$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
128 reviews
10 Yr Anniv. Trip

We went Dec 2014 and it was wonderful! The hotel was beautiful and the location could not be any... See full review

  • Ana C.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Relaxing fishing & beach vacation

Very well maintained premises, recovered from the September hurricane, walking distance to the... See full review

  • Gary B.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Cabo San Lucas hotel tempts active travelers, spa goers
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eau Claire, WI
Dec 16, 2010

Unbeatable the rooms were excellent.

The Playa was excellent for evrything except dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BAJA CANTINA cooked our fish and it was excellent. NO WORRY had a very good BIG BURRO (beef or chicken) for lunch, we were there several times. We had fish done at the GALLEON it was very poor and the most expensive. We heard they were good for Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, alaska
Dec 2, 2010

Fantastic place! Really enjoyed our stay

The staff is very friendly and outgoing! Treated like Kings and Queens! And treated us to an upgrade on our room, Absoluy over the top! See you next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Our favorite is the Happy Ending!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vehicle wrapper
Business
seattle
Nov 10, 2010

Fun in the sun

Beautiful rooms and great beach location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fourtrax
Business
granite city, illinois
Oct 17, 2010

a little disapointed

We have stayed at a few resorts throughout Mexico and have been to Cabo San Lucas twice. The resort was awesome very pretty, the down side is when we got there we really didn't have a view of the ocean. The only way you are going to get a good view is from one of the upper floors. Also had difficulities with waiter by the pool he had no problem asking or complaining about the tips. However I won't punish the whole resort for one idiot the rest of the staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would recomend however if you want to look at the ocean make sure you are not on the 1st or second floor eventhough your reservations state balcony ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM.
Oct 5, 2010

What a phenomenal place!!!!

We arrived to a dream location upon entering the grounds of The Playa Grand Resort and Spa. We were in awe of the location, the amazing architecture, and the fabulous decor. We were greeted by a wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. It was an absolutely memorable trip set in the perfect location with all the finest ammenities and we could not have asked for more...Truely amazing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a less expensive alternative to the hotel's resteraunts and bars we discovered a few places along the pier that we became regulars at. Our favorite was Salomons Landing located on the NW corner of the marina. We enjoyed $1.50 Negro Modelos and $3.00 delicious appetizers and a friendly, clean place to sit and watch the boats in the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Celebrater
Business
San Mateo, CA
Sep 30, 2010

Great location, courteous staff, A+

This was my first time in Cabo and hoped everything I read about the Playa Grande and the pictures lived up to expectations. My expectations were met and exceeded. The pool area was spacious and it was nice to have an adults only pool. The staff from door greeters, restaurant staff, housekeeing, front desk, etc, were all extremely friendly and genuinely helpful. I was afraid of time share pitches and one or two came my way but I was able to easily and politely decline and move on. The location in proximity to the Marina and downtown was ideal. I will definately return to Cabo San Lucas and I had such a wonderful stay that Playa Grande has me as a loyal customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short taxi ride or a bit of a longer walk, don't miss Mi Casa and Pancho's restaurants for authentic Mexican in a fun and festive atmosphere. Don't waste your time at Cabo Wabo. The food was fine but nothing special and the wait staff wasn't very friendly or welcoming.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Richards
Business
Pasadena, TX.
Aug 25, 2010

What a wonderful place

What a wonderful place to pick for our first trip to Cabo San Lucas, Playa Grande resort & Spa. They were very professional with lots of smiles. Everone was helpful and nice. made us feel very special. It's a time share facility. Only once when we arrived,were we asked if we were interested in time share.We were never asked after that.Our room was awesome and of coarse we think we had the best view. Housekeeping was great.It was just as fun coming back to our nice clean room & never knowing what cute dish towel animal shape she would leave us that day.And if you like fishing like us, the resort is right next to the marina. The beach is great but NO swimming. But that's just fine, lots of great pools. I would go back in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Aug 22, 2010

Cabo - The Great Escape!

The hotel and its staff were excellent and the view from our room was breathtaking. The rooms were spotless and their staff was friendly and accommodating. We are definitely going back to Cabo and returning to Playa Grande Resort and SPA. P.S. Great fishing! Caught our limit of Dorado (Maji Maji) in the first two hours - they cooked it for us right on the beach - it was AWESOME!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to all shopping, dining, nightlife....try the SandBar on the beach - talk to [...] - he will hook you up to fishing, waverunners, parasailing, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Beautiful hotel

The only thing I didn't like was that the hotel didn't honor the $200.00 voucher they were offering at the time of my trip, because the person that booked my reservation didn't wrote it in the e-mail, or in the confirmation of the reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can ride the public buses for about 75 cents one way, any where you want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, CA
Aug 17, 2010

A Resort of Perfect Proportions

This beautiful resort gave us more than we could have ever dreamed of on our week stay in Cabo. The world class spa provides excellent and lavish service and the several different pools provided a nice variety for lounging. While the drinks were excellent and the bartenders and the swim-up bars were very friendly, the food and service in the restaurants at the resort were definitely lacking. My friend and I waiting for an hour for a sandwich and salad, both of which turned out to be horrendous tasting. I would definitely recommend eating outside of the resort, as many wonderful restaurants are located less than a two minute walk away. The location of Playa Grande is unbeatable. Located right on the point between the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez, the views could not be more spectacular (definitely visit the Infinity Pool for optimal vista viewing). The staff was so helpful and friendly and even encouraged us to speak in Spanish. They gave us a great recommendation for Parasailing as well. While I wouldn't go back for the overpriced food (don't get the all-inclusive package) I would most definitely return to Playa Grande for its impeccable service, beautiful atmosphere, world-class spa, and perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Things in Cabo San Lucas don't really get started until 12:30 or 1:00. Many tourists aren't aware and believe that the town has no nightlife, when in fact it has an excellent one. The most popular clubs for tourists are El Squid Roe, Mandala, and Pink Kitty, but if you care to stray off the beaten path places like Love Shack, Happy Ending, and Baja Junkie are great places to get cheap drinks before heading to the hot locations. Also be sure to check for specials, like ladies night. Cheap drinks can also be found in open air bars located all over town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top