Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

3 stars
Blvd. Lazaro Cardenas S/N Esquina Bordo, Cabo San Lucas, 23450
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
39 reviews
GREAT CHOICE FOR A VERY GOOD PRICE

Nice hotel for short stay in Cabo San Lucas or for extra days stay. See full review

  • cebracentinela
  • Jun 8, 2014
Great value, great people

We were very happy with our choice to stay at Quinta del Sol. It is not a 5 star resort and... See full review

  • Beachbums from Wa
  • May 14, 2014
Great value in a great location near downtown

Quinta Del Sol by Solmar provides a great location near the beach, at the entrance of Cabo San Lucas. Junior suites with fully equipped kitchenettes and Wi-Fi Internet access are some of the comforts of home guests find at this charming, comfortable budget hotel.

Highlights
  • Adult and family pools
  • Guests have access to facilities at nearby sister resorts, including Solmar Resort  Beach Club
  • Spacious Junior suites with kitchenettes
  • Excellent location 
  • Car Rental  
  • Airport Transportation (surcharge)
  • All-inclusive and European Plans available
Rooms
A two-story hacienda-style building with a spiral staircase and exterior corridors contains 72 junior suites at the Quinta Del Sol by Solmar hotel. All suites feature satellite television and free Wi-Fi Internet access, two double beds, and spacious bathroom with tub and shower combined.  Work desks, ceiling fan, hair-dryers, wake-up service, daily turndown service, laptop size electronic in-room deposit box, blackout drapes/curtains, iron and iron board and air conditioning provide additional comfort and peace of mind. Kitchenettes include a refrigerator, coffee-maker, cooktop burners, sink and dining space. In-room child care is available. 371 square feet.
Features
Medano Beach, the main swimming beach at Cabo San Lucas, is a short walk from the hotel. So are the shops, restaurants and nightlife of downtown Cabo -- putting Quinta Del Sol by Solmar hotel in the heart of the Cabo action. Guests receive discounts at three outdoor specialty restaurants located at Solmar resort properties near the marina. A fitness center and separate pools for adults and families at Quinta Del Sol by Solmar keep guests busy.
Dining

Las Quintas Restaurant and Bar offers and international menu and includes American and Mexican favorites.  The well-appointed restaurant features an indoor air conditioned area overlooking the pool and an outdoor terrace for those who want to enjoy the splendid weather of Los Cabos. Open daily from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm. The Las Quintas restaurant bar is a comfortable, welcoming spot to enjoy a favorite cocktail. Snacks and beverages are also available poolside. When staying four or more nights, theme nights may be enjoyed at Solmar Resort. As an added bonus, Quinta del Sol guests can enjoy Solmar-owned restaurants in downtown Cabo San Lucas with a 15% off. There's El Galeon, overlooking the ever-active Cabo San Lucas Marina. Restaurant Romeo and Julieta with its beautiful and spacious outdoor courtyard. Hacienda El Coyote Restaurant and Tequila Bar with authentic Mexican. All-inclusive and European Plans are also available.

Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (21.3 mi/34.3 km) only 40 minutes away from the property.
Attractions
  • Puerto Paraiso Shopping Mall (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Arch of Cabo San Lucas (El Arco) (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Todos Santos (44.7 mi/71.9 km)
  • La Paz (90.7 mi/145.9 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax services
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Meeting facilities

One large hall with the capacity to be divided into three independent meeting rooms.  Accommodates up to 112 people with incredibly comfortable seating. Perfect for weddings, graduations, baptisms, birthdays, conferences or other events.

Audio/visual equipment available, including electronic screen, projector, sound equipment, and microphones.  Food and beverage services are also available. 

Quinta Del Sol by Solmar Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed with air conditioning, refrigerator, wake-up calls, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, AM/FM alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, In-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

22.9216 -109.841
Area served
Cabo San Lucas.
Nearby airports
Los Cabos International Airport (SJD)
Area description
Best Western Quinta Del Sol is located near to local attractions Bay of San Lucas, Public Beach, Cabo Marina, Sport fishing and Scuba diving.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.6

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redding,CA
Nov 29, 2010

Great place

Everybody was helpful and accomodative. One lady help us to find information on how to get marry over there and even served as a witness. We love it over there and will recommeded and hopefuly will be back soon for a full honey moon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn to use the public transport to save money on taxi. Or they will make a hole in your pocket!!

