$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
View map of Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Travler SF
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Loved this Hotel

I stayed at many hotels across the world! The Playa Grande was one of the best! There wasn't any hustlers in front of the hotel or the beach. Was in minutes to everythings. Staff, room, and services were great. I did't feel like the staff had there hand out every second for tips. I Ioved this hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else but Playa Grande in Los Cabos..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Time Share Presentation and get the free stuff, but dont buy the time Share it's not worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winter get away
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Okay

Resort was clean, staff friendly, but the food was mediocre at best and horribly over priced. If you have "resort credit" make sure you read the fine print very closely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Meals down at the bay are reasonable, and all that we had was very good. Just make sure if they tell you "two for one" drinks, that your bill actually reflects that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cabo
Business
California
Dec 7, 2011

Playa Grande Resorts and Spa

It was a beautiful hotel. We had a wonderful time at this place. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bad Pete
Business
Tri Cities, WA
Nov 28, 2011

a never ending series of disappointments

What was billed as An Ocean View room was the farthest thing from it. Room 2021 is just steps away from the laundry room, if that gives you any idea. Bottom floor, looking out at the backside of the restaurant, as far from the ocean as is possible. However, we were disappointed before we ever saw our room as the check in procedure took over a half hour and every single person that was being "helped" in front of us was having a problem. Overcharged on room service, locks not fitting in the safe, timeshare shiller offering services not covered, etc, etc. Easily one of our top 3 worst hotel experiences. We will never be back. When we left there to check into our unit at the Finisterra it was like the angels were singing and we were welcomed back to Shangri La. And the Finisterra is a much older, less cared for resort, but with much greater customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy timeshares on the resale market, NEVER at the resort. I have done both and ALWAYS regretted the purchases at the resort.......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
steve wave
Business
saint pete fla
Nov 11, 2011

nice place

great location, very clean ,aviod timeshare talk say it takes 90 min. but realy they keep you 1/2 day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

ask about shortcut to the street saves time. also if you like to fish it is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointedincabo
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Sep 10, 2011

WE WERE INSULTED BY SALES STAFF MEMBER

A HEAVY MEXICAN WOMAN NAMED ANNA SERIOUSLY INSULTED US AT THE END OF A SALES PROMO TOUR THEN BRAGGED ABOUT HER SALARY. IT WAS UNBELIEVABLE. UP UNTIL THAT POINT WE THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troy H
Business
Campbell, CA
Sep 3, 2011

Playa Grande

Very Good. The staff was very freindly, the hotel was beautiful and very clean. I have nothing bad to say about this resort. The food was average but tasty. The non alcoholic drinks were a bit expensive in my opinon. I think the extra cost to go all inclusive would be well worth it. I will definately return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Finally Got Away
Business
Temecula, CA
Sep 3, 2011

I LOVE CABO!

Overall we had a WONDERFUL time in Cabo. The Playa Grande was very nice although be careful with the staff. I booked a very nice room with an ocean view. Asked the guy at the desk who was the manager if this room was nice...he said oh yes very nice. Then they offered us to go to the desk and get a "Free Gift" which was the lady who wanted us to go to the timeshare breakfast...we said sure becuase she wasnt going to take no for an answer and i was tired. So finally got to our room on the first floor with a few of the wall???? Lets say I paided quite a bit more for a ocean view room....when I called front desk they said sorry we have no more rooms...but we will look...waited 5 mins for them to tell me "they will see what they can do"....I was very upset as I dont get away very often. Went to the front desk and they really did not want to help me! So I just said find me a room and just looked at them until they found me one! Oh then there was 2 to choose from...what a Cabo miracle!!! I am very easy going but when u are promised something and are treated poorly when upset...shame on them. So finally got a room...went down to the pool....and it was HAPPY HOUR! At a hotel pool? I WAS HAPPY. Went to dinner next to the pool and had best SURF AND TURF EVER! I went to bed happy! And was woken up at 8:00 am because we didnt show up for the Timeshare Breakfast!!!!!! ARE U FREAKIN KIDDING ME???? Then when we were leaving the hotel the lady told us she would set it up for the next morning and when I said NO she basically told me that someone else wanted to go this morning and they couldnt because of me and tired to make me feel bad. I looked at her and said "this is my vacation"...after that I could tell she felt bad and we had the most wonderful 3 days. I actually would stay here again because they have an awesome location......oh and dont forget to check out the infinity pools and whirlpools on the top floors...they wont tell you about it and the views are amazing!!! Have fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnandjan
Business
Whittier, CA
Aug 29, 2011

Playa Grande Is Awesome

The Playa Grande was AWESOME! the place was well run, the staff was attentive and the grounds were perfect. We did the all-inclusive plan for the last three days, and it payed for itself. Cabo is a cool destination, but don't let the fact that its in Mexico fool you. EVERYTHING is expensive. if you're checking bags bring your own sunscreen...it is very costly in Cabo, and they only carry SPF 50 or above or cooking oil. If you have an opportunity to attend one of the resort events, like the beach party or mexican fiesta...do it! they are killer! and if you do the all-inclusive, they're included! And if you're really ready to relax, try the spay...it is world class and the floks there know what they're doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to leave the resort to get some food in town, i recommend Pancho's! the food is great and the staff is attentive, but not pushy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Travler SF
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Loved this Hotel

I stayed at many hotels across the world! The Playa Grande was one of the best! There wasn't any hustlers in front of the hotel or the beach. Was in minutes to everythings. Staff, room, and services were great. I did't feel like the staff had there hand out every second for tips. I Ioved this hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else but Playa Grande in Los Cabos..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Time Share Presentation and get the free stuff, but dont buy the time Share it's not worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T.F.
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Beautiful grounds and views!

This hotel was great! The staff were great, the grounds were beautiful, the rooms were spacious. The only negatives were that the bed and sofa bed were not that comfortable. Also, since the hotel is on the Pacific side, you can't swim in the ocean there. But if you're not an ocean swimmer, then it wouldn't really matter, and there are lots of pools. The views from the rooms were fantastic since all rooms face the pools and have ocean views. I liked that there was a mini mart inside the hotel. The food and drinks were good. I also liked the adult only pool and swim up bar. The location was good too. You could either walk or take a short taxi ride into the town. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top