$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

3 stars
View map of Blvd. Lazaro Cardenas S/N Esquina Bordo, Cabo San Lucas, 23450

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mtbmac
Business
Boise, Idaho
Feb 26, 2014

Nice Hotel just outside the beaten path.

This hotel is a great bang for the buck. It is clean, spacious, has a washer and dryer available. The rooms and beds are comfortable. It is a bit far away from the beach and downtown (10-15 min walk to the edge). But if you are the kind of person that whines about a 10-15 min walk, you could probably use it. You can always take a cab. Or do what we did and use public transportation. For $1.00 ea. you can hop on a Collectivo (old white school bus), or for $2.00 you can hop on a more modern bus. I don't know what it is called, but you can tell the difference. Honestly the collective is much more fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nodorca
Business
Seattle
Feb 28, 2013

High value, bargin price

10 minute easy walk to the beach. Less than 15 minutes walk to downtown. Larger rooms with kitchenette. You even get privileges to use their 5 star resort during the day! Ok, I sound like an advertisement, but I just spent a week at Quinta Del Sol at a killer price for what my son and I thought was a fantastic experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wallmart is a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NatDP
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 16, 2012

Great hotel in a great location

The hotel was great! Exactly what we were looking for. Clean and the perfect location close to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
world traveler99
Business
arlington, va
Mar 23, 2012

one night in cabo

generally good. didn't like that the parking was right up against the rooms, motel-style. rest was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jjten
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Decent place nothing fancy

This was a nice place, it was clean. At times I was able to hear the next door guests because the walls are so thin. Friendly staff, and really close to everything. However, next time I would look for a different place since there are other places cheaper and nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDK MN
Business
Farmington, Minnesota
Nov 27, 2011

Nice room--convenient location

Nice room...not fantastic but more than acceptable for a stay in Cabo. Other reviews have dissed the place because of the location..it is on a busy steet but quiet enough in the room. The hotel is under going some significant renovations in the public areas. Pool area is being reconstructed (making the pool a bit larger I hear)...tearing out some walls...putting in new concrete...etc....so it was noisy..they started early and worked late. Apparently they were behind on their construction schedule. Restaurant being renovated too so that was closed whil we were there. Pool was open...I imagine in a week or so the renovation will be done and I'm betting it'll be very nice. If/when we get back to Cabo we'll stay there again. The room was a real value for what we paid...beach (the only swimming beach around as serious undertows on the pacific side) just 5-10 minutes walk away and about the same for the downtown area. Many wonderful restaurants within blocks..good for walking off your meals or working up an appetite...we walked a lot..Cabo is very safe. Staff at the hotel was friendly...not 100% helpful in just a couple of areas but that was mostly due to langauge issues. Kitchenette in the room very handy...bought groceries/supplies at Walmart...10 minute walk away. Heads up for the traffic though..busy area and Mexican drivers aren't pedestrian friendly most of the time. All said....it isn't a fancy hotel but that's okay but we aren't fancy people. I enjoy comfort the same as anyone but hey...it's a place to sleep at night and rest after a long day of being out and about. All inclusives....I've had my fill of them. If you don't feel compelled to eat like a pig or drink like a fish...then this is the better way to go. Too...most of the guests were Mexicans on holiday. If I want a hotel full of Americans I can go to the Ramada Inn or something in Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat where the Mexicans eat. Tamales are great street food...delicious. Mexican tacos are the best. Find a place full of Mexican families...not gringos for the best food at the best prices! Seafood is wonderful in Cabo. Liquor...buy at the liquor store (can't remember the name) next to Walmart...better pricing than the duty free stores at the airport. US customs says 1 liter per person. Duty free people will tell you 3 liters per person. We went through customs in Phoenix...signs all over said 1 liter allowed and the rest must be surrendered/disposed of. They didn't enforce the rule but I suppose they could so....use your own judgment. We brought 4 liters through for the 2 of us and no questions asked. Use pesos there not dollars for best rate (liquor store). Walmart...use dollars and not pesos. If you've got the time and steely resolve to say "no" and mean it spend a few hours doing a time-share promotion. We got an atv tour (3 hours), para sailing for two and the Cabo Rey sunset dinner cruise for two (best ever..great food and entertainment)...cost us $70.00. They can give you $200 cash if you'd rather or discounted activities (better deal). You've got to work the reps though...the less they give you the more they keep...lol. Maybe you'll get a better deal!! They will find you...if you ran the gauntlet at the airport and got through unscathed they'll find you everywhere....we got approached by people in Walmart. We thought they worked there. Helped us find some stuff and then low and behold...they were time-share reps..lol! Baja is a good vendor for watersports, parasailing, etc. You'll see their reps on the beach. MEDS.....Mexico is a great place to pick up antibiotics or whatever. Do not buy at/near the beach or tourist areas. If it says American Pharmacy or US pharmacy or the like...you will get ripped off. My girlfriend didn't believe me...she bought some for 10x's the proper rate. For the directionally challenged....closer to the beach/cruise ship dock ='s much, much more expensive. The further you go into town....much, much cheaper. This goes for pretty much everything.... Walmart not a good place to go for meds any longer we discovered...we used to buy them there but they are more stringent and won't dispense a lot of meds that they used to w/o a script. Find a local farmacia...they often have dr.s nearby that will do a "consult" for you. Ours wrote the scripts for 5 or 6 different meds (tetracycline, penicilin, cipro, augmenten, etc.)...80 pesos was the fee for that. Less than $6 US. Drugs themselves were so much cheaper than here it is almost laughable. We picked up probably $1,000 worth of meds for about $150 US. Note these were for personal use only as per customs regulation. We declared them...not much inquiry when we came back through in Phoenix. Great to have around for cold/flu season. Lastly...great exchange rate lately. Last time I was in Mexico a couple of years ago it was about 10...now (or as of yesterday anyway) it is over 14 pesos to 1 US $.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TKAT
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Great Budget Hotel!!

If u're on a budget, this is the cleanest, friendliest, best location, you could find in CABO!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Johnson
Business
Santa Rosa, California
Nov 15, 2011

Not a romantic honeymoon : (

Not informed of noisy construction, only double beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Senor Sweets has really yummy food and great service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2011

Fantastic hotel and amazing town!

Could'nt get any better. The boat trip to Lovers beach was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the harbor before the boats departures and take a boat trip for half the price if you show up right before the boat departures.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quinta Del Sol by Solmar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viaggio Pura Vida
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Apr 16, 2011

Easy, Safe, Friendly, and Comfortable

This is a gated property with very good design considerations for parking, room interior, and pool. The room conveniently has stove, microwave, fridge, and utensil. The wireless internet connection was great. The only thing with not-so-well design is the bathroom, which has a sizable tub but leaves little space for the toilet and the door to open in. The breakfast is typical but the serving area is kind of cramped and the availability of the plates and bowels depends on how fast the attendant can wash the used ones. We felt safe, relaxed, and comfortable with our stay and will consider to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Costco and Sam's Club are about 10 min drive in the north.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top