$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2015 Check-out: Mar 1, 2015

Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

3 stars
Blvd. Lazaro Cardenas S/N Esquina Bordo, Cabo San Lucas, 23450
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
40 reviews
GREAT CHOICE FOR A VERY GOOD PRICE

Nice hotel for short stay in Cabo San Lucas or for extra days stay. See full review

  • cebracentinela
  • Jun 8, 2014
Great value, great people

We were very happy with our choice to stay at Quinta del Sol. It is not a 5 star resort and... See full review

  • Beachbums from Wa
  • May 14, 2014
Great value in a great location near downtown

Quinta Del Sol by Solmar provides a great location near the beach, at the entrance of Cabo San Lucas. Junior suites with fully equipped kitchenettes and Wi-Fi Internet access are some of the comforts of home guests find at this charming, comfortable budget hotel.

Highlights
  • Adult and family pools
  • Guests have access to facilities at nearby sister resorts, including Solmar Resort  Beach Club
  • Spacious Junior suites with kitchenettes
  • Excellent location 
  • Car Rental  
  • Airport Transportation (surcharge)
  • All-inclusive and European Plans available
Rooms
A two-story hacienda-style building with a spiral staircase and exterior corridors contains 72 junior suites at the Quinta Del Sol by Solmar hotel. All suites feature satellite television and free Wi-Fi Internet access, two double beds, and spacious bathroom with tub and shower combined.  Work desks, ceiling fan, hair-dryers, wake-up service, daily turndown service, laptop size electronic in-room deposit box, blackout drapes/curtains, iron and iron board and air conditioning provide additional comfort and peace of mind. Kitchenettes include a refrigerator, coffee-maker, cooktop burners, sink and dining space. In-room child care is available. 371 square feet.
Features
Medano Beach, the main swimming beach at Cabo San Lucas, is a short walk from the hotel. So are the shops, restaurants and nightlife of downtown Cabo -- putting Quinta Del Sol by Solmar hotel in the heart of the Cabo action. Guests receive discounts at three outdoor specialty restaurants located at Solmar resort properties near the marina. A fitness center and separate pools for adults and families at Quinta Del Sol by Solmar keep guests busy.
Dining

Las Quintas Restaurant and Bar offers and international menu and includes American and Mexican favorites.  The well-appointed restaurant features an indoor air conditioned area overlooking the pool and an outdoor terrace for those who want to enjoy the splendid weather of Los Cabos. Open daily from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm. The Las Quintas restaurant bar is a comfortable, welcoming spot to enjoy a favorite cocktail. Snacks and beverages are also available poolside. When staying four or more nights, theme nights may be enjoyed at Solmar Resort. As an added bonus, Quinta del Sol guests can enjoy Solmar-owned restaurants in downtown Cabo San Lucas with a 15% off. There's El Galeon, overlooking the ever-active Cabo San Lucas Marina. Restaurant Romeo and Julieta with its beautiful and spacious outdoor courtyard. Hacienda El Coyote Restaurant and Tequila Bar with authentic Mexican. All-inclusive and European Plans are also available.

Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (21.3 mi/34.3 km) only 40 minutes away from the property.
Attractions
  • Puerto Paraiso Shopping Mall (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Arch of Cabo San Lucas (El Arco) (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Todos Santos (44.7 mi/71.9 km)
  • La Paz (90.7 mi/145.9 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax services
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Meeting facilities

One large hall with the capacity to be divided into three independent meeting rooms.  Accommodates up to 112 people with incredibly comfortable seating. Perfect for weddings, graduations, baptisms, birthdays, conferences or other events.

Audio/visual equipment available, including electronic screen, projector, sound equipment, and microphones.  Food and beverage services are also available. 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quinta Del Sol by Solmar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Quinta Del Sol by Solmar Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed with air conditioning, refrigerator, wake-up calls, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, AM/FM alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, In-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
john b.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

sucky travel lodge

No AC, no hot water, noisy area,tiny pool and terrible food. Never received the free breakfast. Spend the money and stay some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Johnson
Business
Santa Rosa, California
Nov 15, 2011

Not a romantic honeymoon : (

Not informed of noisy construction, only double beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Senor Sweets has really yummy food and great service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Highway Robbery

For a 25 min. call from Los Cabos to Bethesda they dare to charge over 90.00 in a hotel that charged 68.00 dlls a night. Also the place stinks constantly due to the water sanitation equipment in the area. I wouldnt recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
airline steward
Business
Newport Beach, Ca.
Nov 11, 2009

geat value hotel in Cabo

Found the hotel on the web. Just needed one nite because of full flights. Small glitch with A/C switch and neighbors were noisy but all was quiet after 10PM. New,clean rooms with small kitchen-very handy for fridge and micro and stove users. Less than one mile to town and Medano beach. Great value!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiki3122
Business
Spokane, WA
Aug 17, 2014

Cheap and friendly

We enjoyed our stay but it is a ways out from the beach. You have to cross the busy street and the pool is pretty small (mainly occupied by small kids). The staff is friendly and the breakfast was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pepe's nearby was a great restaurant and cheap!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jjten
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Decent place nothing fancy

This was a nice place, it was clean. At times I was able to hear the next door guests because the walls are so thin. Friendly staff, and really close to everything. However, next time I would look for a different place since there are other places cheaper and nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S.F.,CA
Sep 23, 2009

small hotel

Hotel is 3 blocks from the beach and a 6 dollar cab ride to downtown san lucas. Staff was nice. Free breakfast was just cereal and juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jul 27, 2010

Cabo fun

I was looking for total rest and relaxation and this pretty much fit the bill. It was a little far from town for walking....doable, but really hot in July. It was about a 15 minute walk from the beach area which was fine. The price was certainly right but the pool was pretty small and the water in it was really warm, like bath water. I enjoyed it for what I was looking for this trip but I don't think I would want to spend an entire week there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2011

Fantastic hotel and amazing town!

