$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 24, 2015

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
121 reviews
Great Experience

We really liked our stay here. Hotel is nicely located close to downtown, nice amenities and good... See full review

  • Matty KD
  • Nov 20, 2014
Playa Grande is an absolute dream!

From the moment you walk in, the grandeur of Playa Grande speaks for itself. A beautiful lobby with... See full review

  • E Casillas Cabo lover
  • Aug 21, 2014
Cabo San Lucas hotel tempts active travelers, spa goers
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 121
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cabo my second home
Business
vancouver bc
Feb 24, 2014

rated higher thsn it is worth

I stayed fot one night as it was revommended. Very busy caotic entrance amd appeared lined with time share/membership desks. Room was not ready at checkin amd no area to rest so i went to yhe pool. Looks awsiting service, no activities, food ok but very expensive everywhere! Room was attractive but coild tell thst it was rushed yo vlean and smelled of urine. Fans very loud. Staff was very nice and generally help. Located close to the marina but a lng walk to the nightlife amd good restaurants. Beach ok but unsightly undeveloped dpave to the sife of the hotel. Rated as a 4 star hotel but altogether adds up to 3.5 to us. Can get a better deal easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrismitchellftc
Business
Laguna niguel
Oct 4, 2013

Incredible hotel with the friendliest staff

Honestly was the trip of a lifetime, if your worried about Mexico don't. The staff truly felt like family and went the extra mile every second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T.F.
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Beautiful grounds and views!

This hotel was great! The staff were great, the grounds were beautiful, the rooms were spacious. The only negatives were that the bed and sofa bed were not that comfortable. Also, since the hotel is on the Pacific side, you can't swim in the ocean there. But if you're not an ocean swimmer, then it wouldn't really matter, and there are lots of pools. The views from the rooms were fantastic since all rooms face the pools and have ocean views. I liked that there was a mini mart inside the hotel. The food and drinks were good. I also liked the adult only pool and swim up bar. The location was good too. You could either walk or take a short taxi ride into the town. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Great get away

From Playa Grande, it was easy to walk to the town for water activities and night life activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 24, 2011

AAAAMAZING

I went to Cabo with one of my friends for spring break and was OBSESSED with Playa Grande! The hotel's location is great and is a quick 10 minute walk into town. The rooms are incredible and the activities were so much fun! It's nice to be a part of the spring break scene and be able to take a quick taxi or walk to the beach but also be able to relax by the pool in a more low key environment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KC, MO
Mar 17, 2011

Amazing Resort

Everything as absolute goregous. The staff was really nice, food amazing, pools and views wonderful. Had a great time, would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eau Claire, WI
Dec 16, 2010

Unbeatable the rooms were excellent.

The Playa was excellent for evrything except dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BAJA CANTINA cooked our fish and it was excellent. NO WORRY had a very good BIG BURRO (beef or chicken) for lunch, we were there several times. We had fish done at the GALLEON it was very poor and the most expensive. We heard they were good for Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM.
Oct 5, 2010

What a phenomenal place!!!!

We arrived to a dream location upon entering the grounds of The Playa Grand Resort and Spa. We were in awe of the location, the amazing architecture, and the fabulous decor. We were greeted by a wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. It was an absolutely memorable trip set in the perfect location with all the finest ammenities and we could not have asked for more...Truely amazing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a less expensive alternative to the hotel's resteraunts and bars we discovered a few places along the pier that we became regulars at. Our favorite was Salomons Landing located on the NW corner of the marina. We enjoyed $1.50 Negro Modelos and $3.00 delicious appetizers and a friendly, clean place to sit and watch the boats in the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, CA
Aug 17, 2010

A Resort of Perfect Proportions

This beautiful resort gave us more than we could have ever dreamed of on our week stay in Cabo. The world class spa provides excellent and lavish service and the several different pools provided a nice variety for lounging. While the drinks were excellent and the bartenders and the swim-up bars were very friendly, the food and service in the restaurants at the resort were definitely lacking. My friend and I waiting for an hour for a sandwich and salad, both of which turned out to be horrendous tasting. I would definitely recommend eating outside of the resort, as many wonderful restaurants are located less than a two minute walk away. The location of Playa Grande is unbeatable. Located right on the point between the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez, the views could not be more spectacular (definitely visit the Infinity Pool for optimal vista viewing). The staff was so helpful and friendly and even encouraged us to speak in Spanish. They gave us a great recommendation for Parasailing as well. While I wouldn't go back for the overpriced food (don't get the all-inclusive package) I would most definitely return to Playa Grande for its impeccable service, beautiful atmosphere, world-class spa, and perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Things in Cabo San Lucas don't really get started until 12:30 or 1:00. Many tourists aren't aware and believe that the town has no nightlife, when in fact it has an excellent one. The most popular clubs for tourists are El Squid Roe, Mandala, and Pink Kitty, but if you care to stray off the beaten path places like Love Shack, Happy Ending, and Baja Junkie are great places to get cheap drinks before heading to the hot locations. Also be sure to check for specials, like ladies night. Cheap drinks can also be found in open air bars located all over town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
May 25, 2010

Fantastic Location & Close to Everything

I traveled to this resort on vacation with some close friends. All of us had nothing but great things to say about the Playe Grande. The resort was beautiful and well cared for. The staffs were always kind and friendly. The food was good and the entertainment was excellent. Playe Grande is within walking distance to downtown Cabo and had beach access to the Pacific Ocean, but is close to the Sea of Cortez as well. We have already planned our return to the Playe Grande!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed many meals outside of the resort also. We wanted to have the authentic Cabo cuisines and ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top