$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

3 stars
Blvd. Lazaro Cardenas S/N Esquina Bordo, Cabo San Lucas, 23450
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
39 reviews
GREAT CHOICE FOR A VERY GOOD PRICE

Nice hotel for short stay in Cabo San Lucas or for extra days stay. See full review

  • cebracentinela
  • Jun 8, 2014
Great value, great people

We were very happy with our choice to stay at Quinta del Sol. It is not a 5 star resort and... See full review

  • Beachbums from Wa
  • May 14, 2014
Great value in a great location near downtown

Quinta Del Sol by Solmar provides a great location near the beach, at the entrance of Cabo San Lucas. Junior suites with fully equipped kitchenettes and Wi-Fi Internet access are some of the comforts of home guests find at this charming, comfortable budget hotel.

Highlights
    • Adult and family pools
    • Guests have access to facilities at nearby sister resorts, including Solmar Resort  Beach Club
    • Spacious Junior suites with kitchenettes
    • Excellent location 
    • Car Rental  
    • Airport Transportation (surcharge)
Rooms
A two-story hacienda-style building with a spiral staircase and exterior corridors contains 72 junior suites at the Quinta Del Sol by Solmar hotel. All suites feature satellite television and free Wi-Fi Internet access, two double beds, and spacious bathroom with tub and shower combined.  Work desks, ceiling fan, hair-dryers, wake-up service, daily turndown service, laptop size electronic in-room deposit box, blackout drapes/curtains, iron and iron board and air conditioning provide additional comfort and peace of mind. Kitchenettes include a refrigerator, coffee-maker, cooktop burners, sink and dining space. In-room child care is available. 371 square feet.
Features
Medano Beach, the main swimming beach at Cabo San Lucas, is a short walk from the hotel. So are the shops, restaurants and nightlife of downtown Cabo -- putting Quinta Del Sol by Solmar hotel in the heart of the Cabo action. Guests receive discounts at three outdoor specialty restaurants located at Solmar resort properties near the marina. A fitness center and separate pools for adults and families at Quinta Del Sol by Solmar keep guests busy.
Dining

Las Quintas Restaurant and Bar offers and international menu and includes American and Mexican favorites.  The well-appointed restaurant features an indoor air conditioned area overlooking the pool and an outdoor terrace for those who want to enjoy the splendid weather of Los Cabos. Open daily from 7:00 am – 10:00 pm.

The Las Quintas restaurant bar is a comfortable, welcoming spot to enjoy a favorite cocktail. Snacks and beverages are also available poolside.

When staying four or more nights, theme nights may be enjoyed at Solmar Resort

As an added bonus, Quinta del Sol guests can enjoy Solmar-owned restaurants in downtown Cabo San Lucas with a 15% off. There's El Galeon, overlooking the ever-active Cabo San Lucas Marina. Restaurant Romeo and Julieta with its beautiful and spacious outdoor courtyard. Hacienda El Coyote Restaurant and Tequila Bar with authentic Mexican.

Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (21.3 mi/34.3 km) only 40 minutes away from the property.
Attractions
  • Puerto Paraiso Shopping Mall (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Arch of Cabo San Lucas (El Arco) (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Todos Santos (44.7 mi/71.9 km)
  • La Paz (90.7 mi/145.9 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax services
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Meeting facilities

One large hall with the capacity to be divided into three independent meeting rooms.  Accommodates up to 112 people with incredibly comfortable seating. Perfect for weddings, graduations, baptisms, birthdays, conferences or other events.

Audio/visual equipment available, including electronic screen, projector, sound equipment, and microphones.  Food and beverage services are also available. 

Hotel Map

22.9216 -109.841
Area served
Cabo San Lucas.
Nearby airports
Los Cabos International Airport (SJD)
Area description
Best Western Quinta Del Sol is located near to local attractions Bay of San Lucas, Public Beach, Cabo Marina, Sport fishing and Scuba diving.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quinta Del Sol by Solmar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Quinta Del Sol by Solmar Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed with air conditioning, refrigerator, wake-up calls, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, AM/FM alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, In-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiki3122
Spokane, WA
Aug 17, 2014

Cheap and friendly

We enjoyed our stay but it is a ways out from the beach. You have to cross the busy street and the pool is pretty small (mainly occupied by small kids). The staff is friendly and the breakfast was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pepe's nearby was a great restaurant and cheap!!

