Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
182 reviews
completely satisfied

Great service, excellent response to any questions or issues, hospitality was awesome, safe, and... See full review

  • Jenniy
  • Jun 28, 2014
Awesome Friends and Family Fiesta

First time in Cabo traveling with family and friends who go often, and we will definitely be back!... See full review

  • Slim Shamus
  • Jun 13, 2014
Cabo San Lucas hotel tempts active travelers, spa goers
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

22.8762 -109.9036
Area served
Cabo San Lucas.
Nearby airports
Los Cabos International Airport (SJD).
Area description
Playa Grande Resort is located in Cabo San Lucas close to the beach, tourist attractions, restaurants and entertainment district.

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miz B Loves Cabo
Portland
Jun 30, 2011

Beautiful place -- with some quirks

It's a beautiful resort, clean and well-maintained. The poolside wait-staff are very attentive, so drinks are plentiful (tho a bit expensive.) A new Activity Director blasted music through much of the day for aerobics and other events, which ruined the relaxing atmosphere. It's a short walk to the marina and town, which is good because restaurant options at the resort are a bit limited. Allow 45 minutes to check-out. And, avoid the time-share people and you'll enjoy your stay much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Try a sunset cruise: it's one of the best ways to see Cabo. And, try Salvatore's for exceptional Italian food!

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikashstelle
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2011

Definitely going back!!

Hotel was beautiful!! walking distance to everything. tons of entertainment. My husband and I went by ourselves, but we will be bringing our daughters (6 and 8) hopefully next year. There are timeshare people in the lobby, we set our minds that we weren't going to any presentations, but they convinced us! we had nothing to lose, we had time, and they give you tons of free stuff for going to an 1hr and half tour. the tour was actually awesome! we saw some amazing views and took many pics. If you visit on a day when they are having the Mexican Fiesta, you should definitely go. It is totally worth it. unlimited food and drinks and tons of fun. we got to meet some great people. we will def be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you do not have all inclusive and want to go out for dinner, go to Tacos Guss, or Las Tres Islas. Very authentic, CHEAP food. small, humble restaurants, but totally worth it!

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pa Bell
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 29, 2011

awesome family getaway

Clean, perfect location, excellent staff. We all loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pa Bell
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 29, 2011

awesome family getaway

Clean, perfect location, excellent staff. We all loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikashstelle
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2011

Definitely going back!!

Hotel was beautiful!! walking distance to everything. tons of entertainment. My husband and I went by ourselves, but we will be bringing our daughters (6 and 8) hopefully next year. There are timeshare people in the lobby, we set our minds that we weren't going to any presentations, but they convinced us! we had nothing to lose, we had time, and they give you tons of free stuff for going to an 1hr and half tour. the tour was actually awesome! we saw some amazing views and took many pics. If you visit on a day when they are having the Mexican Fiesta, you should definitely go. It is totally worth it. unlimited food and drinks and tons of fun. we got to meet some great people. we will def be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you do not have all inclusive and want to go out for dinner, go to Tacos Guss, or Las Tres Islas. Very authentic, CHEAP food. small, humble restaurants, but totally worth it!

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cabo San Lucas
Jun 27, 2011

Nickel and Dimed

The first day we arrived we were placed into a room that was on the first floor when we specifically purchased an ocean view room. Instead we got a view of the pool hut. We asked to change rooms and they then placed us on the forth floor with an ocean view. Then the phone stops working in our room, we were then notified that the phones in the whole facility were down. For the next two days we had to walk all of our request down to the front desk (a whole 5 min walk from our room). We then had to purchase our internet for around 12 dollars for every 24 hrs and only 1 device at a time could be used (if you signed out incorrectly, your internet was disabled and at that time the phone wasnt working and thus we had to walk down to the front desk to get the problem resolved again) This is really what it breaks down to Pros: Good location for families Pretty close to the marina where everything is happening It is quiet and safe (lots of security walking around) Rooms were pretty big; at least for the studio Closer than Westin or Rui to the marina where everything is taking place Cons: Nickel and dimed you for internet A huge hill to climb to get from the marina to your hotel Staff could be more friendly (however the waiters at the restaurants were very nice) They never cleaned the floor of our room (but they did clean everything else) Amenities broke down often In the end: I would give this place a 3 out of 5 only because I didnt feel very comfortable during my stay and felt that I was running back and front from my room to the front desk to get my request met. However I do understand it was because their phone was down. Places/Things I might recommend: Get your money exchanged at the bank and not at the airport: banks :$1=12+ peso Hotel: 11 peso, Food places: 11/11.5 peso, Airport: 9 peso (Then again everywhere takes U.S dollars) The roach coaches across the street when you exit Playa Grande - they look sketchy but taste great - and the prices are WAY lower Squid Roe - for partying and late nights, great food, friendly staff, i see a lot of families there, kinda funny, lots of things going on (open late till 4am) YAY! I would have to give it 5 out of 5 others include Baja Junkies=3/5 Cabo Wabo=3.5/5 Mandallas =3/5 Mama's Cafe + felix's = same restaurant but name changes from breakfast to lunch/dinner Cafe Canela- good breakfast, plates around 59 peso = 4/5 USD Mocambos - Very Very fresh seafood, great service - Got to try the fish fallet with green sauce Billygans, Mango Deck by Nikki beach - This is where you should be during the day Lovers Beach/ Arcos - where the famous arch is Downtown- it was pretty safe in the day and theres info booths everywhere (definitely helpful) Things I'd probably wouldn't do: Snorkeling - water is no where as clear as hawaii or cancun Going to see the dolphin show- save that for sea world or florida Buy products from children who are selling them on the street Get smashed and fall into the marina - water looks sketchy I could go on and on into the details but you can probably pick up a lonely planet book / Foders or just check out trip advsr for the rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Places/Things I might recommend: Get your money exchanged at the bank and not at the airport: banks :$1=12+ peso Hotel: 11 peso, Food places: 11/11.5 peso, Airport: 9 peso (Then again everywhere takes U.S dollars) The roach coaches across the street when you exit Playa Grande - they look sketchy but taste great - and the prices are WAY lower Squid Roe - for partying and late nights, great food

