$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
185 reviews
completely satisfied

Great service, excellent response to any questions or issues, hospitality was awesome, safe, and... See full review

  • Jenniy
  • Jun 28, 2014
Awesome Friends and Family Fiesta

First time in Cabo traveling with family and friends who go often, and we will definitely be back!... See full review

  • Slim Shamus
  • Jun 13, 2014
Cabo San Lucas hotel tempts active travelers, spa goers
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering

Hotel Map

22.8762 -109.9036
Area served
Cabo San Lucas.
Nearby airports
Los Cabos International Airport (SJD).
Area description
Playa Grande Resort is located in Cabo San Lucas close to the beach, tourist attractions, restaurants and entertainment district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Finally Got Away
Temecula, CA
Sep 3, 2011

I LOVE CABO!

Overall we had a WONDERFUL time in Cabo. The Playa Grande was very nice although be careful with the staff. I booked a very nice room with an ocean view. Asked the guy at the desk who was the manager if this room was nice...he said oh yes very nice. Then they offered us to go to the desk and get a "Free Gift" which was the lady who wanted us to go to the timeshare breakfast...we said sure becuase she wasnt going to take no for an answer and i was tired. So finally got to our room on the first floor with a few of the wall???? Lets say I paided quite a bit more for a ocean view room....when I called front desk they said sorry we have no more rooms...but we will look...waited 5 mins for them to tell me "they will see what they can do"....I was very upset as I dont get away very often. Went to the front desk and they really did not want to help me! So I just said find me a room and just looked at them until they found me one! Oh then there was 2 to choose from...what a Cabo miracle!!! I am very easy going but when u are promised something and are treated poorly when upset...shame on them. So finally got a room...went down to the pool....and it was HAPPY HOUR! At a hotel pool? I WAS HAPPY. Went to dinner next to the pool and had best SURF AND TURF EVER! I went to bed happy! And was woken up at 8:00 am because we didnt show up for the Timeshare Breakfast!!!!!! ARE U FREAKIN KIDDING ME???? Then when we were leaving the hotel the lady told us she would set it up for the next morning and when I said NO she basically told me that someone else wanted to go this morning and they couldnt because of me and tired to make me feel bad. I looked at her and said "this is my vacation"...after that I could tell she felt bad and we had the most wonderful 3 days. I actually would stay here again because they have an awesome location......oh and dont forget to check out the infinity pools and whirlpools on the top floors...they wont tell you about it and the views are amazing!!! Have fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troy H
Campbell, CA
Sep 3, 2011

Playa Grande

Very Good. The staff was very freindly, the hotel was beautiful and very clean. I have nothing bad to say about this resort. The food was average but tasty. The non alcoholic drinks were a bit expensive in my opinon. I think the extra cost to go all inclusive would be well worth it. I will definately return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnandjan
Whittier, CA
Aug 29, 2011

Playa Grande Is Awesome

The Playa Grande was AWESOME! the place was well run, the staff was attentive and the grounds were perfect. We did the all-inclusive plan for the last three days, and it payed for itself. Cabo is a cool destination, but don't let the fact that its in Mexico fool you. EVERYTHING is expensive. if you're checking bags bring your own sunscreen...it is very costly in Cabo, and they only carry SPF 50 or above or cooking oil. If you have an opportunity to attend one of the resort events, like the beach party or mexican fiesta...do it! they are killer! and if you do the all-inclusive, they're included! And if you're really ready to relax, try the spay...it is world class and the floks there know what they're doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to leave the resort to get some food in town, i recommend Pancho's! the food is great and the staff is attentive, but not pushy.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnandjan
Whittier, CA
Aug 29, 2011

Playa Grande Is Awesome

The Playa Grande was AWESOME! the place was well run, the staff was attentive and the grounds were perfect. We did the all-inclusive plan for the last three days, and it payed for itself. Cabo is a cool destination, but don't let the fact that its in Mexico fool you. EVERYTHING is expensive. if you're checking bags bring your own sunscreen...it is very costly in Cabo, and they only carry SPF 50 or above or cooking oil. If you have an opportunity to attend one of the resort events, like the beach party or mexican fiesta...do it! they are killer! and if you do the all-inclusive, they're included! And if you're really ready to relax, try the spay...it is world class and the floks there know what they're doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to leave the resort to get some food in town, i recommend Pancho's! the food is great and the staff is attentive, but not pushy.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Travler SF
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Loved this Hotel

I stayed at many hotels across the world! The Playa Grande was one of the best! There wasn't any hustlers in front of the hotel or the beach. Was in minutes to everythings. Staff, room, and services were great. I did't feel like the staff had there hand out every second for tips. I Ioved this hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else but Playa Grande in Los Cabos..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Time Share Presentation and get the free stuff, but dont buy the time Share it's not worth it.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Travler SF
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Loved this Hotel

I stayed at many hotels across the world! The Playa Grande was one of the best! There wasn't any hustlers in front of the hotel or the beach. Was in minutes to everythings. Staff, room, and services were great. I did't feel like the staff had there hand out every second for tips. I Ioved this hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else but Playa Grande in Los Cabos..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the Time Share Presentation and get the free stuff, but dont buy the time Share it's not worth it.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T.F.
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Beautiful grounds and views!

