$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
120 reviews
Great Experience

We really liked our stay here. Hotel is nicely located close to downtown, nice amenities and good... See full review

  • Matty KD
  • Nov 20, 2014
Playa Grande is an absolute dream!

From the moment you walk in, the grandeur of Playa Grande speaks for itself. A beautiful lobby with... See full review

  • E Casillas Cabo lover
  • Aug 21, 2014
Cabo San Lucas hotel tempts active travelers, spa goers
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointedincabo
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Sep 10, 2011

WE WERE INSULTED BY SALES STAFF MEMBER

A HEAVY MEXICAN WOMAN NAMED ANNA SERIOUSLY INSULTED US AT THE END OF A SALES PROMO TOUR THEN BRAGGED ABOUT HER SALARY. IT WAS UNBELIEVABLE. UP UNTIL THAT POINT WE THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
May 16, 2011

Disappointed

At first I wasn't planning writing a review but then I said…I do read reviews before I book a vacation so why not do it. I was so excite to go to Cabo especially after we have had an amazing experience before at Villa La Estancia few years ago I figured it will be a perfect place to take out twin boys for their first birthday and my husband for his 40th. When we arrived at the resort I loved it. It looked great and from the ride there I was able to say it is situated in the heart of the city. During checking I realized that we were given a room at the Rigde which is apparently the newer and more expensive section at the Playa Grande Resort. Having seen the layout of the resort prior my arrival I immediately requested that we do not want to be at the Ridge no matter how big of a favor they think they are doing for us because I knew how far those rooms are from the main area. However that did not work since all the rooms in our category (two bedroom presidential suites) were occupied. The Ridge was nice but nothing special. Even though we were with two infants we were still given the very last room and farthest room possible. If anyone has small kids you know how many times a day you need to go back to the room for nap or for this or that…well in our case that was impossible to achieve since the room was so far we did not even want to leave the room at all. Once you leave the room you have a very long UP and Down walk to get to the lobby and the main part of the resort…it is beyond exhausting. The view of the room was TERRIBLE. We paid for an ocean view instead we got construction and marina. Bottom line Ridge is not worth the extra $$$ at all and to be honest is not much better and newer than the Playa Grande. Two days later after chasing the resort manager somehow we were transferred to the Ridge. The room was nice and the view was great. It gets a bit loud at night from all the night activities but it was OK nothing that you can't live through. The room was immediately next to the pools and the restaurants so it was 100 times easier with the kids than the previous room. The hotel staff on a scale 1 to 10 maybe 3 on a good day. The personal at the restaurants were very nice and friendly. However the people at the front desk were not so good. When we were given the new room they mentioned 100 times how they are doing us a very special favor and they will do it for free and the entire time I kept of reminding them that what I got is exactly what I booked and paid for nothing more. When I asked for compensation for the first two nights they disappeared from the face of the earth. There was no sorry or anything like that. G-D forbids if they have given us a free drink or even a bottle of water…anyway. BIG HINT: For those people who go on vacation but are still willing to dedicate few hours to work pay attention to the internet which is $13.50 a day and it works only by the pool and one device at the time (so you go figure it out).THE MOST IMPORTANTTIPS at the hotel: When we booked the package [...] we pre-paid an amount approximately 10% of the total hotel portion which was supposed to be given to the hotel so when you arrive you do not have any additional expenses to pay (beside for the un functional internet) and it is suppose to take care for the 10% tips. OMG when we got to the hotel no one had any idea about it so basically we had to tip everyone for everything and even when we did not give tip they were practically standing in front of you until you do give them tip and if you still do not do it they would just ask for it point blank. OVER ALL PLAYA GRANDE WAS NICE RESORT BUT THE STAFF AND THEIR UN PROFFESIONAL ATTITUDE MADE US WISH WE NEVER WENT THERE AND SIMPLY TELL EVERYONE THAT FOR THE SAME MONEY MAYBE LESS THERE ARE SOME MANY NICER PLACES IN CABO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take a short 10-15 minutes nice walk around the marina you can find so many local and tourist bars and restaurants with very good food for a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bad Pete
Business
Tri Cities, WA
Nov 28, 2011

a never ending series of disappointments

What was billed as An Ocean View room was the farthest thing from it. Room 2021 is just steps away from the laundry room, if that gives you any idea. Bottom floor, looking out at the backside of the restaurant, as far from the ocean as is possible. However, we were disappointed before we ever saw our room as the check in procedure took over a half hour and every single person that was being "helped" in front of us was having a problem. Overcharged on room service, locks not fitting in the safe, timeshare shiller offering services not covered, etc, etc. Easily one of our top 3 worst hotel experiences. We will never be back. When we left there to check into our unit at the Finisterra it was like the angels were singing and we were welcomed back to Shangri La. And the Finisterra is a much older, less cared for resort, but with much greater customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy timeshares on the resale market, NEVER at the resort. I have done both and ALWAYS regretted the purchases at the resort.......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
family from CA
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 27, 2012