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
santa rosalia, BCS
Nov 22, 2010

Excellent

I found that this was a very pleasant experience I have stayed there before and was glad to see that the standard had not changed. We were made to feel very welcome and they went out of the way to make our stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk, maybe 10 minutes, to restuarants, entertainement and shops.

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Aug 10, 2010

Good clean hotel

We just stayed for a night and didn't expect much but were pleasantly surprised. A nice large room that was clean and well kept. A decent swimming pool and a good breakfast. All for a low price. What more can one ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Paul, MN
Jul 27, 2010

Cabo fun

I was looking for total rest and relaxation and this pretty much fit the bill. It was a little far from town for walking....doable, but really hot in July. It was about a 15 minute walk from the beach area which was fine. The price was certainly right but the pool was pretty small and the water in it was really warm, like bath water. I enjoyed it for what I was looking for this trip but I don't think I would want to spend an entire week there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Wayne, IN
Jul 23, 2010

Great first trip to Cabo!

This was our very fist time in Cabo, and we loved it, especially my daughter. Quinta del Sol is a reall nice hotel that can accomadate you in ways that other big hotels probably wouldn't be able to. Its not too far from El Medano Beach which is GORGEOUS. The mall is also very close. We were not far from entertainment, restaurants, and real mexican culture. (Since we ourselves are mexican.) We loved the fact that the rooms had their own kitchenette and that the hotel provided free continental breakfasts, which included mexican pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt, granola, and other options. The food was great for a cold breakfast! The rooms were super clean, and the housekeepers were friendly. If you are ever bored, you can walk about two blocks and there are some soccer fields that almost always have games going on. Even though this was our very first time in Cabo, we feel we got to know the city well. The people are all friendly, in Cabo San Lucas and in San Jose del Cabo. Visit both if its possible!! Use sun block, because the sun is strong. When we go back, we will stay at Quinta del Sol again. We really enjoyed pretty much everything about it. My daughter wants to go back ASAP. Our whole family loved it, including my autistic son. We were all truly comfortable, which is the best thing one can say about any hotel/resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Wal-Mart is not too far--the kitchenette will enable you to cook! Just ask the front desk in the lobby and they will provide pots & pans, etc.!

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retirees who love traveling
Arizona
Apr 26, 2010

Great staff, but thin walls; pleasant

Internet was very helpful. The housekeepers entertained us each day with "towel sculptures" complete with eyes, nose, made out of flowers. Very pleasant to come back to the room each day! The pool was clean. There was a bad odor outside toward the upper end of the property a couple of days, like the sewer had backed up. It was very quiet each night and we slept well. With the thin walls we could hear the occupants of the adjacent rooms as if they were in our same room, i.e. talking, gastro noises, going to the bathroom, TVs, phone conversations. The guards, housekeeping, and front desk staff were all friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your groceries and fix meals in your hotel room. There are many kinds of fresh fish, delicious beef, and microwave meals that can be prepared in your room and will save you $40 plus dollars per meal! Buy booze at the grocery store and have your cocktail by the pool. Convert to pesos for the best value on your dollar.

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Cabos
Apr 1, 2010

Great Value

Very practical, clean and great value!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wyoming
Jan 2, 2010

Quinta del Sol

Friendly staff, nice rooms, good location. Would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Dec 28, 2009

Perfect, low-budget stay

The hotel was about two blocks from the beach and easy walking distance to town. It was supremely clean and the staff was friendly, helpful and fun. The guards sang Christmas carols! The room was big and we walked everywhere, no problem. The Gray Line van driver took us to the wrong "Solmar" hotel and we had to pay a cab $10 to get us to the right one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can either "rent" a beach chair for 50 pesos (about $5) a day or you can buy a beer and sit there as long as you want. The people-watching is fantastic. There are lots of vendors on the beach who want to sell you just about anything (cigars, wind chimes, silver, hair-braiding, blankets, you name it) so you get used to saying, "No, gracias." Everyone, even the beach vendors, is bilingual.

Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Take-san
Foster City, CA
Nov 18, 2009

Mini-Kitchen and Free Internet

Smooth Check-In and Check-Out. I used safety Box, but Deposit($75.00)was requested. Of course, when I checked out, this was return. Price and Location is very good for me. I will go there again. Thank you,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top