The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

4 stars
Av. Playa Grande No. 1, Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas, 23450
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
17 reviews
I'll be back next year.

Great place. Was really pumped about the place before we left and was not disappointed when we... See full review

  • Tronhere
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great Getaway

Service excellent ,great food and location. Amazing views and what you would expect from Cabo. See full review

  • celia celia
  • Nov 22, 2013
Modern hotel dazzles with lovely city, sea and hill views, posh villas
Perched atop a hill, The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande showcases some of the finest views of the Sea of Cortez in Cabo San Lucas. The Four-Diamond property makes the most of its unique foundation, showcasing a bi-level pool connected by a water slide and balconies on every room. Indoors, contemporary decor dominates, with sleek furniture and tasteful artwork driving the appeal. Guests do not have to leave the resort for drinks or food -- 11 restaurants and bars cater to many tastes.
Highlights
  • Hilltop resort overlooking Cabo San Lucas and the Sea of Cortez
  • Water slide and swim-up bar
  • Contemporary rooms with balconies
  • Eight restaurants and bars
  • Full-service spa
Rooms
While the exterior of the The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande bears a bright orange facade, rooms are more subtle. A neutral palette in bedding, furniture and drapes contrasts well with vibrant accessories like aqua glass flower vases and fish-themed paintings. Guests unwind in luxury suites or penthouses that were designed for big groups. Each has its own kitchen, dining room, living room and multiple bathrooms. Flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access are also standard.
Dining
Eight restaurants and bars appeal to a variety of palates, but The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande has one more treat: access to three specialty restaurants at sister properties Playa Grande Resort and Solmar Resort. Guests can also request to have their meals prepared in their rooms by a private chef. Ridge Restaurant, a popular choice for all-day dining, dishes up Mediterranean cuisine.
Recreation

 The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande impresses with its leisure options, starting with the water slide that snakes down from one adult pool to the other. A swim-up bar seals the decadence.


Elsewhere, diversity reigns, from miniature golf to Thalasso Spa, where visitors get pampered all over with refreshing body treatments.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (4.3 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • La Candelaria (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (17.8 mi/28.7 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas Rooms

LUXURY - SUITE
Master Suite:
One room unit with capacity of 4 people. Well equipped kitchen with electric stove, microwave, fridge, blender, toaster and coffee maker. Dining room, living room, 2 bathrooms. Bathroom main room with tube, main room king size bed, and a single chest and a twin murphy bed. Safety box, iron, iron board, hair drier in each bathroom, radio-alarm clock terrace in dining room, balconies in rooms.
PENTHOUSE - SUITE
Penthouse Suite:
Two rooms unit with capacity of 6 people. Well equipped kitchen with electric stove, microwave, fridge, blender, toaster and coffee maker. Dining room, living room, and 3 bathrooms. Bathroom main room with jacuzzi, main room king size bed, guests room with 2 twin beds, a twin murphy bed. Safety box, iron, iron board, hair drier in each bathroom, radio-alarm clock, terrace in dining room, balconies in rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
Sushi Bar at Playa Grande Resort
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar at Playa Grande Resort
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.
El Galeon Restorante Italiano - Offsite
"Come and enjoy a romantic evening, the piano music in famous Ronald Valentino's hands, will make your experience an unforgettable one" El Galeon is situated on the hillside below the Hotel Finisterra Resort overlooking the beautiful Marina of Cabo San Lucas. Reservations recommended. Open seven nights a week from 4pm to 12am. Facilities: Air Condittioning, Valet Parking, & Terrace Cigar's Area. Not applicable for All Inclusive Plan
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar. Not applicable for All Inclusive Plan
Hacienda Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm. Not applicable for All Inclusive Plan
The Ridge Bistro
The Ridge Bistro features a traditional and diverse & International cuisine with Mediterranean touches. The complex flavors from the kitchen are complimented with creative drinks, selected Tequilas, beer and wine from the bar and gorgeous view. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm.
The Brigantine at Playa Grande Resort
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open daily from 6:00 to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant at Playa Grande Resort
Offers breakfast buffet and lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine.
Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tronhere
Business
Cabo
Aug 13, 2014

I'll be back next year.

