full kitchenette with marble breakfast bar. Bathroom with deep marble tub, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fan.
One Bedroom Suite EP
One king bed in bedroom; sofa bed in separate living room. Balcony with table and two chairs with garden views (surcharge for ocean view). 860 square feet. Living room with satellite TV and dining table for four. Second TV in bedroom. Full kitchen with marble breakfast bar. Two bathrooms with deep marble tubs, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fans.
Three Bedroom Suitean Front- All Inclusive
One king bed in each bedroom and one sofa bed in separate living area. Private furnished balcony or patio with ocean view and jetted tub. 2500 square feet. Three bathrooms with sunken marble tub and shower. Kitchen with refrigerator, dishwasher, electric stove, microwave, toaster, blender, coffeemaker, cookware, and flatware for six. Separate dining area with table and chairs. Washer/dryer. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Satellite TV. Purified drinking water.
Junior Suite- All Inclusive
Two Beds, Located on first floor, with pool and garden views. Private balcony or patio with table and two chairs. 592 square feet. Separate sitting area. Full kitchen with marble breakfast bar. Bathroom with deep marble tub, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fan.All-Inclusive inclusions Room accommodations, A la carte and buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at all restaurants and bars in Villa del Palmar only, National bar consisting of selected liquors and cocktails, beers, water and soft drinks as well as house wine by the glass. Selection may vary see bar for details, Live entertainment, Theme nights, Non-motorized water sports, Daytime beach and pool activities, Use of gym, Tennis clinics, Taxes and gratuities.
Family Suite- All Inclusive
Valid for families up to two adults plus two children up to 12 yrs. old only. Extra adults will be charged full price. One bed and pullout couch, Located on first floor, with pool and garden views. Private balcony or patio with table and two chairs. 592 square feet. Separate sitting area. Full kitchen with marble breakfast bar. Bathroom with deep marble tub, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fan. All-Inclusive includes Room accommodations, A la carte and buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at all restaurants and bars in Villa del Palmar only, National bar consisting of selected liquors and cocktails, beers, water and soft drinks as well as house wine by the glass. Selection may vary see bar for details, Live entertainment, Theme nights, Non-motorized water sports, Daytime beach and pool activities, Use of gym, Tennis clinics, Taxes and gratuities.
One Bedroom Suite All Inclusive
One king bed in bedroom; queen sofa bed in separate living room. Balcony with table and two chairs. 860 square feet. Living room with satellite TV and dining table for four. Second TV in bedroom. Full kitchen with marble breakfast bar. Two bathrooms with deep marble tubs, painted porcelain accessories. Other features: Satellite TV, purified water, air conditioning, ceiling fans. All-Inclusive inclusions Room accommodations, A la carte and buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at all restaurants and bars in Villa del Palmar only, National bar consisting of selected liquors and cocktails, beers, water and soft drinks as well as house wine by the glass. Selection may vary see bar for details, Live entertainment, Theme nights, Non-motorized water sports, Daytime beach and pool activities, Use of gym, Tennis clinics, Taxes and gratuities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.8945 -109.8968
Area served
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Nearby airports
San Jose Del Cabo International(SJD)
Area description
Located on the most beautifully pristine beach only 5 minutes from downtown Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, Villa del Palmar has the perfect blend of location, intimacy, relaxation and recreational activities. We are located only 1 mile away from downtown Cabo San Lucas where you can find a large selection of restaurants, shops and general activities..

Dining

Tortugas
Tortugas restaurant is open only for dinner and we offer every night a different Theme, different buffet and different show. All our buffets offer a great selection of cold and hot food all prepared with the typical Mexican flavor. We have the best Mexican party in town with live Mariachi, Flokloric Ballet and Rooster's Fight. Also, make sure not to miss our great B.B.Q. Beach Party, right on the beach at sunset.
Palmita Market Place and Deli
A typical American Deli with Mexican flavors. Here you will find a large variety of fresh salads and sandwiches for a quick lunch or snack at any time during the day, either to eat it right then or for take out. An early fresh cup of coffee will be waiting for you together with our home-made breakfast pastries. It's the place to order your lunch box for that fishing trip or just to supplement your airplane food on your way back home. Internet is also available to you at the Deli.
Bella California
Outdoor restaurant right by the beach with a large terrace overlooking the famous Cabo San Lucas Arch. It is the perfect place for a romantic or a quiet evening. Our menu is a delicious fusion of Italian and California cooking styles. For breakfast and lunch we offer a more International selection including some great Mexican dishes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Overall score

