$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
View map of Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surf Steve
Business
Puyallup, WA
Jun 2, 2011

Not All Inclusive

I searched my vacation on orbits, limiting to "all inclusive" hotels. The Playa Grande is listed as an all inclusive, but we learned after we got there that we had not actually booked an all inclusive package, the extra cost was $105 per person per day for that option. This was not clear on the orbits description. Be careful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern Cali traveler
Business
Encino, CA
May 30, 2011

Delivered as advertised

Went for my one year anniversary trip (wife and I are in our early 30s) at the end of May 2011. Selected Playa Grande as it was close to the marina and downtown. Loved the location - the marina was about a 7 minute walk from the hotel (albeit involving a hill). Cutting through the marina, the rest of the city is about a 25 minute walk. The room (junior suite) was roomy and clean. Kitchenette had a fully functioning fridge/freezer, toaster, microwave, blender, coffee maker, stove top, pots/pans, silverware, tupperware and we cooked breakfast every morning. Air conditioner was OK, although a bit noisy. Bathroom was clean; lots of hot water and great water pressure. Bed was quite firm - the hotel states it's replacing all the beds and I wasn't sure if I got a new one or old one. I'd say it was a very strong 3 star hotel, or perhaps a shaky 4 star hotel. Knowing the subjective nature of the star system, I was quite satisfied with the room as it was advertised. Adjoined pools were clean. The pools have extremely shallow areas and are very kid friendly. There is a smaller adult-only pool. Was always able to get a seat although 25% of them didn't have a backing that would fold down and another 25% of the chairs didn't have umbrellas. Wasn't hard to flag down a waiter for drinks/food. Package included $120 of bar drinks, not including tax and tip -- this translates to around $3.50 (US dollars) per "free" drink. They have 2-for-1 deals every afternoon so it's still cheap to drink, just know that they aren't completely "free." Had minimal timeshare pressure. Also, book your transportation from the airport prior to your trip. Pay close attention to the instructions on finding your transport; cab drivers will pretend to be from any company and try to take your voucher and then charge you. Not a problem as long as you know ahead of time to be on guard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to know the bus system as it costs $8 (US dollars) to take a cab downtown, and it costs 70 cents to take the bus. The bus stops about 200 yards from the Playa Grande; the stop is "Muelle." The downtown stop is "Puerta Paraiso." Once you know those stops, you're set.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
May 16, 2011

