$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
118 reviews
Playa Grande is an absolute dream!

From the moment you walk in, the grandeur of Playa Grande speaks for itself. A beautiful lobby with... See full review

  • E Casillas Cabo lover
  • Aug 21, 2014
completely satisfied

Great service, excellent response to any questions or issues, hospitality was awesome, safe, and... See full review

  • Jenniy
  • Jun 28, 2014
Cabo San Lucas hotel tempts active travelers, spa goers
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering

Hotel Map

22.8762 -109.9036
Area served
Cabo San Lucas.
Nearby airports
Los Cabos International Airport (SJD).
Area description
Playa Grande Resort is located in Cabo San Lucas close to the beach, tourist attractions, restaurants and entertainment district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cabo
California
Dec 7, 2011

Playa Grande Resorts and Spa

It was a beautiful hotel. We had a wonderful time at this place. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cabo San Lucas
Jun 27, 2011

Nickel and Dimed

The first day we arrived we were placed into a room that was on the first floor when we specifically purchased an ocean view room. Instead we got a view of the pool hut. We asked to change rooms and they then placed us on the forth floor with an ocean view. Then the phone stops working in our room, we were then notified that the phones in the whole facility were down. For the next two days we had to walk all of our request down to the front desk (a whole 5 min walk from our room). We then had to purchase our internet for around 12 dollars for every 24 hrs and only 1 device at a time could be used (if you signed out incorrectly, your internet was disabled and at that time the phone wasnt working and thus we had to walk down to the front desk to get the problem resolved again) This is really what it breaks down to Pros: Good location for families Pretty close to the marina where everything is happening It is quiet and safe (lots of security walking around) Rooms were pretty big; at least for the studio Closer than Westin or Rui to the marina where everything is taking place Cons: Nickel and dimed you for internet A huge hill to climb to get from the marina to your hotel Staff could be more friendly (however the waiters at the restaurants were very nice) They never cleaned the floor of our room (but they did clean everything else) Amenities broke down often In the end: I would give this place a 3 out of 5 only because I didnt feel very comfortable during my stay and felt that I was running back and front from my room to the front desk to get my request met. However I do understand it was because their phone was down. Places/Things I might recommend: Get your money exchanged at the bank and not at the airport: banks :$1=12+ peso Hotel: 11 peso, Food places: 11/11.5 peso, Airport: 9 peso (Then again everywhere takes U.S dollars) The roach coaches across the street when you exit Playa Grande - they look sketchy but taste great - and the prices are WAY lower Squid Roe - for partying and late nights, great food, friendly staff, i see a lot of families there, kinda funny, lots of things going on (open late till 4am) YAY! I would have to give it 5 out of 5 others include Baja Junkies=3/5 Cabo Wabo=3.5/5 Mandallas =3/5 Mama's Cafe + felix's = same restaurant but name changes from breakfast to lunch/dinner Cafe Canela- good breakfast, plates around 59 peso = 4/5 USD Mocambos - Very Very fresh seafood, great service - Got to try the fish fallet with green sauce Billygans, Mango Deck by Nikki beach - This is where you should be during the day Lovers Beach/ Arcos - where the famous arch is Downtown- it was pretty safe in the day and theres info booths everywhere (definitely helpful) Things I'd probably wouldn't do: Snorkeling - water is no where as clear as hawaii or cancun Going to see the dolphin show- save that for sea world or florida Buy products from children who are selling them on the street Get smashed and fall into the marina - water looks sketchy I could go on and on into the details but you can probably pick up a lonely planet book / Foders or just check out trip advsr for the rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Places/Things I might recommend: Get your money exchanged at the bank and not at the airport: banks :$1=12+ peso Hotel: 11 peso, Food places: 11/11.5 peso, Airport: 9 peso (Then again everywhere takes U.S dollars) The roach coaches across the street when you exit Playa Grande - they look sketchy but taste great - and the prices are WAY lower Squid Roe - for partying and late nights, great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Webbjo
Business
New Mexico
Jun 24, 2011