3.8 / 5
248 out of 248
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
LJSD
Vancouver, WA, USA
Jul 30, 2012

fun in the sun

overall, good trip. 2 pool waiters were inefficient and just average, Esther was great however. not enough towels in the room, despite calling housekeeping 3 times. we received a very nice upgrade (free) on our room at check-in, very much appreciated. this was our 2nd stay at this hotel, and we will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
los cabos
Jul 21, 2012

fantastic,,,,will for sure go back there

wounderful, will definetely recomend this place to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
regulator12
texas
Jul 20, 2012

Rude Staff

Have traveled to Mexico many times: The staff was by far the worst.......Very rude and not helpful at all. Was physical threatened by an emplyee while waiting to pickup my family in front of the hotel... Said I was in a no parking zone and told to move or else.... They decieve you as soon as you arrive on the property. The meeting with the 'conciere' to inform you about the property is nothing more than a way to have you attend a time share presentation......Please don't go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont go

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

2
minee
los angeles
Jul 19, 2012

Needs that extra something

Cons: * 20.00 all you can buffet small selection but okay and 10.00 for kids, fair enough, but almost four dollars for a latte?? Expensive mini mart. Expensive Video place and computer time too. *Dirty and crowded pool *NOT able to use amenities at Estancia (private residence) or Los Arcos *Staff not that friendly or helpful *Cheesy shows not a lot of money invested in entertainment like at Pueblo Bonito or Melia. Now those are shows. *NO child activities planned by hotel activities planner. In fact your children don't feel special there at all. If you want a family vacation go to the Melia in Ixtapa now thats a vacation! *Weak mixed drinks *The entire staff is NOT customer service prepared, not warm and friendly like at other hotels. * They don't even make eye contact with you. *Although there was one pool side waitress that was very sweet to our kids. I came to the conclusion that perhaps this is because the majority of the people that stay there are already time share owners staying for free and paying for the all inclusive. So the hotel does not make a lot of money. PROS: *Large outdoor chess set for kids to play. *Nice kids pool for the little, little ones. NO shade for parents during the day though. *Good pizzas *Good location * Clean beach *Nice kitchen to cook in (made a trip to costco and wal mart) * Paid 120.00/night DONT pay more than this. *Good cleaning service but had to remove three dirty stinky filthy rugs in room. *Shows are not worth it. Fourth of july barbecue was awful with no Mexican option offered at buffet. Staff was slow and blah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
Jeff grabeel
Portland OR
Jul 17, 2012

Good hotel

The hotel was on the ocean, too big of waves though. They had construction on the next room over, so they changed us rooms. I was bitten by some wierd bugs while sleeping, but the beds were comfy and rooms nice. I had my hair braided on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

long walk to town

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
Scott M.
Redondo Beach
Jul 9, 2012

Decent place. Lots of kids.

It was an above average hotel. There were a lot of people putting towels on chairs to reserve spots at the pool early in the morning, but once people start complaining they would remove them every couple of hours. The restaurants were good and the room was very clean. I didn't have any problem with the walls being to thin or hearing other people. I liked the kitchen in the garden view suite we stayed in. I went during a holiday week so felt like the place was more crowded than usual, but over a good place to stay. Everyone at the hotel were very helpful and food/drinks by the pool were easy to order and quick to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tabasco north of the hotel is an awesome place to get away and have some drinks and good cheap food. Very helpful and attentive staff.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

