Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
128 reviews
10 Yr Anniv. Trip

We went Dec 2014 and it was wonderful! The hotel was beautiful and the location could not be any... See full review

  • Ana C.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Relaxing fishing & beach vacation

Very well maintained premises, recovered from the September hurricane, walking distance to the... See full review

  • Gary B.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Cabo San Lucas hotel tempts active travelers, spa goers
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Finally Got Away
Business
Temecula, CA
Sep 3, 2011

I LOVE CABO!

Overall we had a WONDERFUL time in Cabo. The Playa Grande was very nice although be careful with the staff. I booked a very nice room with an ocean view. Asked the guy at the desk who was the manager if this room was nice...he said oh yes very nice. Then they offered us to go to the desk and get a "Free Gift" which was the lady who wanted us to go to the timeshare breakfast...we said sure becuase she wasnt going to take no for an answer and i was tired. So finally got to our room on the first floor with a few of the wall???? Lets say I paided quite a bit more for a ocean view room....when I called front desk they said sorry we have no more rooms...but we will look...waited 5 mins for them to tell me "they will see what they can do"....I was very upset as I dont get away very often. Went to the front desk and they really did not want to help me! So I just said find me a room and just looked at them until they found me one! Oh then there was 2 to choose from...what a Cabo miracle!!! I am very easy going but when u are promised something and are treated poorly when upset...shame on them. So finally got a room...went down to the pool....and it was HAPPY HOUR! At a hotel pool? I WAS HAPPY. Went to dinner next to the pool and had best SURF AND TURF EVER! I went to bed happy! And was woken up at 8:00 am because we didnt show up for the Timeshare Breakfast!!!!!! ARE U FREAKIN KIDDING ME???? Then when we were leaving the hotel the lady told us she would set it up for the next morning and when I said NO she basically told me that someone else wanted to go this morning and they couldnt because of me and tired to make me feel bad. I looked at her and said "this is my vacation"...after that I could tell she felt bad and we had the most wonderful 3 days. I actually would stay here again because they have an awesome location......oh and dont forget to check out the infinity pools and whirlpools on the top floors...they wont tell you about it and the views are amazing!!! Have fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnandjan
Business
Whittier, CA
Aug 29, 2011

Playa Grande Is Awesome

The Playa Grande was AWESOME! the place was well run, the staff was attentive and the grounds were perfect. We did the all-inclusive plan for the last three days, and it payed for itself. Cabo is a cool destination, but don't let the fact that its in Mexico fool you. EVERYTHING is expensive. if you're checking bags bring your own sunscreen...it is very costly in Cabo, and they only carry SPF 50 or above or cooking oil. If you have an opportunity to attend one of the resort events, like the beach party or mexican fiesta...do it! they are killer! and if you do the all-inclusive, they're included! And if you're really ready to relax, try the spay...it is world class and the floks there know what they're doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to leave the resort to get some food in town, i recommend Pancho's! the food is great and the staff is attentive, but not pushy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Travler SF
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Loved this Hotel

I stayed at many hotels across the world! The Playa Grande was one of the best! There wasn't any hustlers in front of the hotel or the beach. Was in minutes to everythings. Staff, room, and services were great. I did't feel like the staff had there hand out every second for tips. I Ioved this hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else but Playa Grande in Los Cabos..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Time Share Presentation and get the free stuff, but dont buy the time Share it's not worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T.F.
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Beautiful grounds and views!

This hotel was great! The staff were great, the grounds were beautiful, the rooms were spacious. The only negatives were that the bed and sofa bed were not that comfortable. Also, since the hotel is on the Pacific side, you can't swim in the ocean there. But if you're not an ocean swimmer, then it wouldn't really matter, and there are lots of pools. The views from the rooms were fantastic since all rooms face the pools and have ocean views. I liked that there was a mini mart inside the hotel. The food and drinks were good. I also liked the adult only pool and swim up bar. The location was good too. You could either walk or take a short taxi ride into the town. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Woodlands, Texas
Jul 26, 2011

July 16-22, 2011 vacation (Playa Grande)

Arrived and we were upgraded to the Ridge Section of the Hotel. This is the newest section with views of the Marina, Sea of Cortez and the Pacific Ocean. Our two bedroom, three bathroom Presidential suite was extremely nice. My family had a wonderful time at the resort. The staff spoke good clear english, they were very polite and fullfilled every request we had. We had one small issue, a hot water pipe broke in the room above ours (we stayed in suite 3142). It made a small water mark on the entry bath ceiling. The manager ([...]) apologized and offered us another room. We declined as it was not that big a deal. It was fixed the same day. For our troubles, he bought us dinner at the steakhouse (Brigatine) and even had a bottle of wine sent to our table. Our family also played miniture golf at the resort. We did the swim with dolphins activity as well as ATV riding in the desert and beach, we also did the zip-lines. If you are not in tip top shape, avoid the zip-lines. It will totally drain you. Cabo San Lucas is a great place to vacation. This was our third trip and we will be back. Oh yeah....the beach on the pacific side is unswimmable due to strong rip-tide currents. You can swim at Medano beach and ride Jet Ski's, Para-sail, glass bottom boat rides, ect. For the best deal, Go to the vendor in front of the Sand Bar Restaurant and ask for [...]. He gives discounted prices. Never pay the posted price! You can get a massage on the beach at the Sand Bar for $20 for 40 minutes, or back at the marina $20 for 60 minutes. Enjoy Cabo.......we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at the Mercado was fun. Plenty of vendors selling almost everything. Never accept the first price. They are ALWAYS willing to sell items for less. Talk them down...we got really good deals. Remember the sunglasses are all fake, but look excatly like the real thing. Oakley's for $12 each!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reddy-the-wizard
Business
San Jose
Jul 11, 2011