Amazing Location, superb facility, staff

I took my father fishing for Father's Day; the hotel was superb, with very comfortable beds and well stocked amenities - the kitchen was very complete and the staff absolutely delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Marina, most of the local shopping and nightlife was a modest walk away from the hotel - or a very short cab ride, most of which where under $8. Nonetheless Cabo trends toward being more expensive than you would expect. ATMs will hit you for some pricey fees, be cautious how frequently you withdraw money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs.Falafel
Business
Morgan Hill, CA
Jun 16, 2011

Everything I wanted

This hotel is so beautiful! I loved every minute here. We traveled with my son who is 2 years old and it was very family oriented. Super fun for singles as well. I think that the hotel is much prettier in person. We stayed in a luxury suite with ocean view. when we checked in, they put us in a suite that did not have an ocean view...well maybe if you leaned to the left and squinted your right eye. I told the front desk that I wasn't happy with the ocean view and they gladly accomodated us and put us on the ground level which was the best room in the house. The only negatives were you can't see the arch from this hotel and the beach in front of hotel is too dangerous to swim or get near. the current is too strong. The food was excellent and the service was great, the place was super clean and sosososo pretty. I will come back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Overland Park, KS
Jun 15, 2011

Great Cabo Getaway

Convenient location to town, yet secluded with a private beach. Many pools to choose from, plus an friendly staff made our stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the hotel was great, plus they have several restaurant associations in town that were also excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
me myself an i
Business
san jose, ca
Jun 7, 2011

Good for price

Rooms were big but service was slow. Checking in the front desk was slow as was room service since they don't pick up the phone unless you call the operator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surf Steve
Business
Puyallup, WA
Jun 2, 2011

Not All Inclusive

I searched my vacation on orbits, limiting to "all inclusive" hotels. The Playa Grande is listed as an all inclusive, but we learned after we got there that we had not actually booked an all inclusive package, the extra cost was $105 per person per day for that option. This was not clear on the orbits description. Be careful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern Cali traveler
Business
Encino, CA
May 30, 2011

Delivered as advertised

Went for my one year anniversary trip (wife and I are in our early 30s) at the end of May 2011. Selected Playa Grande as it was close to the marina and downtown. Loved the location - the marina was about a 7 minute walk from the hotel (albeit involving a hill). Cutting through the marina, the rest of the city is about a 25 minute walk. The room (junior suite) was roomy and clean. Kitchenette had a fully functioning fridge/freezer, toaster, microwave, blender, coffee maker, stove top, pots/pans, silverware, tupperware and we cooked breakfast every morning. Air conditioner was OK, although a bit noisy. Bathroom was clean; lots of hot water and great water pressure. Bed was quite firm - the hotel states it's replacing all the beds and I wasn't sure if I got a new one or old one. I'd say it was a very strong 3 star hotel, or perhaps a shaky 4 star hotel. Knowing the subjective nature of the star system, I was quite satisfied with the room as it was advertised. Adjoined pools were clean. The pools have extremely shallow areas and are very kid friendly. There is a smaller adult-only pool. Was always able to get a seat although 25% of them didn't have a backing that would fold down and another 25% of the chairs didn't have umbrellas. Wasn't hard to flag down a waiter for drinks/food. Package included $120 of bar drinks, not including tax and tip -- this translates to around $3.50 (US dollars) per "free" drink. They have 2-for-1 deals every afternoon so it's still cheap to drink, just know that they aren't completely "free." Had minimal timeshare pressure. Also, book your transportation from the airport prior to your trip. Pay close attention to the instructions on finding your transport; cab drivers will pretend to be from any company and try to take your voucher and then charge you. Not a problem as long as you know ahead of time to be on guard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to know the bus system as it costs $8 (US dollars) to take a cab downtown, and it costs 70 cents to take the bus. The bus stops about 200 yards from the Playa Grande; the stop is "Muelle." The downtown stop is "Puerta Paraiso." Once you know those stops, you're set.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
May 16, 2011