2
Cabo 1st Timer
Southern California
Jul 8, 2012

A nice, big room, but we will not return

We rented a one bedroom for 5 days at $200 per night. The grounds are beautiful thanks to marble floors, glass walls, manicured gardens etc. From the corner of our balcony we could see the rocks dividing the Sea of Cortez from the Pacific, although a view of Walmart/Sam's Club was more prominent. Still, the balcony was huge, and the king bed was comfortable. Our kids were happy with a sofa bed and their own TV. Alas, our A/C fan was noisy even after staff tried to fix it twice. One of the sliding doors to the patio would not lock securely. Staff needed a part to fix it that would arrive after our departure. The beach is steep, and for 4 of 5 days, the waves were a bit treacherous for younger kids. (For teenagers and adults they were fun.) Upon arrival you get a map of the pools, spas, restaurants, etc. of Palmar and its sister hotels, Estancia and Arco. A free trolley ride spares you a short but warm walk between the hotels. After a couple days our kids wanted a change from the Palmar pools (which were generally more crowded and murky), so we ventured to Arco but the staff let us know we were not welcome. We were more than welcome, however, to dine at their (expensive) restaurants. All three hotels are part of The Villa Group. They share staff and phone systems, but they guard an alleged five star rating of Estancia and Arco by herding curious Palmar guests back to its murky pools. You get some discounts by surrendering 90 minutes to a timeshare sales pitch. Learn from our mistake: do your research before you consider buying. And, you have 5 days to cancel in contrast to what the sales staff told us. Palmar is a nice place, somewhat isolated from other hotels and eateries. Food and drink is pricey. Hats off to many of the festive guests we mingled with during volley ball and 4th of July party. But the prices and sour experience with sales staff turned us off. We will look elsewhere for our next Cabo trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab ride to Costco and take advantage or your kitchenette. Eat in and enjoy the view from your balcony.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
Northern California Famil
Chico, CA
Jun 18, 2012

Amazing Family getaway!

This was our first time in a resort and it was so beautiful! There was a lot to do at the resort and the many pools provided water relief in a variety of settings. The pottery available to paint was a great craft and we all enjoyed it and loved picking up our glazed art work the next day. The rooms are a older and really could have used a fan in the master bedroom as there are no windows in there. The murphy bed mattress was a little uncomfortable and small for two grown girls. The service was impeccable. The restaurants tasty and the evening shows were really great! The hotel really was a longer walk than we anticipated into downtown Cabo. The resort helped us book parasailing, sea doos, swimming with the dolphins. All of these were at a great value! Other guests were staying there who paid much more than we did! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a market right there on the property! It had food, produce, deli, coffee house & pastries, ice cream parlor, beverages, both alcoholic and non, large water containers, snacks, gifts, swimwear, clothing, phamacueticals etc....The prices are higher than Walmart, but so convenient! Ladies, bring your own supplies, as they do not carry tampons there.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
mas cerveza
Arizona
Jun 13, 2012

Answers to Important Questions

We read all the Villa del Palmar reviews before booking. Ignore the complaints. The hotel provides a clean, safe environment, friendly staff, and above average food. A few details not covered in previous reviews: *Mixed drinks are often weak; just order a seperate shot and assemble it yourself. *Rooms have a standard-size electronic safe good for cameras, passports, etc, but too small for a laptop. *Beach towels are included. *Hotel provides shampoo, conditioner, lotion & bar soap. Bring your own shower gel. *All-inclusive is the best value unless you plan on going out every night. Staff only gets about a 5% gratuity for AI service unless you add more to the check or pass them some cash. *Fitness center is well appointed - quality treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, free weights and weight machines. *If you book your transfer with Gray Line, they'll give you free wifi access in the billiard lounge. All in all, a great vacation. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

It's not a secret, but no one seems to know about the private jacuzzi and wet & dry saunas in the fitness center locker rooms.

Review of Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
Keenie
LA, California
Jun 13, 2012

Good value

Other than the usual distractions upon arrival of them wanting me to go through a timeshare presentation the hotel was pretty decent. The food was a good B+... The mixed drinks were more like a D-. Really weak drinks. Stick to beer or wine. Airport to Hotel transfers were decent as well. The Spa was fully equipped with StarTrak exercise equipment and the locker room was great as well. I wish they had a small free kiosk where a person can print their boarding passes. I asked the concierge for help with this and she said her printer was broken. A few moments later I saw that it wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

After the so-so dinner shows the place gets pretty dull. Everything ( pool, spa, bars ) all shut down around 10 PM. This forces one to spend their money in town at another establishment.

Back to menu Return to top