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cabo San Lucas
Jun 27, 2011

Nickel and Dimed

The first day we arrived we were placed into a room that was on the first floor when we specifically purchased an ocean view room. Instead we got a view of the pool hut. We asked to change rooms and they then placed us on the forth floor with an ocean view. Then the phone stops working in our room, we were then notified that the phones in the whole facility were down. For the next two days we had to walk all of our request down to the front desk (a whole 5 min walk from our room). We then had to purchase our internet for around 12 dollars for every 24 hrs and only 1 device at a time could be used (if you signed out incorrectly, your internet was disabled and at that time the phone wasnt working and thus we had to walk down to the front desk to get the problem resolved again) This is really what it breaks down to Pros: Good location for families Pretty close to the marina where everything is happening It is quiet and safe (lots of security walking around) Rooms were pretty big; at least for the studio Closer than Westin or Rui to the marina where everything is taking place Cons: Nickel and dimed you for internet A huge hill to climb to get from the marina to your hotel Staff could be more friendly (however the waiters at the restaurants were very nice) They never cleaned the floor of our room (but they did clean everything else) Amenities broke down often In the end: I would give this place a 3 out of 5 only because I didnt feel very comfortable during my stay and felt that I was running back and front from my room to the front desk to get my request met. However I do understand it was because their phone was down. Places/Things I might recommend: Get your money exchanged at the bank and not at the airport: banks :$1=12+ peso Hotel: 11 peso, Food places: 11/11.5 peso, Airport: 9 peso (Then again everywhere takes U.S dollars) The roach coaches across the street when you exit Playa Grande - they look sketchy but taste great - and the prices are WAY lower Squid Roe - for partying and late nights, great food, friendly staff, i see a lot of families there, kinda funny, lots of things going on (open late till 4am) YAY! I would have to give it 5 out of 5 others include Baja Junkies=3/5 Cabo Wabo=3.5/5 Mandallas =3/5 Mama's Cafe + felix's = same restaurant but name changes from breakfast to lunch/dinner Cafe Canela- good breakfast, plates around 59 peso = 4/5 USD Mocambos - Very Very fresh seafood, great service - Got to try the fish fallet with green sauce Billygans, Mango Deck by Nikki beach - This is where you should be during the day Lovers Beach/ Arcos - where the famous arch is Downtown- it was pretty safe in the day and theres info booths everywhere (definitely helpful) Things I'd probably wouldn't do: Snorkeling - water is no where as clear as hawaii or cancun Going to see the dolphin show- save that for sea world or florida Buy products from children who are selling them on the street Get smashed and fall into the marina - water looks sketchy I could go on and on into the details but you can probably pick up a lonely planet book / Foders or just check out trip advsr for the rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Places/Things I might recommend: Get your money exchanged at the bank and not at the airport: banks :$1=12+ peso Hotel: 11 peso, Food places: 11/11.5 peso, Airport: 9 peso (Then again everywhere takes U.S dollars) The roach coaches across the street when you exit Playa Grande - they look sketchy but taste great - and the prices are WAY lower Squid Roe - for partying and late nights, great food

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Webbjo
New Mexico
Jun 24, 2011

Amazing Location, superb facility, staff

I took my father fishing for Father's Day; the hotel was superb, with very comfortable beds and well stocked amenities - the kitchen was very complete and the staff absolutely delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Marina, most of the local shopping and nightlife was a modest walk away from the hotel - or a very short cab ride, most of which where under $8. Nonetheless Cabo trends toward being more expensive than you would expect. ATMs will hit you for some pricey fees, be cautious how frequently you withdraw money.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Webbjo
New Mexico
Jun 24, 2011

Amazing Location, superb facility, staff

I took my father fishing for Father's Day; the hotel was superb, with very comfortable beds and well stocked amenities - the kitchen was very complete and the staff absolutely delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Marina, most of the local shopping and nightlife was a modest walk away from the hotel - or a very short cab ride, most of which where under $8. Nonetheless Cabo trends toward being more expensive than you would expect. ATMs will hit you for some pricey fees, be cautious how frequently you withdraw money.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs.Falafel
Morgan Hill, CA
Jun 16, 2011

Everything I wanted

This hotel is so beautiful! I loved every minute here. We traveled with my son who is 2 years old and it was very family oriented. Super fun for singles as well. I think that the hotel is much prettier in person. We stayed in a luxury suite with ocean view. when we checked in, they put us in a suite that did not have an ocean view...well maybe if you leaned to the left and squinted your right eye. I told the front desk that I wasn't happy with the ocean view and they gladly accomodated us and put us on the ground level which was the best room in the house. The only negatives were you can't see the arch from this hotel and the beach in front of hotel is too dangerous to swim or get near. the current is too strong. The food was excellent and the service was great, the place was super clean and sosososo pretty. I will come back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top