Disappointed

At first I wasn't planning writing a review but then I said…I do read reviews before I book a vacation so why not do it. I was so excite to go to Cabo especially after we have had an amazing experience before at Villa La Estancia few years ago I figured it will be a perfect place to take out twin boys for their first birthday and my husband for his 40th. When we arrived at the resort I loved it. It looked great and from the ride there I was able to say it is situated in the heart of the city. During checking I realized that we were given a room at the Rigde which is apparently the newer and more expensive section at the Playa Grande Resort. Having seen the layout of the resort prior my arrival I immediately requested that we do not want to be at the Ridge no matter how big of a favor they think they are doing for us because I knew how far those rooms are from the main area. However that did not work since all the rooms in our category (two bedroom presidential suites) were occupied. The Ridge was nice but nothing special. Even though we were with two infants we were still given the very last room and farthest room possible. If anyone has small kids you know how many times a day you need to go back to the room for nap or for this or that…well in our case that was impossible to achieve since the room was so far we did not even want to leave the room at all. Once you leave the room you have a very long UP and Down walk to get to the lobby and the main part of the resort…it is beyond exhausting. The view of the room was TERRIBLE. We paid for an ocean view instead we got construction and marina. Bottom line Ridge is not worth the extra $$$ at all and to be honest is not much better and newer than the Playa Grande. Two days later after chasing the resort manager somehow we were transferred to the Ridge. The room was nice and the view was great. It gets a bit loud at night from all the night activities but it was OK nothing that you can't live through. The room was immediately next to the pools and the restaurants so it was 100 times easier with the kids than the previous room. The hotel staff on a scale 1 to 10 maybe 3 on a good day. The personal at the restaurants were very nice and friendly. However the people at the front desk were not so good. When we were given the new room they mentioned 100 times how they are doing us a very special favor and they will do it for free and the entire time I kept of reminding them that what I got is exactly what I booked and paid for nothing more. When I asked for compensation for the first two nights they disappeared from the face of the earth. There was no sorry or anything like that. G-D forbids if they have given us a free drink or even a bottle of water…anyway. BIG HINT: For those people who go on vacation but are still willing to dedicate few hours to work pay attention to the internet which is $13.50 a day and it works only by the pool and one device at the time (so you go figure it out).THE MOST IMPORTANTTIPS at the hotel: When we booked the package [...] we pre-paid an amount approximately 10% of the total hotel portion which was supposed to be given to the hotel so when you arrive you do not have any additional expenses to pay (beside for the un functional internet) and it is suppose to take care for the 10% tips. OMG when we got to the hotel no one had any idea about it so basically we had to tip everyone for everything and even when we did not give tip they were practically standing in front of you until you do give them tip and if you still do not do it they would just ask for it point blank. OVER ALL PLAYA GRANDE WAS NICE RESORT BUT THE STAFF AND THEIR UN PROFFESIONAL ATTITUDE MADE US WISH WE NEVER WENT THERE AND SIMPLY TELL EVERYONE THAT FOR THE SAME MONEY MAYBE LESS THERE ARE SOME MANY NICER PLACES IN CABO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take a short 10-15 minutes nice walk around the marina you can find so many local and tourist bars and restaurants with very good food for a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Great get away

From Playa Grande, it was easy to walk to the town for water activities and night life activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
upper midwest
Apr 12, 2011

Location,Location,Location

We stayed at Playa Grande for 5 days following a timeshare week at another gorgeous resort in Cabo san Lucas. We liked the fact that we could walk to town from the resort but it would have been a much shorter walk if the gate closest to the marina was not locked. Our one bedroom, two bathroom unit was quite spacious and we were lucky to have a unit almost at the end of the horseshoe shaped complex with an ocean view. Most people know that you cannot swim in the ocean on the Pacific side (where this resort is) because of the undertow. But the up-side is that it is not full of vendors and beach activities, just walkers and people looking for whales or fishing boats. Very relaxing and beautiful beach area. If you like to swim there are beautiful pools on the property and plenty of chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top