Great place. Was really pumped about the place before we left and was not disappointed when we arrived. We've been going to Cabo for over 20 years and this place is perfect. See you guys next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk there when you go out and take a short 10 buck cab ride home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
celia celia
Business
sanjose california
Nov 22, 2013

Great Getaway

Service excellent ,great food and location. Amazing views and what you would expect from Cabo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alcavara.Located on a side street of the tourist track incredible food and service.Also puerta Viaja.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gasbill
Business
Utah
Mar 26, 2013

Noisy harbor view

This was our 9th trip to Cabo and our first stay at this hotel. Through cheap tickets the price of the package ,air,hotel and car was reasonable but not cheap. There were two couples on the trip and we asked for rooms "close together" and when we were taken to our rooms, in entirely different buildings, we were told that this was all they had.Our bellhop went out of his way to find rooms adajacent to each other and after a lenghty conversation on the radio he showed us rooms on the ground floor facing the harbour. The rooms were clean and spacious but the location facing the harbour was not pleasing.Each night for four nights the local "dance hall" started playing music at 11pm. The music was so loud, and for lack of a better word "thumping" , that it actually shook the windows. This continued until 5am when the hall closed. The front desk told us it was "senor frogs" or something like that and that they had lots of complaints about them. They said they couldn't do anything for us but that they were sorry. I am a very soft sleeper and needless to say the only sleep I had for 5 days were the catnaps at the pools. We don't go to Cabo to buy or even take advantage of the timeshare deals.I've been there and done that and will not be doing it again.I look for the "deals" on whatever property that I want to and have been happy with Cheap tickets for all of my trips. We don't recommend this hotel unless you are planning on buying a timeshare and if you are, make sure you never get a harbour view. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMPotter
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 14, 2012

Great location - Very Noisy

We stayed at The Ridge - the construction quality was rather poor. Considering that this is the more "exclusive" lodging section apparently, you could hear every voice in the hallways and every step of the people above you. God forbid they moved a chair. Also, we were right near the back driveway and at 3am you heard every party/group coming back loudly from town. The rooms were very spacious, the kitchen well equipped, and the pool area very nice. Food was also very good. The staff experience was rather mixed- a few were very nice and others were terrible. The best part was the location into the heart of Cabo/town. Walking distance if you like to walk or a close taxi ride. This wasn't our worst vacation at all, but not our best either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hacienda De Coyote has fantastic food! Very fresh, average pricing, and close by. 3 kinds of salsa, delicious tacos and seafood. Went there twice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lushdds
Business
Iowa
Mar 22, 2012

Not that great

Stayed at the Ridge for a week. Nice hotel, but not that impressed. Rooms were nice, but the view wasn't very good. Unless you have one of the top floors, your view will be the back of another building or a rooftop of air conditioners. The pools were very nice and the view from there is nice. It is also a short walk to the marina which was nice. They charge extra to use the fitness center and for internet service. Wireless service is only available in the pool and lobby areas. Even then, the service is very weak and we had to constantly log back on after getting kicked off. Only one person in your party can get service at any given time. I guess when you are paying around $300/night I would expect free wireless service throughout the property (including room) and use of the fitness center to be included. Also, the food was overpriced, and not that good either. Would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bellafina
Business
Seattle,WA
Feb 25, 2012

Good value, honeymoon getaway

This place is simply gorgeous. My fiance and I spend 3 full days enjoying the views. This was our first time in Cabo. This resort is right next to the beach but beware that you cannot swim on the pacific. If you want to swim, you should stay at a place that faces the Sea of Cortez. The hotel has a "VIP" area called the Ridge, but this is all part of Playa Grande Resort. When we got there one of the concierge (they have many) told us that we "got" the VIP area, but in fact, we paid more. So don't let them tell you that they have both open when you get there if you already paid more to stay at the Villas. You have to be diligent if you dont want to do the time share selling sessions because theyt staff will take every opportunity to get you to one, by gibe you "free" things. The grounds are great and the view is fantastic and it is a great spot to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoOceanView DontPayExtra
Business
vancouver
Feb 1, 2012

no ocean view

Advertised by resellers: ocean view at the ridge but it is, in fact, city and marina view. Don't pay extra. The infinity pool is good tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chocolatefaceivy
Business
Bronx, NY, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Amazing

We loved every moment of our stay. I will definitely come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pochos seafood restaurant at the bay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baja Dave
Business
El Sargento, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Nov 30, 2011

Fantastic & Romantic

We have visited Cabo San Lucas for 34 years and this is the finest and best hotel ever! World class in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great wine shop one bllock away and the Gailion restaurant next to hotel was great for Italian dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 1, 2011

wonderful spot, a few missing details

Wonderful spot between the marina and the Pacific made everything very accessible. View from pool area is spectacular, it's easy to just hang out there all day. Views from the room are nice, a little noise from the traffic below if you're hanging out on the terrace, but quiet inside. Room is spacious and very comfortable (loved the bed) but a few small details are off. Quality of the linen is passable, but not premium, adjustable lighting in all rooms BUT the bedroom, no kleenex, etc. Small stuff that if your used to luxury you might notice, but won't ruin your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top