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jakester Pup
Longmont, Co
May 25, 2014

Little Hideaway

The hotel was small and quiet. The breakfast buffet was nice. A variety of eggs, meat and lovely fresh fruit every morning. The AC could turn you into a popsicle:-) The pool was perfect for floating around in. However, it would be quite the hike to the beach!! We had a car, so could go anywhere, but the parking is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chileno Bay is a must. Beach and snorkeling are awesome.

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beachbums from Wa
Lake Stevens Wa
May 14, 2014

Great value, great people

We were very happy with our choice to stay at Quinta del Sol. It is not a 5 star resort and therefore we are not rating it as such. For being a 2 or 3 star hotel, they do it as well as can be done. The property is very clean as are the rooms. The staff was excellent, everyone we met went the extra mile for us. The rooms were large and comfy with mini kitchenettes. Beds were very comfortable. The shower was hands down the best of anywhere I've stayed...great water pressure. In room safes and good wi-fi. They do have a staffed entry gate. There is a breakfast buffet. It too is not 5 star, but you can find scrambled eggs, fruit and other options. There is a washer and dryer available to use. The property is fairly close to most everything. The beach is a lazy 10 minute walk to a really good area. Downtown is a 10minute power walk. I timed them both so it's fairly accurate. Also I had read some reviews about room noise. We experienced zero road or work noise....only the occasional rude patron making noise outside the room at early or late hours, which happens everywhere. Of the minor turn offs for us were of course the time share push. In the case of Q del Sol..it wasn't too pushy. They will want you to check out the Grand Solmar while in town....a time share presentation. We politely declined, but were approached by multiple people over our 12 days. It was an irritant, but we are used to it from most everywhere in Cabo. The gym wasn't much. The equipment was not functional as the power cords were either cut or missing. A few dumbells rounded out the "gym" The pool was clean although small. For us it didn't work due to the fact that adults without children will have a difficult time relaxing. It is a small pool area that was for most days was occupied with children. If you don't mind the screaming and splashing that goes along with kids at the pool, you'll be fine. If you want to chill with you're iPad or book and stay dry, probably not going to work. Having an adults only area was not expected and may not be an issue for most. Overall a really good stay. We are happy with the choice and would do it again. Great people, centrally located, comfy rooms in every way, at a great price. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the beach from the hotel. About the length of 4 soccer fields. Enter at the public entry. The first restaurant with be Tabascos. Great place to hang out. Free lounge chairs, umbrellas. Good eats and drinks, good music. A mellower place to hang out with less people. If you want activities at the beach, find a guy named Hector "the connector". He turned us on to some fun things at good prices.

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mtbmac
Boise, Idaho
Feb 26, 2014

Nice Hotel just outside the beaten path.

This hotel is a great bang for the buck. It is clean, spacious, has a washer and dryer available. The rooms and beds are comfortable. It is a bit far away from the beach and downtown (10-15 min walk to the edge). But if you are the kind of person that whines about a 10-15 min walk, you could probably use it. You can always take a cab. Or do what we did and use public transportation. For $1.00 ea. you can hop on a Collectivo (old white school bus), or for $2.00 you can hop on a more modern bus. I don't know what it is called, but you can tell the difference. Honestly the collective is much more fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NatDP
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 16, 2012

Great hotel in a great location

The hotel was great! Exactly what we were looking for. Clean and the perfect location close to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
world traveler99
arlington, va
Mar 23, 2012

one night in cabo

generally good. didn't like that the parking was right up against the rooms, motel-style. rest was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDK MN
Farmington, Minnesota
Nov 27, 2011