Internet Sucks @ The Playa Grande Resort

The resort was quite good as expected. However, we were totally caught by surprise when we learnt that the rooms don't have Internet. For anyone who needs Internet to check email, they have a service by a wireless router for $12 a day and a business center. What a bummer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miz B Loves Cabo
Business
Portland
Jun 30, 2011

Beautiful place -- with some quirks

It's a beautiful resort, clean and well-maintained. The poolside wait-staff are very attentive, so drinks are plentiful (tho a bit expensive.) A new Activity Director blasted music through much of the day for aerobics and other events, which ruined the relaxing atmosphere. It's a short walk to the marina and town, which is good because restaurant options at the resort are a bit limited. Allow 45 minutes to check-out. And, avoid the time-share people and you'll enjoy your stay much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Try a sunset cruise: it's one of the best ways to see Cabo. And, try Salvatore's for exceptional Italian food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pa Bell
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 29, 2011

awesome family getaway

Clean, perfect location, excellent staff. We all loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikashstelle
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2011

Definitely going back!!

Hotel was beautiful!! walking distance to everything. tons of entertainment. My husband and I went by ourselves, but we will be bringing our daughters (6 and 8) hopefully next year. There are timeshare people in the lobby, we set our minds that we weren't going to any presentations, but they convinced us! we had nothing to lose, we had time, and they give you tons of free stuff for going to an 1hr and half tour. the tour was actually awesome! we saw some amazing views and took many pics. If you visit on a day when they are having the Mexican Fiesta, you should definitely go. It is totally worth it. unlimited food and drinks and tons of fun. we got to meet some great people. we will def be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you do not have all inclusive and want to go out for dinner, go to Tacos Guss, or Las Tres Islas. Very authentic, CHEAP food. small, humble restaurants, but totally worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cabo San Lucas
Jun 27, 2011

Nickel and Dimed

The first day we arrived we were placed into a room that was on the first floor when we specifically purchased an ocean view room. Instead we got a view of the pool hut. We asked to change rooms and they then placed us on the forth floor with an ocean view. Then the phone stops working in our room, we were then notified that the phones in the whole facility were down. For the next two days we had to walk all of our request down to the front desk (a whole 5 min walk from our room). We then had to purchase our internet for around 12 dollars for every 24 hrs and only 1 device at a time could be used (if you signed out incorrectly, your internet was disabled and at that time the phone wasnt working and thus we had to walk down to the front desk to get the problem resolved again) This is really what it breaks down to Pros: Good location for families Pretty close to the marina where everything is happening It is quiet and safe (lots of security walking around) Rooms were pretty big; at least for the studio Closer than Westin or Rui to the marina where everything is taking place Cons: Nickel and dimed you for internet A huge hill to climb to get from the marina to your hotel Staff could be more friendly (however the waiters at the restaurants were very nice) They never cleaned the floor of our room (but they did clean everything else) Amenities broke down often In the end: I would give this place a 3 out of 5 only because I didnt feel very comfortable during my stay and felt that I was running back and front from my room to the front desk to get my request met. However I do understand it was because their phone was down. Places/Things I might recommend: Get your money exchanged at the bank and not at the airport: banks :$1=12+ peso Hotel: 11 peso, Food places: 11/11.5 peso, Airport: 9 peso (Then again everywhere takes U.S dollars) The roach coaches across the street when you exit Playa Grande - they look sketchy but taste great - and the prices are WAY lower Squid Roe - for partying and late nights, great food, friendly staff, i see a lot of families there, kinda funny, lots of things going on (open late till 4am) YAY! I would have to give it 5 out of 5 others include Baja Junkies=3/5 Cabo Wabo=3.5/5 Mandallas =3/5 Mama's Cafe + felix's = same restaurant but name changes from breakfast to lunch/dinner Cafe Canela- good breakfast, plates around 59 peso = 4/5 USD Mocambos - Very Very fresh seafood, great service - Got to try the fish fallet with green sauce Billygans, Mango Deck by Nikki beach - This is where you should be during the day Lovers Beach/ Arcos - where the famous arch is Downtown- it was pretty safe in the day and theres info booths everywhere (definitely helpful) Things I'd probably wouldn't do: Snorkeling - water is no where as clear as hawaii or cancun Going to see the dolphin show- save that for sea world or florida Buy products from children who are selling them on the street Get smashed and fall into the marina - water looks sketchy I could go on and on into the details but you can probably pick up a lonely planet book / Foders or just check out trip advsr for the rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Places/Things I might recommend: Get your money exchanged at the bank and not at the airport: banks :$1=12+ peso Hotel: 11 peso, Food places: 11/11.5 peso, Airport: 9 peso (Then again everywhere takes U.S dollars) The roach coaches across the street when you exit Playa Grande - they look sketchy but taste great - and the prices are WAY lower Squid Roe - for partying and late nights, great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top