$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
View map of Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
128 reviews
Fabuloous for families

We had a wonderful time. We loved the location and the staff was lovely. See full review

  • Joan C.
  • Jul 15, 2015
Awesome trip with my girlfriends

We stayed at the Playa Grande Resort& Grand Spa in January, 2015. We had a fantastic time. Very... See full review

  • lovelylady
  • Jun 3, 2015
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Nearby attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 128
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharon Q.
Business
N/A
May 15, 2015

Great Honeymoon Location

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon. We loved the friendly staff! Unfortunately, there was a little construction being done to repair some of the hurricane damages. We still had a GREAT time. During the day, we spent it by the pool where they had tons of games and the staff kept the drinks coming. We suggest purchasing the all inclusive deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William C.
Business
San MAteo
Mar 26, 2015

Great Place

OMG perfect for a chill fun bachelor party where it was near the clubs and bars but also far away enough to enjoy the chill of hanging out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shawn S.
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

AMAZING

Had the best vacation! Playa grande was a great choice. We always felt welcomed and taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacey R.
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

fun week in Cabo

Spent a great week at Playa Grande. Pros: large one bedroom unit with separate bedroom, dining/living area, full kitchen and 2 bathrooms. Staff was exceptional. Several pool areas and hot tubs to relax. Resort is walking distance to the harbor, numerous restaurants, and shopping. It was fun to relax by the pool, there are a few different activities to choose from (yoga on the beach, pool volleyball, water aerobics, spanish lessons, etc). Cons: located on the Pacific Ocean where no beach swimming is allowed due to rough water. While there are chairs on the beach, there are no umbrellas and no food/beverage service. Internet service (which is not complimentary) is expensive and needs upgrading. Mild annoyance with pushy time share individuals as soon as you check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask for a room located around the swimming pools. They tried to place us on 'the Ridge' which, while newer, is quite a long walk from the pools, beach, and main activities. If you are not interested in the time shares, just let them know fairly strongly and they will leave you alone. If you want to purchase souvenirs from vendors, they all negotiate.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ana C.
Business
Round Rock
Jan 23, 2015

10 Yr Anniv. Trip

We went Dec 2014 and it was wonderful! The hotel was beautiful and the location could not be any better! We walked to the pier everyday where we had dinner and where we met the boats that took us snorkeling and sunset cruise. It is a 5 min walk so we never had to jump in a cab for food or activities. The room was perfect for me and my hubby. We went down to the OXXO (convenience store in front of pier) for affordable snacks and drinks to stock our fridge and room. Overall...super happy with this hotel! A tip...eat at the bar and split the food! An order of nachos or a pizza will feed 2 no problem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay here, you can walk to the pier where there is great food, activities, shopping and entertainment.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anurag
Business
Boulder
Jan 22, 2015

First Anniversary trip

The resort and services offered are generally expensive. We had a very comfortable stay and the staff was very friendly and always eager to help. There was no free wifi anywhere in the hotel which in my opinion was a bit of a disadvantage as we did not even have international roaming on our cellphone. The spa is really good and we had a great couple's massage experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the local restaurants in Los Cabos rather than the ones in your resort. The local restaurants are very reasonable and have great food. Also, don't forget to carry a lot of cash for tipping. You can either carry USD or exchange dollars for pesos there. Everyone expects a tip there for every small service.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary B.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Relaxing fishing & beach vacation

Very well maintained premises, recovered from the September hurricane, walking distance to the harbor and town, nice pool area and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to just about everything

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E Casillas Cabo lover
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 21, 2014

Playa Grande is an absolute dream!

From the moment you walk in, the grandeur of Playa Grande speaks for itself. A beautiful lobby with helpful staff is the first thing you want to see. Secondly, the Playa Grande villas are beautiful and functional, each with a great view of either the pool or the Pacific Ocean. The rooms are spacious and have a functional kitchen with stove, microwave, spacious fridge and even a blender. The room also comes with an iron, a blow dryer and those magnifying mirrors I adore. The bed is unbelievably comfy and the A/C works beautifully. Hands down, the best part of Playa Grande is the incredible pool areas. At the time we went, they were renovating the "adults-only pool" and I don't even feel like we missed out because the other 3 pools and jacuzzi were more than enough. Especially the pool with the swim-up bar, we were frequent visitors there. Don't even get me started on the 2 for 1 happy hour or fish tacos, it is basically heaven on earth. Lastly, the views of the Pacific ocean are so beautiful and it's RIGHT there. Sure you can't swim in it, but it makes for a beautiful sunset and it doesn't hurt to sink your toes into the warm Mexican sand. The only downside at the resort is that wi-fi was spotty in some areas but it was easy to find out where it was strongest (the lobby, by the pool). For $14 a day, I wish it were just a little bit better in building F. Also, cabs were rather expensive too and from Playa Grande (as they are ALL over Cabo) but walking is a possibility, but difficult with the high 90s heat in August with the hilly entrance into the resort. Just a thought. We did taxis more often than not. But overall, I would book there again and again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fish tacos from the hotel swim up bar... JUST TRUST ME.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BlessedPrettyWoman
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 4, 2014

SPECTACULAR!

My husband and I were long overdue for a vacation. I found this resort and it was like Royalty! This Resort is beyond beautiful. As soon as we unloaded from the shuttle ride, we were greeted by hotel staff who provided us with their undivided attention. We checked in and the hotel attendant escorted us to our room and explained everything in detail. Our suite was like an upscale condo. Beautiful pool and ocean view from the balcony. Everyone was so nice and very helpful. It is extremely safe, no worries, just enjoyment. Be prepared to encounter several pitches on a daily basis but their not pushy, respectfully decline. Countless expeditions for a full Cabo experience. I love Cabo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

I added activities to do on our trip at the same time I booked my trip. It was a bit of a hassle trying to find out who the company was. Wait until you get to Cabo and buy an expedition from someone at the marina, its less expensive!

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Martin Dad
Business
L.A California.
Jul 27, 2014

Cabo Vacation

Bad reviewes because we did not stay at this hotel. They ended up moving us to their sister hotel down the street. Check in was a bit stressful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top