This hotel was great! The staff were great, the grounds were beautiful, the rooms were spacious. The only negatives were that the bed and sofa bed were not that comfortable. Also, since the hotel is on the Pacific side, you can't swim in the ocean there. But if you're not an ocean swimmer, then it wouldn't really matter, and there are lots of pools. The views from the rooms were fantastic since all rooms face the pools and have ocean views. I liked that there was a mini mart inside the hotel. The food and drinks were good. I also liked the adult only pool and swim up bar. The location was good too. You could either walk or take a short taxi ride into the town. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T.F.
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Beautiful grounds and views!

This hotel was great! The staff were great, the grounds were beautiful, the rooms were spacious. The only negatives were that the bed and sofa bed were not that comfortable. Also, since the hotel is on the Pacific side, you can't swim in the ocean there. But if you're not an ocean swimmer, then it wouldn't really matter, and there are lots of pools. The views from the rooms were fantastic since all rooms face the pools and have ocean views. I liked that there was a mini mart inside the hotel. The food and drinks were good. I also liked the adult only pool and swim up bar. The location was good too. You could either walk or take a short taxi ride into the town. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
The Woodlands, Texas
Jul 26, 2011

July 16-22, 2011 vacation (Playa Grande)

Arrived and we were upgraded to the Ridge Section of the Hotel. This is the newest section with views of the Marina, Sea of Cortez and the Pacific Ocean. Our two bedroom, three bathroom Presidential suite was extremely nice. My family had a wonderful time at the resort. The staff spoke good clear english, they were very polite and fullfilled every request we had. We had one small issue, a hot water pipe broke in the room above ours (we stayed in suite 3142). It made a small water mark on the entry bath ceiling. The manager ([...]) apologized and offered us another room. We declined as it was not that big a deal. It was fixed the same day. For our troubles, he bought us dinner at the steakhouse (Brigatine) and even had a bottle of wine sent to our table. Our family also played miniture golf at the resort. We did the swim with dolphins activity as well as ATV riding in the desert and beach, we also did the zip-lines. If you are not in tip top shape, avoid the zip-lines. It will totally drain you. Cabo San Lucas is a great place to vacation. This was our third trip and we will be back. Oh yeah....the beach on the pacific side is unswimmable due to strong rip-tide currents. You can swim at Medano beach and ride Jet Ski's, Para-sail, glass bottom boat rides, ect. For the best deal, Go to the vendor in front of the Sand Bar Restaurant and ask for [...]. He gives discounted prices. Never pay the posted price! You can get a massage on the beach at the Sand Bar for $20 for 40 minutes, or back at the marina $20 for 60 minutes. Enjoy Cabo.......we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at the Mercado was fun. Plenty of vendors selling almost everything. Never accept the first price. They are ALWAYS willing to sell items for less. Talk them down...we got really good deals. Remember the sunglasses are all fake, but look excatly like the real thing. Oakley's for $12 each!

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
The Woodlands, Texas
Jul 26, 2011

July 16-22, 2011 vacation (Playa Grande)

Arrived and we were upgraded to the Ridge Section of the Hotel. This is the newest section with views of the Marina, Sea of Cortez and the Pacific Ocean. Our two bedroom, three bathroom Presidential suite was extremely nice. My family had a wonderful time at the resort. The staff spoke good clear english, they were very polite and fullfilled every request we had. We had one small issue, a hot water pipe broke in the room above ours (we stayed in suite 3142). It made a small water mark on the entry bath ceiling. The manager ([...]) apologized and offered us another room. We declined as it was not that big a deal. It was fixed the same day. For our troubles, he bought us dinner at the steakhouse (Brigatine) and even had a bottle of wine sent to our table. Our family also played miniture golf at the resort. We did the swim with dolphins activity as well as ATV riding in the desert and beach, we also did the zip-lines. If you are not in tip top shape, avoid the zip-lines. It will totally drain you. Cabo San Lucas is a great place to vacation. This was our third trip and we will be back. Oh yeah....the beach on the pacific side is unswimmable due to strong rip-tide currents. You can swim at Medano beach and ride Jet Ski's, Para-sail, glass bottom boat rides, ect. For the best deal, Go to the vendor in front of the Sand Bar Restaurant and ask for [...]. He gives discounted prices. Never pay the posted price! You can get a massage on the beach at the Sand Bar for $20 for 40 minutes, or back at the marina $20 for 60 minutes. Enjoy Cabo.......we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at the Mercado was fun. Plenty of vendors selling almost everything. Never accept the first price. They are ALWAYS willing to sell items for less. Talk them down...we got really good deals. Remember the sunglasses are all fake, but look excatly like the real thing. Oakley's for $12 each!

Back to menu Return to top