Could'nt get any better. The boat trip to Lovers beach was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the harbor before the boats departures and take a boat trip for half the price if you show up right before the boat departures.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDK MN
Business
Farmington, Minnesota
Nov 27, 2011

Nice room--convenient location

Nice room...not fantastic but more than acceptable for a stay in Cabo. Other reviews have dissed the place because of the location..it is on a busy steet but quiet enough in the room. The hotel is under going some significant renovations in the public areas. Pool area is being reconstructed (making the pool a bit larger I hear)...tearing out some walls...putting in new concrete...etc....so it was noisy..they started early and worked late. Apparently they were behind on their construction schedule. Restaurant being renovated too so that was closed whil we were there. Pool was open...I imagine in a week or so the renovation will be done and I'm betting it'll be very nice. If/when we get back to Cabo we'll stay there again. The room was a real value for what we paid...beach (the only swimming beach around as serious undertows on the pacific side) just 5-10 minutes walk away and about the same for the downtown area. Many wonderful restaurants within blocks..good for walking off your meals or working up an appetite...we walked a lot..Cabo is very safe. Staff at the hotel was friendly...not 100% helpful in just a couple of areas but that was mostly due to langauge issues. Kitchenette in the room very handy...bought groceries/supplies at Walmart...10 minute walk away. Heads up for the traffic though..busy area and Mexican drivers aren't pedestrian friendly most of the time. All said....it isn't a fancy hotel but that's okay but we aren't fancy people. I enjoy comfort the same as anyone but hey...it's a place to sleep at night and rest after a long day of being out and about. All inclusives....I've had my fill of them. If you don't feel compelled to eat like a pig or drink like a fish...then this is the better way to go. Too...most of the guests were Mexicans on holiday. If I want a hotel full of Americans I can go to the Ramada Inn or something in Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat where the Mexicans eat. Tamales are great street food...delicious. Mexican tacos are the best. Find a place full of Mexican families...not gringos for the best food at the best prices! Seafood is wonderful in Cabo. Liquor...buy at the liquor store (can't remember the name) next to Walmart...better pricing than the duty free stores at the airport. US customs says 1 liter per person. Duty free people will tell you 3 liters per person. We went through customs in Phoenix...signs all over said 1 liter allowed and the rest must be surrendered/disposed of. They didn't enforce the rule but I suppose they could so....use your own judgment. We brought 4 liters through for the 2 of us and no questions asked. Use pesos there not dollars for best rate (liquor store). Walmart...use dollars and not pesos. If you've got the time and steely resolve to say "no" and mean it spend a few hours doing a time-share promotion. We got an atv tour (3 hours), para sailing for two and the Cabo Rey sunset dinner cruise for two (best ever..great food and entertainment)...cost us $70.00. They can give you $200 cash if you'd rather or discounted activities (better deal). You've got to work the reps though...the less they give you the more they keep...lol. Maybe you'll get a better deal!! They will find you...if you ran the gauntlet at the airport and got through unscathed they'll find you everywhere....we got approached by people in Walmart. We thought they worked there. Helped us find some stuff and then low and behold...they were time-share reps..lol! Baja is a good vendor for watersports, parasailing, etc. You'll see their reps on the beach. MEDS.....Mexico is a great place to pick up antibiotics or whatever. Do not buy at/near the beach or tourist areas. If it says American Pharmacy or US pharmacy or the like...you will get ripped off. My girlfriend didn't believe me...she bought some for 10x's the proper rate. For the directionally challenged....closer to the beach/cruise ship dock ='s much, much more expensive. The further you go into town....much, much cheaper. This goes for pretty much everything.... Walmart not a good place to go for meds any longer we discovered...we used to buy them there but they are more stringent and won't dispense a lot of meds that they used to w/o a script. Find a local farmacia...they often have dr.s nearby that will do a "consult" for you. Ours wrote the scripts for 5 or 6 different meds (tetracycline, penicilin, cipro, augmenten, etc.)...80 pesos was the fee for that. Less than $6 US. Drugs themselves were so much cheaper than here it is almost laughable. We picked up probably $1,000 worth of meds for about $150 US. Note these were for personal use only as per customs regulation. We declared them...not much inquiry when we came back through in Phoenix. Great to have around for cold/flu season. Lastly...great exchange rate lately. Last time I was in Mexico a couple of years ago it was about 10...now (or as of yesterday anyway) it is over 14 pesos to 1 US $.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top