almost no internet access

we booked an ocean view suite but the guy at frond desk tried to assign us a cheaper room with little view. no cable or dsl connection. wifi is extremely slow and unstable. you get usd12 charge per day for that broken service. blankets were worn out. soap and shampoo were in very low quality. but the room is spacy. valet park service was bad, nobody answer phone call from room. you have to go to the lobby find somebody to pull your car there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tejas
Dec 19, 2010

Ocean view my grass...

My reservation was for a "Deluxe Junior Suite w/ Ocean View" - as I'm sure you have inferred already, the ocean was nowhere in sight... all we could see was the swimming pool and palm trees. I called the front desk and was informed that there was "nothing we can do, since there is no availability". The manager told me that ocean view rooms should be opening up the following day and they would call to move my room. The next day... no call, no room change - I was once again told that they did not have any ocean views available (what is the point of a reservation). Not to harp anymore, but the resolution was to upgrade me to a master suite for a 50% discount - why this wasn't complimentary, I will never now. In recap - bad customer service, bad management - Finisterra would be a better choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winter get away
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Okay

Resort was clean, staff friendly, but the food was mediocre at best and horribly over priced. If you have "resort credit" make sure you read the fine print very closely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Meals down at the bay are reasonable, and all that we had was very good. Just make sure if they tell you "two for one" drinks, that your bill actually reflects that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KCinLG
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Nov 19, 2013

Not what I expected at all...........

I’ve had the luxury of staying at Me Cabo and Casa Dorada (sister companies) so I have to give this place three stars. Don’t get me wrong, it’s awesome if you’ve never been to Cabo, but you can do way better for just a tad bit more money. Pros: -Music at pool is better (just good ol 80’s, 90’s and top 40’s) -Gym is great, if you care to workout but it’s not free like the other places I’ve stayed at ($10 a day). -I read about internet issues but I didn’t experience much. I got kicked out every now and then but that goes with any location I think. Internet cannot be perfect serving that many people. Cons: -At the far end of the marina so even though the walks are nice overlooking the water and shops, to get to our favorite restaurants it was a 35-/+ walk. -Concierge isn’t that nice unless you are looking to buy a time share. -Happy hour is just 2-4pm at the pool. At other places, I’ve seen them break it up from 11am-12pm and then 2-3pm. -Drinks at pool are not that great. Quality of food (which is not included in happy hour like other resorts) are not great and very pricy. The shrimp in the ceviche tastes precooked and then mixed in with final ingredients. A good ceviche should be tender, cooked by the acids of the lime. -Room and lobby smell sorta funky. Doesn’t bother me but I was forwarned and I do smell it. Perhaps a travel candle will take care of that. -Bar at lobby is closed at 11pm.  -I was able to grab a lounge chair for me and three others but it gets crowded fairly quickly. -The pool area gets lively with all sorts of activities. Ok if you like that stuff but I just need the sun and my book, so all the yelling and screaming was a turn off. Overall this resort was ok. I would only return if I absolutely could not get a cheaper rate at the other places I’ve stayed before but for a little more, just get the luxury elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Edith's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cabo my second home
Business
vancouver bc
Feb 24, 2014

rated higher thsn it is worth

I stayed fot one night as it was revommended. Very busy caotic entrance amd appeared lined with time share/membership desks. Room was not ready at checkin amd no area to rest so i went to yhe pool. Looks awsiting service, no activities, food ok but very expensive everywhere! Room was attractive but coild tell thst it was rushed yo vlean and smelled of urine. Fans very loud. Staff was very nice and generally help. Located close to the marina but a lng walk to the nightlife amd good restaurants. Beach ok but unsightly undeveloped dpave to the sife of the hotel. Rated as a 4 star hotel but altogether adds up to 3.5 to us. Can get a better deal easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scuba traveller
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Feb 3, 2010

Luxury room but easy to hear neighbors..

I was VERY surprised to be able to hear the people in the next room whilst they used their microwave, talked and even heard their forks scraping on their plates. Could also hear all movements from folks above. The rooms are beautiful but make sure you are on the pacific ocean side - not on the side overlooking the Cabo marina - as super noisy from that as well (cars, buses, construction). I did not use any of the pool or other facilities so cannot comment on those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Provo, Ut
Aug 28, 2009

Long walk to anywhere, Timeshare??

The Location is terrible. Its also on the Pacific Side, so no ocean swimming

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top