Nice room--convenient location

Nice room...not fantastic but more than acceptable for a stay in Cabo. Other reviews have dissed the place because of the location..it is on a busy steet but quiet enough in the room. The hotel is under going some significant renovations in the public areas. Pool area is being reconstructed (making the pool a bit larger I hear)...tearing out some walls...putting in new concrete...etc....so it was noisy..they started early and worked late. Apparently they were behind on their construction schedule. Restaurant being renovated too so that was closed whil we were there. Pool was open...I imagine in a week or so the renovation will be done and I'm betting it'll be very nice. If/when we get back to Cabo we'll stay there again. The room was a real value for what we paid...beach (the only swimming beach around as serious undertows on the pacific side) just 5-10 minutes walk away and about the same for the downtown area. Many wonderful restaurants within blocks..good for walking off your meals or working up an appetite...we walked a lot..Cabo is very safe. Staff at the hotel was friendly...not 100% helpful in just a couple of areas but that was mostly due to langauge issues. Kitchenette in the room very handy...bought groceries/supplies at Walmart...10 minute walk away. Heads up for the traffic though..busy area and Mexican drivers aren't pedestrian friendly most of the time. All said....it isn't a fancy hotel but that's okay but we aren't fancy people. I enjoy comfort the same as anyone but hey...it's a place to sleep at night and rest after a long day of being out and about. All inclusives....I've had my fill of them. If you don't feel compelled to eat like a pig or drink like a fish...then this is the better way to go. Too...most of the guests were Mexicans on holiday. If I want a hotel full of Americans I can go to the Ramada Inn or something in Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat where the Mexicans eat. Tamales are great street food...delicious. Mexican tacos are the best. Find a place full of Mexican families...not gringos for the best food at the best prices! Seafood is wonderful in Cabo. Liquor...buy at the liquor store (can't remember the name) next to Walmart...better pricing than the duty free stores at the airport. US customs says 1 liter per person. Duty free people will tell you 3 liters per person. We went through customs in Phoenix...signs all over said 1 liter allowed and the rest must be surrendered/disposed of. They didn't enforce the rule but I suppose they could so....use your own judgment. We brought 4 liters through for the 2 of us and no questions asked. Use pesos there not dollars for best rate (liquor store). Walmart...use dollars and not pesos. If you've got the time and steely resolve to say "no" and mean it spend a few hours doing a time-share promotion. We got an atv tour (3 hours), para sailing for two and the Cabo Rey sunset dinner cruise for two (best ever..great food and entertainment)...cost us $70.00. They can give you $200 cash if you'd rather or discounted activities (better deal). You've got to work the reps though...the less they give you the more they keep...lol. Maybe you'll get a better deal!! They will find you...if you ran the gauntlet at the airport and got through unscathed they'll find you everywhere....we got approached by people in Walmart. We thought they worked there. Helped us find some stuff and then low and behold...they were time-share reps..lol! Baja is a good vendor for watersports, parasailing, etc. You'll see their reps on the beach. MEDS.....Mexico is a great place to pick up antibiotics or whatever. Do not buy at/near the beach or tourist areas. If it says American Pharmacy or US pharmacy or the like...you will get ripped off. My girlfriend didn't believe me...she bought some for 10x's the proper rate. For the directionally challenged....closer to the beach/cruise ship dock ='s much, much more expensive. The further you go into town....much, much cheaper. This goes for pretty much everything.... Walmart not a good place to go for meds any longer we discovered...we used to buy them there but they are more stringent and won't dispense a lot of meds that they used to w/o a script. Find a local farmacia...they often have dr.s nearby that will do a "consult" for you. Ours wrote the scripts for 5 or 6 different meds (tetracycline, penicilin, cipro, augmenten, etc.)...80 pesos was the fee for that. Less than $6 US. Drugs themselves were so much cheaper than here it is almost laughable. We picked up probably $1,000 worth of meds for about $150 US. Note these were for personal use only as per customs regulation. We declared them...not much inquiry when we came back through in Phoenix. Great to have around for cold/flu season. Lastly...great exchange rate lately. Last time I was in Mexico a couple of years ago it was about 10...now (or as of yesterday anyway) it is over 14 pesos to 1 US $.

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Johnson
Santa Rosa, California
Nov 15, 2011

Not a romantic honeymoon : (

Not informed of noisy construction, only double beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Senor Sweets has really yummy food and great service

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2011

Fantastic hotel and amazing town!

Could'nt get any better. The boat trip to Lovers beach was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the harbor before the boats departures and take a boat trip for half the price if you show up right before the boat departures.

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central California
Dec 15, 2010

Comfort and Courtesy at Value Pricing

A very nice property, with exceptionally cordial staff. Located at the entrance to Cabo San Lucas, but still close to downtown. Close to WalMart, Sam's Club, Office Depot. The room was more than I expected, being actually a junior suite complete with kitchenette, dining area with table and chairs, and fully equipped. The only disappointment was that there was no choice of bed, all rooms were identically equipped with 2 double beds, without the option for either a queen or king. The parking was in the hotel's own gated area, staffed 24/7 for security. I liked the property, especially for the price, and would definitely stay there again. There was no on-site dining, but within short driving distance of many excellent choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search