Disappointed

At first I wasn't planning writing a review but then I said…I do read reviews before I book a vacation so why not do it. I was so excite to go to Cabo especially after we have had an amazing experience before at Villa La Estancia few years ago I figured it will be a perfect place to take out twin boys for their first birthday and my husband for his 40th. When we arrived at the resort I loved it. It looked great and from the ride there I was able to say it is situated in the heart of the city. During checking I realized that we were given a room at the Rigde which is apparently the newer and more expensive section at the Playa Grande Resort. Having seen the layout of the resort prior my arrival I immediately requested that we do not want to be at the Ridge no matter how big of a favor they think they are doing for us because I knew how far those rooms are from the main area. However that did not work since all the rooms in our category (two bedroom presidential suites) were occupied. The Ridge was nice but nothing special. Even though we were with two infants we were still given the very last room and farthest room possible. If anyone has small kids you know how many times a day you need to go back to the room for nap or for this or that…well in our case that was impossible to achieve since the room was so far we did not even want to leave the room at all. Once you leave the room you have a very long UP and Down walk to get to the lobby and the main part of the resort…it is beyond exhausting. The view of the room was TERRIBLE. We paid for an ocean view instead we got construction and marina. Bottom line Ridge is not worth the extra $$$ at all and to be honest is not much better and newer than the Playa Grande. Two days later after chasing the resort manager somehow we were transferred to the Ridge. The room was nice and the view was great. It gets a bit loud at night from all the night activities but it was OK nothing that you can't live through. The room was immediately next to the pools and the restaurants so it was 100 times easier with the kids than the previous room. The hotel staff on a scale 1 to 10 maybe 3 on a good day. The personal at the restaurants were very nice and friendly. However the people at the front desk were not so good. When we were given the new room they mentioned 100 times how they are doing us a very special favor and they will do it for free and the entire time I kept of reminding them that what I got is exactly what I booked and paid for nothing more. When I asked for compensation for the first two nights they disappeared from the face of the earth. There was no sorry or anything like that. G-D forbids if they have given us a free drink or even a bottle of water…anyway. BIG HINT: For those people who go on vacation but are still willing to dedicate few hours to work pay attention to the internet which is $13.50 a day and it works only by the pool and one device at the time (so you go figure it out).THE MOST IMPORTANTTIPS at the hotel: When we booked the package [...] we pre-paid an amount approximately 10% of the total hotel portion which was supposed to be given to the hotel so when you arrive you do not have any additional expenses to pay (beside for the un functional internet) and it is suppose to take care for the 10% tips. OMG when we got to the hotel no one had any idea about it so basically we had to tip everyone for everything and even when we did not give tip they were practically standing in front of you until you do give them tip and if you still do not do it they would just ask for it point blank. OVER ALL PLAYA GRANDE WAS NICE RESORT BUT THE STAFF AND THEIR UN PROFFESIONAL ATTITUDE MADE US WISH WE NEVER WENT THERE AND SIMPLY TELL EVERYONE THAT FOR THE SAME MONEY MAYBE LESS THERE ARE SOME MANY NICER PLACES IN CABO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take a short 10-15 minutes nice walk around the marina you can find so many local and tourist bars and restaurants with very good food for a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Great get away

From Playa Grande, it was easy to walk to the town for water activities and night life activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
upper midwest
Apr 12, 2011

Location,Location,Location

We stayed at Playa Grande for 5 days following a timeshare week at another gorgeous resort in Cabo san Lucas. We liked the fact that we could walk to town from the resort but it would have been a much shorter walk if the gate closest to the marina was not locked. Our one bedroom, two bathroom unit was quite spacious and we were lucky to have a unit almost at the end of the horseshoe shaped complex with an ocean view. Most people know that you cannot swim in the ocean on the Pacific side (where this resort is) because of the undertow. But the up-side is that it is not full of vendors and beach activities, just walkers and people looking for whales or fishing boats. Very relaxing and beautiful beach area. If you like to swim there are beautiful pools on the property and plenty of chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 24, 2011

AAAAMAZING

I went to Cabo with one of my friends for spring break and was OBSESSED with Playa Grande! The hotel's location is great and is a quick 10 minute walk into town. The rooms are incredible and the activities were so much fun! It's nice to be a part of the spring break scene and be able to take a quick taxi or walk to the beach but also be able to relax by the pool in a more low key environment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Mar 20, 2011

Ridge review

Upgraded to the ridge upon arrival, best thing was location to Marina, room is nice but view of the street was not my idea of upgrade. Rooms have fully stocked kitchens. We were disappointed with the food this year - loved it last year, this year very greasy. Beds and linens have been upgraded and are much better. House tequilla at the pool is disgusting - please get decent house tequilla!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Maricosa Matzlan was an excellent place for seafood dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KC, MO
Mar 17, 2011

Amazing Resort

Everything as absolute goregous. The staff was really nice, food amazing, pools and views wonderful. Had a great time, would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 24, 2011

Beautiful but VERY overpriced!

The hotel, rooms and view were very nice. NOBODY ate at the restaruants due to the EXTREMELY high prices! Eating in Cabo was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to town to eat...dont eat in the Solmar's overpriced restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Feb 21, 2011

Great Rooms!

This is a great location because it has very nice rooms (they gave me the same room I had last year) and is walking distance to the marina. It is full of time-share owners, so there are a lot of retired couples. Another plus is the private strip of beach, so no vendors. The food and drinks are not of the same quality as the facilities. The staff, however, is excellent and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top